223561 User submitted reviews online!!
Jessie Lea RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (276) 523-0055
CGID3953

Jessie Lea RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   9   10   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
We enjoyed our 2 night stay at this quiet, well maintained RV park. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. Park was very clean and sites were level. Restrooms and showers were clean. Pull-through sites will accommodate large rigs. We will stay here again when in the area. Rate is nightly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This small park adjoins a city park and greenway along a creek with a pedestrian drawbridge. It is a family operation run by very pleasant folk. The park is very clean an well kept, although it does get a little soggy in hard rains. Cable is available, but you have to get a cable box (loaned) from the office. Wifi worked fine. We had satellite coverage, but some sites might not. We also had good AT&T cell coverage. The pull-through sites are long enough for our toy hauler and wide enough for slides and awning. The surrounding back-in's looked to be spaced a little farther apart. There are very nice flower plantings with more on the way. We really liked this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
This was the best park that we have stayed in. To start with we can not say enough about how great the owner was to us. The park itself is very well kept and in a beautiful setting. Showers and restrooms were in good shape and clean. Great walking trail and easy access to town. Wi-Fi worked great. If you are ever in this area its a great place to stop! Yes we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$29
This is a very nice park and the owner really works to kept it pretty. He'd just finished setting up his autumn displays which were beautiful. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers are huge with great hot water supply. We had called, as well as sent an e-mail, asking for a pull-through because we're just over 64 ft. Upon arrival there were plenty to choose. He suggested the one we ended up taking and it was great. All sites are gravel (and level) and a large grassy area with picnic table and fire ring on the right side. This place was so quiet we slept with windows opened. There's a paved path associated with the local authorities that is reachable from the park. FYI - if you follow routing to here from southbound I-81 there is a 13'4" bridge (signs posted 15 miles before) that was not listed in our Rand McNally Motor Carriers Atlas. All in all, the type of place that deserves a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is a great small RV park, 10 or more big spots for big rigs (we are 45'). Easy in and out, just off the highway . Good water pressure. Great walking trail across foot bridge. If I get the chance I will stay here again. The owner and his family run the place. Nicest people you could ever meet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Third time here. Clean laundry and park. Lots of easy back-ins; some by the river are a little more crowded. Great hiking trail along river into town/high school area. Owner takes much pride in taking care of the park. Music some weekends in the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
This was our first visit here. We spent four nights. The park is very clean and maintained well. There is very good Wi-Fi throughout the park. There are standard cable channels (no HD stations) mostly local channels. We would stay here again if we’re in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
Second time we stayed here this trip. A very nice park. We never met the owner, we just left money. Would really stay here again and again. Very wet, not their fault. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Small RV park near Big Stone Gap. Will need to drive through town in most cases to access the park. We camped in a 45 foot motor home with a toad. Interior roads and sites are gravel with ample grass between sites. A few pull-through sites are available and many more back-in sites. Wi-Fi is free, but worked intermittently. Restrooms and showers were very clean, but we found them locked on Saturday night and Sunday morning. Verizon Wireless worked well and satellite TV was no problem on the pull-through sites. Satellite TV could be a problem on many of the back-in sites which are partially or fully shaded. The owner, and his dog were very friendly and escorted us to our site. The outdoor drama, Trail of the Lonesome Pine performed in July and August is worth seeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We stayed here a week and loved it! It was close to relatives and town. It was Clean and quiet and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful campground to stay in. The walking path that ran by the creek was awesome. We will definitely make Jessie Lea campground to return to in the years to come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Great small town park, quiet area, friendly and helpful owner. Decent Wi-Fi for a change, good cable TV. There are some worker bee's from local projects but he limits the number. I would stay here again. We stayed here for 2 nights and would have stayed 3 more but park was booked up for a local arts and crafts fair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
Nice campground, the owner comes and goes, not worried about anything. Sites looked not too level but we had no problem. Restrooms and showers are clean. WiFi at site was awesome and the cable TV was very clear. We paid $27.50. He usually charges $27, gave us a 10% discount, but had to charge a 5% sales tax and 5% transient tax, nasty and he doesn't like it. Train whistle in the distance. What you should expect when you're in coal country. All in all I'd spend more time here. P.S. They lock the restrooms and laundry but the keys are in a box at the entrance to the office. Also, the owner likes to talk and carve: he's amazing!! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
