206564 User submitted reviews online!!
River Bend Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (706) 896-1415
CGID3997

River Bend Campground

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   7   9   10   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We really liked this campground. Seems to be well run. Nice people who are respectful of their neighbors. Seems to have quite a few 5th wheel trailers set in place as though they are there permanently. The grounds and gravel roads are very well maintained. The sites have good 50 amp service, great water pressure, sewer. Most all sites seemed level and are spaced well enough to give privacy. Weekly rate is buy 6 nights, get another night free. We would definitely stay here again as it is close to all the interesting and fun things to do in north Georgia including NC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Had a wonderful stay at this CG. Owners andCG were very, very nice. Lots of motor coaches and 5th wheels, and a small community of full timers. We had a river front site that had quite a bit of food items left behind, on the site, in the fire pit and on the shore of the river. Let them know so they didn't think it was us and they said they would get it cleaned up, but we had done most of it before they got there. Bathrooms, pool and laundry were very nice, modern and clean. Wi-Fi worked perfectly we were on site C12. Only thing that I did not like was they originally told us there was a service truck that came by everyday to dump tanks as we didn't have a sewer site, but when we checked in they told us it was M-W-F, which was fine as we checked in Sunday. Monday morning, came and they came to service the tanks, but said they were only doing grey and didn't do black until Fridays (we were leaving Thurs). Our tanks are rather small so it caused us a little managing of the water but we made it work. All in all, it was a great place and we will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Our group of ten units spent a great week here. Great campground, very well kept. Gravel roads drain well in the rain. Covered areas for group meetings. Good location for seeing the surrounding area/attractions. 2 (HE) washers and dryers, could use more machines. Only negative is there is no sign on the main road. Make sure you follow the directions on the web site. Looking forward to returning to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Nice campground. Lots of seasonal units with no owners present for our stay. Sites are large and level. Great hookups with plenty of cable TV stations. Looks like satellite dishes would work in most sites. Sites and roads are fine gravel. Road leading to entrance had some low branches which hit the top of our unit, but once in the campground roads were wide and it was easy to handle our 40 ft coach with a trailer. Most sites are back in, but they did have 3 pull through spots that were VERY long, at least 100 feet in length. We didn't use the bathroom or shower facilities although I did walk in and it appeared to be clean. Trash can only be deposited in a dumpster at the office, which is a long walk from some camp sites. Also, the dumpster was overflowing with garbage when we were here. Verizon air card worked with somewhat weak signal strength. Verizon cell service was ok. No AT&T cell or data signal. Park had nice landscaping and was well kept. I had limited interaction with the staff, but the lady that checked us in was nice. Arriving after dark is no problem, campground is well lit and it was easy to find our spot. Some kind of flying bugs which were everywhere made sitting outside in the evening miserable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This was our first camping trip, and it was great. The only reason I didn't rate it as a "10" was the wi-fi. It is advertised that there are shortages, and they weren't kidding. I'd say it works 30% of the time and available only in the A section, and some C sections. The owners are VERY nice. This is a great family campground. My 5 year old loved the pool. Lot's of seasonals that were not present during the week. The childs play area needs some attention as the play set is starting to fall apart. Roads are gravel and kept nice. The sites are very level with all connections within 10 feet. The speed limit is 5 mph and strictly enforced. This makes you feel very safe with children and keeps the dust down. The campground is only 5 years old, and shade is somewhat limited. Within a few years it will be perfect. The sites on the river are very level with great access to the river if you want to fish. The sites are HUGE compared to some other campgrounds in the area we looked at. We already have planned additional trips here this year. HIGHLY recommend!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This was our 4th visit to this park with friends and family. Absolutely the best park in Hiawassee. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
The park was very large with many sites. The sites were level. The roads were level too, but were gravel. They did have a pool on the hill, which is away from most sites but it was not a terrible walk to get there. It is very secluded. Our site was on the river, which was very deep and slow moving with steep banks. It appeared good for fishing, but not for kids to play in. We would have prefered a site away from the river due to this. The staff was very friendly and had many activities planned for the kids. The only playground is located at the back of the campground. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
We spent several weeks at this campground. Found it to be very clean and quiet. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Even though they claim to have a laundy room, they don't yet. Pool, of course, wasn't open yet. Cable excellent, didn't use WiFi. Need sign on main road so you know where to turn and when you go down the road it forks and you need to know which way to go. Will definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$25
OK, I am giving this campsite a 10 right off the bat because they have one of the most fantastic Thanksgiving dinners anywhere. The owners supply the turkeys, hams, and pork and all the campers bring a covered dish or desert. This was our first time and there were almost 150 people at the dinner with enough food to feed twice that many. The owners are fantastic and really put in a lot of work to make this Thanksgiving dinner a real treat for all of us. Having said that, this campground is pretty good even without a Thanksgiving dinner. My only caveats are the bathrooms and the Wi-Fi. The bathrooms and showers are clean but they have something to be desired. They could use some improvement. The Wi-Fi is free and the owners will tell you that they are not responsible for it when it acts up. In our case we got good reception but it constantly cut out. Other then that you can read the other people's reviews and see that this is a great campground. We would go there again and I would encourage anyone to make advance reservations fro next Thanksgiving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
