218149 User submitted reviews online!!
San Angelo KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (325) 949-3242
CGID4040

San Angelo KOA

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   6   8   5   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Close to the road but surprisingly quiet. Wifi with simple password and the best working yet in my 30+ days trip. No greenery between sites. Laundry room was clean and water/electricity functional. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$41
We stayed in the 30/50 amp full-hookup sites, which were very nice, with a screened patio and patio furniture. The dog playground was one of the largest I've seen at a KOA and very clean. The staff is very pleasant, they pick up your trash daily and provide the local newspaper at your site each morning. We stayed one night heading out and 2 nights returning. The only drawback to this park is the local airport is very close, but the noise was not too bad. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
The office staff was great. We stayed in one of the newer pull through sites. The site was long enough for our 38ft 5ver and truck and the utilities functioned properly. We used the laundry which was clean and well cared for. The Wi-Fi worked well at the office but we couldn't use it from our site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
It's a good KOA. The kids love the playground and the horseshoe pit. It's not completely quiet at night - you can hear road noise. And if you're lucky enough to stay there on trash days, you'll get a dark:thirty wake up call by the trash truck rumbling through the campground to pick up the dumpsters. The place is clean and well kept. They do have a pool but we never stayed there in the summer to find out if it was kept clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
We were in the newer part of the park in the long pull thrus which were real level. Also, no trees so roof mounted satellite dish worked great. Office staff was great and worked well with us on our uncertainty due to slide out problems. Gravel roads and gravel sites. Rates not as high as the usual KOA rates. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
We requested a pull-thru and were given site #63. We attempted to 'level out', but to no avail. So they said we could move to #62-61 or 60. HA HA HA NONE of these pull-throughs were level. Even the person next to us had his front wheels completely up off the ground. So we were not satisfied with the pull-through sites. Also - the campground is in the airport flight area. You WILL hear airplanes (but not near a railroad track). :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This is a very nice place. Nice clean pool. Gravel and paved roads. Very friendly. Nice store that stays open until 9. Bathrooms were new and clean and nice. The only downfall was that there were a lot of oil field workers living here. If they would put them in a separate area from the travelers, that would have made it perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Great campground! All sites are pull through with cute cabins and some tent sites. Has a dog area with some shade. Great laundry and showers. Very clean. A/C compressor froze and I was able to stay past check out while it was repaired. A staffer personally took us to our site and even offered to lend a hand. There are trees but not much shade. There is a pool, but we didn't use it. Camp stories open til 9 and has a decent selection of items. My kids loved the ice cream choices. Would be glad to stay again. Also, right next to a great walking trail! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We were pleasantly surprised with the new additions as deluxe full hook up sites and we would stay here again. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Clean, well kept, and roomy, with friendly service. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
I stayed one night at this campground. The staff was very friendly. I was given one of the long pull-through sites in the newer area of the park. The hook-ups seem to be positioned for trailers, as they were near the rear of the site. Because I had a motorhome and toad, I ended up disconnecting, so I could position the motorhome closer to the hook-ups. It was not a problem for me, as I needed to run an errand in the toad. But for those wanting to keep the toad attached, it might be an issue. Lack of tall trees allowed my satellite TV to work just fine. Only other issue was the Wi-Fi, which, at times, was so slow, it was unusable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We camped in the "older" section of the park and the sites are very close together. There are a large number of permanent campers in the park. The grounds need attention, cigarette butts all over the place, found some vehicle gaskets on my site. Can't walk your dog because of the "goats heads" all over the green area of the park. Noted that there was an excessive amount of dog droppings at edge of green areas, probably because dogs refused to walk on goats heads but the owners obviously were not picking up after the dogs and park management is not either. There is a new section that has wider sites and some privacy. We would recommend staying in the new area. The staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi is useless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This is a basic KOA with some needed site improvements underway. We were just here overnight and it was good foe a short stay. As seems to be common in KOAs, the WiFi was poor at best with continual drop offs however we had a good AT&T signal. Good satellite reception as well. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$34
