206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Morro Dunes RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 92 user reviews. Phone: (805) 772-2722
CGID397

Morro Dunes RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   8   6   10   7   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$48
You can see Morro Rock from any site. Beach is about 100 feet via walking over the dunes. You "might" be able to see some ocean if in the perfect site and a very tall RV. Site size varies without any change in price. Some wide sites are roomy. By the time we opened our pop out, at our site, there was not any room to sit and enjoy outdoors. Sites are all dirt. Fire pits and table at each site, but had to move table to rear of trailer or could not get into site (we explained our super slide, but guess they did not understand?). We like sitting outside part of our day. So this would not be my choice for more than 1-2 nights. Price reflects off season rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$48
The rate cites is based on the weekly rate. We are paying $46.20 plus $2.20 per night for our dog. If you stay a week they give you one night discount. Off season is Oct 1st to April 1st. So when we called a week before our stay, they had room for us (tried to stay here during Thanksgiving but they were booked up). Holiday times you will need to book way, way in advance. So, the web site information and rates are currently accurate. Good utilities, 70 lbs water pressure, no hiccups with 50 amp electric. Staff does a good job maintaining grounds and bathrooms. Office staff is very social. Short walk to dog-friendly beach. We've stayed here several times, most recent was two years ago. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
Morro Dunes RV Park, we have stayed here a number of times and will return. Check in is easy the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are clean and level all good size some wider than others some longer than others, many pull threws, big rig friendly. Trash pickup at your site they sort the recycle. Walk to dog friendly beaches that go to Morro Bay Rock and harbor with the otters. What more could we want? We stayed end of September and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Many different type and sizes of sites and all seem level. Easy walk to beach and the town of Morro Bay for great shopping and dining. Some of the sites seem a little close but it is very quiet and the park wasn't full so was not a problem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Perfect location, the swimming beach is right across the street. Sites are decent size but dirt. Only 1/2 the cable channels worked and the WiFi was almost useless. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean and the staff friendly. The Embarcadero is an easy bike ride away but a little far to walk. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
If you ever visited Campland on the Bay in San Diego, this park is its twin sister. Sites are dirt, very little vegetation, but cleaned after you leave for the next visitor. Many families occupy many adjacent sites for family fun. Everyone here was nice and friendly including the staff. Good quality analog cable, but no HD channels. Wi-Fi was a waste of time, very poor connectivity due to over usage, and not enough bandwidth to support the population. If you wait until the wee hours in the morning, it works just fine. The restrooms are large and initially clean, but succumb to too many people using them between cleanings. The adjacent west fence of the property has pass thru gates in every section, allowing a short walk to the beach and town from your site. I would stay here again, it seems to have the best location of all the other parks in the area. Well equipped RV supply store on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$46
What a great place to stay! The staff is friendly and open. The park is beautiful. The location is perfect and power and water were great. You literally walk out of the park and across the street to the beach. I hope to come back here some day, because it was so awesome being here. Can't say enough good things about them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Great location, but weekends are always free.Lots of noise from central california campers with fires until late at night. Not very flexible on site selection and extensions for different rates. Overall a great park, good location, and very clean facility We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$45
This uniquely designed park is adjacent to the beach with a nice view of the Rock. Friendly and helpful staff. Free wi-fi is barely adequate. Sites are narrow; ours was level. We had a pleasant stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$44
Big RV Park near the water. The RV sites are dirt and gravel. Be prepared to track gravel and dirt inside. Wide sites with picnic tables and fire rings. Easy check in and a full time RV repair business on site. Easy to maneuver and hook up the RV. We've stayed here several times and it is a good location to see the sights. We would stay here again. It is just an average park, nothing special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
I spent a long time trying to decide which park to stay at in Morro Bay and I am glad I choose this one. The location is great, and it is right on the beach (well over a small road). We walked into town, watched the seals and had dinner. The beach is great to walk along and watch all the birdlife. The staff were friendly, the bathrooms clean (although a little old) and a good laundry. The pitches are quite close together and this may be a problem if the park was full, but it wasn't when we stayed for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Direct access to beach and direct view on Morro Rock. Spacious sites but a bit narrow when a towed car has to be on the site, too. Three laundries. Restrooms and showers were pretty dirty. Probably they clean once a day only. The whole impression is a bit worn out place. Very nice approach and welcome by the staff. Wi-Fi and cable, both OK. Special fence doors to allow sunset and sunrise early in the morning or late at night. We recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Overall nice park for the family. All hookups worked well. