224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Chadron State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (308) 432-6167
CGID3961

Chadron State Park

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   8   8   9   6   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We made a poor choice in thinking this would be a convenient, inexpensive overnight stopping point. Cost includes a $7 transaction fee (to make a reservation) and $5 collected at the gate for a Nebraska State Park Entry Permit that was not mentioned when we made the reservation (checking back, we found that it is disclosed in the reservation paperwork that was emailed). If we had wanted to take the car into town to shop, we would have had to buy a permit for it also. The site had 30A electric only, some sites have water available. Site #5 was difficult to park in due to site post on opposite side of road. The reservation clerk on the phone has no clue about which sites may or may not work for a big rig. Verizon cell phone service is nonexistent without a trucker's antenna; then it is marginal. With luck and careful antenna aiming, we were able to receive PBS on TV. This might be a pretty park to take the family for a stay in the country, but we would not use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
As has been stated in other reviews, this is an "OK" park for an overnight. All sites are gravel. The day that we were it had been raining, and the entire park was muddy and wet gravel. There was no one at the park when we went to check in. The sign asked us to pick a site and put our money in an envelope. It is the only park within several miles of Chadron. When I called for a reservation, whoever answered the phone didn't have a clue about the park. I asked if there was a pull through available as I have a 45' coach and was towing. I didn't want to unhook. She told me that someone would have to call me back. I never got a call back. If you want to pay with a credit card, you have to find a hardware store in town for them to run your card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Chadron State Park is the oldest state park in Nebraska. The park is right on Hwy 385 in the Pine Ridge area at about 4,000 feet of elevation. The campsites were well groomed and of good size and spacing. Water spigots were available throughout the campsite. The restrooms were clean and shower water hot. Clean up of the area is in progress, it looks like a fire sweep through so clean up in the surrounding area is ongoing. We are staying 2 nights in camp site 53. No local TV channels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Chadron State Park is the oldest state park in Nebraska. The park is right on Hwy 385 in the Pine Ridge area at about 4,000 feet of elevation. The campground was very pretty and in good repair. The campsites were well groomed and of good size and spacing. Water spigots were available throughout the campsite. Based on a previous review that said the back loop had great views I booked a spot there. However, not all sites have these great views as we found out later. Nevertheless, it didn't really detract from our stay. The restrooms were along the lines of other state parks we have visited but clean and in good repair. We did notice some traffic noise from the highway, especially when in the upper part of the campground, but couldn't hear it inside our trailer with AC running. We only used the park for an overnight stop and did not take advantage of the other features of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Very nice State Park nestled in the Pine Ridge of Northwest Nebraska. We stayed here overnight in route to the Black Hills. Very clean facilities. The lower area has some shaded spots, but the upper loop has a better view of the great scenery. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
The scenery both in and out of the campground area is beautiful, Green and soothing. The sites are large and easy to negotiate. Lots of space behind the sites to spread out. The restrooms and showers were clean and nice. We had a couple concerns. The community fresh water access near our site was non operational. Our main concern was the ticks. We attempted to take a hike, but had to return after 15 minutes and then spent 45 minutes removing ticks from our dogs and ourselves. Ticks were also prevalent at the campsite. We were constantly checking ourselves to see if new ones latched on. We kept our dogs inside after we realized the extent of the problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
Awesome State Park. It's well manicured and very green. Has a friendly staff and large sites. Some road noise, but not bad at all. Has a great pool, fishing pond, star gazing. Verizon cell and air card worked well. There is a great Chinese buffet in town. Nice 1.25 hours north to Custer State park in South Dakota. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
A week long family vacation to Yellowstone and beyond, and my kids say the Chadron night was they're favorite! This park is very large, and the sites are fairly well spaced out. The Pine Ridge area of Nebraska is very scenic, and this park sits right in the middle of it all. Huge swimming pool, with two diving boards, a nice park to just walk around, hiking trail, and a lake that we rented paddle boats on for a fun morning. Very reasonable rates, all the amenities we needed, and a beautiful sunset. Not my first time there, and won't be the last. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
