206575 User submitted reviews online!!
Lums Pond State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (302) 368-6989
CGID3906

Lums Pond State Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   5   8   7   9   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This was our first stay at a Delaware State Park and we were disappointed. Our campsite was a mess with a lot of trash left on it. The bathrooms were dirty when we arrived and were not cleaned the two nights that we were there. The dump station still needs work. We called the campground office while leaving and reported the situation. They said that was not acceptable and would see if they could get the problems corrected. If cleaned up properly the CG would be a great place to stay. We would probably give it another try if we are ever back in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
A great park, except for the helicopters. One real problem is the dump station. Needs gravel to clean up the mess. Asked when this was going to be fixed, no one had a clue, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Lovely medium sized state park with 72 sites, including 2 yurts and 4 horse camp sites. Five sites have electricity, with the remainder being primitive (no electric, water, sewer) and mostly open, though there are trees throughout the campground. Within the park is the largest freshwater pond in Delaware (boat rentals available), and several hiking and biking trails. (See the Nov 3, 2009 review by daisyferret1) for an in depth description of the park. Generator hours: 7am-10pm. Recycling is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$28
This is a quiet spot on a pond, lots of tent site but only a few camper sites with electricity. Water is a available from various locations. Had this been an evening with a clear sky this would have been a beautiful place to stargaze. No one was at the registration cabin, nor we're either of the 2 campground hosts to help us register so we just did self-registering. There are hiking trails, one around the pond (which is a 3-4 hr. hike). Bathrooms were clean and there were showers. It was more expensive for what was offered unless you wanted less to begin with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Rate is out of state with senior discount. Very few electric sites available. Parking on lawn. Level sites. If going via GPS, be sure to go to South Lums Pond (as that is where the campground is). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We did an overnight there and will probably come back for an extended visit in the future. At a minimum, we have found our overnight stop for our trips along I-95. I would've given a 10, but didn't because of no water hookups at the electric sites. That said, this was a very nice park. The sites are large and shade is just about right (some sun/some shade). The restrooms and showers are cleaned daily (according to signage) and it showed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
As this park is only 2.5 miles from our house, it was where we went for our first camping trip with our new RV. They have 5 electric sites available to book - not 6 with 3 occupied by camp hosts as previously stated. Lums Pond, while lacking in amenities, is a lovely state park to camp at. The sites are large and spaced out. Most all are shaded. The bath house was clean and well stocked for our stay. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring located well away from your rig. Parking is on the grass, so the site may need extra work in leveling. The campground has a *strict* no-alcohol policy. You can have an RV and tent on each site, with up to 8 people and two cars. Each additional person over the initial 4 is $2 a night. Even though it's close to home, we will make it a yearly stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Our cost was without electricity $24. This was a first time in a long time, that we actually had a host or ranger to check in with. This park has only about 6 sites with electricity and 3 are taken by a host. There are some pull -throughs but on grass. Nice campground with two loops in a figure 8 pattern. The campground road used to be a one-way, made it much quieter. This is a convenient stop for us coming from New England for a one night stopover. Restroom was clean. Most of the campers the night we were here, were families tenting and it was very enjoyable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
We love this campground. There are six electric sites available, not including the host sites. The inside sites are around large grassy areas: lots of room for the kids to play. The loops are paved and fairly flat for young kids to polish their bike riding skills. We went to UofD to watch a lacrosse game. It was only 15 minutes away. The trails are awesome and the of leash dog area is amazing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We loved staying here! We were worried because it had approximately 8 inches of rain the day before we camped, and we were concerned that we would be camping in mud. Amazingly the campground was really dry. It is grassy and open - lots of room for kids to play sports. Flat paved loops are great for bike riding. The electric sites have gravel - everything else is grass. There is a dog off-leash area on the other side of the park where the dogs can run and swim. The hiking trails are in really good shape - very few puddles considering the rainfall. There are water views through the trees and the sites are HUGE. We will be back - maybe next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Nice clean park with wide open sites; only six electric – we came through on a weekday so we were able to get one; sites are not level and on grass; bathhouse clean; good campground for fishing and canoeing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
Spent an overnight but would not hesitate to stay longer. We were on our way home from touring the southern coast. Great campground. Lots of space, beautifully kept. Management friendly and very helpful. Facilities were very clean. There were electrical hook ups but no water. We managed just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
