218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Haven Retreat was rated 7 out of 10 based on 64 user reviews. Phone: (317) 783-5267
CGID3998

Lake Haven Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   8   7   9   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Park is easily accessible from I-465. Long and wide sites on gravel with grass area between sites. The park has a large pond and fishing is great. Laundry facilities are very clean as well as showers. Staff very accommodating. We stayed here for 2 weeks and loved the park. Will return. Loved our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
Good park for an overnight stopover. Conveniently right off of the interstate. We had a pull-through site, so it was easy in - easy out. Sites were level and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Very convenient to downtown Indy, takes about 15-20 minutes to get there. Also very convenient to restaurants and stores in the Greenwood area. Easy access to the interstates. Owners live on-site and are very helpful and friendly. Park is clean and well-kept. Wi-Fi was usually reliable and the speed was adequate; only a few times did the system seem to bog down. Very clean and well-maintained laundry facilities. Downsides: a lot of sites are side-to-side and can result in close quarters, especially with slideouts. Sites are gravel and there can be a bit of mud or water in heavy rain; not all of the interior roads are paved. If you happen to be in a site near Hwy 37, it is pretty noisy. Overall, we felt this camp is desirable and is certainly the best place we have found to stay in the Indy area. We would gladly stay here again and have no reason to try to locate another place in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Very well maintained park. Adequate amenities. Large, clean and reasonable laundry. Easy access off interstate exchange. Most sites are dual (back to back), but are wide, so not problematic. Sites and some roads are level gravel, main roads are paved. Only criticism is that depending on the way rig owners park their rigs and their tow, interior roads can be really, really tight for big-rigs. Back-in sites eliminate that problem, if you can get one (but there may be some road noise). Camped here in a Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
A fairly large, modern campground that is well organized and surprisingly pleasant (given the close proximity of highways and industrial areas). Easy to get to and no problem for big rigs. The pull-through sites are of the shared-post type, with the benefit of a larger 'backyard' on the entry-door side of the rig. Gravel inner roads but well maintained. Good W/S/E connections, strong cell signal throughout the park. There is a nice pond and large, grassy areas to walk a dog. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Stayed 8 days/nights. West side of campground has back in sites backed to Hwy 37. Interior road has lots of speed bumps. Other side of park is somewhat quieter. Still hear traffic noise. Have planes flying over. Train air horn time to time. Park has pull thrus and some back in sites, no speed bumps. Has big rig sites, but not big rig interior roads. Interesting getting around with our HDT and trailer (60 ft combo) Paved and gravel interior roads, gravel side by side sites. Share the same water line with neighbor, so water pressure was very low at times. Have to like your neighbor since some RVers had parked pretty close to one another. As close as a couple of feet. Excellent wi-fi and cable TV. Park located next to a fire station. Sirens going off at different times of the day and night. Only had one night during our stay that we had to close our windows from campfire smoke so we would not die of smoke inhalation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
Nice park, good hookups, good TV/Internet. Nice lake for catch & release. Nice staff. Quiet, relaxing and near all Indianapolis has to offer. A really nice touch was the map they give when checking in that shows exactly where shopping, restaurants, etc are that are close by...very helpful..didn't need the GPS. One suggestion would be to put a curtain or free-standing divider between the showers & toilets...it would be nice to dress in private. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$29
Park is very nicely maintained. Paved roads with rock sites. Site was level and long enough for us to stay connected to our 40 foot RV. Near a very busy road but many of the sites are a distance away. Wi-Fi is free and worked very well during our stay. Great value for staying in the Indianapolis area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
When you turn off of highway 37 onto Edgewood Ave, there is a large sign for the park, however, there is not a sign at the road where you turn into the park. It is the first right turn off of 37 and it looks like you are turning into someone's home. As a result, we missed it and called them about a block up the road for directions. If you go by the fire station, you have gone too far. Next thing is the speed bumps on the driveway as you enter the park. As you pull in you see the angled parking area for reservations which brings you diagonally across the speed bumps which will shake up a RV something fierce. Why any RV park has speed bumps is a mystery to me. The person at the front desk is very friendly. The interior roads and pads are gravel. The sites are easy to access with a big rig. I was in 51, and it was very level. All the hookups are together and easy to access. The Wi-Fi worked well for us and was fairly fast. I have a satellite dish, so I did not use the cable. Most of the pull thrus are side-by-side hookups with grass areas between the facing sites with a picnic table for each site. It was fairly quiet where we were with no train noise. It is a convenient, easy to get to, reasonably priced park. I am just not fond of side-by-side hookups. The back-in sites are obviously not side-by-side hookups. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Amazingly, there are not many campground options in Indianapolis. This campground is clean, easy to get to and easy to get in and out of, and can accommodate big rigs. We were in site 59 which was level. Everything worked well except for the WiFi which was very slow. Office staff was very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
