218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Goose Point Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (276) 629-1847
CGID4046

Goose Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   8   5   6   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
Great park with wonderful views of the lake from almost any campsite. We stayed in the "C" loop and had no problem maneuvering or leveling our 35' motorhome. We initially selected a site in another loop with an online reservation but upon discovery it was too tight for our vehicle so we moved. In my opinion, only Loop "C" is designed for motorhomes or larger 5th wheels. The scenery was wonderful, and the beach setup was great for families with kids. Restrooms were older but pretty well maintained. Good electric and water and excellent hosts. Very limited over-the-air TV reception and very limited AT&T service. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
As others mentioned, the road coming into this park was hilly and curvy, but not the worse that I've been on. The truck and trailer handled it fine. We arrived at the park a little after 9pm and were unaware that they closed the gates at 10pm. If we had been later we would not have been able to get in. This being said, we had friends who were an hour behind us and the park host was very accommodating and gave us a number for them to call when they were on 822, so that he could be here to let them in and register them. We were in campground A site 49, and our friends were in site 47. Both sites were easy back-ins and were very level; they had a type of ashy dirt on the ground that was somewhat messy when it rained. Our site was on top of a steep hill with a drop off behind our site that dropped down to the lake. There was a bathroom in campground A with flush toilets and sinks, but no showers. The shower house was down the hill between campground A and B. There were 4 flush toilets in there and 4 showers. The one night I used the shower, I was in the last stall and had very little to no water pressure. Daughter was in another stall and I could hear the water beating on her. On the TV antenna we received a fair amount of over the air channels. The different employees of the park system we met were all very nice. Did notice the sheriff for Patrick County driving through many times. The dump station was another slight issue. To get to it, you had to do a very wide swing out of campground A. There were dump areas on either side but it would only accommodate one trailer at a time. It was on a slope, so was hard to completely drain your downhill tank. We were lucky that we were the only ones here to dump at the time, but could see there being a problem if there were more than one waiting. You could easily have people from the campground below and above waiting to dump. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Park is located on Philpott lake with good boating access but limited number of sites at near lake level for those that like to access boat from site. Lake is popular for fishing - I saw school of fish swimming near shore line right below my campsite. Roads are winding and can be steep but they are passable. Big rigs just need to take it slow and I did see some large rigs while there. This is a popular location for locals - most of the neighbors lived within 25 miles of the lake and they visit often. They said it's almost impossible to get a reservation on the weekend and the site markers showed most sites reserved for the upcoming weekend. The bathrooms were passable but the campground was quiet during the week so hopefully they will clean more frequently when the campground is full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We have camped here many times over the years. The park is nicely situated on Philpott Lake with wonderful views, boat ramp, swimming area and lake front sites. Big Rigs need to plan ahead as only a limited number of sites can accommodate anything over 35 feet. It's important to note that many sites would accommodate them, but there is no way to back into most of them as the campground roads are very very narrow. I'm at 55ft total length and struggle to drive through the campground. To us this is not that big of a problem given the beauty of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
What a great campground. As with the other posts, the road in is narrow and curvy, but its worth it when you get here. We stayed in Loop C, which is on the water. They have three campgrounds, A, B, and C loops. Loop C is more suited for larger units and the sites are great. The swimming beach is at loop C and also a boat ramp and a fishing dock. The bathhouses were clean and well stocked. The grounds were spotless. Rangers stop by your campsite and welcome you here. This was our first time here, and we will surely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$11