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi was so-so. You can bike into town. The beach is across the street over a couple of sand dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Reservations were very helpful. Check in easy. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Our site was as advertised. Clean, the staff was constantly emptying the trash cans and cleaning all the grounds. The pet friendly beach is right there. During an off shore wind there is a sewage treatment plant close where you get a slight odor. We would and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is an older park. The sites for big rigs aren't that big. We had to park our truck for our 40' 5th wheel in overflow. They do keep it clean and picked up. Nice laundry and good Wi-Fi. Buildings and fencing are showing their age. It is nice to be able to walk to the beach but dogs must be kept on leash. We did find a great dog friendly beach just north of here in Cayucas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
I give this RV Park a "10" for location. The ocean is just a short walk over some sand dunes. The sites have a majestic view of Morro Rock, an outcrop of 581' and a short walk on the beach from the park. The sites themselves are OK. A little on the narrow side, but manageable. They are gravel and come with a picnic table, a fire pit and a trash bin. There's a privacy fence separating the larger back-in sites. They have an on site RV Mechanic/Garage. The wharf, which you need to drive to, has a number of seafood restaurants. We ate at The American Fish Co and Dockside. Both were excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$44
Stayed here for a week. Sites are a little tight but OK. The very small gravel at our site got everywhere. You are right next to Morro Rock and can walk to the beach. The staff here is great. Our water heater went out and I had figured out that it was one of the solenoids on the gas valve. Their on-site tech had one on a old valve, we installed it and all is well. Would have cost $80 for a new valve, cost me $20 donation to the BBQ fund. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
A few questions to ask that we often don't think of. Not just what is the shape of the space we'd be expected to pull into, which is practical, BUT how close is the local Sewage Treatment Plant? Got here late, given a spot that was a contortion to get into, while there were other spaces that were open and much easier. Then there was this odor in the air which we thought was because we were given a "spot" next to the dump station. No: but didn't see it until daylight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$44
Sites too small for us but the half circle areas would be ideal for small group campers. State park had larger sites. Could hear the ocean from our site. Industrial noise in the AM next door. All in all it was OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$46
We stayed here three nights in a level culdesac back in space. The park was extremely neat, clean and all the utilities worked fine. Our site was one space away from a gate that gave us access to the dunes where we could run our dogs once we crossed a mostly unused street. Very quiet at night, we really enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$46
Sites separated by fencing which provides a bit of privacy between sites even though the sites are close. Roads are paved but sites are gravel. Sites slope back to front so steps on motorhome are high. Park is quiet and beach access is just across the entry road. Cable TV is weak but viewable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$41
Check in was efficient and professional. Rules for dogs were spelled out clearly. None were unreasonable. Sites are all gravel. No grass or patio. You get your services, a table and a fire pit. I think it would have been nice to have some type of patio just to keep your rig a little less filled with sand. Assess to the great beach was easy. Other guests were friendly and well behaved. All of the services worked well including the Wi-Fi that is part of the package. Cell service was excellent. The only big down side was our site(132). It has to have been the only one in the park that wasn't level. I added 4" the both front levelers. It made the first step to get into the rig a little big. All in all, minor issues. We will return. $41.00 included the additional for the dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Staff was very friendly here. Even effected a minor repair to my CPAP battery connection for free at their RV repair center. Location couldn't be better. It is right across the street from the dunes. While there is some sort of treatment plant next door, it is totally odorless. Our rate was for electric and water only (full hook-ups are available). Dumping was on site and free. With out a doubt we will come back here again. Our only concern was Verizon connection was poor. They do provide Wi-Fi, but we prefer our own MiFi secured connection via Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Campground was pretty well-kept and bathrooms and showers were not bad. Sites were a little small but sufficient unless you are trying to entertain friends and family members in other campsites. Unfortunately this is what my neighboring campsite was doing (family reunion). They were rather loud and annoying and people were clearly intoxicated and swearing at each other past 11pm, which is when I managed to fall asleep. I wouldn’t normally fault a campground for rude campers but quiet time at 10pm was not enforced, the campground office closes at 5:30pm, and I could see no staff presence afterward. Wi-Fi did not work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Busy park directly across a small street from the beach. Great views of Morro Rock. We stayed in the most northerly site, right inside the entry. I was worried it would be noisy and busy, but it was fine, plus we had the only site with a direct ocean view! Sites are tight, particularly near the beach, they get bigger in the rear area. Run by nice folks. We have stayed here before and will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
