206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Morgan Hill Preserve was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (408) 779-6396
CGID396

Thousand Trails / Morgan Hill Preserve

Camp Information
Sites
316
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$5.0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   3   7   7   4   4   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$5.0
We have read so many bad and poor reviews we were reluctant to go here, but we have just recently purchased a TT VIP membership and wanted to "test drive" it. We really enjoyed the campground and the staff was more than friendly. We had 50 amp electric ($5.per night charge) and a nice level site that was very quite. Since it rained all day Saturday we did not rave the heated pool, but next time for sure. There are a lot of full timers here and they have a wide and varied amount of stuff on their sites, but that seems common to all RV Parks no days. The staff was super friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We will definitely be here again this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
Fair Thousand Trails (member rate cited). No sewer, but honey wagon available for small charge. Gravel sites are not level. Lots of new 50 amp sites available for $5.00 per night charge. Very few amenities and not very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$3
The Good: Some large sites, with some pull thru's, but most are back in. Big shade trees. The Bad: Almost all improvements need upgrading. The rest rooms were somewhat clean of trash but in need of a good deep cleaning. Low voltage 30 amp power. Lots of run down long term campers. Noisy with motorcycle and car turn ups going on. Sites and roads are a mix of gravel and dirt that turns to mud and small lakes when it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
First time at this park. Some back-ins, some pull throughs. Some fairly level, some would require quite a few boards/blocks. At least 75 sites have been converted to 50 amp with extra $5 nightly charge. Quite a few oak trees for shade. Restrooms are old and in need of updating, but clean and everything worked. Grass areas were green and kept mowed. We followed GPS rather than the written directions to get here and went down some not-RV friendly streets/roads. Biggest downside in our opinion is only five washers & six dryers for whole park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
$5 extra for 50A. Free Wifi in lodges. Very poor over the air TV. Good Verizon phone. 4G Verizon data. Large dirt spaces. Flat. Pool not heated, so closed in winter. Good voltage in 30A. Lots of messy long term RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
This park, like so many Thousand Trails, needs updating. The setting is very nice with many trees, and the sites are pretty level. Just most everything is outdated. The pool has a very nice size; just get ready for a refreshing dip, since it is cold. The staff was all new (about 2 months) and had no clue. Not one could check us in without taking us at least 30-40 min. Retail customers were let into the park for free since it was easier then checking them in. We arrived in the dark, ask the staff where they had openings, and he pointed us into the tight section of the park. Next day we saw all the open large pull-through sites. Sewer would be very nice, but let's just get the park updated in bathhouses and lodges. Internet was pretty good at the lodges and on 24/7. Washer/dryers where the cheapest we have seen yet, $1 washer, $0.75 dryer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$1
This park is really tired and in dire need of updates. When things break, they don't get fixed; instead, an "out of order" sign gets hung, and that's where it stays. One section of the campground is being updated with new electrical boxes, but no visible work has been done for 6 months, and the section is still closed. The sites get muddy when it rains; they don't have sewers. What they do have is way too many long-term residents, which adds to the not-very-appealing look of the place. We are Thousand Trails members and generally stay for just one night at the beginning and end of our trips. This park works okay for that purpose, but we wonder why some of our annual dues aren't being used to improve this park. It's way overdue. We certainly wouldn't pay to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Rate is for TTN Members. Non members pay about $35. No air TV. Free Wi-Fi in the clubhouses. Good Verizon phone and data. Pool is unheated so not open in the winter. Store is closed in the winter. This is a nice park, but not worth the rack rate if anyone considers paying the $35. As with most TTN parks, the facility is very dated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
I stayed here for a week as my first Thousand Trails experience. This campground is quite old and showing its age. The bathrooms, while clean and functional, show need of a complete do over. The spots are generally level but a few in the G row need a little work to level. A great many of the ones in the G area are closed because of electrical problems. When I asked about plans to fix that they said they were working on it (however, they have said that for years to previous reviewers). Since it was winter the facilities weren't open but the pool area looks nice as do the lodges. There are many activities; horseshoes, shuffleboard, volleyball etc. available. As it is heavily treed in most parts (not G) getting satellite with a dish attached to your vehicle can be hard. I will be coming back as my hobby is Geo-caching and there are a plethora of them here. Nightly rate of $1 was entered because the website doesn't allow a 0. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$3
