219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Indian Point Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (218) 628-4977
CGID3947

Indian Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   6   8   8   7   10   7   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
The campground itself was very pretty and had trails that hooked up to local hiking trails where we geocached a couple times. It was poorly run, however. The office was closed when we arrived so the only assistance we had checking in was from the wife of the camp host that really had no idea what was going on. The site we were given was basically a giant mud puddle so we asked to move to one of the many empty sites available, which she begrudgingly allowed us to do. Because the campground was mostly empty Canada geese had overrun the place and therefore so did their droppings so we really didn't hang out outside much. My husband used the restrooms once and then forbid me from even entering the building because they were so gross - and coming from my unsqueamish hubby - that's saying a lot. Thankfully we were just passing through so we only stayed here one night. Probably wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Stayed here for two nights in early August. Large park-like setting with dense woods around the perimeter. The pull thrus and 50 Amp power books early so we ended up with a back in 30 Amp with water which was on the perimeter closest to the St. Louis River. The sites are adequate but can be a challenge to level your larger rigs as many of the perimeter spaces are not very flat. The 30 Amp power was good and we had no problems with our appliances but didn't run any of the AC units as it was cool outside at night. The staff is very friendly and will do whatever they can to make your visit enjoyable. Just don't be alarmed when your GPS starts routing you through a residential neighborhood - the park is at the end of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The park located near I35 is located on the ST Louis River. It has large mature trees with reasonable shade. Only a few sites have sewage, but most have water and electric. We use 30 amps, but I saw 50 amp rigs in the park. The park and grounds are maintained and clean. The sites are not large but reasonable; the pads are gravel and reasonably level. It’s a dog friendly park, with abundant area to walk your dogs, especially on the river. We connected to DTV from our site (34). Connection looks possible from most sites. Version cell signal was 3 bar (4G). The restrooms and showers are okay. They are reasonably clean, but could be better. One of the two sinks was stopped up. The laundry area is neglected and untidy; the equipment is old and rundown. The park is not exceptional, but not-ordinary either. I would certainly come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
It was busy at the campground with nearly every site filled. Still, it was very pleasant, reasonably quiet and comfortable. Many sites have "views" to the river, but none are on it. All individuals managing the campground that I interacted with were courteous and helpful. The campground needs additional restroom / shower facilities as they don't have nearly enough to support the place when its full. I hope the city will invest in upgrading the electric and water systems here. They are adequate, but older and should be updated before the minor problems other have reported become more serious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
LOVED it here. Quiet, right in town, but not noisy. Beautiful river view and walking paths. The staff was super nice and helpful. We did not have any water troubles as mentioned in other reviews. We had a full hookup pull through and they are a little tight, but overall, I would stay here no doubt. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Lucky to arrive early in the day, we were offered 3 sites to check before choosing.  Our site was in dappled shade, not all sites have shade, as it appears some huge trees were lost in the last few years.  Our site was level gravel.  All the reviewers earlier mentioning a water hose as the source of water are not kidding. We also did not find the spigot for the clean cold water.  All the grassy areas were closely mowed.  The restroom building looked brand new, and was being painted, but I did not make it inside to check.  The pull through sites were located close to each other.  Our site on the St. Louis River - a waterfront site -  was wide, and green.  Our site, as all the others on the lakefront, was separated from the lake and views by a patch of trees and brush - then a walking and bicycling path.  So the trees do stop every walker from your seeming to be in the campsites.  We spent some time in the evening on one of the docks - watching a deer feed, a beaver swim, ducks landing, fox running, frogs leaping, dragonflies hovering, and a doe with 2 fawns swim across to the island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Great campground! Lots of trees and shade with easy access to a bike/hike trail and close to Duluth by auto. The manager provided the best set of directions I have ever received over the phone and was very nice when we arrived. We will stay here again. Good antenna TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Great location in West Duluth. Very dusty, new managers nice but seem to still be learning the ropes. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This is a very nice campground. New management has made a big difference. They even have Wi-Fi now, and new showers and toilets. Everything is clean and ready to use. Also, good communication and response to questions. Love the view and the scenery - lots of room for the kids to play. Location is great - right on the Western Waterfront Trail and the St. Louis River. We rented kayaks and had a blast! I'd recommend to all my friends. It's a great way to see Duluth. Check out the new web site -- it gives you lots more information about things to do and see. Love it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