We sought out this park for an overnight while traveling west. It was one of only a few that were convenient. Take care in getting to the campground as it's a left turn off a busy multi-lane road with no traffic light. There is no sign at all indicating where the campground entrance is so there's another opportunity to miss it (the campground is next to, and behind the large fire station, and the entrance to the park looks like a driveway to a house). The rate shown included a 10% state tax plus a 1% city/county tax. Our site was good, level; Wi-Fi worked well. We'd stay again if we needed stopover while traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Not a lot of choices for the area, but this is the best one for me. Not a park with frills but for an overnight stay it is good. Nice level gravel site by a pond (watch where you step cause of the geese). Wi-Fi was good, owner friendly and helpful, good hookups. I would stay here again. Lots of permanent guests, so if that bothers you this isn't your place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We picked this campground due to its proximity to family we were visiting. The staff was very friendly and gave a nice map/list for out of towners for local businesses. The restrooms were clean and the laundry area was a good size and totally useable. The hookups were also good. We heard some train whistles later at night and the grounds are situated behind a fire station and next to a highway, so there is a noise factor, but it was not bothersome when we stayed. Each site has a picnic table and there is a group area for a fire. The geese are plentiful and fun to watch, but careful where you step! We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
We checked out this campground as we were driving by to another one. It is a very clean, very well kept RV park, with a lot of pull-throughs. Unfortunately, due to its location, and popularity of its reputation in the area, there weren't any openings available. The year round spots had a waiting list for it. Monthly spots were also hard to come by. But we were able to "tour" it, and was very impressed. The rates are very reasonable. The staff is super friendly too. I would definitely stay here if I was able to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This isn't a horrible campground, but their website really misrepresents what the place looks like. Bathrooms and showers were clean and the grounds were generally in good condition. No fires at your site unless you bring your own raised fire pit. Community pit is available and wood is provided which was nice. Good number of cable channels and hookups were in good condition. WiFi was pretty good, too. When we checked in, we were assigned to the "classic" area. This is not shown on the video/photos at their website. We were adjacent to a large parking lot for the huge fire station at that was surrounded by the campground. No landscaping, no privacy fence, just looking directly into the parking lot. 2-3 fire runs a night with lights & sirens blaring was a bit annoying. Power hookups look like they had been upgraded in the past few years, but the old poles, with wires hanging out, were still in place. Not sure if any of those were live. Neighbor on a long term spot was nice, but had a really old trailer that was missing a window and had liberal use of duct tape to hold the rest together. There were quite a few dumpy units on long term lots here. Looked more like a trailer park than a campground. If you need to stay in the city, this is an OK campground. However, we wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
I don't know if I'd call this "Indy's Premier RV Campground" like their website says. The photos are actual shots, but always from an angle or way to make it look the best. There are lots of long-term units. Some were unattended the 3 days we were here. The grounds are well manicured and the bathrooms are spotless. The WiFi was "broken," of course. Heard that one before! The lady in the office was friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff was pretty indifferent; not rude, but not at all friendly. I guess the rules for the long-term residents are different than for short termers. We observed long-term residents with vehicles that wouldn't fit in their sites, just parking them half in the grass. On the other hand, we took our 3 year old down to the common fire pit area, had planned to park in the grass next to the pit for a couple of hours. We were told to move our car before we could even unload and start the fire! I haven't seen the other parks in Indy, so I can't compare. We would probably go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
Nice, clean park. I checked in over the phone, but they put me in the perfect site for my big rig. The site was very close to level and plenty wide enough to spread out. Utilities are well laid out. Nice lake - and convenient to everything in Indy. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
This is a nice park. The girl who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The sites were large with grassy lawns. The roads are gravel and paved. The restrooms and large laundry room were very clean. Close to the Interstate and downtown. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We stumbled on this place getting out of the way of Storm Sandy. The office had closed early for the weather but we found a spot, checked in later and all was well for a two-day stay. There is a lot of great dog walking space around a pretty nice size catch and release pond. There are quite a few long term campers but everything is tidy and organized. The Wi-Fi is great, the people friendly and the access to shopping etc fabulous. I would not hesitate to recommend. The only down side is the tar in the clothes driers in the laundry. That really needs to be fixed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Nice park paved roads gravel sites. We had a back in site it was alittle short for our 35' trailer. Grassy areas and a nice pond. The laundry house was nice and clean. Close to town. We camped here in a fifth wheel and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