There is nothing really great about this park, but at the same time, there is nothing wrong with it. This park is located a short walk to the beach and the Rock. The roads are paved and the sites are gravel. Some of the roads are a bit narrow but slow and easy will get you in and out safely. The laundry and bathrooms are clean and conveniently located throughout the park. There are a few other parks in the area but this is the closest to the Rock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Older park, but nice and clean sites. Just next to the ocean. Wi-Fi had a very low signal and did not work from time to time. But overall park is OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
A nice location. A nice pull-through site. Could not get Wi-Fi to work at 30 feet from the router, go figure. Office was no help. This is an older park but has clean restrooms. AND kids running wild. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
Easy access from Ca. # 1. Sites are sufficiently generous, gravel covered and level. Next to the Ocean!!! Park designed for easy access to walk on the beach. Over Memorial Day weekend, they were booked!. Popular site! Very comfortable campground for short or more lengthy stays. Very hospitable and friendly staff. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
After reading some of the reviews for this campground I had mixed feelings for camping here. However, I cannot say 1 bad thing about this place. We are across the street from the beach dunes. It's a very quiet park and I love that. Also very clean. We used a pull through site and that was easy! We stayed here Saturday through Tuesday and it was nice and quiet! Can't wait to come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
This is the second time staying at the park. Originally was not able to get a spot due to Spring Break, but was able to secure a spot at the last moment. Staff is friendly, clean restrooms. Plenty of places to walk the dogs. Beach was close by and easy access. This is a place worth returning to. Many RV owners store their rig on site and owners will bring your rig from storage to your assigned spot. Great way to pack and go. The trip down Hwy 46 was great and close to San Simeon as well as sea lion viewing area just 30 mins from Morro bay. Was in a 26ft travel trailer. This was a far better location than the park that is around the corner and next to a high school. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$47
Ths park is located next to a 24 hr recycling center and you get to hear it all night. They allow pets, but it is not pet friendly with the manager making sure the polices are explained to you. Sites are nor level. The dog walk is a small space with no grass and don't let your dog get out of that area to do its business. We wont be coming back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$35
We stayed here for a week and are coming back. The review about someones screaming kids and barking dog give the park a 3 because of that. The park is great location. Nice and quiet and we saw several children in the park while we were there along with lots of dogs but no barking dogs. Thanks to the management for dealing with barking dogs and unsupervised children. And I am not 60 years old either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
This park has the most wonderful location around Morro Bay with views of the ocean in some spots. We had a spot with a fantastic view of the ocean, and loved it, however if you are young and have kids, I would strongly urge you not to stay here as stated by the owners. "Everyone is really old and does not like noise from kids or dogs and it would be best for us to stay somewhere else." We stayed here with our 3 kids and dog for 4 days and were complained about by everyone around us, who mind you, were ages ranging from 60 to 80 years old. No offense to my elders as I have respect for them. The owner approached me as to the complaints and completely defalcated my character in front of the fire department who was here training. I had approached the fire department about my kids doing a tour at their department and owner of park was standing next to the fireman. He had no problem reprimanding me in front of said fire department. Said that we could no longer stay at the park as my children where too loud and that my dog cried one night when we went to dinner. It was so quiet in the park it was like being at a morgue. Other than that, this is the most wonderful place to stay if you want very, very quiet and a wonderful view of the ocean. Happy travels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
Stayed here only two days on our way South. What a delightful surprise. The spaces are a little tight, especially for a big rig. A spectacular beach is just across a dirt road from the park. There is no water view since there is a security fence around the property. Be sure to peddle your bike downtown for good food and nice shops. Short drive to Hearst Castle and Paso Robles wine country. The management is quite friendly and efficient. It is an older park, but has lots of maintenance going on. Power plant is behind park. Not noticeable except for a loud buzzing early each morning. Morro Rock is an impressive landmark. We would stay here again, but for much longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Our first visit here, and we loved it. It is, as previous reviews say, a little older but very well kept and great staff. We quickly made friends with an elderly couple who stays here every year, and they were gracious enough to tell us some good spots to eat and what to see and do. Close to the beach and lots of cool shops to explore. We will definitely return here on our annual trip to the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