Had a great shade spot #221 and was able to get satellite TV from my site with a little effort.I really liked this place had a great big pool and free coffee for members at the adult lodge. Lots to do for both kids and adults. Kind of rustic in setting which I like and there was a small creek running through the park.This is my 3rd time out in the thousand trials membership style camping and one thing I must say is the people I have run into are very friendly. Everyone waves and seems glad to see you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$1
There are some nicely spaced sites here, and some that are close together. We had a spacious site in the trees. All sites are water and electric only. Management leaves something to be desired, information on bulletin boards was months old. We would stay here again, but would try to come in spring or fall when there are less kids. Weekends get very busy with families out of the San Jose/San Francisco area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$0
Two issues here to begin with. Power stanchions and sewer. The lack of sewer to all but the long term sites is okay with convenient dump stations in the campground, but power is not so good. One section is without power so only water hookup is available. The section we used I checked the power to the first stanchion and found an open connection and had to move to another which checked OK. The 30 amp power hooked up to was steady 122V. The water hookup was at the distant rear of the site, two hose lengths away. The pool is open, the store is not and looks to be a long way from being ready anytime soon. Restrooms and showers are dated but kept clean. Free Wi-Fi is inconsistent and often very slow, available at both lodges. The campground has a sewer pumper available by appointment three times a week for a fee. This is a pleasant place to stay, quiet and peaceful, good access to Gilroy or Morgan Hill for supplies and entertainment. We would return if and when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2011
$3
This membership park was in a nice setting under oak trees next to a large hill in the countryside. However, unless you were tent camping, the power available was horrible. The first night we managed to get a site with a bad pedestal and went the night without power. We moved and then the power when from OK to BAD as more people arrived. We couldn't use our microwave as the power was consistently around 108 to 109 volts (without using any major appliances). Of course, having no sewer didn't help the experience. This park is great if you just want to rough it, but is miserable for big rigs. They need a major upgrade to get me back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
I've taken my family camping here a few times, but my Dad took me here with the family a lot while growing up. I remember riding my bike around fast at night and visiting the lodge to see what was up. Now when we visit the lodge it's to see what good reading materials there are. We enjoy walking around the park and viewing the creek. The sites have water, electric, and ease of access. We usually leave the campground to get some food in Gilroy at In-N-Out, or in Morgan Hill because it's closer. While we're out we check out some of the best shopping in the world for campers. There's a Walmart, Camping world, RV dealerships, and outlets to name a few. Anyway we enjoy this place and the amenities around the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
The park facilities, except for the interiors of the bath houses, all appear to be in reasonable condition, unlike some of the CA Thousand Trails we've been to. The staff members can be friendly one day and ignore you the next. The large pool is the main draw, and there is a lot of day usage and public camping. The biggest negative is the dust, which billows over the sites when a rig passes, even at 5 mph. Also the entry road is rocky and dusty. Full hook-ups would be nice. The best part is the location. Gilroy and Morgan Hill have just about anything you're looking for, and the coast is reasonably close. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
This park is part of a national chain that I am a member of and live in the 1000 Trails parks full time. Members use this park for "out week(s)" from the better near by 1000 Trails park in Paicines, because we are limited to 2 or 3 weeks at a time, so we must use this one as an alternate. The maintenance is very poor, many of the listed sites are not usable, the power goes off on a regular basis and the water supply is not dependable either. The member use rules like 5mph speed limit, noise from nearby sites and "quiet hours" rules are NOT enforced. It is a poor park. If park maintenance and customer (member) service was top of the mind and a part of the management goal here, huge improvements could easily be made! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Nice, Typical Thousand Trails Resort. The sites are long, wide and flat. The WIFI is only available at the lodge. We didn't wake up with the crows or the chickens, but with the gobble of the wild turkeys that wandered around the park in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$1
This is a pleasant stop, clean and well maintained, with friendly staff. There is easy access to the California Coast from here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$1