The 50 amp pull through sites are a good size with dividers and plantings between sites. Plantings are young but a decent size. These sites are undergoing upgrades to the landscaping. They have a concrete patio and table and chairs also. If you like deer you will love these sites as a large herd of deer including at least one buck lives in the fields next door. The people here are very friendly and while there are several long term units they are kept up and no "stuff" piled around as so often happens. We will stay here if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Gravel lot but level sites. Had some problems with the internet cutting out repeatedly. Good cable. Otherwise, it was a nice park with friendly management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
We only stayed 1 night, but the staff was extremely friendly. The sites were very easy to get in and out, with out unhooking. All of the facilities seemed clean. The only down fall: anyplace off the roadways, was covered with thistles. Tough on a dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This is a nice clean park with adequate sites. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would camp here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Nice and clean RV park close to Lake Nasworthy. The park was very quite and they had a nice pool area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The owner has been doing a lot work trying to improve the park and make it better. They do have new patio sites with picnic tables for big rigs. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
This is a nice enough campground. The spaces are tight but I got an end spot so I didn't feel crowded. The whole thing is gravel. There are grass spots around the edges, but mostly it's just stones with hookups coming up out of the stones. I met the owner who told me he had a "dog yard" well, I wish I had seen it while he was there. It's not a yard, it's a pen no larger than a horse stall. Maybe a little Chihuahua would have fun in it, but that's it. It also had sand stickers so I wouldn't let any dog go inside it. The good news is, it was less than most KOAs and the wifi worked perfectly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
A good place for a night or two stay. Noisy due to it being near a major street in San Angelo. Plus a lot of full timers rolling out to work early in the mornings. A great spot to run dogs is just across the street. The folks that manage/own the park are very nice. The pool is great on those scorching hot West Texas afternoons. Had it all to ourselves. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We were shown to our site by a friendly and helpful man from the office, and were given a little welcome bag. The campground is clean. The staff is friendly. However, the spots are tiny. We could barely open our slide-out and once we did, we were literally inches from our neighbor's slide-out. The Wi-Fi worked for about 30 minutes and then never again for the whole time we were here. The pool was full to the gills and noisy so we avoided it. There is a clubhouse where pancakes are served in the morning, but we didn't partake of that either. Nice park across the street for dog walking. We would stay here again but only on our way to another destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed one night at this KOA. The managers were very friendly and led us to our site and helped with the hook ups. WiFi reception was excellent. We did not use the cable TV. The camp was clean and the swimming pool was refreshing for the hot weather. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
We love the San Angelo KOA! We live in a nearby town but my husband has on call time that requires him to be closer to work and we stay at the KOA. The staff is very friendly, you get a four-wheeler escort to your site! The sites are a little small,but it is the staff, pool, and playground that keeps us coming back. They even make pancakes for the campers! We have a 5 yr old and the KOA helps her enjoy her stay away from home. We will continue to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
This park is OK, if all you want to do is watch cable TV. There is a swimming pool but, it was closed for the winter. It looks like there used to be a hot-tub, but it's been removed. There is a small playground for young children, but nothing here to interest teenagers. The game room is a joke, doesn't even have jigsaw puzzles much less games of any kind. The dog walk is also a joke, not only is it small, it's full of sand spurs, like most of the grass, not that there is a lot of that Not much shade either, even if the few trees had leaves. The showers are clean because nobody would use them twice. The showers barely mist, takes forever to get truly wet. All the sites are gravel, the whole park is gravel, all have picnic tables and some have b-b-q grills but their used for campfires not cooking. Laundry prices are deceiving, $1.25 to wash $1 to dry except it takes 2 or 3 cycles to get the clothes dry. As for the park being QUIET, what a joke!!! Non stop airplanes from sun up to sun down. The air force has a practice strip not a mile away and they fly straight over the park at low altitudes. Will not stay here again, unless it's only for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
A pleasant surprise for a KOA, great price with no add-ons. Cable and WI-FI included and both were excellent. It is a mostly gravel RV park but has lots of grass around the edges and many trees surrounding much of the park. Level sites that are fairly close together but still comfortable. No noise of any kind as the park sits back from the main road about a block. I agree that the dog "walk" was pretty funny - about a 10X10' pen with provided disposal bin. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
