206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Buck Hall Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (843) 887-3412
CGID3901

Buck Hall Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   7   8   8   5   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Beautiful park on Intracoastal Waterway w/great birding, walking trails, crabbing, or just watch the boats go by. Small park with Lots of space around site. Clean restrooms/hot showers. Dump station. Great Camp Host! The $10 fee is with our Senior National Park Pass.. (if you dont have one..get it.. only $10 to get (only one person needs it) & it's good for life. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Small nice campground in the Francis Marion National Forest - 14 Large RV Sites around central loop with water and 50 amp electric and 5 Tent Sites along waterfront. View of inter coastal waterway from all sites. Boat ramp with daily parking for 20 boat trailers. Hot water showers. Fishing pier. Hiking, Biking, Fishing. Stays busy in certain fishing seasons. $20 per night. $10 with Access or Senior Pass. Reserve.America has reservation fees. 30 minutes north of Charleston. Beaches in Mt. Pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$10
This campground is along the Intracoastal Waterway and part of the Francis Marion National Forest right off of route 17 about 30 miles north of Charleston, SC. Sites are spacious but in an open area. One can put in their boats on the Intracoastal Waterway for touring, fishing and shrimp baiting. All kinds of fish are found here and one is close by boat to the Cape Romain National Wildlife Refuge and Bulls Bay which is the coasts best shrimp baiting area. All the sites can view the Intracoastal Waterway and watch fishing boats as well as pleasure boats sail pass the campsites. There is also a hiking trail (Palmetto Trail) in the park which crosses the state of SC. This trail is used for biking, hiking, and horseback riding. Full hookup sites are available. Bathrooms need to be updated but they were clean. It cost with Golden Age Pass about $10 but if you reserve you have an additional fee. I have always heard nice things about this campground and it is a good stopover or for even longer periods of time especially if you have a boat and like to fish. Host was informative and available. We stopped for only one night and two thirds of the sites were taken and almost all of them were reserved for the weekend so reservations might be necessary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
This was a nice spot. September is shrimp season so everyone else was here to catch shrimp. That made it interesting but a bit noisy. Fisher folk are focused on fishing and when they get back to camp they don't care too much about the nice views, etc. They are friendly folks but like to shine their lights bright and turn the country music up loud. The toilets and showers were clean. It is a comfortable 20 - 30 minute drive to Charleston. There is plenty to do in the area and it is well worth a visit. In September the mosquitoes were a bit fierce so come prepared. Definitely a nice spot that will give you a good base to explore the low country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Bathrooms were not really too bad, just messy. The electric 30 amp connection was really loose, I used my 50 amp adapter connector to hook up. This Forest Service campground is really nice. Our experience with the camp host was excellent. Distance to Mt Pleasant was too much, probably will stay at the the KOA next time, even though I get the 'Old Greezer" rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$11
What a wonderful, peaceful National Forest Campground with nice facilities. The sites are very spacious and all have a nice open view of the waterway. Nice host that is very helpful and attends to his duties very well. Great little fishing dock and while we were here, saw the dolphins jumping and even a small cruise ship pass this way. Good location to enjoy Georgetown or Charleston, staying out of the congestion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
Stayed here 3 nights and was very nice although kind of wet due to some heavy rains the week before. The dump station was closed when we visited due to high water levels. A nice, pretty but plain campground. A pleasant drive to it from the north. Was reasonably close to Charleston and the area around it. Took at least 15 minutes to get to the nearest grocery or restaurant if memory serves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$23
Good place for the fisherman, and the price. Very popular boat launch area. Mosquitoes and gnats were very thick...bring spray. No sewer, but free convenient dump station. View was great from every site, as the park is directly on the inter-coastal waterway. No Wi-Fi, or cable, but did not expect so with this park being a national forest recreation area. Very long sites that are concrete and roads were paved. Would have liked to have seen concrete patio pads to match the parking spot, and the picnic tables are permanent concrete types that were rather far from the concrete parking pad. Makes it impossible to keep dirt and mud out of our motorhome, as it rained when we were there and it soggy up our outside mat. Strange to have paved roads and concrete parking pads, then just dirt for a patio area. The really bad thing was the restrooms. No hand soap at the sinks, and the shower was a single stall that had peeling paint and was not cleaned the whole 3 nights we were there that I could see. Old band aid on the shower floor was there when we arrived and still there when we left. Definitely a "fish camp" style. Very hard well water, but usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
This was the worst National Forest Campground I have ever been to that had a host. The hosts were rude and seemed to be there to skip and not to take care of their duties. They didn't clean the restrooms, or empty the trash. They let everyone break the parking rules. The hosts were rude enough to me personally, I asked for their names and I will complain to the Forest service soon. It's been a busy winter or I would have done this before but better late than never. My campsite had so many flies from the previous campers that left trash and shrimp carcasses on the ground and in the fire ring and that had not been cleaned up. As the last reviewer noticed the bathrooms were a mess. If you have pets; be careful of the little round burrs/ stickers in the grass. they have very sharp spikes that stick through the dogs skin and pads. This in in the mowed area so don't walk them there, keep them on the paved areas. Bring plenty of bug spray lol They put in plastic boxes for the power posts and I wonder how long they will last. My spot had a bad 30 amp outlet already and I was fortunate I had a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter handy We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
We like this campground in the Francis Marion National Forest. If you want to camp in September-October be sure to make reservations as it is shrimping season and the locals pretty much reserve all the sites. We were lucky to get two nights as a drive-up. Camp Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Great place to just kick back. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
Quiet and peaceful and very buggy! I would really like this campground, but there was absolutely no hot water in the bathhouse. There was just about no one else there, so there was no one to use it up - there just wasn't any! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
Nice small Forest Service facility. Centrally located water spigots. Bring hose. Bring bug spray - mosquitoes are present. Right on the Inland Waterway with boat launching ramp. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Great camping area close to Myrtle Beach and Georgetown area of SC. Ideal for shrimping during the season the guys seem to really enjoy themselves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com