This is a lovely little park. Good electricity and water. Owners are excellent and friendly. Big Stone Gap is a beautiful, mountainous location in SW Virginia. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
We loved our "almost private" waterfront site (#1) next to small city park! Looking out our curbside door and windows, we saw no other campers! Branch of the Powell River runs along side the park and the RV park. A small foot bridge from city park crosses close-by to a walking path. Plenty of shade and grass on city park side. The RV park itself is nothing fancy, has gravel drives, but clean and mostly quiet. If you are coming to "Trail of the Lonesome Pine" outdoor drama or seeing other museums in the Big Stone Gap area, come to this park. Very convenient to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever visited and there is much to like: exceptionally friendly, helpful, laid-back owner; one of the cleanest parks ever; exceptionally clean, decorated bathrooms; for big rigs, easy entry and exit to and from the park and campsites; plenty of space between sites; a new-looking, decorated outdoor pavilion with rocking chairs and picnic tables for socializing; nice landscaping; beautiful setting in a valley between mountains; a very nice river walk in an adjoining city park, reached by a trail from the campground; good wifi; and the list goes on and on. Some people might object to a train whistle, but we loved its old-time echo among the mountains and it did not interfere with sleep. There is minor highway noise. When we arrived in Big Stone Gap, we made a wrong turn and called the owner for directions to get ourselves straightened out. He told us to wait and came to lead us to the park--now that is outstanding customer service! The only negative is that the city apparently has no leash law, so you may encounter loose dogs while walking yours. During our 5-night stay, we did not encounter any dogs that were threatening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is the cleanest park we have ever camped in. The hospitality of the owner is above and beyond. He is no stranger to anyone and keeps the place immaculate. We stayed over this July 4th week-end and not once did you ever see him stop. The sites are level, graveled and landscaped beautifully. We plan to spend a week here the week of Labor Day 2008. Top notch and would and have highly recommended this park to many. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This park is immaculate, the people are very friendly and accommodating. It is the perfect place to park and explore Southwest Virginia and part of Tennessee. They create a sense of community by having a local group perform on Friday nights in the pavilion and encourage you to sing along. We chose a back-in site, and the owner told us that we probably wouldn't be able to use satellite because of mountain, but their cable tv was so great it didn't matter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Park is great as usual - clean and well kept. Owner is regularly on site and friendly. Very big rig friendly and easy in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
This is an exceptionally clean park. The bathrooms and showers rate a 10. There is some highway noise as it is very close to the road. A bit of train noise at night, but rather nice to hear the whistle bounce around the mountain! A good stopping off point for exploring southern VA and northern TN. I stayed here four nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
What a great place! We liked it so much we added an extra night to our stay. The owner is an absolute hoot! He's a local and will help you learn about the area if you're interested. He really takes pride in his park, and he's done an excellent job with the grounds. The landscaping flows beautifully into the adjoining town green way. It's a lovely stroll beside the river. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Sites were gravel and level. Owner was great with all our requests. Campground and all facilities were very clean. Nice place to stay for a couple of days in the mountains. Be careful of directions through Big Stone Gap. If towing it might be better to disconnect at Walmart just off of Rt 23 and scout route. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Beautiful park with great owner. Stayed on site 3 down near creek and the views were beautiful. Park has access to walking/bike path which was great to use in the evenings. Looking forward to going back. WiFi worked great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This new park is owner-operated, and his hard work shows. The large sites are level, with a gravel base and grass in between sites. There is a nice store and a clean laundry, and the owner can always be reached by his cell phone, in case of a problem. The owner and his daughter are most helpful. The park is adjacent to a green space, with a stream for fishing and a walkway to the town. This is a very pleasant campground for a stay of several days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
The only place you need to be if you are in the area, clean, friendly and next to the greenway. I stay here every time I am in the area. Once the trees grow to maturity, you'll be a '10'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
New campground run by some of the best folks we've met. The campground is next to small river and a greenbelt walking trail through the town. The sites are gravel and mostly level. We stayed for 3 nights and will return when we have more time to stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
New camp ground, maintained very nicely. Owners are very nice people. Located close to Virginia's longest running outdoor drama, "Trail of the Lonesome Pine". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com