214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Canyon Trail RV Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (512) 805-9988
CGID3978

Canyon Trail RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   7   6   6   3   1   5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Perfectly good overnight stop. Sites are level and decently shaded. Amenities are sufficient. Bathrooms and showers were sufficiently clean. Playground equipment is all inoperative. Clearly this used to be a family stop and has become more working/long-term and overnighters (like us). Yes, it's yards from I-35 and you can also hear trains all night. So what. Great sites, decent pavement getting around. Great electric, sewer and water hook-ups, etc. A solid six. And there's really nothing "wrong" with that. We'd stay here again. It is what it is and the price is fair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This is a preliminary review since we just got here and first impressions last forever. The place is right on the interstate frontage road with construction of some sort next door. A continuous beep, beep, beep is irritating. I expect it will be quieter tonight. The main office is where a guests should be treated well. First, approaching the door, the sign says " No vehicle washing" note vehicle is misspelled. Then we walk in and some old man is kicked back in my grandpa's recliner. He asked if we were coming or going. Well, we just pulled up in front of the door with a motorhome and tow facing in so he must have been asleep. He works himself out of the lazy-boy and gives me my receipt, which was prepaid. I asked him if i was disturbing him. He gave me a map of the park with a highlighted route to my site. We got no other info on showers, wifi, etc. So, I get in my site and my motorhome and tow is filthy from rain and mud in my travels. I decided that I would wash the car regardless since it was so dirty I couldn't see through the glass. I did a half-fast job and only washed the front and part of the sides. I was so afraid that the car wash cops would bust me but I was quick and frugal with the water. Good thing, it is going to be about 35 degrees tonight and I would have been happy to sleep with the windows open and all my electric heaters on. I'll be here a week and will write a more thorough review when I check out. Meanwhile, this place is a one star resort. Oh yeah, a resort? Hardly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We stayed in this park for four nights after being flooded out of another park. The owner was extremely nice and accommodating. There were several flood refugees who needed a place to stay. The owner went out of his way to get everyone in he could. Park is very clean, level sites with concrete pads. Easy in an out with our 38ft RV. Bathrooms and laundry room very clean. The down side is the concrete plant behind the park. It starts operating very early in the morning with a lot of equipment noise. We did not use the WiFi. We would stay again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
The pads are the most level I've seen in ten years. Water pressure is not high enough, about 35 psi. Electric was solid and L1-L2 voltage was very close to each other. Plug was in good shape. Cable is solid but, only a couple of HD channels. The owner is polite enough, but difficult to engage in conversation. The other comments about noise are correct. Like most, we've stayed in a lot of parks near freeways, railroads and even under the approach end of an air base. But, for some reason the freeway noise is LOUD! Probably due to heavy truck traffic 24 / 7. Knew it going in so you cannot knock it. The pet walk is small and clean, but watch your dogs closely as the bushes near it are prime rattler areas. A lot of semi permanent residents, but all of them were kept up and very neat. We'd stay again anytime we're in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Was very apprehensive to make reservations at this park after reading reviews. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! We were expecting the worse and found that this park is very well kept with concrete level pads and paved roads. We did not see any dog feces in campground. Yes, this park sets off I-35 but noise was not a factor. There are full timers in the park, but we did not see any trashy sites. The pull in spaces are large and roomy. No, this is not a "resort" but a nice RV park. Owner was very friendly. We stayed at the park for four days without any problems. Will stay here again when in the area. If there is a train nearby, our sleep was not disrupted by it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Noise from trains, freeway, heavy commercial concrete construction next door, dust from gravel, unkept deferred maintenance, dog waste everywhere, the list goes on. Would not stay here again. Only part of pads are concrete; most are large chunk gravel; would be dusty in summer. Fire ants everywhere. Many full time 5th wheels and parked towables. Small rec hall. Some sites had cable disconnected. We did not need cable but observed this. If you want close to discount malls, then this is just up I-35. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2012
$30
This park is close to the outlet mall. That is the only positive I have for this park. I would recommend staying at any other park if you value your sleep. The multiple moving railroad cranes in the business next door have high pitched warning beepers that continue all hours of the day and night. The beeping is so loud, ear plugs do not help. On top of that, trains sound their horns and rumble by at least every hour day and night. The owners were inflexible and did not keep their word with us. The park is in a visible state of decline. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$24
Sites are nice and wide and the concrete pads are fairly level. The 50 amp did not work in our site, used 30 amp. The bathrooms and showers are inclosed, and are in fair condition. Big complaint with this park is the train noise, and the Wi-Fi that does not work. No bandwidth for all the park residents, signal is great, just slower than dial-up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