I've heard new management is making the place nicer, but we've had issues in the past with gross bathrooms, having to share water with multiple sites, and extremely wet sites when camping in the rain. There are nice bike trails, both off-road and the Munger Trail nearby. They have an area to pull your boats up on shore, but you have to awkwardly walk through sites to get there. May stay again if we hear things continue to get better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
The good: Check-in went smoothly, we'd made reservations online. Site (#43) was level with some shade. The bad: Water hookup was a hose laying back in the weeds, connected to a tap somewhere, never did find it! Voltage was low, 114 V., even tho the transformer was right in front of our site. Read the other reviews of this campground, they pretty much tell the story of bureaucratic mismanagement and neglect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We had an awful experience here, arriving during a rainstorm. As it was in the evening, around 7pm, the campground was filled with RVs. There must have been some local event going on, but we were only overnighting. It was very difficult maneuvering around to our site, a pull-through, having to dodge units sticking out of their sites into the roadway. Most of the roadway was covered in water and our site was virtually in a pond. There appeared to be very little drainage or runoff control with water accumulating everywhere. It made connections a little dicey to say the least. I had to set-up wading in 6 inches of water dragging my hose, sewer tube, and power cord through standing water and having to leave them there. Looking at the units around me, it appeared that others were in the same situation as I. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This campground is owned by the city of Duluth, and managed by Munger Inn. I don't have much nice to say about this campground, and I will NEVER return. When you have the city or local government managing ANYTHING, you are bound to have the poorest service ANYWHERE. 1. Computer access in office area for campers to make reservations for tours or events. The computer is broken, and no sign it will ever be fixed. 2. Bathrooms are usually dirty, with stuff on the floor, and dirty sinks. The Coin-operated shower is COLD. 3. Handicapped shower hose broken, door handle missing on both sides of main entry door. There is poor ventilation, cobwebs and spiderwebs in corners and the concrete floor is dirty. 4. Electrical hookups are not marked well, so my neighbor flipped my circuit breaker by mistake, shutting off my a/c in my camper on 83 degree day. Fridge food spoiled and a hot camper upon return of all day activities. 5. Firewood is expensive and is terrible. It is hard to get lit, and the kindling they sell, didn't help. I don't care what DNR says: I am bringing my own pallet firewood everywhere I go. I'm tired of buying local firewood that is crappy. 6. Potholes that are unfilled year after year. 7. Fire ring is not cleaned out. Full of half burned wood, glass, garbage. THE POOR CONDITIONS IN THIS PARK DO NOT CHANGE YEAR TO YEAR. Office workers blame it on the city that nothing improves, and I guess I believe them. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND CAMP SOMEWHERE ELSE, even if it is more expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Nice little park. We stayed in #3, a full hook-up, 50A, partially shaded, level, gravel site. No problems. Our 38 foot DP fit easily with room to spare. There is a gravel water front walk, a pier canoe launch, and the paved Munger trail. If the weather was better, we'd stay here a while. Lots of recreational opportunities. The park has a park-like feel. A bit muddy in wet weather, but otherwise okay. The Wifi worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Go to mapquest, or some other satellite image website, to get an aerial of the campground as the map on the website is inaccurate as far as placement and proportion goes. Sites 51, 52, and 53 are very, very cramped together. Luckily we had nice neighbors or it could have been awkward while spending time outside. It's about what you'd expect from a city-owned campground. Lots of dandelions and "cabbage weed" which along with the grass was too long. Noticed quite a few huge, deep water puddles which hung around for days, including the one at the front of my site which I couldn't avoid when backing in and it got my truck all dirty. Electrical posts on wrong side on many of the sites. Luckily I had a heavy-duty extension cord so I could reach! Water hookups were nice. Overall, not much thought put into site placement. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Showers were OK but not very big, nor private. If our stay was shorter I would have showered in our camper. Dump site was OK but on the wrong side. You actually have to drive back into the campground and make the loop to get to it, then head back out when you're done. But, everyone had that figured out so there were no problems when dumping. I usually don't go off what other people say about loud groups. One night it might be bad, and the next night the noisemakers might be gone. There was a mix of young, old, groups, singles, campers, tents, RVs and we didn't have a problem with noise at night and the campground was full. All in all, I would never come back here to "camp", or just hang out and relax. We used this campground only as a place to sleep while we went to Duluth for a wedding, and to visit Jay Cooke State Park and the North Shore. For that: it served it's purpose well, a nice stopover site. One thing to note: the owners of the Willard Manager Inn (right as you turn off of Hwy. 23) are hired by the city to take care of this campground. This is good to know for when the hosts are not around. They were friendly. The host is not real chatty so if you're into small talk don't expect a captive audience. He was all business but very accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
We stopped for 2 days to tour the Duluth area. This was a good short-stopover for us. We were assigned site 36 with electricity, but found it had no water, so we were offered site 34 with water & electricity which we took. Mistake! Could not level the motorhome and the water was merely a hose lying on the ground from an adjacent site. Also discovered that in heavy rains, this site floods. However, the park was otherwise okay. It was clean and sites were fairly large. Other sites appeared to be level and trees offered some shade. Roads in park were gravel and in fair shape. Would stay again for short period. Cell phone, air card and satellite reception were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
A nice park, a little open for our liking but quiet and peaceful near the river. Staff were friendly and the overall mood of the park was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
I see this park has had some kind of negative ratings. I want to balance those out by reinforcing the positive ones I can now testify to - the beautiful location and park-like feel!! I never used the bathrooms/showers (didn't need to - we were in an RV and had full hook-ups for the first two nights), but they did look run-down all right. The office is also a bit like a cave -maybe they were trying to lower their electricity bill by leaving the lights off? So I can understand the lower ratings because of these things. However, this place is on the St. Louis River and has waterfront trail all along its edge, as well as being a block away from the Willard Munger trail. Even though much of the weather was cold, rainy, and windy during our stay, I loved walking our dogs on the trail and hanging out on the dock, looking at the beautiful scenery. Staying at the campground, I forgot all the city life surrounding us! And there were fireflies along the water's edge as well! What a treat!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Coin-operated showers (25 cents for 5 minutes). Very run-down. Bathrooms not clean "River view" obstructed by untrimmed trees. Wireless WiFi did not work. However, right at Willard Munger State Trail which nearly overcame the drawbacks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We stayed at this campground in August 2007. It was an ok stay. The office personal was not very friendly at check in. Park could have used some work; bathrooms not good! Sites had some good size. Unfortunately every night skunks came to visit us at our site and others also. We had to hang out in the camper at 9:30PM with the kids sleeping. We will not stay at this campground again. Just lucky we had plenty planned for outside of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We enjoyed ourselves at this campground. Sites are quite tight and close together. Bathrooms and showers leave much to be desired we used the trailer for our 'needs'. The setting is wonderful, right on the river. Great hiking and biking trails can be accessed right from the grounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We enjoyed our time at this campground. I would describe this campground as adequate, but not posh. There are laundry facilities in the shower house, which is a nice benefit. There is wireless internet, but it doesn't reach very far away from the office building. You have to carry your computer to a spot near the office building - but then the reception is great. We camped in our 35 ft motorhome with two slides. Although we saw several coaches that were much bigger, my husband commented that he wouldn't want to maneuver one of them around the campground. He thought it looked a little tight in places. The staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Ok facilities and spots. Would not recommend sites 39-41 as they are quite crammed together and next to the various hosts site. Water is supplied to the site through a hose, but worked ok. Worked well for the nearby marathon, and for site seeing around town, but any more than 2 nights would get a tad boring. Nearby biking / walking trail is wonderful, so bring your bikes! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
The campground is close enough to Duluth to commute from, but far enough away that you don't feel like you are in the city. This is not an RV resort, it is a campground, so you should know what to expect. We camped in a 36' 5th wheel. We had plenty of room although the campground was full. We arrived during the week, when the park wasn't full, so had no trouble pulling into our spot. Later when the park was full, it might have been more difficult. The there were two park hosts who rotated days. Park was clean, bathrooms were clean. We used the laundry facilities, which were nice. Local campers and out-of-towners were friendly. There was one rowdy bunch who shot off fireworks, they were immediately shut down. Not much gravel on the pads, spots were not level. But that is what a campground is like. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