I was a little worried about this park because the price was so reasonable for a KOA. There was nothing to worry about, this was a very nice park. Hosts were friendly, bathrooms, showers and laundry were all great. The fenced dog run was pretty funny unless you have a really tiny dog. Overall it is a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
We stayed here- the Concho Valley KOA- Dec. 24-26. We found the staff helpful and friendly. Our gravel site was level- we didn't have to level our RV. The Wi-Fi was good as was the cable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
This KOA is a major disappointment! It is actually nothing more than a gravel parking lot with a few trees thrown in. The staff isn't the greatest. We decided since we were just passing thru, we would use their cable TV - but it was mostly fuzz. When we mentioned it to the host, he said, 'oh, others have complained about the low end channels'. We told him that all of the channels were fuzzy & not viewable so we ended up using our satellite. I was also extremely disappointed in the pool - if someone were to drown in it - it be hard to see them & it's a SHALLOW pool. The pool is nothing short of nasty. The floor of the pool looked blackish gray & moldy & the water was dark & foggy! Also, an airfield is somewhere in the area & we sometimes heard planes coming & going - but this is something the park naturally can not help; other then the planes, the campground is quiet. This park has the potential to be really nice but in it's current state it leaves a lot of be desired! TLC is definitely needed! We WON'T be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
Great site and great customer service. Cable was stated available but was no cable plug at our site. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We stayed here 2 nights. The park was well maintained with large easily accessible sites. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The host, Tracee, was a true example of how a host should be. The location was just far out of town to be quiet and peaceful, yet close enough for seeing the sites of the city without much driving. We would definitely recommend this KOA Kampground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This KOA provided us with our worst experience ever with a KOA campground! It's also the only time that we called KOA's national office for assistance! We made reservations 6 weeks early to stay at this particular park & also put in a request that our friends (who also RV) would be parked next to us. We were assured that we would have no problems with this request. I gave my credit card number to hold our site, as did our friends. Upon arrival, we were met by a husband & wife team who were very RUDE desk clerks. They seemed uneducated & unclean. The woman became incensed & angry when I tried to pay for our site with my debit card. She began arguing with me about why I couldn't pay with the credit card that I had held our site with. I explained to her that that shouldn't matter. (KOA - home office agreed with me). Finally, she gave us our site after she verbally berated us & treated us very nasty. We remained nice to her, but to no avail. When our friends then tried to get their site, they were placed clear across the park. When they stated that we had 6 weeks earlier reserved a site next to us, the woman's husband, loudly told us to leave the park & to leave then. The park was only 1/3 full & we had empty spots all around us & next to us where our friends could have stayed. At that point, I called the home office of KOA & was talking to them about the situation when another park worker arrived. He apologized for the situation & told us that it was fine if we parked our rigs next to each other & that if we had any other problems to bring them to his attention. We went ahead & stayed for a couple of days but we were stayed away from the hateful couple. The only redeeming feature of this park was their pool - but beware . . . while I was swimming, I noticed a couple of male park workers intensely watching me & it made me uncomfortable. There are NO other amenities! The park actually looks like a parking lot with gravel, no trees. Would we stay here again? NEVER! There are many other nice RV parks around the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
I agree that this park isn’t a resort destination, but it doesn’t pretend to be. At $22 (gold card discount, tax included) it’s a great deal for those just passing through. My site was a huge side-by-side with no neighbor. It was nicely leveled gravel and with great cable TV and pretty good WiFi. The only negative on the whole experience was the pay phone which didn’t work (we had no problems elsewhere in our three weeks in Texas, so it’s probably not us.) Staff was very friendly and helpful and the store was reasonably well-stocked. Bathhouse was spotless, but the ladies’ had very little hot water in any of the shower stalls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2005
$24
Another KOA that has seen it's better days! Pretty much a gravel parking lot with small sites that are too close together. We could literally pass a supper plate out our slide window to the RV next to us! Side-by-side sites. Fortunately the neighbors were of good humor as well! Had to keep the shades down 24x7. Sites are not level, roads fairly well kept. No hint of landscaping. Far enough off the road that the traffic noise isn't that bad, and convenient to shopping. Staff was pretty indifferent and didn't seem intelligent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2005
$21
If a 5 means average thats just what this place is. Not clean not dirty, not spacious not cramped. Good for an overnight. If I had to stay for a week I would look for somewhere else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com