This is a nice little park, with paved roads and nicely graveled sites. A couple of miles south on Ohio 37 from I-74 exit 4. If you make reservations, make sure to ask if your site is to the right (west) or left (east) of the office. As you come into the RV park, there is really no ‘check-in parking’ and you have to immediately go either left or right; and never the twain shall meet. If given a choice, choose a site in the east section as it is further from the highway and not as noisy. Good water pressure and electrical. The free Wi-Fi is excellent, a good signal and excellent bandwidth. The sites are nice and long, fitting both a 41ft rig plus 20ft tow vehicle. The little lake makes for a nice grassy/wooded area for a walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$354
This campground is good for an overnight stop only and be prepared for super high taxes. The rate is $29 but the taxes were $4.93. They gave me a pull-thru site (73) but when I got to the site I found that it wasn't long enough for my RV and car so we had to disconnect, which we didn't want to do. The sites are small and very tight. Even the roads are narrow. They are gravel and dusty. Next time in Indy, I would search for another campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Based on one or two previous reviews of this park I half expected this park to be located next to an illegal toxic waste dump. Reality is 180-degrees opposite that. Bisected by a small fishing lake there are 110-RV sites, 37-seasonal sites on one side of the lake and 73 seasonal and transient sites on the other side. All of the sites are gravel, level and have full hookups (W/E/S/Cable/Wi-Fi). The electrical box on our site (50) had 30 and 50-amp connections. The cable system included 75 or so channels and has a good, clear picture. There are at least two nodes for the Wi-Fi system and it was strong inside our motor home but the throughput speed was erratic sometimes dropping as low as 1 Mbps. Space between the sites is about average with the RVs parking in a nose-to-tail side-by-side configuration. This puts the hookups in between each pair and means no sewer connections in anyone’s “front yard”. The interior roads are gravel and could use a bit of grading but access is good and the turns are easy even for the biggest rigs. Most of the sites I saw on our side of the lake were pull-throughs. There is a good amount of sun and shade and each site has a small patch of grass with a wooden picnic table. Another review mentioned that the laundry room was filthy. For a campground laundry room it’s quite large, well lit and looked quite clean to me. I did not check out the showers as we use the shower in our motorhome. The park *is* located behind a fire station and there are a few light, non-smokestack industrial buildings nearby but just beyond those buildings is a very nice residential area. If you are coming here you had best call ahead as the office seems to have strange office hours…for an RV park that is. Their website indicated that the office is closed on Sunday and we found that the office closes at 3 PM on Saturday. There are no discounts for daily stays. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This campground has potential but is not being kept up. We stayed for a week and never saw a anyone mow the lawn or pick up anything. The staff was polite but unable to answer questions about the park. The laundry room was dirty and the people using the machines left them full of lint so we went to a public laundry to do our wash. Everything about the park says please paint me, put some signs out so folks know where to park their rigs when they come in and please mow and trim my green areas. Also, there's a train that goes by at night several times. We stayed don't suggest you do the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This park was a disappointment. It is in an urban area off a highway and behind a fire station; some sites are directly adjacent to the highway, others are next to an equipment storage lot, and many face the large pond with a fountain in the center of the park, which is surrounded by a pretty, grassy area. We called ahead for a reservation and on arrival we were assigned site 40, between the fire station and the pond. The pond had a large flock of Canada geese which wandered all over the grounds and roads leaving goose droppings everywhere; it was impossible to avoid stepping in it. During our overnight stay we saw no sign of management. Several dogs were running loose and a neighboring rig that came in late was partying and making noise well after 11:30 pm. The shower area was not very clean. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
This was a good location for visiting Indianapolis. It is definitely not a destination park but fits the bill for an overnight or 2-3 day stay. Sites are gravel, level and full hookups. Free cable was nice. There is free Wi-Fi also, but we didn't use it so can't say how well it worked. Our Verizon air card and cell phones got great service. This is a 4G area. We will return our next time through this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We regularly stay here when attending shows at the Lucas Oil Stadium. It is an easy drive to the stadium and is a pleasant urban RV park that while not cheap is certainly not expensive in relation to most parks near major destinations. Consider that the park is fairly pleasant visually in addition to amenities like cable TV, and very usable wireless internet and this place is a winner. I would never have a problem recommending this park as a place to stay in Indianapolis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
