221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Killens Pond State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (302) 284-3412
CGID3985

Killens Pond State Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   4   7   4   10   6   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Nice park, but park is not handicap friendly. No parking at bath house area. About a half mile from my site to bath house, told I would be ticketed if I parked in that area. Have never been in a State park that was not handicap friendly. Park is laid well set up and is very clean. Will not be back again as I am not physically able to walk near that far. We camped in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Killens Ponds State Pond State Park, Felton, DE. This park is situated around a picturesque millpond and is open year round. There were only four campers there when we arrived, but it has electric hookups, frost free water spigots throughout the park, and a huge bathhouse with showers which is nice when you are still in the winter season and below freezing. We could see the pond from our site. This park has a lot to offer especially in the warmer weather – fields, biking trails, store, canoeing, Frisbee golf, horseshoes, nature program, interpretive center, pond fishing, volleyball courts, walking trails, and a water park. Sites are on gravel in the woods. It was very quiet when we arrived but hundreds of birds were flying overhead – migrating. Maybe because of the northeasterner or the other storm coming up from the south the birds were very confused where to ride out the two storms. DE just increased their fees for camping so the out of state fee with hookups was $30, but they do have a senior discount. Nice park, and if you're looking for a one night or more stopover with electric it’s a great place to stay especially in the winter. If you check in after the rangers are gone you drive to the campground and pick up a registration form at the check-in or store and fill it out and place in the holder (they don’t accept credit cards or checks though) – take a map and then drive and find a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
Rates is with a 10% Golden Age Pass Discount. Camp was surprisingly full. Had good water and electric to start, but later in the evening the water pressure got low and the electric was in the lower-end red area on our meter. Surprisingly, the coffee pot still worked! Would stay again if nothing else available. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$29
Enjoyed an early season Easter Weekend here. Since is was early in season, the grounds were still mostly covered with last fall's foliage. However spots were spacious and not too close to one another. Front desk attendant were rather unfriendly, short and temperamental. Showers and bathrooms were clean and upkeep was good. On check out day, the dumping station tank was alarming full, but the friendly maintenance resident was able to help us ensure safe emptying of our tanks. Common and community areas were clean, mowed and the pond looks inviting. Pool is nearby as well as close to Dover and area shopping. We will return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
I used this campground for a place to stay while riding in a local bike ride. We were pulling our 32 foot travel trailer and booked site A5, which is rated for a 33' trailer. Upon arrival on late Friday evening, I was none too happy to find that I had to navigate through a VERY narrow circle to get to my camp site. BE WARNED: The circle is very narrow, lined with trees and was difficult to navigate. I was basically within inches of trees on both sides while attempting to navigate in the dark. In addition to the width issues, I was unhappy to find vehicles parked in the road in front of adjoining camp sites. According to the park policy, a 1 vehicle per site rule exists but it was evidently not enforced. When I asked a fellow camper to move, I was greeted with disgust and the gentleman would not talk to me. He instead slammed his tailgate and got in the truck and moved without any type of interaction. Once in the site, I was thrilled to navigate tree stumps and an improperly cleared space. Without being very precise, we were faced with either not opening our back slide or not opening our canopy because of trees. After many attempts, we finally got the RV placed perfectly and were set for the night. All in all, it took me 1 hour to get in to my site and get setup due to all of the difficulties. The sites are sandy, not gravel so be sure to bring a rug and a broom. They lock the firewood shed at night, so late arrivals are forced to forgo a first night camp fire since bringing your own wood is illegal. thankfully, I had some starter logs in the RV. Don't believe there is an enforced quiet time since kids were running around and screaming at 11pm. I even had kids run through my site while I was trying to hookup and I had to ask them nicely not to do so out of safety. If you're looking for shady wooded sites, then this is your place! Seems like a nice setting, but I just don't foresee us going back for a family visit anytime soon. Just not one of the best out there and definitely not setup for the larger travel trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We loved this campground. Who knew a state park could have a water park? I hear it is really, really crowded in the Summer. We just spent Labor Day weekend and the pool wasn't crowded. The kids had a blast. They have lots of activities - story teller, hayride, concert. The nature center is beautiful and the trails are well maintained. And the staff was awesome!! We will definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Unfortunately there was a tremendous amount of rain on the night we checked in. Sites are VERY dense and shaded, coupled with the rain and wet weather meant there were bugs galore. Not just mosquito's but also yellow jackets and very large spiders. Dense forest also meant spotty TV reception. Bath house was as clean as could be expected with the wet sandy conditions of the sites and walking paths. Nice park. Would stay here again, but would probably chose early spring or fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We camped at Killen's Pond "C" Loop for two weeknights to take advantage of free waterpark and boat rental passes. Access to the loops is somewhat tight for larger rigs (our setup is 53 feet in length) but manageable. All of the sites were nicely shaded and seemed level. The bathrooms and showers were clean, and the staff was helpful. The campground (and park overall) are bike friendly (for children as well). As expected, the waterpark was somewhat crowded but very nice overall. The kids also enjoyed the park Nature Center. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Great little park in a convenient location. Sites are pretty close together, but with the brush and trees all over not too bad. Don't expect sunshine at your campsite, the trees are very dense and provide complete shade. Not too bad on a hot summer day. Great trails and nature center available. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Stayed in F loop. Note: suggest use the on-line reservation system since the entire campground was booked. The Ranger had the 'No Vacancy' sign out. The road into the campground loops are tight turns, but manageable. Be aware when staying in a site marked 38': it really is 38'. Some other states add some length (i.e. for tow units). Site was downward sloping sand adjoining a gravel road around the camp loop. Had to crankdown the front jack to its lowest to make travel unit level. All sites appear to be sand pads. Very nice to have your own water spigot and electricity. (Note: the electric box is towards front of site, so know how long your RV cord is). One dump station for entire park that has a sharp turn withe tree branches. Just be careful and go slow. Very wide open ball fields and play areas. Was a bit disappointed in the trails not being better marked and groomed. Overall a 7 out of 10. Would stay here again in the area. Camp fires: Leave wood at home but expect to burn new pine from ranger store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Love this park. Has a great atmosphere. The sites are easily accessible for the most part. The water park that is close by is very nice. Clean and well maintained with a nice section for younger children. One of my favorite parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
This is a great winter camping destination. We enjoyed this place, even when it snowed. There are plenty of trails to hike along the pond. The heated bath house was very clean and well heated. The water was turned off at the sites but was available in certain areas. The campground hosts were very nice. We will return again, often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
This is a beautiful state park that's right off the interstate, but far enough away, that it's perfectly quiet. There's a big lake, and a path that winds around it. I didn't get to go fishing, because it was just an overnight, but I'm sure the fishing was good by the look of it. There was a big water park on the other side of the lake that looked fun. No wi-fi, but I was able to tether my laptop. Would have liked to stay longer. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
$26 with a golden age pass for an out of state camper. We have heard good things about this campground which is open year round. All the 59 sites are located in the woods with most of them having water and electricity. There are about six loops for RV’s and tents are welcomed not only in those loops but there is a loop just for tents. The bathroom shower sections needed to be updated for more privacy. Our site was in walking distance to a big beautiful pond where one can fish, boat or hikes the many trails that go around the pond. The state park is huge with separate areas for day use, boating and hiking as well as a huge playground area. There are horseshoe pits, volleyball courts, disc golf, baseball fields and a canoe trail. You can not swim here – I think Delaware stopped all swimming at their state parks because of law suits because about fifteen years ago you were allowed to swim in most of them. We enjoyed our one night stay at this campground; the host came around and gave us a lot of information about what to do here. He was very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This was a nice campground. The sites were shaded with electric and water very close. The bathrooms were clean. You have to drive to the water park as there's no swimming in the pond. The water park is open to the public and only costs $2 for adults and $1 for children under 10. Because it's open to the public it draws a huge crowd including buses and some questionable visitors. The water park does have 2 water slides and several life guards. About 45 minutes prior to the pool closing it had to be closed due to "unsanitary conditions." We would possibly stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Stayed here for the first time this April. Sites are shaded, spacious and had no problem leveling. Looking forward to a return trip when the water park is open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
It is good value for the money. A pleasant place with friendly staff and clean bath house. Level pitches in very dark woods. Nice to see recycling bins for everything, more campgrounds should do that. There are plenty of trails for walking or cycling etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
