219883 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Somerville State Park Birch Creek Unit was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (979) 535-7763
CGID3914

Lake Somerville State Park Birch Creek Unit

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   9   9   9   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Similar to previous reviews, very pleasant, quiet, relatively well maintained, well laid out park. Very helpful park personnel, good room between spaces with privacy further provided by thick underbrush. Our space was paved, but narrow and short, barely room for our 27’ trailer and tow vehicle; also paving was in poor condition. Our space was level left to right, but slanted down front to back. Lots of shade in Post Oak loop (had to trim to keep wind from scraping limbs against RV at night), but not much shade in group trailer loop. Lake was very low during our visit and so hike to lake was long. Looks like good canoeing and kayaking up Yegua creek when water higher (canoes and kayaks rented in park). Over the air TV provided one local station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
Nice SP with several different trailer sections. Sites are not paved and most are not very deep. We have a 40' FW. Lake access is short walk from many spaces. We stayed in spot #4 with distant view of lake and only 30A service. Watch for trees overhanging roads. Many deer and fawns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
Mostly treed sites; some equestrian sites available. Nice hiking/biking trails and well maintained restrooms. Fee does not include the daily use fee, which is waived with a state parks pass. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$16
Nice clean Texas State Park. Most sites are large and are well-separated from your neighbor. Some lakefront sites. Lots of wildlife: we saw deer, armadillos, squirrels, rabbits, and 'coons. Oh, and hundreds of birds. We like this park because it's close, wooded and quiet. Take all the food/drinks you need because the nearest 'real' store is about 30 minutes away! Free Wi-Fi is available at the front Ranger Station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Nice treed and shady site: some on the lake. The site we were (#28) was not level, thank goodness for Lynx blocks! Sites are separated from each other by vegetation. Located about 40 minutes from Bryan College Station on country roads. Friendly, helpful staff: even offered to have a Ranger come back my trailer in for me! We will be back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$16
Nightly rate does not reflect $3 per person per day usage fee (BUY A TX PARKS PASS!) We stayed in the Post Oak Camping Area(#45). Heavily forested, clean park with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Asphalt roads and sites. W/E on the side near the rear, sites are not uniform length/width and vary in their degree of being level - we had to raise the driver side of our 28' fifth wheel by 2" and lower the front end quite a bit to make it level. Other sites looked more level but we liked the view so stayed where we were. Most sites have lots of space and trees/shrubs between them so there is privacy from your neighbors. The only negative about the park - the shower house is older and NOT heated. Negatives which the park has no control over - the nearest town (Somerville) with a large grocery store/propane/fuel is about 15 miles away so come stocked with provisions, closest wi-fi hotspot is the library in Caldwell (about 25 miles away), over the air HDTV is weak with 5 stations, Alltel cell reception is 1 bar and very weak - lots of dropped calls. Positives - wireless is very good, the shower house has plenty of hot water, the dump stations are designed well and easy to access, there is a small convenience store/bar & grill just outside the park entrance, there are numerous maintained trails within the Birch Creek Unit as well as a 13 mile (1-way) bike/hike/equestrian trail that connects the Birch Creek and Nails Creek Units, LOTS of birds/wildlife and the park is p-e-a-c-e-f-u-l. This park has become one of our favorites and I definitely recommend it as a place to get away from it all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Sites are very nice and secluded, and shady. Only possible negative was that the park is a long drive to any attractions. Ranger drives around regularly checking on campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
We camped in the Yaupon Camping area. This area has 30 spacious campsites for RVs or tents. A few of the sites have full views of the lake. Our spacious site, #18, had plenty of room for a big rig and a couple of cars; however, it did not have a fire ring. It also had a covered patio area located several feet away from the back of our rig. We paid a $3.00 fee for using the central reservation system on the web. If you call the park directly within 48 hours of arrival, they will book the reservation for you. Otherwise, you’ll have to call the central reservation system or book your reservation on the web. We did not have a site-specific reservation. Upon arrival, we were assigned site #9, a 50 amp site. After checking out the site, we decided to move to site #18, which is a 30-amp site. During our visit, the weekend was completely booked. It was not crowded during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
This park is very large (over 2,000 acres) and consists of several units and a trailway connecting the two units. The birch creek unit has overnight camping for rvs and tent camping while the Nails Creek unit is a day use only facility. All rv sites have water and electricity and the majority of the rv sites are well shaded and spaced. There are no pull thru sites and none have sewer hookups, although dump stations are conveniently located on each camping loop. The roads are all asphalt and in good condition, although a little tree trimming on some of the roads would be helpful. Some of the campsites have views of Lake Somerville and a few (less than 15) are located where boats could be pulled up on shore within several hundred yards of the campsite. About 15% of the sites have been updated to include new asphalt pads and concrete walks, fire rings, etc. All sites have asphalt pads, fire rings and picnic tables; however, not all picnic tables have covers. In general, this park is good for relaxing, hiking and fishing and is generally very quite except on holiday weekends when it is usually full. We have been to this park a number of times and will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$14
Birch Creek Unit is an excellent Texas State Park outside of Somerville, Texas. Some of the sites are shallow, but most are very well shaded and private. Be sure you tour the Blue Bell ice cream plant in Brenham. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com