Please be advised that this park is not, I repeat, not big rig friendly. Anything over 30' is a struggle. We made the mistake of not reading the reviews before going into this park. Once we were there we tried to make it work. We are 45' and this park was not for us. There are lots of sharp turns and dips. The park was built several years ago and is made for the smaller rigs. The sites are uneven: we were not able to level the entire time we were there and, in so doing, we ended up cracking both of our windshields. This park is very nice, clean and the workers were very accommodating. The County Road 822 going into the park is 5 miles long and it is a rollercoaster ride. Just be informed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This campground is not made for larger motorhomes. The interior roads are very narrow with wooden post positioned along the roads. Our site was #11 which was waterfront and very peaceful and beautiful but getting into it was difficult with our 40 ft motorhome. Leaving the site was difficult due to a sharp narrow ascending curve going towards sites 17 & 18. If you do have a larger motorhome or fifth wheel, only book in Loop C which has the bigger sites. Other loops are fit more for tents, pop-ups, or small trailers. Please research this campground extensively if you are considering it and have a large motorhome or fifth wheel and be prepared to use much caution when driving and parking in your site. Most state parks or COE's where made so long ago, they are more suitable for smaller RV's. Too bad they don't consider revamping them to accommodate the current RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Yikes! We were placed in the "A" Loop at the top of this campground. Site 46 was a nightmare. We had to pull hard and fast up into the campsite, and we like to have never been able to back in to hitch back up. This was due to the steep slope and loose gravel. Pros: Pretty. Sites generally level. Water and electric reliable. AT&T cell phone coverage available. Cons: Loop driveways really, really tight. A big rig could not do this campground. There are no showers in A or B loops, so you must drive downhill and hope for adequate parking. Speeding on the main road was a problem. Lots of visits by the Patrick County Sheriff's office. Hmmm. The dump station had two ports, but only one camper could enter at a time, defeating the purpose of dual lanes. Be sure to bring your supplies... it is a long way to the nearest store! I would say this is a very popular site for locals to camp at. For out-of-town visitors, there is little to do except fishing and boating. We would not return due to our lousy site and boring nature of the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$11
This is an excellent COE park, with spacious, relatively level sites, our waterfront site was especially nice. While it is generally not rated for "Big Rigs", we did see several larger Class A rigs, and one larger 5th wheel, pulled by a Kenworth tractor. The bathrooms & showers were clean and in good order. The road to the park, Rt 822, is like trying to drive 5 mi. on a snakes back, very hilly, and very curvy. Also, the interior roads are narrow & curvy, at one point goint to C Loop, you must negotiate a 180 degree turn on a hill, but I watched a 39ft Class A with toad, do it without a problem, so you should have no trouble with it. As previosly mentioned, B Loop is for tents, we drove through with the car, & the sites looked small. The folks, running the park were very friendly & helpfull. The weather was totally against us on this visit, but we will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
We always have a nice stay at this campground. All 34 sites on Loop C were booked for the weekend. Only 3 campers on Loop A which is real tight for anything over 24 feet in my opinion. Loop B is for tents. Only has lukewarm water in the shower house in Loop C. The bathroom equipment was recently new. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$11
Bassett Philpott Lake was beautiful, but it was tight in the upper camping areas further from the lake. There weren't many level spots. We'd camp there again but would make sure we found a more level spot. Hosts weren't very friendly-pretty grumpy. We paid half price due to disability. No real problems - loved the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
This is one of our favorite campgrounds and we drive from Florida to enjoy it. Many of the campsites in loop C overlook the lake and can be reserved. There are no sewers, but the bath houses are very clean. In the past we have really enjoyed the beach and lake swimming, but this year the lake was way down. The swimming wasn't as nice due to a muddy bottom, rather than the usual sand, but we still enjoyed it. There is no cell phone service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
Great campground with beautiful views. We would recommend loop "C" with a lake front site, unless you would prefer not to listen to the boats. As stated the roads are hilly and windy, but they weren't as bad as I had expected. Also as stated previously, larger rigs will scrape their tires on the loops curbs. Being aware of this I stayed way right and still the left side trailer tires rubbed somewhat (minor scuff). Backing into our site however was a breeze. We used the restrooms and showers (as there was no sewer hook ups) frequently and never had to wait. Both were very clean with lots of hot water. Absolutely a steal for just $21 a night. Water level (lake) was 7' low, but this had no effect on our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
If you have a smaller RV then this park is fine. Anything over 30' and you're in for a tough time. We are full-timers in a 37' 5th wheel and had to be reassigned because we simply could not fit in the space provided. First time that's ever happened to us. We could only find 2 slots in the entire loop that we could fit into. The road back to the park twists and turns with some steep up/down hill sections. Once you get into the park it gets much worse. The first loop is very tight. Anything over our 37' and I doubt you'd make it. All of the connections did work fine and the park is definitely beautiful. Not very conveniently located for groceries or things like that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