This park is truly a gem, though it is very old. There is clearly pride of ownership here as the friendly staff keeps the park very well-tended. I would rate this park a 10 but for the antiquated showers/bathrooms. They are numerous, with plenty of hot water, and very clean, but they could certainly use some renovation. There is immediate beach access, and it's a pleasant walk to town from your RV. To get to town, you walk a short distance on the beach. Once you reach the bay, you can sit on benches and watch otters frolic. Continuing towards town, there is a lovely walking path, with a bicycle path alongside, all along the water. In town, there are wonderful shops and many great restaurants. We especially liked Giovanni's Fish Market & Galley: outdoor patio and fabulous fish and chips w/garlic fries! We also enjoyed a wonderful meal at Embarcadero Grill where they have several different 'all you can eat' specials during the week. Both the RV park, and all of Morro Bay, is very dog-friendly. Many restaurants have patios and welcome your dog! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we WILL return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We arrived and the assigned space was not big enough for our 40', the gentleman in the office reassigned us with out hesitation. When we pulled into our site one of the trees would have brushed up against our bedroom slide and my wife asked if it could possible be trimmed. The same man said he would have it done asap. No more than 15 minutes later he arrived with one of the staff and assisted in the trimming of a good two feet of growth then apologizing for the inconvenience. Needless to say we were very impressed and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
I have been staying in this park since I was a child. My parents kept a travel trailer in storage here and we stayed here at least monthly. When I got older, and had a family of my own, I at first brought my kids here to stay in my parents RV and now travel here in my own motorhome. Like me, my own (now grown) kids feel like this park is "home". Given their choice of nearby central coast RV parks, they STILL choose Morro Dunes every time. On my daughter's breaks from college in Tucson, AZ, she always asks if we can stay at Morro Dunes for her "beach fix". Access to the beach, and the ability to hear the surf at night, is without peer at any other park. I can't understand how anyone would state that this park is not "kid friendly" or complain that they, their kids, or their dog(s) were made to feel unwelcome in any way. I stayed here as a child, I brought my kids here when they were children, and have now taken grandchildren here. We have almost always traveled here with our dogs. We have always felt comfortable and welcome. I can only assume that perhaps experiences to the contrary were brought on by noisy, ill-behaved, kids and dogs. I have found that if you respect your neighbors they will respect you as well. Leaving a dog alone in an RV is against the rules at every RV park I have ever visited. It is not surprising that a previous reviewer had issues with his neighbors when he left his dog alone, and whining, at Morro Dunes. While much of the the park clientele may be more "mature" than some other coastal parks, we find this to be an attraction rather than a detriment as the park tends to be quieter, traffic tends to travel slower, and the atmosphere feels safer. The facilities are always meticulously clean and the staff has always been friendly and accommodating. My only complaint might be "sketchy" Wi-Fi access depending on the location in the park. The park has the absolute best location on the central coast with easy access to points north and south. If you want a clean and comfortable park, where you, your kids, and your pets will be safe, and without noisy neighbors, loud music, rowdy partying, or offensive OHV's, then this is the park for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
A little older park, but well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. We loved the short distance to the wine tasting. Older bathrooms definitely need renovating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Nice older park right across from the beach. We had a wonderful view of Morro Rock right out our front window. The park itself is a bit sparse, but functional. Our site was tight for our 34' Class A, but I chose it for the view and direct beach access; they do have larger sites, but the view is not as good. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an RV repair shop on site (same owners?). Good inventory of parts too. The town of Morro Bay, and the "Rock" is an easy 15 minute walk away. There is some sort of water treatment plant behind the park, but there was no problem with noise or smells. I will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
We spent three nights here. They use an usual cul-de-sac layout, which packs a good number of sites into the space, but we did not feel crowded. The staff is really friendly, as were most of the campers that we met. Price was fair for a campground with easy beach access. Our only annoyance which was minor, is that they take reservations, but will not guarantee a specific site. We had been told that we had site D9 when we reserved two months ago, only to find out when we checked in that we were moved to C1, despite us wanting to be at adjacent sites to our friends. Otherwise, we were pleased with our experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We have camped here in the past and will continue to come here. Love the access to the beach. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Everything is clean and nicely maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We stayed here as we were passing through the area. I was pleased to find info left for us on the door of the office since we arrived after the office had closed. We were given a great location. Easy in. Easy out. Near the restrooms. J-11 & J-12. We had only booked one site, but they gave us two. Since we're new to camping, pull-through sites are a welcome thing. The restrooms were quite clean despite the huge amount of use they received. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This is a very family oriented park. If lots of kids and dogs bother you, stay somewhere else. Close to everything important while staying in Morro Bay. Right across from the beach and an outstanding view of the Rock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Good Sam Rate for 50 amp, full hook-ups. Good power and water. Satellite friendly (tie that dish down, beach winds). Verizon cell and air-card reception. Just a delightful, friendly front office team! Good news here: one is out of ear shot from the local high school, cement and water treatment plants up the road. Then there is the fact this park is located across the dead-end street from the dunes, beach and unsurpassed views of Morro Rock. Summers are slammed here so they limit stays for 14 days in 14 days out. Would love to revisit at a slower pace in the spring, fall or winter. Another fine older park with sites set up for 1940's rigs, however they have carved out nice long spaces for big rigs, and little cul-de-sacs for those of us who can accommodate back-ins. It works as long as your neighbor isn't set on nightly bon fires. No self respecting grass will survive this close to a windy beach, so the pads are packed sand/gravel with paved streets. Laundry, restrooms, showers were ridden hard, but everything worked and were kept clean. No mean feat with this kind of summer traffic. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$40