The park is close to the Outlet Malls and other shopping. Wi-Fi was OK and the staff friendly. There is a moderate level of noise from trains, I-35, and a heavy industry next door, however, it did not bother me. The sites are fairly level and some are concrete and pull through. There are some long term residents but the rigs are kept neat and tidy. There are two small dog runs and a playground. There is no club house to speak of but the showers are fairly nice. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
This is a great park because of the wide access roads, the level concrete pads, paved interior roads, wide sites, and location. It is very close to the giant outlet shopping malls of San Marcos, convenient to Austin, just a few miles north of Camping World (New Braunfels), and easy access from Interstate 35. The Wi-Fi works well. There is a very large children's play area. My favorite aspect is the sites are wide so you aren't stuffed into the side of your neighbor...well, that and no leveling required on the concrete pads. The downside of an interstate location is highway noise, but since it is constant it wasn't hard to tune out. There is a train on one side and the cement factory, but none of the noises disturbed my sleep and my trailer has almost no insulation and only single pane windows. I will stay here any time I am in this vicinity. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We like this park. It is clean and well kept. The managers are friendly. We have stayed here numerous times and recently stayed for a month. It is convenient for us to go to our doctors and is near the city of Austin. Our recent stay was for a month and we plan to return in December. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Here another campground throwing out the word "resort". There is NOTHING remotely resembling a resort here. It's a place to pull off the road for 1 night. The concrete place next door is very noisy so be prepared to be awaken around 5:30 in the morning. It was very pricey considering no pool, spa or any amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$29
The nightly rate reflects a discount for cash. It was perfect for what we needed which was an easy overnight stay. Setup was a breeze because of the level, wide, long paved sites. The cement factory did give us an early morning wake up call which was the only reason it didn't get a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
The park is definitely not a resort but it is fine for visits to the San Marcos Area. The park is clean and well maintained. The owner is very nice and helpful. The pads are level and the electricity is good. Wi-Fi and cable worked. Close to interstate, shopping, and food. Noise was there from the cement plant but I could not hear it in my RV at all. We sleep with a fan blowing and it covers the sound for sleeping. I was nice weather and we sat outside visiting with friends and it was not a problem. Overall a great place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Good overnight. Close to freeway, easy on and off . Halfway between Austin and San Antonio. Maneuverability is good. We are in 45ft coach pulling a pickup. Friendly staff. Calling this park a "Resort" might be a stretch. Have been here a couple of times and would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
The incessant beeping of the trucks at the cement factory next door, is a HUGE negative here! Highway noise and the train are "normal" sounds, but the loud beeping is not. Earplugs do not help. Don't know about a white noise machine. Wish I'd had one. The park itself is lovely with large, level sites, nice landscaping, and clean showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$29
The park itself was nice enough and the manager friendly. However, previous reviews didn't emphasis the noise from the cement factory enough. It sounded like a fork truck backing up, and beeping right outside our window, all night long. This goes on 24/7 with expressway and train noise also. If you like noise, you will love it. We couldn't leave fast enough. Never again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
We stayed here on our way to the RGV for one night. The sites are concrete and we stayed in a long pull thu. We would definitely stay here again. It is close to San Marcos, about 5 miles, with a large Outlet Mall and a lot of shopping and places to eat! The 29.00 rate was with our Escapees discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a very nice campground. The pull through sites are all Big Rig friendly. Some of the sites are as long as 175 feet. We were able to fit our 34' motorhome, 14' trailer, an extended-cab pickup, another 14' trailer and 3 motorcycles in one space. Not all sites were concrete pads but the sites were very level. The only down side was the train tracks behind the property and the factory with the noise from it. Overall, it was a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
There is no way this place is a 10 and the photos on their website makes it look way better than it is. This place looked run down. What little grass they had was not mowed and poorly maintained. When we checked in, they crossed out the part on the site map where they pick up the garbage. We finally located the dumpster. We were hooked to 50 amp power and tripped the breaker several times while pulling about 30 amps per leg. Wi-Fi was slow and not dependable. And you had the worst of both worlds; I-35 in front, a dual railroad track behind park, with a plant on the north side that was the source dust clouds when the wind got up. And of course you couldn't wash your RV, so is was pretty bad. The office looked sad and tired. Nothing about this park was appealing except the location if you wanted to overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a very nice campground with very nice owners. We stayed in a monthly site and would recommend this to anyone traveling. The sites are nice and wide and clean. We found it to be quiet and convenient to all types of shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
The sites had concrete pads but the gravel to and from the RV location sloped down. Difficult to unhook/hook up and to level the rig. Winds were blowing almost all of the time from the South. they had a small fenced dog area but a really big front field that provided for running on long long leashes. The park has a leash regulation - use one on your dog at all times. Remember if we break the rules, parks will begin to deny pets as guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
Nice and quiet. Kids like the play area and plenty of room for pets to walk. Nice friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2009
