206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Okatibbee Water Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (601) 737-2370
CGID4020

Okatibbee Water Park

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   7   2   7   5   6   4   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
Part of the Pat Harrison water park system. What seemed to be a nice park in it's days, is run down and in need of attention. Long term people live there in broken down campers. It looks as though work is being done to the place but at a slow pace. It could be a beautiful place with lots of work. We'll have to bypass this place next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
Very quiet and peaceful place, friendly staff, good fishing. We enjoy staying here, but it's getting run down and needs a good clean up (pine straw, leaves, broken tree limbs, etc.). Can't use laundry or showers because they are dirty. Some long timers but no problem with that. We've stayed here twice and have another week booked in May. We always stay at least a week and enjoy our time here, but it could be a much better park if they'd just spend some time and clean it up. Paved pads but not level. If you like the woods and country setting this is the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$12
Take the additional half hour drive off the highway and enjoy the peace and quiet this park offers (at least it was when we were there; the water park was shut down for the winter). I have to agree with the previous reviewer regarding the toilet facilities. They were awful. Someone had left a mop and bucket in the corner of one of the laundry areas and it was filthy. Looked like it had been there for quite a while. The bad thing about the park is that management needs to do some clean-up with the sites. We walked the whole park to find that more than half of it has been left untended, allowing the surrounding woods to take over. Sad, as it could be a wonderful place if someone would take some time to spruce it up some. There are a lot of full timers, with lots of boats and trailers scattered amongst the sites. Trash in the woods, bucket lights in the trees left on all day, overgrowth in other areas. The water park and the day use areas look well groomed until you look closer. There's trash there as well. Like I said earlier, it is a peaceful and quiet place and I would definitely stay again, using my own facilities. The reservoir is teeming with birds and wildlife. A great place for canoes, kayaks, riding bikes. Simply put: a wonderful place to stop and just relax. We planned on only staying one night but added a second one as it was so peaceful. The staff we met were extremely pleasant and friendly. The rate reflects the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
Showers and bathrooms were filthy. Urine and water running on floor, could not turn off the water in shower, no locks on stalls or shower doors, no paper, room with washing machines had several water leaks and floor was covered with water. All this was reported by several different people and 3 days later nothing had changed. Be careful of snakes, we saw two big ones. We have camped here 3 times and each time the conditions are worse than the time before. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
Generally a nice park. We wanted a pull-thru and access to the site we got was a squeeze through the trees...about 6" to spare on each side. Site itself was roomy enough but as one previous poster said, sewer hookup is in middle of site. Luckily, we were level further back on the site so the sewer was under our raised front and easily accessible for us. Had cell service and Verizon broadband coverage. We were not on a lakefront lot but took a drive through that area and it seemed nice. Waterpark is a small one but looked clean. There are some very nice areas under the pines on another peninsula that would make excellent camping spots. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$8
CG is very peaceful & quiet, not busy. Site and some roads are old blacktop. Lots of trees so rooftop sat dish might not work, antenna reception good. We use Passport America for 50% off for 3 nights. 37' 5W and many sites were big enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$17
We stayed in the nicest spot, number 27. On a point overlooking the lake. Nice grass and asphalt pad. This is a large spot. Parked our 40' RV with the Jeep in front and still had 10+' to spare on the pad. The strange; a lot of the sewer hookups are in the middle of the pads, meaning you have to belly crawl under the RV to connect the sewer. The dangerous; my wife, the first night was walking the dog. Walking within 20 feet of the RV was an unmarked 15 foot drop off to the lake. There was no water at this point. She stopped because something "felt wrong". This campground was hit hard by Katrina. That probably caused the drop off. It is the reason there is no cable. There are many trees down. One campground loop looks like it could not be used due to all the debris. There is no internet access of any kind, not even a dial up access in the office. With all the disrepair, all three times I was in the office, all the park personnel were in the office watching TV. The potential for this campground is huge, but it will still be a "6" until someone fires the staff and gets people that want to work, rather then just take home a paycheck. The lake is also severely low on water in the Winter, which was not mentioned on their web site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2006
$19
Nice park. Needs updating. Showers and bath houses were terrible. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2003
$14
Filthiest bathrooms and laundry rooms I have ever attempted to use. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com