221638 User submitted reviews online!!
Land-O-Pines Family Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (985) 892-6023
CGID4036

Land-O-Pines Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
280
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   4   4   5   3   10   3   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
We did not stay at this campground. We made our reservation while on the road. It is several miles off I-10 on a very narrow winding road. The entrance to the campground and the roads within the campground are very narrow. There were many old, dilapidated RVs in the park. There were also many dogs running loose. We were told our site was full hook-up on a pad. The pad turned out to be grass and was not large enough for our 44' motor home. We were offered another site but were not able to get into them either. We were given a full refund. The family that owns the campground were very nice and tried to be accommodating but the state of the campground and facilities were very poor. I would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is a very nice, older park that is way out in the woods so was very quite. The staff at the park were very friendly and helpful about the area. We were there for 5 nights and would recommend it to our friends and family. You have to be careful when picking a site. We lucked out with D54 because we had very heavy rains while there and our site didn't flood where most all the others were flooded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
PROs: Very nice sandy beach with running shallow water. Nice pool, playground, water slide, and putt putt course. Store is nice, with ice cream, snow balls, icees. Staff is very nice. CONs: The sites are WAY TOO CLOSE TO EACH OTHER. Will not return. Had to empty black tank while neighbors were at the beach as to not disturb them. Very awkward. Very expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
We reserved through Enjoy America for three nights at Land-O-Pines. When we arrived the staff were less than friendly and/or helpful. The site we were assigned had full hookups & 50A. The site was wet, soft and muddy. I could not level the rig because the blocks sank into the mud. The site was also laced with big tree roots. The pools and water slide were closed during our stay. The restrooms and showers were all in the permanent resident portion of the park. Fri-Sat-Sun cost $3 more overnight. There will be no going back to this park. The roads were packed dirt and muddy; drainage is poor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
The management made it very clear that if you cancel you can forget about getting your money back, unless you want to take a rain check on some future date within a year. There was no reason to make a reservation and take a chance on that cause the place is practically empty except for the permanent residents. Probably would be a great place to take the kiddies in the summer but in the winter it is pretty miserable. It is basically like being in the woods with a power and water hookup. No concrete or gravel sites! Was told it had sewer but they obviously have had problems from the signs and all the sewer connections are permanently capped off. Also told it had Wi-Fi but they failed to mention that it was the "Tengonet" service that You have to pay for. We are traveling across the states and we have gotten far better deals elsewhere. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
This campground sounded good on it's website, but really needs some work and attention. There are no pads unless you pay for the "premium" sites. The utilities for 4 sites are all on 1 post. The sewer hookups are randomly placed about the sites. This made for a quite interesting parking situation in order for our cables & hoses to reach properly. Luckily we were camping with friends as we had to park in an "L" shape about 18 inches from each other in order plug in. Both our and our friend's 30 amp breakers were weak, and kept tripping. The other two sites being served on the utility post were vacant, and we were able to plug in to the others. The pool closed unexpectedly on Saturday despite the hours being posted as open, which was disappointing because having it was a deciding factor in camping here. It rained on our final day, and our sites flooded with about 3" of water, which quickly turned to mud and slop. Despite the high price tag for non-premium sites, everything here costs money. Golf carts permits are $5/day. Mini-golf is $3 per person per round. The water-slide is $13 per person for the day. Overall, we did not find this campground a good value for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We had an excellent time here. Its a great family site to go to. No need to worry about shade trees, I think every site had trees. The staff was very friendly. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2010
$47
This campground was very disappointing. First of all, the price is expensive. We went on a "half price weekend" which softened the blow of a so-so stay. At 47.00 a night I would expect a better place. The sites are grass/limestone and not level. There are potholes in the middle of some spots and some have trees right next to the spot making it difficult if not impossible to open slides. The utility posts are at the back of the site causing you to stretch power cords and water hoses under the camper and across the site. Very inconvenient. The campground is inhabited by many, many permanents which are all on one side of the campground. Many of them give glaring stares as you drive down "their" roads. Some are friendly, however. The one quality feature to this park is the beach area on the river at the back of the park. There is also a water slide, pool and other attractions on site. We won't come back to this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
A campground with a lot of potential. Something for everyone, pool water slide and activities for kids, lots of trees and a nice river/creek for the rustics. Site are tight and they were booked up for the holiday. Had a lot of rain two days with some pretty good flooding but the area does drain really well. Only one pool that is not that big, could use another one. Very nice staff and folks who have permanent spots, family type feel to the whole place. Most of the not permanent spots appear to not have sewerage, Wi-Fi etc. Would be nice and make it a nicer place to be. Overall though a nice park with the potential to be a slam dunk ten and smoke all the others in the area and we will be back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