I have been staying at this park now for a few months. I will be honest when I first read the reviews I was leery. Now that I have been here I love it. The "industrial" area you don't even notice once you're in the park. The park is kept clean and the office staff is wonderful with everything you need. I would highly recommend this park. My kids also love the catch and release fishing with the lake. It is a life saver. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
Thankfully we knew where to look for this campground because we only saw one sign at the entrance. It is located in a busy area, but it wasn't what we expected when reading previous "industrial area" postings. Check in was very pleasant and we were given a long, level pull-through. Gravel roads were dusty, but we've seen much worse. Lots are narrow, but 50 amp, Verizon, and 70+ channel cable were very good. Wi-Fi is free but not reliable enough for work. Washing your vehicle or RV is allowed for a fee. We found the laundry and restrooms clean but distant, and people friendly. There is no store, but many are within a short drive. If you want to be in the woods, go elsewhere. If you want to be minutes from downtown and within a 45 minute drive to the unique town of Columbus, stay here. We were not bothered by noise, but soft sides may be. We were very comfortable here for six nights and appreciated the short drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Standard campground with gravel streets and sites. Rather tight spaces. There is small lake with fountain. Good WiFi and cable TV. Stayed one night while traveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We stayed here for 2 nights to attend the DCI Championships at Lucas Stadium. The is a well run RV campground with a friendly, helpful staff that is about 10 minutes from the stadium and downtown Indianapolis. Most of the sites are pull through, all are gravel but level. Power was good, water pressure fine, and cable service good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Just an ok park for a night's stay. The sites were gravel with a bit of grass and fairly close together. We were put in with some of the seasonal sites which weren't all that nice. The site was those side by sides with another outfit next to you, facing the other way and sharing the hookups. There were some other sites that were better. I should have asked for a 50 amp site because they were the nicer ones. It is an in-town park in an industrial area. It had poor signage to find the entrance but was easy on and of the freeway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Perfect campground to use as a base for Indianapolis. Friendly office staff. Although it’s in a light industrial type area, there’s not much noise in the background at all. Because of the pond and rolling hills around it, you almost feel like you’re in the country yet you’re only 10 minutes to the center of the city. Swimming in a marked off section of the pond felt great on a hot day! Sites are shared utilities (RVs point in opposite directions) so your door opens to a yard and not someone else’s sewer facilities. Wi-Fi was iffy, at best. Verizon card worked fine. Cable was good. Laundry and bathrooms, although quite a hike from the RV area, are very clean. However, you do have to check your washer for rug "backing" or pet hair before you use it. Lots of geocaches in the area. I'm not sure where the May poster stayed but none of the seasonal sites were junky and the roads aren't bad at all...just drive slowly. Owners are paving more each year. Our only complaint was the 17% tax added to their posted rates. I would most definitely recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Very nice park in the middle of a city. There is a nice pond with geese, a fountain, swimming and fishing. The grounds and hookups were well maintained. Level gravel pull through sites. Good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
Nice people at the desk, very helpful for places to see in the area. The lake is catch and release. The laundry was nice and the bathrooms were clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
We're full timers and spent 9 weeks at this campground because it was close to the things we needed to get done while "home". This campground doesn't live up to it's full potential. The main road is newly paved, but the side roads are gravel & full of deep pot holes. It's very dusty when dry & little ponds form when it rains. Although the restrooms & showers have been redone, the laundry room is awful. Folks wash dog beds, muddy rugs and all kinds of things there. I had sheets come out of a dryer with bubble gum on them. There is a fishing pond with a beach for swimming, but not used much. There's a clubhouse, but no activities are ever planned. Although most of the permanent residents are in a separate area, there are still a lot of permanent sites mixed in with the others. And they just aren't very well kept up. There were problems with cable while we were there, so channels were limited. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, but they work other jobs & can't give their full attention to this campground. We would stay again, but not for any length of time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We stayed at this park for the first time over Memorial weekend. Bring your own firepit and they supply the firewood (free), they are just off the road but noise was not an issue. Sites are fair in size, level and well kept with full amenities. Office personnel was super friendly, gracious and helpful. Golf and stores nearby, on race weekends we hope to call LHR basecamp for several years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
OK for a stop over night or two. Has very small sites and you share the grass area between sites with your neighbor. Not good signage for office, we went completely around campground and returned to home at entrance and then saw small sign in window that said "office". Clean restrooms and laundry. Nice lake. Not much for kids to do on site. There is road noise. Has good cable TV, Verizon air card and cell service. Not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$30