This was our Maiden Voyage in our 36' fifth wheel. The access road is definitely windy, narrow and hilly, just as we were warned, but we managed just fine. We were in spot 6 in Lower Loop C which took a little effort to back into. There are a few tight spots to manuever through for the bigger rigs. Other than that, this campground was fabulous! The staff was professional and friendly, the campground was clean and the best part was the lake. The water was warm and clean (no floating refuse etc). One thing we did wish they had was a water spigot at the dump station. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
This has been our favorite campground so far. I would recommend site 18, or site 17 if you have a shorter camper. There is a beach area, boat ramps, and fishing right out of your back door. We have young children and I took my 3 year old for her first fishing experience here. The road coming in is a little twisty, but worth the drive. The curve, paved road, at site 17 will scrub your trailer tires if you are not very careful. Give it a chance, you will like it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
This is a wonderful campground just North of Stuart VA. Yes the road coming in is very hilly and windy, I have a 1 ton diesel truck and I worked it pulling my 9K TT to the campground, so my best advice is if you are towing at or near your limits don't try it. We had a site on the lake that was very nice. The sites were fairly level with great drainage in the rain. The swim beach was nice for the kids. The park is heavily patrolled which we really liked. I have a CC, LB truck and a 31ft trailer and getting through the campground was pretty tight, but doable. The only reason it didn't get a higher rating was no sewer, no cable. But for $21 per night it is a deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$21
This campground is well ran. The grounds are spotless. The lake and swim beach was clean and very nice.They have a county law man patrol the grounds from 8 pm till 1 am. The lake side sites are great and for the site on the hill with no view of the lake are very nice. Three things that come to mind that i didn't like was the dump station could have a turn around for the campers on the hill in a section. Next was anything 30 foot or bigger would have a nice time getting parked in a site narrow roads at the sites. Last is the road into the campground is curvy and hilly only five miles but seams like fifty. Those three things want stop us from going back again and again. Give it a try I think you will like it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$21
This is a very peaceful and clean campground. The sites are very spacious and level. The Army Corps of Engineers has done a beautiful job in creating this campground. Philpott Lake is not built up and reminds me of Smith Mountain Lake 30 years ago before all of the development started. You can bring a small boat and ride comfortably and safely. There is not a lot of boat traffic. It is patrolled by park rangers continuously on foot and by car. They do enforce all rules to maintain a clean family atmosphere. Make sure to bring your bikes. If this campground had full hook-ups, I would rate it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
The park itself rates a 9 to 9.5 in my book. Very nice, clean. Most sites are spaced well apart. I stayed in loop C, site 31 - which is near the restrooms and bath house for that area. They were cleaned/stocked each day I was there. Looks like a nice swimming area (beach) along the lake shore. There is a boat launch and picnic area a stones throw away. Only complaint would be road into campground. Long, hilly and has nice curves to it. About 5 - 10 min drive to the main road. We was here for the NASCAR Martinsville race - nice and quiet here - even fully booked. Most sites appear to be gravel, but mine was paved. Nice shore fishing areas! I prefer to actually 'camp' when camping - but if your looking for malls, the local Applebees, etc - its about 25 minutes away with the track another 10 or so (with no traffic). If I was in the area again, I would stay there, but its a bit far from I-77 for me to visit often, but for a NASCAR event that I go to only once a year for 3 or 4 days - it does just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
This is one of the prettiest campgrounds in the southeast US. The only flaw is that it is very tight if you are in anything over 30 feet long. Also the 5 miles into the property is steep and winding. Everything else is outstanding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Goose point is a good little park with clean lake swimming and lots of boating. The 5 mile road getting to the park is hilly and winding. If you have anything over 30' be carfull driving through the park and there are also a limited number of spaces you could park. We have a 34' fifth wheel and have a hard time parking. The best sites for larger ones were #2, #18, and #27 I think. Security gate that's locked at night. You can make reservations on Reserve America which is nice. Overall a good campground. This is a family campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$24
Excellent CG! New bathhouses and paving. Waterfront sites on a beautiful lake,boating opportunities abound. Nice size sites,shaded,has tables and fire rings. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com