Nice park with big spaces. Can be noisy, especially on weekends- lots of family noise and occasionally some loud drunk types. Management is friendly. Short walk to the beach/water front. It's a long way to shopping and restaurants, and you will likely have to drive because it's 3/4 of a mile walk down the beach to get to anything. The dog walk is muddy and not a good place for the pooch, but management doesn't care if you walk the dog elsewhere in the park as long as you clean up. We have stayed here a lot and since we are fulltimers, and we wish that the park didn't have rules that make it impossible to stay here longer than 7 days in a row during the summer season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$40
Location, location: you are just across the street from the ocean. A very quiet area (don't let the power plant or cement plant scare you. I've been here twice and never heard them). Morro Beach is a good location to just lay back and enjoy the coast and is a central location for lots of touring. Sites are close, but you don't feel too crowded. Internet is slow, but it does work. Staff is very friendly. A unique offering is that you can store your RV here and they will take it to your site before you get here and put it back in storage when you're gone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
An ok campground with a very different space arrangement. We would go back. It has friendly staff and is close to ocean: when the fog is not in, you can see Morro Rock. All sand sites: the one we had was not level so we had to use leveling blocks (site 120). It did have good electricity and water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
This place was great. It was at the beach, dogs were allowed, it had nice restrooms and showers and it had nice laundry facilities. We loved it here and will definitely return. Walking distance to town and the harbor area is pure delight. Too bad the only grocery store is so far away, but it was still a great time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We have camped in this park for 1 week each summer. The sites vary greatly, but all are well set up and afford adequate space. Bathrooms & showers are nicely maintained. The smaller sites afford easy access to the dunes and beach. We enjoyed our stay here a great deal. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
It's as good as it gets for a beach side, private RV park. The spaces are large, level, with fine gravel and raked between campers. There is a good view of the Morro rock, but not of the beach. It's an easy walk to the beach. No pool, spa, or playground, and it's a drive to restaurants. I would definitely go here again if I travel to Morro Bay: but I wish there was better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
This RV campground is within walking distance to the ocean. Our spot had a nice view of Morro Rock. The grounds were clean & the staff was nice. It would be better if there was a little grass and trees but there wasn't. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
Great spot to view "Morro Rock". Tight spaces which wasn't really a problem as most everyone here was very friendly and there are fences separating most sites. Dog walk is a joke. It's a short (50 yard X 15 yard) area of dirt. There is an adjacent spot to the supposed dog walk which could and should be an extended part of the walk. So many dogs here you basically wait with your dog until the 2 ahead of done with business. Also, because of the dirt, it really needs mulching. Dog walk issues may not interest some, but there are lots of us that would like a decent spot to walk our pets. Quiet hours end at 8:00 am and at 8:02 Saturday am there are already screaming kids all over the campground. Management seems to not care. Love the town, but would not stay here nor recommend this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Flat sites in a variety of sizes and a parking lot-type place. Bathrooms were just painted, they're older and the showers are the push-button kind--mine shut off every 15 seconds. The water in the bathrooms frequently didn't get past lukewarm. The vanity area is new-looking. It's right across the street from the dunes and beach with the rock and the waterfront only a short distance away. You can actually walk to the Embarcadero area by cutting across the beach and then taking a walking path. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
I wouldn't have known this park exsisted, if not for this site. It is at the end of a road that dead ends right next to the beach and has a view of Morro Rock. We were in the back with pull-through sites. I really liked the short fences that separated the pull-through sites. That gave a nice look when sitting at the site. If I had to stay in the section that was not pull-through, I would not stay here. The smaller sites were very crowded! Kids on bikes with little supervision made driving through the park scary. Not a park suitable for kids. No grass or kid area. We don't have kids, so the back area was a quiet area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$44
This was a very cramped, noisy RV park. There is a water treatment plant nearby. Park has a gravel yard and is located across the road from the beach, but no view. We forfeited our deposit rather than stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