$22
Not much there except a easy overnight stop. Close to the Tanger and Prime Outlets at San Marcos. Big rig sites, all pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$32
Easy access in and out for big rigs, but this park is having trouble with costs as are so many others now days. No more wi-fi, the grass needs cutting all over, etc. Wide sites with cement pads for parking and a large patio for grilling. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$12
Great location. Friendly staff. Good tv and wifi. A little noisy due to highway and railroad. Rate is for a monthly stay with electricity. Very clean, centrally located laundry facility. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
Rate reflects a monthly rate plus electricity. This is a return visit to this park due to it's proximity to our annual medical visits and easy access to San Antonio and Austin locations. We like this park, the sites are large and level, power and water are good (although water is very hard), the free WiFi works well, and the owner is friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately, the noise from the nearby Interstate, cement plant crane alarms, and trains day and night detract from an otherwise pleasant stay. A good weekend stay, but we probably won't stay here long-term again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
We spent over a month here due to the park's convenient location; 45 miles to San Antonio, 35 to Austin. Adjacent to I-35, so there is road noise but not too bad. The cement plant trucks mentioned in other posts didn't bother us. Gravel and cement sites, level with cement pad & picnic tables. Clean laundromat and restrooms, good power and water; make sure you have a pressure regulator. Free Cable TV and WiFi; WiFi is very good throughout the park. Camping World and Wal-Mart close by. Very friendly owner. Not a destination campground for children, no pool or playground, but there is miniature golf. Very reasonable monthly rate. The location is the selling point; we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
This is a well kept campground. There is road noise. There is a concrete plant next to it. You have the "chirp" of the back-up horns going off in the plant in the morning. It is not designed to entertain the kids. All in all it's a pretty decent park for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
I have stayed at this park a couple of times in the last two years. On the plus side: the location is excellent for touring this area. The giant outlet mall complex is only a mile away and the attractions of New Braunfels about 10 minutes away. It is located near the I-35 but is easy to access and traffic noise is not too bad. On the negative side: their office is little more than that, don't be needing anything. (There is a Camping World in New Braunfels.) The area was not looking as neatly attended as in the past, sites were still level and clean, but were in need of mowing. My biggest concern was that their security gate was not working and no attempt to correct this appeared imminent. I will still recommend them, but disappointed overall this stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Right on the interstate, so expect a lot of road noise. New campground, with trees planted, but a long away from providing shade. Sites were level, but the ground underneath was somewhat soft and jacks sunk into ground. Roads in park paved. Gate access broken, and owner told me it had been that way for a couple of months. Owners were not quite as professional as the park appears to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Stayed in this park for two nights while visiting family and friends in the area. This is a new park with wide roads, cement sites with patios. There are trees at the sites,but very young and small. 90% of the sites are pull-throughs and Big Rig friendly. The park is very clean. Manager/owner friendly but did not escort us to our site. This park is in San Marcus off of the highway, however noise was not a factor. Good location because it is half way between Austin and San Antonio. It also is close to the outlet mall, if you are a shopper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
Campground is not a resort, but is very adequate for short stays. It is next to I-35 and has some road noise, but we found the noise from the concrete plant no major factor. Good paved interior roads and the sites are mixed gravel and concrete. Park cable is limited to 17 channels. There was a festival nearby the nights we stayed and the park was packed, but the staff did a good job keeping everything clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
The campground is very clean, lots of easy long pull throughs, level sites and wide streets. We have stayed there several times because we had to be in the area on business. The campground must be fairly new because the trees are very, very small and there is no character to the campground--it is just a place to stay on your way thru the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Management was very rude & not helpful. Park is right on the interstate and noisy with a cement plant next door. No trees or other facilities. Construction going on in the park replacing cement pads. I will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
Stayed in this park for one night because of it's proximity to a major outlet mall (within about 5 miles). The first comment that I'll make is that there should be some minimal list of amenities before an RV Park can be called an RV resort. This is a field along an interstate with RV sites in it. There are no amenities, and it's not a resort. The sites are gravel, and are a decent size, but despite the fact that this is in a flat Texas field, the sites are not particularly even, and I found leveling a challenge. This is right along the interstate with no fence or landscaping buffer, the traffic noise is very loud which impacted our sleep. There also is a plant that makes concrete or something like it that starts work very early in the morning, and that's noisy. The park itself is relatively clean and maintained, although it does have a significant number of long term tennants, which is shocking because it is so noisy there. Mostly because it's noisy, but also because of a total lack of amenities, this park is now on our list of places we won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com