Site 16: Cost for an out of state person was $26 with electricity using a senior citizen discount. This is a 68 site campground with modern showers, a dumping station, picnic tables and grills. It is a self-checkin but there are a few hosts sites if you have a problem, and the rangers come around in the early evening to check on everyone. There are also 4 horse campsites. They had also just built a new ranger station at the entrance to the campground this year. We always try to camp at Lums Pond State Park, at least as our first stopover heading south from Rhode Island. It is beautiful but the sites don’t have much privacy even though they are good size sites. The trees are getting taller and it is a great place for families and for one to ride their bikes. But this time Delaware had soaking rain for a day and a half, so no bike riding. There are about 8 sites and some Yurts that have electricity. You can make reservations even the day before like I did. Our site 16, can hold an RV over 45 feet. Because of the heavy rains, the site was very muddy but most sites looked quite dry considering the down pour that this park had. We were able to find sections of our site quite dry and level but we only have an RV that is 25 feet. It is a good thing I made reservations. Another woman paid for this site but I was able to show my printed out reservation confirmation. All the electric sites were taken by 5 in the afternoon. The bathrooms were very clean. If one drove around to the other side of the pond, there was a boat rental place and picnic sites. They used to let you swim on the other side, but because of state budgets cuts with lifeguards and a high bacteria count, that has been stopped. In the campground there is a trail that goes around the whole pond and there is also a fishing pier. Follow the directions off the website, not your GPS by taking 1A off of I-95 in Delaware (much faster than by route 13). It is a good stopover for those from New England, especially if you plan to go down the eastern shore route through Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We stayed at this CG for 2 nights. We were their for Warbirds over DE. The CG is a lot nicer than I had imagined. I was in site 4 on Friday and 16 on Saturday. Site 4 had W/E/S, electric was 50 amps. I had just 50 amp electric in site 16. I will stay here again next year. It was perfect for what I used it for. It is very difficult to get a reservation so call early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
Lums Pond State Park, Bear , Delaware number of sites 67- April 18- 27 with electricity. This is a 68 site campground with modern showers, a dumping station, picnic tables and grills. It also has 4 horse campsites. We have not camped at Lums Pond State Park in 14 years but have always used this as our first stopover and last stopover heading south from Rhode Island. It is beautiful. The trees are getting taller and it is a great place for families and for one to ride their bikes. There are now 8 sites and a couple of yurts with electricity but I would suggest that one make reservations for those. The bathrooms were very clean. If one drove around to the other side of the pond there was a boat rental place and picnic sites. They use to let you swim on the other side but because of state budgets cuts with lifeguards and a high bacteria count that has been stopped. In the campground there is a trail that goes around the whole pond and there is also a fishing pier. We saw turtles on logs and other wildlife in the pond. Lums Pond is Exit 1 off the Delaware Turnpike off I-95 in Delaware and then you drive down 8 miles. It is a good stopover for those from New England and especially if you plan to go down the eastern shore route through Delaware, Maryland and Virginia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
I've been here for the maximum two weeks and I love everything about this park. The staff is wonderful, the sites are huge, the setting beautiful, and "big city" amenities are nearby. Having only my RV, I rented a car at nearby Hertz in Bear; they shuttled me to and from the campground and the rate was very reasonable. I came here because I had business in Philadelphia, but I will most certainly be back for a vacation. Don't miss the food and view at nearby Crabby Dave's in Delaware City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
The campsites were very large and well spaced out. The bathroom was clean and adequate. Each site had a table and fire pit. Nice lake but the fishing was nonexistent. We were there for 2 days and I saw one person pull up a sunny. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Very nice place. Lots of trees, space, quiet, great place if your looking to visit folks in northern Delaware or simply want to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
The campground is a mix of wooded and semi-open sites. There is one bathhouse which is reasonably well maintained. I find many of the sites are too close together, so choose wisely when reserving. The state park itself is not that appealing. There is nothing wrong with it, but it is just a small lake and simple lake activities and nothing more. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
I parked in a dry-camp site overnight. I saw six sites with electrical h/u. Nice grassy level suburban campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
One of our favorite parks. Large campsites with lots of privacy and trees with a huge open field behind (if you are on the inside of the loop). A quiet campground where you go just to relax. If you need to entertain kids (pool, game room, movies, etc.), go somewhere else. There's a R/C airplane field next to the campground that can provide entertainment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This state park is wonderful. The sites are huge, level and most are shaded. All the activities are a short drive on the other side of the park. Nice lake to fish on and very quiet. Fresh water faucets are plentiful through out the CG to fill your tanks and dump station is centrally located. I would recommend this State Park to stay at for a few day's at a time only due to the lack of amenities for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com