224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Hartwell Camping & Cabins was rated 5 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (864) 287-3223
CGID3938

Lake Hartwell Camping & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   1   6   8   9   8   4   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
We stayed here for a month in spring 2014. The park is very wooded, and scenic. There are a handful of waterfront sites, but most are on wooded hillsides and somewhat level. Larger rigs may have issues getting into some sites because the roads to some campsites are unpaved, narrow, and tight. The park has fast Wi-Fi, decent TV reception, and cable TV is offered if you don't mind having to hook up a box to your TV. Boaters and paddlers will enjoy the private boat ramp and shoreline, while nature lovers will enjoy the trails. You can also get some exercise on the basketball/tennis court. Bath house was cleaned regularly, but laundry room needs updating badly. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$19
Nice campground. We stopped overnight and was greeted by work camper who had site behind us. Site was level and we had a pull thru though we unhooked our car at site due to length. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$16
Rate reflects Passport America discount. This is an older campground that has many permanent residents. The owners are clearly trying to renovate and upgrade the park, but they have a lot left to do before I'd call it a good place to stay. Water pressure drops considerably at times and wifi only works near the office. Several large dogs ran free and their droppings were not a pleasant experience to be around. The staff was friendly but the locals mostly were not. A wave or hello was usually met with a hard stare in return. Many of the trailers there were in poor repair with sticks propping up their dirty, tree sap covered awnings and all sorts of junk under and around them. The lake was nice but unfortunately the people there were frequently loud and swearing. The quiet time at night just didn't happen either, with loud conversations and laughter well after midnight. This park could be made into a really nice place some day, but for now I'll stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Lake Hartwell Camping and Cabins is so run down and pathetic. Below are some of the reasons why you should not stay there. BATHROOMS: They clean their bathrooms maybe once a day. There were several days that there was hair on the shower walls that was not removed, caked on human waste on the toilets, dead bugs in the sinks and overflowing trash. There are 5 shower/bathrooms and while we were here, they only had 3 open and the other two locked. the bathrooms do not have paper towels or soap and they are ALWAYS DIRTY. INTERNET: They claim there is internet but the only place you can get it is on a bench outside their office. For days it was not even working there. If you do connect, it was so slow and not worth the trouble. THERE IS NO CELL SERVICE IN THE AREA strong enough to connect 3G so you are out of luck. ELECTRIC: I cannot tell you how many times our power cut out and the breaker blew. I talked with several long term people here and they laughed and said that happens all the time. WATER PRESSURE: Their water pressure is guaranteed to drop, or even no water at all when they have a few campers. We had to turn on our pump to force water from their lines just to flush our toilets. SEPTIC: They had several instances where their septic lines were backed up and if someone at a higher camper dumped their lines, human waste would flood out of the lower sewer hookups under campers making for a horrible smell and a biological hazard. STAFF: Their staff does not care about the place, their visitors or complaints. To give an example. I work out of my camper full time. The day we got here, I realized the issue with the internet. I told them the situation and asked for a refund so I could go somewhere else. They refused! I have heard them tell other visitors the same thing, no help, no refund, no good! Vehicles have been broken into, neighbor kids running around at night, vandalism and theft. Not a great place to be! The owner is so cheap that one of their staff that "cleans" for them, the golfcart she uses needs a battery but the owners are too cheap to get a new one so she has to continually plug it in wherever she goes. RUN DOWN: It is obvious that the owners do not take care of this place since there are ants everywhere (wife is allergic), the mini-golf course is falling apart and the wood is rotting away, the boat dock has seen it's last days, the rental boats are dirty and beaten up (dents, rips in seats, poorly maintained), playground items are rusty and dirty (they use a drain pipe as a "play area"). They put in PLASTIC FLOWERS to make it look like they have landscaped. PLASTIC FLOWERS!!! How pathetic. There are several other places that are cleaner, MUCH LESS expensive, and have better grounds to enjoy yourself. FAILS to deliver and takes your money with no recourse. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
This is a quiet campground in the forest at a lake. Roads and spaces are narrow for big rigs. The Wi-Fi is more or less unavailable at our site due to bad configuration. Half of the information get lost on the parks infrastructure. All other infrastructure is OK. Over all it is not a bad campground with friendly and helpful staff. Rate is PA. We relay on Wi-Fi to keep in touch with our family and friends. Therefore we probably want find the way back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This campground is fun and friendly. Enjoyed our stay there. Wi-Fi could use some work. Other than that we loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This was one of our best experiences! Great staff who were very accommodating. We had no problem with a 39' motorhome and attached 24' trailer. Our motorhome leveled up nicely without use of blocks. Top notch laundry facilities as well. Add all that to this being one of the most beautiful, rustic settings right on the lake, and you have a perfect place. We were going to stay one week, but added another week and a half to the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