Very family oriented campground. Lots of stuff for kids to do like swimming, waterslide, playground area, fishing, and mini golf. Great place for kids to ride bikes as well. There is a creek in the back of the campground that was a great place to go cool off. They also have a mini concession stand that serves snowballs, etc. Sites are very close together with few trees. You have to pay separately for the waterslide and mini-golf daily which we thought should have been included in the price. Golf carts everywhere. Almost everyone here has one or rented one. We would have rated this campground a 7 but since my kids really loved it we gave it an 8. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$52
We stayed here over Easter weekend which is why our rate was so high - $52/night for water and elec (30 amp) only. I think the normal rate is $30 to $40 depending on if you get full or partial hookups, 50 or 30 amp, etc. And this is a Passport America park. Roads are dirt/gravel. Lots of trees. There are a couple of tight spots but we were able to maneuver our 41' motorhome around without too much trouble. Sites are dirt/grass. Most sites are large enough for big rigs, but not all sites are suitable for them. The one we were assigned has a huge tree right in the middle of it. We talked to the staff and they said no one was coming into the site next to us, so it was fine that we were basically taking up two sites. They were very accommodating. Wi-Fi is available, but for a $5/day fee. Our aircard worked fine though. This is definitely a family oriented campground. It would be great for families with young kids. There is a lot for the kids to do and they seem to be having a great time. There are also people, young and old, "cruising" the roads of the campground all day and well after dark in their golf carts. Lots of golf carts. Pretty noisy in the evenings, but the majority of campers do seem to respect the 10:00 quiet-time and things settle down around then. Overall, I think families would enjoy this campground, but it's really not our cup of tea. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
We stayed here for the first time and loved it. There was a ton of stuff for the kids to do. The staff was very friendly. There is a water slide which is a nice extra. They could stand to do a little work to the grounds. The road and sides are just dirt. The road need gravel at least. The sites are also just dirt which would not be a problem except when it rains. The bath houses were not clean. This was not a problem for me because we do not use them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
Has RV's & cabin-type set ups for rent. Pool, river beach access, mini-golf, water slide, game room. Among LOTS of trees -- about 30 minutes from Hwy. 12. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
This is a family oriented place in that they have lots of stuff to do for kids: pool, mini golf, swings, etc. The slide wasn't in use, except for the ducks. We just used it as a campsite, not all the amenities, thus only here at night for 2 nights. Due to rain it was cooler temps and muddy. One thing for sure: seems the men like to walk around without shirts or in wife-beaters, and I am talking about guys that rather eat than level the RV. I will stay here next year when we return to the area. Was worth the price to get full hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Spent my first weekend at this old established campground. Was placed toward the rear of the park so that I could have (Tengo) wifi Internet access, averaged 11 mbps my entire stay. They offer sewer for an additional fee but have a dump station available. This is definitely a place for families especially those with young children. They offer a water slide and miniature golf for an extra (reasonable) fee. The pool area has a smaller children's wading pool in addition to a normal pool. Saturday offered bingo in the afternoon and Karaoke in the evening. There is a small creek running behind the campground that offers white sandy beaches, the average depth during my stay was 6 - 12". The place was overrun with Golf Carts, they have them available for rent through an outside vendor but, you must order it in advance. Considering how deep the campground goes it definitely is something to consider. I was at least a 1/2 mile from the pool/office area. I ended up driving to/from the pool. I would definitely consider staying there again, it is off the beaten path and 45 miles from downtown New Orleans. Crossing the Lake Ponchartrain Causeway Bridge back to New Orleans I was charged $12.00 toll. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$40
Old Park that needs up dating some sights have sewer but wont hold content of trailer holding tank, the roads was gravel and had wholes in road, they need to haul in gravel and grade them. The sights were muddy and had no area to park except in the grass and mud. The permanent sights was run down and dumpy looking. The staff was nice, this could be a nice camp ground with some up grading and clean up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
I don't know if its because of the hurricane last year, or if its just normally bad. But this place was terrible. We had a dumpy site, and the sewer connection did not work. It overflowed on to the ground. The laundry room is to small and very hot to use. this place has a lot of potential, but needs lots of work. Lots of permanent people here living in trailers older than Henry Ford. There was clearly a lot of damage from the storm, you can still see destroyed trailers here. It was very hard to find off the interstate. If it was night you may as well forget it. Its 11 miles off the beaten path. Perhaps in another year it will have changed and improved. But I don't plan on going back to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
Not a clean park . The sewage overflowed all the time and it stunk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2003
$28
We liked this place although there were a few problems. Lots of soft spots which would be a problem in wet weather (sites are basically just on the grass). Bathhouses were located by the seasonals, none by the overnight section! Bathhouses were OK, basically clean, but could use some serious updating. Great activities, pretty location on a small river with sandy banks. Rentals were very iffy looking- not sure I'd want to rent an old run-down school bus or old popup! Seasonals were a mixed bag, some in good repair, many needed to clean up their place. Would go back just for the activities and nice location alone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com