Would have ranked this campground higher but there are a number of issues that need to be addressed. 1) they let WAY TOO many people into the pool/waterpark. The staff seem to allow people (including adults) to rough house in the very crowded pool. Occasionally the life guard will blow the whistle at the people rough housing but no one ever was asked to leave the pool area. 2) Some families (not campers) are using the pool as a very cheap babysitting service. There were at least 5 pool rescues of children by lifeguards in a 45 minute span. Then there were no adults around to receive the children when the lifeguard brought the kids to the side of the pool. These lifeguards have a really tough job and they are only teenagers! The situation for not having parents supervise kids is extremely risky for this state park. A number of times an announcement was made on the loud speaker that a child needed to meet their mother/father/uncle at the gate to be picked up. 3) People at campsites use other sites as cut throughs to other areas like bathhouse, dock and trails. 4) People are taking dead wood from the forest area and burning it at their site. 5) Quiet hours were not enforced on Sunday night at all. 6) The water at the sites had a funny smell. Many in our group noticed it. Reason?? This campground is very nice overall and we will likely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Showers were push button and of course don't stay on long enough. Not a big deal but the water was SCALDING HOT! Camp fires were not allowed due to dry conditions. Another camper (ignoring the rules) allowed his large dog in the shower with his young daughters - and the dog came into the shower with me! I'm allergic to dogs. Upon leaving we were not allowed to use dump station because it was full. Have not heard of this before. Had to dump at exit 119 Smyrna exit Rest Area. They also had sewer problems and didn't want us to dump either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
We just stayed 4 nights! Bathroom was a little far from F loop. Otherwise no complaints. Clean, friendly, quiet, and plenty of summer activities. Waterpark is well worth my wild. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Nice park. Site(F6) was level and had view of pond. Bathrooms were dirty and had lots of spiders. Has water park nearby and it is inexpensive. Pond is beautiful with lots of hiking trails. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
Nice and quiet this time of year. Only 3 others in the D loop (Only 2 loops open). Only DE state park open all year, I think. Very nice 3 mile trail around the pond; well maintained. Not sure I'd stay there in the summer as the camp host indicated that after 15 May it begins to get crowded and the sites were rather close together. I'd definitely go back in the winter. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
This campground is not big rig friendly. The first loop we tried to get in we were scraping the trees so decided to park the rig and walk through the loops until we could find one we could drive through.The site was very tight and hard to back in. We camped here two years ago but it seems the trees and vegetation have taken over since then. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and stayed 3 days; there was never anyone at the office the whole duration of our stay. We made several trips by the office and had to finally make a couple of calls to track someone down to pay. We won't be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Excellent for a quiet weekend! Large, shady sites with walking trails around the lake. On the other side of the lake is the main park with its own water park for the kids. $2.00 for an all-day pass! Friendly folks manning the store, lots of open area in the field too. Been there a dozen times and never get tired of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Park was generally nice, being a state park there isn't much to do. The site we had in "B" loop was nice and shady, plenty of room for us. There are a few nice trails to walk on, we made the loop all the way around the pond. Play ground was cool, the pond (more like a lake) was pretty neat too, you can rent paddle boats if you like the leg punishment, we lasted about a half an hour. Clean out station on the way out was easy enough to use, dumpsters were a bit overflowing. For the price (CHEAP) you can't beat it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Nice, quiet, heavily wooded park. Nearby (5 minute drive) waterpark with slides is a big hit with the kids. The waterpark is also VERY crowded on the weekends. You can purchase your admission to the waterpark at the CG office if you like, so you don't have to wait in line at the park itself. There is also a nice pond nearby (closer than the waterpark) with boat rentals. Entrance to the dump station is really tight for a 40 foot Class A, but we did manage. Great campground to go to if you want a quiet weekend getaway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Okay place depending on what you are looking for. No sewer connection, and the showers are not good at all. They were dirty and very run down. The sites are tight, but manageable. We had a 37' fifth wheel and made it. They are all back-in sites, and heavily wooded. The park itself is nice and well maintained. The waterpark is extremely crowded, but for a dollar you can't complain too much. We would stay here again for a short visit, but would look harder for something a little nicer for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Had a great time there. The "pool" is actually a water park in the state park. Best $1.50/day activity you can come up with. Bad part is that you have to drive around the pond from the campground to the water park (or 2 mile walk). Bathrooms are usually pretty clean, cheap firewood available at the general store when you check in. EVERY campsite is shaded. 59 W/E hookups and 17 dry tent sites. Picnic table and fire ring at every site. We had a great time and will be going back soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com