We love this place. We stay here every spring and fall on our way north and south. We love the laundry, it is so clean. It is so relaxing in the park like setting and walking our dog down near the lake. We always stay a couple of days to relax and sit by an open fire each evening. We will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$15
Sites on hills, roads poorly paved, narrow and difficult to maneuver in our 40' motorhome. Wi-Fi only in one building. Many trailers look permanent. Sites can barely accommodate some units, so best to check your site before trying to get in with the unit. Very wooded and would be good for summer camping with kids. We were fooled by a good TL rating: no doubt due to their large ad. Not a bad campground, but simply nowhere near the TL rating or ad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
We had problems with a permanent that stayed there, he stayed drunk most of the time. The first site we stayed in was a "new" site on a hill by the laundry mat/restrooms and it was on a hill and our camper kept sliding! We moved to another spot and it was really really tight. It was alright up until we went to leave and ended up paying 2 months worth of electricity which should have been included in the last months rent and would not fix this problem! We ended up paying $150 more with rent and electricity combined and we were just supposed to pay for electricity for the last month! We were not happy campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
This was a nice friendly basic park for our overnight stay. The sites are gravel, as are the interior roads. We had a little trouble leveling the coach, but it was not too bad. The sites are a little close and there are quite a few trees to dodge. It had a Wi-Fi hot spot in the office. There are a few older units here that are for sale/rent that are not too attractive. For a place to spend quite evening, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
We arrived here around dark and camped here overnight. It is not too bad a place but many permanent people in the park. Roads and spaces were very narrow for a 38' Motorhome. We did not even put the slides out. This is a 50% off Passport America Park. Would probably stay overnight again but certainly not spend any time here. As with many RV parks in the United States, this place is in dire need for upgrading. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
We stayed here thanksgiving and had a lovely time. I can't understand some of the other reviews on this campground. It is quite rustic in the woods but the sites were nice and spacey. The restrooms were lovely and the kids used the new bathrooms all the time. We had wifi access at our site. It was overall a really nice park. There were about 20 in our group all told. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$16
Rate is for Passport America. Roads in park are bad and very tight. Sites are tight, we couldn't open our awning. Dirt sites. Wi-Fi didn't work at our site. We would not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
Older campground that could use a lot more work yet. Most sites are on side of a hill, all sites are rock and gravel. Part of the roads were asphalt ,and rest were rock and gravel, and need more work. Sites were close to level and sit in heavy stand of pine trees. WiFi was free but only works close to office (small linksys). Sat TV is a trick here due to the trees, but will work in places. Rest rooms, showers, and laundry were spotless and all new, also a long way from most sites. Rates were on Passport; park also is Good Sams. This park is OK for the smaller units, large units should not come here. We are 36 feet and could get in and out of site. Trees are everyplace and you could hit one. New owner is working to update this park and you can see changes. Lots of people come here to be in the woods and fish. Power and water were OK. Camp fires OK here. No noise here. Lake is down around 20 feet at this time due to no rain. It was not a bad place to spent some time in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
Old park. Tight Spaces. Not suitable for large (over 38') RVs. Bad "feel". We paid, did not like the park, and requested a refund within 10 minutes of arriving. Owner refused. We moved on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
I was told I would have a site where I could get Dish satellite and Wi-Fi at the site. This was not the case. There are only 4 or 5 sites where satellite could be received. There was no Wi-Fi at my site, which was close to where the lady said the booster antenna was (inside a building). I asked why it wasn't outside. She said they didn't have a pole to put it on. The sites are very rough, and the roads leading to the sites are uphill and very rough. The owners are rather new. They are working on the campground and some of the buildings. Maybe they will improve some of the campground. This seems more like a "fish camp" then a family oriented vacation campground. I would not camp here again. After I stayed one night (after paying for 7), I asked if I could stay the second night and leave for I was dissatifed, but the answer was NO! This is a Passport America campground, therefore the $13.00 per day. I do not see how they could charge $26.00 for this kind of campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
We didn't actually stay at this campground because we drove in and they took us to our site and it was awful. We had to use 4-wheel drive to get up road to site and there were so many trees that is was very hard to manuever with a 37' 5th wheel. The ruts were at least 12" deep along side the road and there wasn't anyway the trailer could have been leveled. It was like staying on the side of a hill! It was undoubtedly the worst campground we have been to yet. Don't be fooled by their website description as it is not at all like it appears. After some manuevering to get our rig out of the site, we left and stayed further down the road. It was definitely a dump in my opinion. Should be rated in the negatives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com