This campground was absolutely beautiful! The grounds are very clean and manicured. The pads and roads are gravel, but they are packed down tight. We had a campsite right on the river. Just behind the camper was a swiftly moving picturesque river, and a magnificent mountain view from the front of the camper! Most of the sites have full hookups, but a few do not have sewer. However, that was remedied by the campground management coming to the non-sewer sites with a honey wagon on Monday and Wednesday and pumping both your black and grey water tanks. The campground and attendants were very nice and hospitable. The grounds were absolutely meticulous. Cable worked great. Many channels available and the picture was perfect. Cell phone signal (I have AT&T wireless) was great. There is free wi-fi available. Our campsite was a little too far from the store/office so the wi-fi signal was unstable from our camper. I walked to a picnic table a few campsites closer to the office and had no trouble with it. In addition to the beauty around you, it is a short drive into Hiawassee, Brasstown Bald, Helen, Lake Chatuge, and High Shoals Falls. There is lots to do in and around the campground. Fishing was not very good while we were there because of the low water levels due to the drought. We will definitely be going back to this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We love this park. These folks aim to please, and it's obvious. Great facilities, roomy sites, beautiful river views. Can't beat the north Georgia mountains. We go whenever we can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Don't even think about staying anywhere else if you are in this area. This place was spotless! This campground is only three years old and everything is kept immaculate. The owners are friendly and are always driving around the park tending to the grounds. They help if you need it and otherwise they let you be. This is right on the Hiawassee River, so my daughter spent all day tubing down the stretch of river behind the campground. Make sure you bring a float if you are coming during the warm weather. She spent the late afternoon fishing at the upper point of the campground, which was also beautiful. The store here is not as stocked as others I have been to, but the do have hand-dipped Mayfield ice cream cones, so that makes up for anything they lack! There are grocery stores very close by, so it really isn't an issue. The sites are gravel - extremely clean and level, with soft grass in between them. They have planted trees, which will eventually shade the sites, but they are still new. The only thing they do not have here is a laundry room area. I would have given this place a higher score if I could have. It was great. We made reservations for Thanksgiving while we were there, since they have a big dinner here with Turkey, Ham and Pulled Pork. You bring the sides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Very nice campground, could easily be a 8 or 9 except for one thing. We have two small dogs and we were constantly pulling ticks off of them. Even for just a short walk. Thursday night we couldn't sleep because of the ticks in bed with us. It made our stay almost unbearable. Probably not the fault of the campground, but we won't be going back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Great views, large sites, very nice owners, cable TV, wi-fi, and a pool. We really enjoyed staying here. The river front sites are really nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Lovely campground. Clean, well kept. Have stayed more that once. The staff goes far and above what is expected. Hopefully the grass cutting incident mentioned in another email was an isolated case. The mountains and the stream are beautiful and located near the city of Hiawassee. Will surely camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We camped in a motorhome during July 2006. Upon arrival someone was in the campsite reserved for us, and the office had no idea why they were still in the site (past checkout time) and when they would be moving. Since other sites were available, we went to another site with no problem. On our third day there the ground crew began weed-eating around our campsite. We saw our patio rug being repeatedly hit and asked him to please be more careful around our coach. He continued and came very close to all of our hook-ups. We had grass all over our coach, patio rug and chairs. It took an hour to clean everything up as the grass was wet from previous day's rain. We called the office and the owner came down to our site. Her son (also an owner) was on the mower, and he joined her discussing the issue. We were pleasant but also stated that this should not be happening while we were parked and that they should not have been that close to our hookups and rug (grass was cut directly under our sewer hose, electric, and water hose). The son had an attitude that was rude, inappropriate, and utterly consumer-unfriendly. He did not care that they may have been causing a problem but stated only that he has to mow when he has to mow regardless of anything else. We will never stay at this campground again. They have only been open one year and with the attitude displayed, it appears they have not learned to take care of their customers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Very friendly staff. Several sites located next to river. Close to nearby town of Hiawassee for shopping, dining, golf, etc. Not all sites are shaded as this is a new park. Plan to go there again soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
This is a new campground with a terrific, incredibly friendly staff and nice facilities. The utilities were great: 50 amp service, plenty of water pressure, and great cable TV reception. They are planning a pool for summer 2006. The sites are nice sized and the river offers access to Lake Chatuge. There is also a playground for the little ones and a couple of covered picnic pavilions. We highly recommend this campground and plan to visit many times a year now that we have discovered it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com