215077 User submitted reviews online!!
Giant Redwoods RV & Camp was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (707) 943-9999
CGID401

Giant Redwoods RV & Camp

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   9   10   2   8   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
This was a nice park to stay in by the Eel River in the redwoods. The office staff is great and very helpful. Spaces were easy to get into although some were fairly close together. We would definitely stay here again as you feel like you are in a park-like setting with all of the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$39
We only spent one night on the the way to Washington. It was pretty easy to find. There are a lot of full timers in this park and some have a lot of stuff outside of their campers. The park was clean but one could see the wear and tear of time. It's more rustic than my wife and I care for. There is a nice large fenced in dog run and a children's playground. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds where wet and muddy in a number of areas and the grass at the sites is thin. They now charge $45/nite (in season), this is a bit pricey for what they provide. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
This park is a great relaxation destination. The "Avenue of the Giants" is out the front gate. The bath houses are brand new and spotless. The managers are exceedingly nice. You are directly on the river and can walk in or along as far as you desire. The only thing that keeps this park from being perfect for us is a pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
My kind of park. Older layout with sites intermingled among trees along a river. Sites are level although the full hookup sites are a little close to one another. Friendly, helpful manager. Wi-Fi and cable worked well. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We had a great experience at this park. The managers/hosts were very helpful and our site was grassy and shaded and near the river. We had plenty of space. The bathrooms and showers were modern and spotlessly clean. The cable and WiFi worked great. It is very close to the impressive Avenue of the Giants -- easy access. We especially liked the fenced in pet play area where we could let our dog off the leash and play with her. Highly recommend this campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
While the lady who ran the park was very nice, her husband was a jerk. If you should stay here, do not let them put you by the restrooms. The RV's are stacked on each other. The neighborhood is run down and noisy. The other side of the park did look much nicer with play equipment for the kids and a nice view. The husband does not like dogs and stated he no longer wanted them there. I do not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Good Sam rate, gravel and dirt sites, lots of shade. New picnic table, fire pit. New owners, Camp Host is on site. Showers and laundry room were also new, concrete and tile. Kids playground, river was running slow for swimming. WiFi and 20-channel TV worked great. Quiet at night. They are still working to clean up some of the area, but overall it looks good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Loved the trees. There are some redwoods here. The hosts and camp workers are very nice and friendly. We sat around their campfire each night. Laundry and bathrooms are nice and new. The park was filling up for the weekend, but there is plenty of room between sites. The river is very popular with families. It was flowing slow enough to float around or play in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This campground has a lot of potential. It is in a great spot on the river, with it's own private beach and a lovely swimming hole to cool off in. However, it is a work in progress. The bathrooms have recently been redone, but there are still some issues, like no windows or ventilation and the water from the shower runs under the door and into the rest of the bathroom. It looks quite wild in terms of maintenance, but the pitch was level, hookups easy, there was some new children's play equipment, friendly host and it is in a good location within the redwoods area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This site is under new ownership. Walking around you can see they have invested in trying to improve the park. This is a great location, very peaceful and right on the river. Manager is a young man who is really trying hard to make your stay enjoyable. It is parks like this where I actually don't mind spending my money to help someone trying to make a go of it. Once the fence improvements are finished and add a few 50amp spaces, this site will earn a 10. Don't expect a modern, all asphalt site: this place is rural, quiet, and has that old school camping feel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
This campground is a work in progress. The new owners are investing a lot of money and work in renovation: NEW restrooms and showers, new office, new gravel on the roads and parking spaces. Workers were completing one of the restroom buildings when we arrived; another assembled a play structure while we were there. I hope they update the power pylons; ours seemed old and funky, but worked fine. We had a pull-through site. Many back-in sites appear to be nose-in to get the services on the correct side. We don't have a TV, so I don't know about the cable. Wi-Fi worked fine but seemed a little slow to me. Practically deserted mid-week, occupancy picked up for Memorial Day weekend with lots of families and groups. The host was helpful and friendly. We really liked the rustic character - almost like the State Park campground 4 miles up the road, but with full hookup for less than the no service sites there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
This park could be very nice if somebody cared about it. The full hook-up sites were gravel and seemed OK, but the water/electric sites were grass and difficult to figure out. The hook-ups were on the wrong side of the site and the trees needed a good trimming. Tent sites were nice: overlooking the river. The restrooms were dirty and there was only one other camper here. We self-registered and never saw an owner or camp host. The cable TV was minimal: less than 12 channels. Our Verizon air card worked well, but we had no AT&T cell service. The location was great: just off the Avenue of the Giants and close to the Drive Through Tree Shrine. The Groves restaurant and winery in Myers Flat was very good. Price reflects winter rates with AAA discount. Price is the only reason we might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