This is a great state park! Has lush green grassy areas which are mowed regularly with lots of trees for shade. Campground has all back-in sites that are angled along both sides of the one-way road. Accessible for big rigs. Sites on "top" of loop have better chance of cell reception, but it is a weak signal. Lots to do for families: bike/hike trails, tennis courts, several playgrounds, activity center with archery and crafts, swimming pool, trail rides. We would definitely stay again! There is lots of water access but not at site, so bring your long hose or stop near a pump to fill your tank. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Stayed one night on our way to the Black Hills. Great location for families. Lots of activities. Friendly staff. Lots of Blue birds. The Eastern part of the state doesn't know what they're missing. Sites are well maintained, but our neighbor complained about our talking so maybe the sites are a little close together. No phone reception. Would stay again for even longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
Wow! This is one of the nicest state parks we've stayed in. Very well kept and lots to do and see. You do get some minor highway noise during the day but not too bad. The sites are paved and close to level. Chadron is close by and has most anything you may need. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Lovely state park with surprising amenities. The kids very much enjoyed the pool and the fishing pond. Lot of hiking. Convenient from the road and accessible for big rigs. Lots of shade and well maintained slots. A nice stop on our way north. We would definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
A really beautiful park! Well maintained and very clean. The pond is right out of a Norman Rockwell painting. Sites weren’t quite level but it wasn’t a problem. All sites are 30 amps and you won’t find water at your site. We were in a first come site #60 up the hill and across from our site was a brick building with bathrooms & showers. It also housed a laundry room but we didn’t use it. Also across from us was a water spigot, which made taking on water a breeze. A minus, there was some road noise during the day but at night it was quiet. A plus, there were NO trains!! We had cell & Aircard signals using our antenna and booster and we also had a clear shot for our dome satellite. Don't let them assign a site to you as a lot of the sites have large trees and can block your satellite signal. We would definitely stay here again when passing through. Would have liked to stay longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A beautiful setting with nice big trees, walking paths. The bad side was lots of woodticks. Watch out for them. Otherwise, a very pretty campground. The tent area looked very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
The rate doesn't include the daily park fee of $4.00 per vehicle. It is also extra to use the pool, which is not at the campground. It is a beautiful park, well maintained and generally quiet. We stayed 4 nights. We had no trouble getting a satellite signal, we were in the upper section. The roads were paved, with paved sites. We did have trouble getting level, however. There were also a lot of ticks around. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
This park is beautiful. The nightly rate was $15.00 but they add a $4.00 fee for each vehicle per day. We camped here in a motorhome and had to pay the site fee plus the fee for the rig and a fee for the car. We had electric only at the site but a water hydrant is located every seven sites where one can run a hose to fill their fresh water tank. We were on a site at the highest point in the camping area and the view was spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
Great find if you're wanting to have an experience at a state park in the Northwest quadrant of Nebraska. Only about 20% occupied, and the Rangers told me they are never full. Lots of space to spread out, and keep away from other campers. Lots of shade, and very well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
This park is very nice. Most of the sites are spacious. The bathrooms and showers were kept very clean. The only bad thing about our stay was that the swimming pool was shut down for repair and it was near 100 degrees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$12
This park is a very nice park with nice scenery. some of the lower sites can have highway noise but not much as there is not much traffic out here in western Nebraska. The water is not at each site but is a hydrant spaced so that several sites can fill their tanks so carry extra hose. Last summers forest fires did not burn into the park. Overall a nice park so stay and relax in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$14
A very nice campground in a beautiful state park. Plenty of space between sites. Loop roads and pads are paved. Only downside: the campground is adjacent to a highway, therefore it may be wise to find a site as far away from the highway as possible. There are some shaded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com