This is an awesome park, the first '10' we have seen. Clean, laid out well for the available space, beautiful surroundings, close to the waterfront shops and restaurants, and 'The Rock'. When we stay here again, I will try to get a cul-de-sac space because they are a bit larger and they are right next to beach access. I wish we could have stayed longer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
Great location, right across from the beach and dunes. Our spot was just behind the fence which also served as a shield from wind and sand. Walked or rode our bicycles to the main part of town, about 10 to 20 minutes. The staff was exceptionally helpful. The on-site store had a very good selection of common as well as some very hard to find RV repair parts. During our stay we ran across a rather large injured bird on the beach, a full grown Western Greebe. The park's staff helped us by locating and contacting the local wildlife agency. They met us at the park's office to pick up the injured bird. We enjoyed our stay and I'll bet the rescued bird would also give this park an excellent rating. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$42
When I first drove in I didn't think much of it, but once I saw the spot I was given I ended up staying a week instead of 2 nights. The staff was quite nice. Met a lot of very nice people staying at the park. Busy on the weekend, weekdays were quiet and mellow. Good location to see sights, the beach is wonderful. The wi-fi didn't work well at all, I had my aircard which worked fine. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$41
This is a very nice, compact, and very quiet little park. The sites are level, gravel areas with a picnic bench and fire ring. This park is also very dog friendly, as we saw numerous dogs being walked in the mornings. We were concerned about possible smells being next the waste water treatment plant, but it was not a problem. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating about finding us a place when we wanted to stay another night. The park is a 15-minute walk to the Morro Bay waterfront restaurants and tourist shops and a shorter 5-minute walk to the beach. Backing into the cul-de-sac sites can be tricky if you arrive after dark. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were clean and convenient to our location. The showers could use a little more water pressure. A very nice park in a great location. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
As others have said, go for the location right across from the beach, which is through a wooden fence. It is clean and well organized, with friendly staff. The sites include full hookups, picnic table and fire ring. 50 amp still being installed. On the downside, the sites are pretty close together, the surface is primarily asphalt, gravel, or concrete, and the sewage treatment plant is next door. Still, it's great if you just want hookups by the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$40
A real nice park with great pleasant management. All hookups worked properly. They are putting in new electrical hookups which should be ready in the near future. We had to hook up our 50 AMP coach to older 30 AMP electric this time. The voltage was adequate. The place is clean and a general sprucing up was going on while we were here. Since we stayed here a month and a half, we got to know them very well. They handle mail and deliveries very well here for you. The beach is a very short walk out the fence. We would definitely stay here again. If staying during a holiday make reservations well in advance of your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$36
It is a nice place and just a short walk to a great beach by the Morro Rock. (In fact, there are views of The Rock from most places in the campground.) The campground is also located within walking distance (about a mile) of the harbor and tourist areas. Morro Dunes offers RV sites with full hookups with or without TV, free WiFi, and many tent sites. There are several shower and laundry facilities conveniently located throughout the park. The only down side is that the park is very compact, meaning sites are close together and the adjacent property to the east is the water treatment plant for the city of Morro Bay. So far there hasn't been an odor problem. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
We came on an extremely busy weekend. The Harbor Festival was going on and we were able to squeeze into the last site in the park. It was a narrow tiny place next to the bathroom. Although it was difficult to back my trailer in, I took what I could get. This place was great! The sites are pretty small and narrow but the location is what matters. This resort is basically on the beach. There is a wooden fence and a small dead-end road then sand dunes and the ocean. The sites are about 100' from the beach. There is only a tiny place to bring your dog in the park, but you can walk the quiet road by the sand or walk your dogs on the beach (it is a dog friendly area for about 1/2 mile each way). The huge Morro rock is right in front of the park and about a 20 minute walk away. It is about a 20-30 minute walk into town with shopping and food or a 5 minute drive. I will be going back this fall! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
Very friendly staff, all dressed in Holloween costumes due to it being Holloween. We stayed here two days and just loved the location. Right across the street from a wonderful beach with an unobstructed view of Morro Rock. Facility is clean, and well maintained. Not all sites have 50amp service yet, but all should be hooked up within a month, or so. We had 30amp service, but that worked well for us. You can call "Dial A Ride" and be shuttled over to the Morro Bay Embarcadero for $1.50 per person. You can also catch a bus up to Hearst Castle from Morro Bay Park. Will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$42
Good for value. Good location, few steps across road to sand dunes and good view of the rock. Staff friendly. Park - is basic, not a lot of grass ie lots gravel and no area for kids as such. Would not stay for much more than a night therefore -but certainly has services you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