This place looks better on the website than it really is. It is a small, extremely crowded park with everyone crammed in right next to each other. There were lots of local people who had come in big groups to party, so it certainly wasn't peaceful or quiet. There was not a lot of maneuvering for a large motor home, partly because of the narrow roads and trees and partly because of the way the sites are laid out. It was okay for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Indian Point CG, Duluth, MN. Stayed here for one night June 30, 2007. Nice CG in a somewhat unusual location in South Duluth. Easy to get to from I-35. Directions in Woodalls are right on the money. Clean, quiet, well run CG. The only thing I would caution is to be sure you emphatically specify the size of your rig when you make your reservation. Many of the sites are quite narrow and close together, although there are some nice big rig sites. We were put into a spot (Site #15) and I was assured that it was an easy fit for my 35ft 5er and my 25ft truck. NOT! I never would have made it in were it not for the fact that the sites across the road weren’t occupied and I was able to maneuver into and out of them. But overall a nice place with very friendly hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
If you are requesting an electric site, make sure when booking that electric means at least 30 amps. We were under the assumption that it was, and when we arrived we found out that our site was only 15 amps. After complaining we were moved and everything was fine after that. A lot of tents at this campground. It really didn't get quiet until midnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
Wooded, quiet. Lovely setting. Wish it were nearer the downtown Duluth area, but it's very close to the Munger Bike Trail. There is a playground nearby which looked like fun for little kids. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
In city campground in Duluth's west side right on St Louis river. Close to Canal Park and all attractions. Sites are fairly level with good shade. TV reception pretty good. Now for the bad: Badly understaffed, poor city worker was at end of his rope by 3pm on Saturday of 4th of July weekend. Bathroom/Shower buildings were in terrible physical shape and generally unclean. All this from a city that extracts a 12% tax on even a Big Mac. Despite being "City" park did not see one cop in 3 nights. Expect to pay the 16% lodging tax on your patch of grass. Location is this place's saving grace. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We had previous reservations for a local campground on the mountain and ran into problems beyond our control. We were left with no choice but to look for new campgrounds. We found this campground manager at Indian Point Campground and although he was full, he jockeyed us into a site for our week stay. This campground is very pleasant and well kept. The manager was bar none, the most hospitable campground manager that I have encountered. He put forth a great deal of effort to ensure not only a high level of comfort but made it possible for us to stay in a wonderful campsite close to Duluth for a solid week. In my opinion, a campground can only be as good as its manager. If this guy managed a campground in a different location, I would rate it a 10. This location is a bit blue collar, but that is forgotten quickly once entering the park. I recommend this campground highly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
Camped in pop-up 4 nights in Aug 2005. Grounds are good with mostly grass to some gravel, some mowing was needed in areas but not bad. Large open area around small playground located near bathhouse. You can see most other campsites from anywhere. Large trees on grounds with partial to no shade depending on location. Laundry room was good. Bathrooms were OK. Mens room had 1 air dryer so no paper towels are used at all. Showers are OK, though the changing portion of the showers were small, hardly any room to change and only a hook to hang clothing on. No shelf or stool in the shower to set your clothes or shower bag on. Shower is on concrete and the small portion to change on is a small wooden step plank so at least you are off the floor, but can be dirty if someone previously was standing with dirty shoes. 2 showers in men's room, wife had to wait on weekend to use shower as it was busy. Wife said there was a puddle of urine in one of the stalls for a day. We later realized there is a mop in the laundry room which could have been used to clean up. Only one grounds attendant manages the grounds for the city. Overall, I would stay again, it wasn't home, but wasn't bad, and it was about the only campground this close in to Duluth that we were aware of. The area is generally quiet except for occasional sound of nearby train track and occasional sirens of emergency vehicles on nearby Grand Ave. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
This was a decent campground. It is on the water and has a small dock but does not have a swimming area. The showers and restrooms left a lot to be desired. Did have a problem with a loud group across from us and couldn't find any staff after 10 p.m. to quiet them down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com