Park continues to be well maintained. Still need to have "out of service" electrical pedestals in Section G repaired. Will return to this Thousand Trails Preserve when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
We spent Labor Day here. The park was full and there was a lot of activity. A very friendly crowd with many activities for all ages. The Olympic-sized pool was wonderful. The park was well maintained, but seemed to be a bit short on staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$1
No cable TV, fair WiFi at lodge. But, sites were level and treed, pool was absolutely huge, staff was very friendly. This is one of the nicer Thousand Trails campgrounds we have stayed in and was very comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Rate reflects Thousand Trails membership. This is one of the better TT sites we stayed on. Good size pull throughs. Good swimming pool. Gravel roads are a little dusty but no different to lots of other California sites. Lots of local wineries for tasting. Close to outlets at Gilroy. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
We enjoy this park which is in a beautiful area of California. There are numerous wineries in the area, enough to keep you in your cups with "tastings." Verizon cell phone and air card service is good and many sites are satellite friendly. The pool is excellent, but unfortunately, there were not many activities available at this time. The family and adult lodges are available but the store is only available on a limited basis. The downside would be the entry road is only a 1/4 mile but really rough and in need of repaving. We would have rated it higher if there were sewers at the sites or at least a reasonable honey wagon charge. But in spite of these shortcomings we always stay here when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
We enjoyed the park and found sites that should fit any ones requirements. Some in the trees allowing plenty of shade, some out in the open for good satellite reception. I wish they would spend some time with the grader and level the sites a bit, but we were able to make do. The pool was clean and always seems to have many visitors. Most people followed the 5 mph rule, others didn't causing the gravel streets to make a lot of dust. We used this area as a starting point to see many of the sites in the area. We will return if ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
Great access to Morgan Hill & Gilroy. Short drive from San Jose & Monterey Peninsula. Wi-fi access is limited to the lodge area. Nice shaded park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$1
If this campground had sewer hook-ups it would be a perfect place to spend a couple of weeks. There is a "honey-wagon" going around, but it is a little on the expensive side. On the other hand are the rest rooms in good shape so if you use them you are OK. The Morgan Hill area is soooo pretty and well worth an extensive drive. Gilroy (20 minutes drive away) has enough shopping/outlets to make your credit card melt. Pool was closed for the season while we were there. Don't think it should have been since we had 4 days of 80 degrees. Pool should be closed according to the weather - not according to a date. We hope to be back some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
We love this park, but most of our favorite sites had bags over the electric posts. We asked ,and it is unknown, if they will be able to get them fixed. Not only is the electric outdated but according to PG&E the park is at the end of a supply grid and can not supply more electric to the park. Most of the restrooms were clean but very worn. We will come back but not for any extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
This is still a very nice park with a wonderful pool. The staff though has slide down a lot. While most are very nice, one older guy at the gate seems cold and almost rude. Both him and the park manager(white cowboy hat) seem to be on a power trip. But, we just try to ignore there attitudes, and have a good time anyway because it is nice TT campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$2
Nice Olympic size pool but cold! We had a nice end site. Store not open much! We did not use the bath houses they closed in some of the sections for remodeling as some of these Thousand Trails pks could sure use remodeling jobs. We now wonder if it is worth the membership since staying at allot of them! This park was close to a town to be able to buy groceries and whatnot. We stayed one week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$1
Beautiful campground, a lot of trees. The campground was quiet and clean. There were many things to do for the kids. Dump stations and honey truck available, no sewer at the sites. We used the free weekend offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$28
This is a nice Thousand Trails park. The staff is excellent!! The sites are nice and many of them give you some elbow room between you & the next RV. Nice pool. Some sites have shade trees. Only a small section of the park seemed to be in WI-FI range. The main thing wrong with this park is no sewer hook ups. If they would install full hook ups I'd give it a 9, or 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This is a Thousand Trails/NACO park. Some of the best, nicest amenities I've seen so far in the Thousand Trails system. Beautiful, very large pool. Nice store & laundry room. Lack of sewer hookups keeps this park from being a 10. About 20 miles or so from the Pacific Coast Highway. Lost of wineries in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com