I have no serious complaint with this park, considering what it is. It is a great place to plug your fridge and bed for diving adventures, or as a base camp to explore surrounding areas and visit friends and family. It's fine for a one night stopover, which is how we used it. In my opinion, though, it is not a place to sit and relax. It's all dirt and gravel. There are too many kids on bikes paying no attention to traffic and frankly, the place looks a bit like a refugee camp from the Grapes of Wrath. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
The staff greeted us promptly and were very friendly. The location is right next to the beach with a great view of Morro Rock. The campground is nice, full hookups, cable, although somewhat small. Still, it is near Hearst Castle and in a nice town. We had a problem with the Wi-Fi. We had two sites and both could not connect to the internet. I contacted staff and they said it was due to heavy use, but I checked it during the middle of the night and I still could not log on. I think the modem needed to be reset. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
All the sites are manicured. The office was real helpful. We liked the area so much we went from 6 night stay to a 9 night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$50
Great Location for Beach access. It was right across the street. Perfect for a weekend getaway. Staff was Very Very nice. The only thing I didn't like was it was all cement. But I got over it with the location being right across from the beach! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We have stayed here many times in the past and over the years come to be a bit dissapointed with the age and condition of the park. But that was before this year when we discovered, after all this time, there was a whole nuther part of the park. We were never aware of the north end of the park. It is larger and much nicer than the south end. I wonder why this was kept a secret ? Must be that everyone wants to stay on the south end because of the ocean that almost flows into your campsite. The north end is hidden behind a fence and is twice as nice as the south end, and way quieter. Wowee ! we have re-discovered a gem on the sea. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Old park, needs to be upgraded We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
I love it when people go to the beach and complain about the sand. You know, if you go to Yosemite there's all those dang pine needles. Everything is relative folks. Anyway, it's a nice park. Where else can you go and have a magnificent rock formation right outside your window and be steps from the ocean, have full hookups with cable TV and Wi-Fi for $38? I can't stay home for that. The sites can make one a little claustrophobic. But our site handled our 35' MH, our toad and our 2 slideouts. Just. Camp is older and does show it's age in spots. Staff was very friendly. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
This is, or was, a very nice park. I realize that when a park is located right on the beach it is hard to keep things from rusting, and sand is a never ending problem. Morro Dunes is owned and operated by some very nice Christian people. The wifi is very good, access to the beach is great, but thats kind of the end of it. The place is all dirt or a mixture of dirt and sand that gets everywhere. This place would really benefit from a load of gravel. I tend to leave little tests around when i spend multiple days at a park. A sliver of soap in a soap dish, a crumpled up paper towel in the corner on the floor. We were there 4 days and these things were still there in the shower and rest rooms. And whats with having to push the button every 60 seconds to get the shower water to flow? I think that the biggest problem here is the age of the park. Like so many in the country they are suffering from old age and lack of investment. This is a large park, right on the water in central calif. I can only imagine what this ground is worth. It probably wouldn't pay the owners to put any money in the place when its worth millions to the developers. Would i stay here again ? probably, but only in my 5th wheel where i didn't have to use the toilet and shower facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
I honestly don't understand what the previous reviewer means by clean. This is one of the dirtiest places we've stayed. All sites are dirt, and they rake the dirt up, creating clouds of blowing dirt so we had to close our windows. At $33/night (the dog's a dollar ten extra even though the "dog run" is a strip of dirt and no services are provided for the charge.), one would expect a bit of gravel if grass won't grow. Also, you have to be careful when you pull in and ask for what you want. We said "full hook up," which in the rest of the world means water, sewer and electricity. Here it means an extra $4.50 for a satellite feed we don't want or need--no refunds--no choice. I suppose if you are careful enough what you say when checking in, have no dog and don't live in your RV so don't mind it getting really dirty inside, this is a good beachside park. For us, on top of the very dog UN-friendly nature of the town, we won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
First the good: The park is in a nice location, just over the dunes from the ocean and Morro Rock and far from any busy streets. Maintenance is top notch, all sites clean, raked and the whole park is in great repair, which is saying something given the proximity to the ocean and salt water! The waterfront/downtown area of Morro Bay is a short walk (maybe one mile?) down the beach, adding to the attractiveness of the location. All services worked well, including the free Wi-Fi. Now, the not so good: The sites are very open and pretty much right on top of each other. No real "camping" feel. The people working the desk were not the most friendly. Not rude or anything, but just not real friendly. Maybe because we stayed immediately following Labor Day weekend and they were a little tired, their patience was thin? All in all, I'd definitely go back to Morro Dunes. Not my dream spot, but a very nice RV park in a great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