This campground is rustic. The have all the amenities available. Shower and restrooms are not like a 5-star hotel, but they are cleaned daily. The people running the park were friendly and in the evenings had lots of activities for the kids. All in all a nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
The campground proximity to the Redwoods was the only thing good about this park. The restrooms/shower areas were so dirty and disgusting that we ended up using our motorhome for those purposes. Everything was brown and dry and very dusty. We didn't let our kids out of our sight because of the type of people walking around. Wouldn't stay there again. We will look elsewhere and travel further to find something better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
The park is absolutely beautiful if you love the woods and the big trees, which we do. The grounds were spectacular for enjoying evening cookouts and the quiet of the night. The restrooms were very dirty, not clean at all, we didn't want to shower in them and the laundry room was worse. With no place to even sit while you waited for the laundry to finish. The owners were friendly and helpful, A bit more work is needed in the common areas. We would definitely go back, but would not make it a laundry evening and would just plan on showering in the RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
I have rated this park pretty well due to its location right outside the Humboldt Redwoods State Park. The Park is just down the road from the Avenue of the Giants and close to an adequate mini mart. I did eat at the winery and restaurant nearby, which was excellent. The park was quiet while I was here, and the weather was beautiful. The RV pull-through site that I had was very long, but also very narrow. Everyone at the park including other campers were very nice. The cable TV service did not provide any major network channels. The laundry was closed for repairs, and the restrooms were not clean and in need of repairs. The camp store was cute and the staff was nice. There was some neighborhood noise late at night, but it was bearable. I would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$28
Park is in a lovely spot with mature plantings (a lot of shade), right on the river. (No view from most sites, but walking access). The people there were very friendly and helpful with suggestions about touring the area. The facilites are pretty old and could use some updating. The sites would be kind of tight if the campground was full (mostly empty when we were there). However, it was a beautiful spot and a good value; I would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
A lovely park. Lots of trees and near the river. The staff was helpful and friendly. The WiFi was weak. I actually rebooted it several times to get it to work. We had full hookups in a pull through site. There is a good winery with an excellent gourmet restaurant (The Grove) just outside the park. The downside, in addition to the WiFi, was that the north end where we stayed was very noisy. On the other side of the fence were lots of barking dogs and noisy cars. The guinea hens added to the cacophony. Stay in the south end. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
The park is very pretty. There are some very good tent sites. The hookups are very convenient. The sites are close together. During the winter, it wasn't a problem but I don't think I would like to stay there when the campground was full. The pull-through sites have tight angles to get out of. Again, it wasn't a problem because no one was here. We really like the campground but would probably not use it during the peak seasons because it would be too hard to get in and out of the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
Were it not for the location, this would be one of the absolute worst parks we have ever stayed in. When we pulled in, we were greeted by a nervous old lady who was frustrated at children coming in and complaining the volleyball rope had broken. We were then charged $6 extra per kid per night, making extra charges at $24 per night, definitely not worth it. I'll explain more later. Our site was NARROW, so NARROW that we couldn't use our awning. The sites are arranged so that just outside your front door, you are treated to a great view of your neighbor's sewer hookup, literally 4 feet away. And of course, when our neighbor pulled in and hooked up, he forgot to open the valve of his drain at the sewer connection, flooding our area. Luckily it was grey water from his washer, but still we were denied the use of our tiny area. The arrangement of the sites has got to be against health code regulations. The sites are hard packed dirt and rock, no grass, and no privacy between them at all. The staff. If you have 'Dueling Banjos' on mp3, I suggest you play it while reading this part of the review. The staff had not a clue on what customer service or basic manners were. We were treated right off to hearing a female staffer swearing loudly that someone had 'sh_t' all over the bathrooms, with more colorful adjectives thrown in for good measure. During our two day stay, we were astounded to see other staffers driving slowly around the park in 70's vintage automobiles, cigars hanging out of their mouths, music playing loudly. They were dirty, unshaven, and uncouth. But this is much like the clientele at this park. The atmoshpere reminded me of the keggers we had in High School. Great for young adults, but not so great if you have small children. There were so many tenters and the park was so crowded that there was no room at the playground at all for the kids, and the bathrooms, showers and laundry room were absolutely filthy. We did not use any of the facilites, hence there was no reason at all to pay extra for the kids. And don't even get me started about the 'ice cream social' at $1.50 per scoop. The owners of this park are using it as a cash cow, doing only basic maintenance, if that, and it's easy to see that their hearts are not in it. How this place earned a AAA rating is one of the world's great mysteries. The location is this park's only saving grace. There are much nicer parks in the area, though, and we will use those if we ever return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Very nice. Friendly operators. Very clean river for swimming. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
I rated this a little higher because of where it is. In the heart of the redwoods and really handy to use. The sites were narrow and even though they were separated by live Bamboo screens there wasn't much privacy. This was pricey by my standards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com