219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Winding River RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (303) 623-1121
CGID4044

Winding River RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   7   8   7   6   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Various types of campsites, from rugged tent to spacious pull-throughs for large rigs. For RVs, sites are gravel with easy to use hook-ups. Excellent Wi-Fi. They have special facilities for horses and ATVs. Adjacent to the Rocky Mountain National Park. Grand Lake area has three large lakes for boating and fishing. If you like hiking, you are in paradise. Only weakness is muddy roads after a rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
The back pull-through spots are very quiet. However, they are not level. There were potholes and ditch marks in sites 119-129. I saw one big rig with its front wheels off the ground. Our site was 4" off level sideways. Otherwise this was a nice park. The view of the Indian Peaks Wilderness is spectacular. All the pine trees in the area are dead, so the scenery isn't that great. You cross the bridge and you are in the Rocky Mountain National Park. The restrooms are dated but clean. Moose and elk right near the RV park. They had a road grader smooth out the interior roads, I don't know why they didn't work on the pull through spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This park is wonderful! It is very large and scenic. All people that work here are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities and fantastic access to Rocky Mountain National Park. Easy access and roads. Will definitely stay here again and recommend it as often as we can! I am not sure of the rate we paid, but it was totally worth whatever it was!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
This campground is sort of a cross between a dude ranch and an RV park. There are lots of great activities for families: horseback riding, chuck wagon dinners and breakfasts, petting farm, fishing, etc. The park caters to horse owners and there are many sites with corrals for campers who bring their horses and ride the many trails. The park is bounded by the North Fork of the Colorado River and Rocky Mtn Natl Park. You can rent ATV's, go hiking into the Park, see moose: all without leaving the park. Sites with sewer are limited to about 5 or 6 near the front of the park and 30 or so in the back of the park in a meadow. The meadow sites were not attractive to us and we were lucky enough to stay up front. There's no mowing of grass so the sites tend to be overgrown. They were also uneven and tough to get level in our big rig. The roads are dirt and not well maintained; lots of pot holes and rough spots. Nevertheless, Winding River is well-managed, full of friendly staff and located in a beautiful spot. We stayed here in our big rig and would stay again. One note: If you forward mail to this resort, you must use General Delivery in Grand Lake as the Postmaster there will return mail addressed to individuals at Winding River Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Convenient to Grand Lake and helpful staff. The power to the entire site was down without warning and internet access was unreliable. When it was up, it was good, but it went down and stayed down often We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
Stayed ten days over 4th of July. Activities were great and nearness of Rocky Mountain National Park was outstanding as was the general setting. The FHU "meadow" was a dusty parking lot right on top of your neighbor. We opted for W + E site, which were more spacious (almost as dusty, though) and with a bit of a view. Dump station was handy enough and good. Laundry facilities were minimal with 2 washers and 2 dryers for 150 sites! As dusty as everything was, this was woefully lacking. Wi-Fi was almost non-existent. The staff was generally good with a couple of clinkers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This park is hard to rate. The facilities are good, clean restrooms & showers with lots of activities including horses and ATV,s. The RV sites are close together while the other sites are very spacious. Also, the park needs about a train load of gravel. Our site was a muddy goo as were some of the roads. If they put some (lots) gravel down the park would be an 8 or 9 but as a muddy goo a 6 is generous. We will look for a different park in the Rocky Mountain National Park area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We had a great time staying at this RV park. We rode horses, ate the pancake breakfast and had a great time walking are dogs around on the grounds. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would recommend this park and stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This park has a rustic, ranch-type environment, which our family came to greatly enjoy. Kid- and pet-friendly. Set up for horse campers also. Very large spread-out park. The restrooms/showers/laundry toward the back of the property near the ATV rentals appeared newer than those at the office. Very nice and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. We had a minor repair request for our site, which was done quickly. This park has stables offering one and two-hour rides at a reasonable charge. Horses in good condition and the wrangler we had leading our ride was an experienced horse person and very good at taking care of the riders. There did seem to be a fly problem around the stable and the petting pens. We stayed in the full hook up area which did not have any shade and no privacy; however, it was not an issue for us because most people (including us) were gone during the day. Yes, there are no paved roads, which did get a little dusty (until a light rain). Due to this being a horse-friendly park, there would be horse droppings to dodge on the roads, but staff cleaned the roads regularly. And, yes, the pine beetle has done damage to the pine trees in this entire area of Grand Lake, but there is still lots of beauty to be enjoyed. We did not participate in the ice cream socials, wagon rides or pancake breakfast, but did attend the Sunday morning Cowboy Church which was a blessing. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Excellent staff. Lots to do. Nice church service. Chuckwagon breakfast is superb! SUPER clean restroom area. VERY clean campground. stayed over a week with no problems. Was able to receive UPS and FedEx shipments with no problems. Great for horse people. Secluded yet close to Grand Lake shops. Saw lots of elk and moose. Lots of hiking and backpacking options. Overall EXCELLENT!! Usually stay on Estes side of divide, but coming back here for sure. Great time for the whole family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Overall we enjoyed our stay here. Saw moose & weather was fine. The park roads were rutted & potholed. Lots of mud. The FHU sites were large but unkept. Tall grass and lots of weeds. Restrooms & showers were clean & nice. Staff was friendly but they were rarely in our area to clean up sites. The Wi-Fi was pretty sad. Worked intermittently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The location,choice of hook-up types,and horse corrals are the main reasons to stay here. We did not like the lack of any real shade and the many uneven and muddy sites. Yes, you will see moose, but way too many ATV's bring you back to reality. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Very nice campground with sites a good distance apart. Very convenient location to Rocky Mountain National Park. Some shaded sites, but not many due to the large number of trees in the area that are dying due to the pine beetle. Restrooms were kept fairly clean. Showers each in their own little room, allowing for extra privacy. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Moose frequently seen here! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We arrived after driving through Rocky Mountain National Park. The directions were coming in from the south off of I-70, but the signage for the campground is good either way. The mile and a half road from 34 is in need of repair, and as is the road in the campground: frequently potholed and muddy. FHU sites are ample and surprisingly level. We had quite a bit of rain the first few days and it was muddy. To the camps credit, they got out the grader and did some work. Maybe all the horses are why they don't pave? The dead pines all over the area from pine beetles took the bloom off the rose for us. We were last here in '97 before all the devastation. We had family staying at the Grand Lake Lodge about 2 - 3 miles away, so we kept busy and enjoyed the area for six days. Grand Lake is a 10 - 15 minute drive and well worth the daily trip for us. Do not miss the Addams Falls. Breath-takingly beautiful!! Good FHUs, adequate if uneven cell (T-Mobile) and Wi-Fi reception. Rate reflects AAA discount. We would return, but not without watching the extended weather forecast first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Fantastic location right next to the Rocky Mountain National Park with the Colorado River running right through the resort. A real ranch experience with horse stables and great rides. We chose the large sites in the forested section for the space between sites, 50 amp service, and the gorgeous wild flowers everywhere. There are some full hookup sites for long term stays at the back of the resort, but we were fine without sewer hookups for a week. Large elk meadow 1/2 mile away with herds daily. Great access to National Forest for off-roading or hiking. Had an adolescent moose walk right beside the motorhome one day but the best sight was the huge bull moose which calmly walked through the campground. You can call the sites: rustic. No paving or fancy patios, but picnic tables and fire pits and water faucets. This is our favorite type of camping. It is very much like a COE campground. Service was friendly, great breakfasts and ice cream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Very friendly staff and the office is very well stocked if you need or forgot something. Very nice large sites, showers and restrooms. Nice to see a large amount of activities such as ice cream socials, breakfast on weekends, basketball courts and more. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The spots were fairly level with hookups and the resort is in a great location. However, we were backed up to a street, which was noisy at times. Lots of mud as it did rain every afternoon. Staff were nice and courteous. Clean restrooms. The resort is mainly ala carte from what I could tell, so expect to pay for your activities, including ice cream social. Prices were reasonable, though. It was very close to the south entrance to RMNP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a huge park. They have literally acres of space and cater to both horse-campers, RV'ers and tents. The setting is gorgeous right smack in the middle of a mountain valley with Rocky Mountain National Park on one side and National Forest on the other (you can literally hike into either directly from the park). The sites are on the rustic side (dirt only) and vary a lot in size/level and the park has been devastated by the Pine Beetle so not a lot of trees left (in fact most of the trees around Grand Lake are dead). But, there's plenty to do: horse-riding, playground, chuck wagon breakfast, hiking, animal farm (where you can "pet" piglets, sheep, donkey etc.). They're also extremely dog-friendly and you can walk your dog for miles in the park and around the National Forest. Plus, you can play in the river. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Turned on the wrong road at first: even with other review warning. Turn at the visitor center. Not at the Winding River Guest Ranch. Look for the sign the says Winding River RV resort. Camped in a meadow. Our site was very level. Could tell some were not. Make sure you have 30 amp connection. One of our party did not. Great campground. We did see moose walking by. Bring your hummingbird feeder. Birds are everywhere. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
The reason for the low rating is the unlevel spot and it's hard to get level and reach the sewer outlet. The staff went out of the way to make you feel that this is the place to be. Park is located right next to Rocky Mountain National Park. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
We stayed here for the 4th and it was amazing. Moose and elk walk through camp like they own the place (which they do), and the stables was great. Nice horses, not nags, and nice guides. It's too bad that a lot of the area's lodgepole pines are dead due to pine beetle, but you still enjoy the awesome views. Having electric and water in such an idyllic setting was a treat. We stayed in sites E and F which were too cool, right next to a flowering meadow. Only downside was the fact that if you needed to go to the bathroom and did not want to walk around the pond, you had to use a port-a-potty, but they were mostly kept clean and non-smelly. 4th of July at Grand Lake was incredible but know that it will be an hour or too before you actually leave town after the fireworks. Patience is important there. Try Grand Pizza in town - delish. We had to complain after first night when the reunion going on at the next site turned into Winding River-palooza into the wee hours, but security drove by at least 6 times the next night and the palooza was much quieter. Will stay here again and again. FYI - when driving up the Park road, make sure NOT to turn at the sign that says Winding River Guest Ranch - that is not the same place. Just keep driving up the dirt road We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Good location, border of RMNP. A lot of dead and dying trees due to beetle infestation. We stayed in what was called the meadow, which was a large field with hookups. Very unlevel, but able to move forward or back in our site to level up with the help of a few blocks. Staff were very good. Plenty of wildlife opportunities, along with horseback and atv trail rides. Adjoining national forest land on rear of campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
This is a nice park, but since we need a full hook up, we had to go all the way to the back of the campground. The sites were on a a large field of grass (not paved), no shades and our site was not level but with a couple of wood block we managed to get it levelled. The staff were pretty helpful. We made a reservation for 1 night and was thinking of spending an extra night but we changed our mind. There's horse corals around the campground and if you don't need full hookup, you can get sites that are nice and shady. We spent the night there so we could go to Hot Sulphur Spring (what a bad choice) since the owner of the Hot Spring hated children, and we had 3 under the age of 5 and a 12 years old. We should have spend more time at the campground instead. We will definitely come back to Winding River again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