My wife and I love this place.We come here every year for our anniversary and due to it's location, can visit all of the local spots; Cambria, Morro Bay, Los Osos and San Luis Obispo. Sites are level, pea gravel and most have full hook-ups. The campground is directly across from the beach and if you're lucky, the fog will roll in, in the late afternoon. Great escape from the Central Valley heat!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
We made reservations month ago and asked if they, the campground management, could move us closer together as cancellations occurred. When we showed up we had two sites next to each other. They get a 10 for that. The sites we were assigned were converted tent sites with only gray water drains. One of the sites had a light pole on it which made it difficult for our friends to park their trailer. The beach is an easy, short walk away. There aren't many places to ride bikes to so I would leave them behind next time. There is a trolley that takes you around town for $.50 a ride or $2.00 for all day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Well the good news is that it had wi-fi and some working laundry facilities. And it was just over the fence and across the street from Morro Rock. Good hookup options. And the staff is very nice. But, um, it's also surrounded on at least two sides by an electric plant, cement plant and a sanitation plant. It's all paved, no shade and you really do feel like you're on top of each other. Oh, and near where our campsite itself was is a lot that can only be described as where RVs go to die. There were dozens of rusty, old campers. We moved on to Morro Strand State Beach just a few miles away. Right on the beach and just up the road. Alot quieter too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
Staff very helpful, site was raked and spotless, easy hookup, fire pit & picnic table.Across the street is the beach on the north side of Morro Rock, very accessible by walking or wheelchair. Older park but VERY well maintained,every machine in the laundry worked! Showers clean. Good dog area and dog friendly staff. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$45
I found it hard to get very excited about this place. Our location in the park wasn't the greatest. Some sites are just over the fence from Morro Bay's sewage treatment plant and ours was one of them. When the wind is blowing just right, you get a lovely ocean breeze. But when it blows the wrong way, you get the sewage plant aroma. The "sites in the back" seemed to be less prone to the sewage aroma so if you can get one of those sites you'll be in good shape. All that aside, it's an easy stroll to the beach and although the town is a walkable distance, we just drove there. Great beach town, restaurants, fresh fish market, all good. Having said all that, if we ever go to Morro Bay again we'll probably stay in the state park unless we can get a guaranteed "back" site here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$33
Real Beach'ee place. Level wide back-in sites. If you get a "fence" site you can see the ocean from your rig (If it's a Motor Home or big 5th wheel. We loved it, very nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
They claim this to be a Resort? Someone's living in a fantasy world! This has to be one of the dreariest places we've ever been to. Staff with no personality, lousy gravel sites and virtually no amenities. I asked for a pull-through site and while they had plenty, they made me take a back-in site. We won't bother with this place again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$31
Very clean and maintained park. Right across the street from the ocean. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
Very nice park where location is one of the highlights. Hookups are planned and the grounds are very well kept. Dog runs are clean and spaced nicely. Restrooms are clean and very large. For the most part the staff (once you arrive) is exceptional. My initial phone call to make reservations was met with an attitide of you're doing me a favor by calling. Upon arrival things were great. A wonderful surprise of free Wifi is another reason to come back to this park. We will return often I'm sure. As things evolve and the world is changing it is nice to see RV park owners and managers are changing with the times making the changes that make me want to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$30
We loved the location of this park - right across the street from the beach and very near Morro rock. The bathrooms and showers were a bit long in the tooth but clean enough and reasonably maintained. There were several laundry areas in the park which was convenient. The site was level and not huge but certainly big enough for our 30 ft class A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Very busy campground. Short walk to beach/ocean. Friendly staff. Has small store. Sites are small and close together with sand and paved streets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Sites are level, most are back-in sites. 20 pull-through sites. Well maintained. Easy access for big rigs. The best feature of the park is it's proximity to the beach (100 yards). You can see the waves break from some sites. Recommend 3-4 weeks advanced reservations April - October. Close to the downtown wharf area and 26 miles south of Hearst Castle. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$28
We love the California Central Coast and usually stay either in Pismo Beach or Morro Bay for vacations and weekends.Very few trees and a limited amount of shrubbery but it is near the beach and that serves as the focal point of the park. Very friendly staff and park personnel. Right on the beach. Nice clean sites, paved roads, clean bathrooms, and a nicely stocked though not overly large store. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Although a high density park of mostly pavement and gravel, the beach is only a couple hundred yards away. We have always enjoyed our stays there. Well ran operation makes good use of space and is popular year round. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Very well kept campground. Practically waterfront sites, Morro Bay is a short walk away, with Morro Rock off to the side. Morro Bay is a great place to use a launching pad to Hearst State Park (Hearst Castle), Cambria, and Harmony, not the mention the quaint town of Morro Bay. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com