We have been staying in this beautiful RV Park since last May. I have a brother here in Indy that is terminal and they have very graciously allowed us to stay here for all of this time. We are paying $450.00 a month and receive all the amenities for that amount. The Wi-Fi is not guaranteed, but works very well, and when interrupted the lady in the office goes out of her way to get it up and running. We don't hear any highway noise at all here and shopping is just a few short miles away. We are also only 2 miles from 465. We will definitely camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
In busy light industrial area right on big roadways, but quiet enough in the park. Excellent strong Wi-Fi free is a big plus. Low water pressure. Clean gravel/sand roads. Not scenic, but safe and decent for visiting Indianapolis area and very close to downtown Indianapolis area. Right off of 37 near 465. Convenient location. Near major shopping areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Very nice park near highways and interstate. It is in an industrial area, but very clean. It has a large sign on the corner but it needs a sign showing the entrance which is not on the corner. The office has a very small sign about Lake Haven with another larger sign. The help was very friendly and they have an area map showing Wal-Mart, shopping and groceries. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Nice, level, gravel sites. Somewhat close to neighbors, but everyone was polite and considerate. Pretty lakes on-site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
We stayed here 2 nights. Rate includes 16% local taxes. Pull-through sites are all side-by-side; other sites are not. Our site was long enough for our 37' motorhome plus Jeep in tow. Free Wi-Fi was very fast when it was on. It was usually not on until late afternoon and evening. It's a long walk from most parts of the park to laundry, restrooms and dumpster. The restrooms and showers were spacious and clean. Though in an industrial area and close to the highway, noise was not bad. We would stay here again for a day or two, but not long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
The only half-way decent park close to Indianapolis. It is in an industrial area. Pull-through spaces for coach and tow were not long enough to accommodate our 40-foot coach and toad. It was very tight to get in and out of the site. Water pressure was terrible (below 35psi). Most sites are side by side gravel and too close to each other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
This park is located in an industrial/residential area just south of the interstate. Highway and train noise are in the background but not a problem. The park appears to be brand new and in excellent condition. Water, 50 amp power, and sewer are all great. The roads and pads are level and gravel. Many spaces are big rig pull-throughs, although several are bit close for my comfort: a parking lot feel to them. Spaces all have a small grass area with a picnic table. There is a community fire pit (a real plus since we don't like being smoked out by our neighbors). Wi-Fi here is free, but slow and unreliable. The bass pond is full of bluegill, never saw a bass in 3 days of fishing. Location is convenient to interstate highway and downtown Indianapolis. Plenty of stores/shopping just minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Rate is based on a monthly stay. This is a nice urban park, close to the center of the city with easy access off of Indiana Highway 37 and just a couple of miles south of I-465. The staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are faily level gravel with grass between them and are nice and large. The only drawback was the distance to the showers, laundry and trash which are all located toward the entrance of the park and a walk of some distance from the sites. I would stay here again if visiting Indianapolis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Upon arrival I was immediately approached by an angry camper who was screaming at me to slow down because of the dusty gravel roads. This man went on and on yelling at me about abusing the 6.5 mph speed limit. The office was very hard to locate because there are no signs, same for the camp area. The beach area was a joke with very loose gravel for a beach and a sharp drop-off into the lake. Not a kid friendly campground by any means. Campground is no more than a large gravel lot with a few grass strips. It is near downtown but is located in an industrial park area. It's not quiet! The showers are nice and have been recently updated. However, I will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Very nice for an "Urban" campground. Long term residents are few and seem to be segregated into their own area. Sites are level and long although shade is slim to none. Bath house is about 200 feet from the campground and the showers are a single large area without a separate dressing area - but it was clean and neat. Part of the campground is under a high tension power line and the view is nothing to write home about (an industrial area) but if you want to stay close to Indianapolis (we were attending a convention downtown) this is a nice place. VERY friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
A nice Park situated conveniently to Indianapolis. Easy access, but entry is a little confusing. The Park is in two sections, neither convenient to the office. The office is actually a nice residence and you start looking elsewhere for the office. We went by it once. The Park is laid out very well. You can opt for an open site or a shaded site. There was a problem with dust, but they are slowly paving all the access roads, and this should resolve the issue. Wifi is good. We will make this our Park of choice when visiting this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Very cramped - narrow, short sites. Dirt/gravel roads and sites, very dusty. We were there only one night while passing through the area, but would probably not go there again if we could avoid an overnight in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Did not like this park at all. Lots of permanents, sites way too close together, no trees to sit under, gravel roads that blows dust everywhere when a car goes by. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