We stayed here 4 days. Staff was extremely polite and helpful. Liked the proximity to Rocky Mountain Park and the town of Grand Lake. The park is large and it feels spread out. The only bad thing is the huge amount of beetle killed trees. The view is 50/50 brown and green. We would likely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We really enjoyed this campground. It does cater to horses, and we are not horse enthusiast, but kids loved seeing all the horses around. Park offers several social activities, pancake breakfast, ice cream social, hayrides. The dirt roads were a bit annoying and dusty also dirt roads were very rough. But all things considered we enjoyed it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
One of the worst campgrounds I have stayed in. Muddy horse manure filled, pot-holed roads. Broken sewer connection at my site. About 100 cigarette butts in fire ring, counter person didn't know how to access wifi (couldn't get a signal right by the office anyway), might be nice for horse people. We payed for 2 nights then decided to leave as the grounds were so muddy we couldn't sit outside, we were right next to road with big trucks hauling rocks at high speed just a few feet from our site. They would not refund our second nights fee because our reasons weren't good enough. We left anyway rather than stay in this poorly maintained place. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
WR is situated beside the Colorado River (here, just a stream). The area is heavily forested with lodgepole pines. There were moose in the meadow this morning and hummingbirds were not shy about making themselves at home on our feeder. This weekend was our 3rd time to stay at Winding River. There are horses to ride and a chuckwagon breakfast ($5/person; AYCE pancakes, sausage [$.50 extra after the first 2 links], coffee, orange juice, and mostly good company). Some sites have their own pens for horses. There are some good tent sites, and they now have a field for RV's: parking-lot style. They also have some cabins. There are two sets of restrooms, 1 on either end, and 2 laundry rooms (although 1 was not working). This made for a long walk for those folks on the middle. There was also much horse-droppings everywhere, along with the associated aroma if the wind blew just right (and it did). The camp store had a little bit of food and a few camp supplies (you had to really look for it). Now it is mostly touristy stuff: t-shirts, sweats, jackets, books, cards, trinkets, etc. The road to the site was dirt (that's ok) but very bumpy. Looks like it had not been graded this year. When we arrived and took our site, we found it barren and treeless with large ruts made by a lumber truck. The trees had been cut down winter of 2005/06. The fire ring was about 50 feet in back of the site. The 'site' was somewhat level (only had to use 2 linx blocks) but barely wide enough for our PUP with slide-out and awning. This area of Colorado has been heavily infested with the Pine Bark Beetle, which has killed millions of pines. The campground had to cut down and haul out their infested pines. This is not something they could prevent. The management told us of none of this when we made reservations (4 months inadvance),and would not move us to a more pleasant site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
This is the second time that we have stayed here. As stated, the roads are not paved. Also, there are not many full-hook up sites and some of the water and electric sites have funky hook up. But so what. You are camping at a very large facility just outside of a Nation Park in a relatively remote part of Colorado. If you want everything fancy, stay in Estes Park. Both times we stayed in the heavily treed area northeast of the entry (Site 43 this time and 41 previously). Beautiful. Moose walked right up to the trailer in the morning. But development is encroaching along the east boaundary and next time we will move to the area of Sites 60-68. Still treed but neighbors are a little closer. The headwaters of the Colorado River run through the property so bring your fishing rod. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
Intially it looked pretty good. It may be fine for families in smaller sites and horse folks. The new area for motorhomes had great views in all directions, but the dirt roads soon became irritating. Not only campers but staff drive way above the posted speed limit and dirt flies everywhere and coats everything. In addition, site maintenance is non-existent - high weeds, etc. The owners seem to be focused on horses and let the RV portion just exist. Too bad, I thought it was going to be a great place but came to hate it by end of four day stay. Others may love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
This campground has the potential to be a really nice facility. The pot holes and dirt road are the biggest drawbacks. The sites were just open spaces in the trees with water and electric hookups. We had a beat up picnic table and a fire ring. Some of the sites are hard to locate and there is no site maintenance. Just dirt and exposed tree roots. All of this said we are going to stay there again. The site we had was quite isolated and it was like a National Forest campground in that way. Not much noise and could only see two other camp sites. We don't have an need for the other facilitys except the dump station which is at the end of a very dusty, pot hole filled dirt road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com