I've been to Lake Haven Retreat twice, and I've been pretty happy both times. The recent restroom/shower renovation has made it even better. The roads are somewhat rough - gravel, but there are large potholes - and the bathroom is a rather long way from the sites. But I would recommend it for someone staying in the Indianapolis area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
Serviceable site. Best thing it had going for it was proximity to Indianapolis. Being within 10-12 miles of downtown to a big city is a plus I have found, having been 35 miles from Cleveland, 40 from Chicago, 40 from Houston, 25 from Cincinnati, 18 from Louisville The park itself could use some work and the sites are a bit close to each other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
The park was just OK. They only had 1 bathroom site for the 100+ sites, and it was a distance. Can only imagine if you had no bathrooms in your camper. The road needs widening, hard to get by with the seasonal peoples cars half in the road. You are right on top of your neighboring trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
Potholes everywhere. Even after 3days without rain they still had water puddles. Only one place to deposit trash. Water connection underground is hard to use. Won't be back unless the roads are repaired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$31
Location is right off the left turn and at the sign on the right. Don't go forward more than than that if you are towing and concerned about backing. Previous reviews mention 'potholes' and they are correct. The road to the campsites is an adventure. We were here for one night and while nothing stands out as particularly poor, the potholes do register a huge negative. We had a site that was easy to pull in to. The next morning, continuing forward would have been possible but difficult due to someone parking their 'truck' very near the road in the site opposite ours. This seemed to be a local permanent site. With this in mind, we did not experience the narrow roads mentioned by other reviewers. Visually, they do appear narrow. We were able to back out and connected our tow vehicle afterwards. Cable TV reception was poor. Clear instructions were left for us before a late check in. As an overnight this campground is OK, but the price does not really justify. I'd do a dry camping at a local retailer before stopping here again for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
This is the 3rd time we have visited this park. They have re-done the laundry room and the bathrooms. The machines are brand new. But the road coming in is horrible. It is dirt and full of very large pot holes. The road is tight down through the spaces. There are grassy areas between the sites. The staff is very friendly, but don't ask for a refund: there isn't any. The water connections are all underground and very hard to get to. On the positive side the Wi-Fi is great. Hopefully when we come back here they will have done something with the roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This was not our greatest camping weekend. We will not be back to this park. The cable and WiFi didn't work, if it did work you were charged to get the password, to be able to use your computer. Our son had to take his tent down from our site or pay and additional $19 a night to sleep in his tent. No shade to speak of, sites were very close together, gravel lots, it rained most of the weekend, very poor drainage from campsite to campsite. Our friends were camping in a mud pit. We will find another park or stick to State Parks from now on. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Very poor park. Cable was full of snow. Went to office and asked for a partial refund or have someone repair it. Response was they will call cable company but it takes two days. They said they had trouble with it two weeks ago but their maintanence man fixed it. Why could they not at least attempt to fix it? Most parks send a guy out with a TV to at least try. They refused my request for a refund on a cable. Park roads were very dusty and full of large holes. Trash and construction materials laying all over. Very unsightly. Wifi worked very poorly. This place is a dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
When we arrived the road to the site we were given was lined with cars making it almost impossible to back in. Someone eventually came out of the trailer next to us and moved one of the two cars they had parked parallel to the road. Once finally in our site all was fine. Wireless worked well and cable was decent. Nice quiet park. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Sites close together and not really a very nice campground. Great potential with Indy having so few campgrounds, but less than our expectations. Few campers in the "good" spots are seasonal residents. I you like camping in a parking lot then this will suit you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
The office staff was very nice and helpful. The sites are a little close but are back to back. The wireless internet was free and worked nice. All the sites did not have pic nic tables, ours being one of them. We were told they are putting in cable. Close to the exit but far enough away you don't have highway noise. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
A very nice campground that's real convenient to the interstate. Very friendly and helpful staff. The sites are gravel and there are not any paved drives or sites but it is well maintained. We have stayed here several times in the last few years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Clean and well kept. Mostly side-by-side hookups, but decent space between rigs. The laundry is not air-conditioned. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com