214822 User submitted reviews online!!
Eastern Long Island Kampground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (631) 477-0022
CGID4057

Eastern Long Island Kampground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   2   1   1   10   1   2   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$65
This park is really the only game in town, so to speak, on Long Island. It may be that due to the fact that we stayed here at the end of the season,but everyone was helpful and nice during our visit. The park has many long term residents who were not here during our visit. The pool was closed so we can't review it's condition. We had a very roomy site that was all grass. The folks who checked us in were very friendly and really liked our dog. They don't have cable and we think that charging $65.00 a day is very pricy for what they offer, however, it is in the wine country on the island and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$54
If you like a super party atmosphere and being cramped like a sardine then go for it. We use our 27' c class to make day trips. The site was so cramped people had to move tables and tents so we could back in and pull out. If you are looking for quiet DO NOT go here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$63
We have camped here for 3 years in a row for Father's Day weekend. Each year we encounter a very unfriendly staff, except for one very nice check-in woman. The only reason we return is because of the location, and we never book early enough for the county campground close by. It almost seems that they don't want you to have fun. Every year we get reprimanded for one thing or another. We still make the best of it as we are a group of 6 families. It is very pricey considering the condition of the "clubhouse" and pool. On Sunday by 2:00 there is not an employee to be found as they close up the store and office. The sites are on an open field with roadways. I see other reviewers feel the same, and I would hope the owners would read these reviews and change their ways. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
My family and my best friend's family went together to this campground and reserved 2 sites together for our travel trailers. When we arrived we were yelled at because we stopped too soon in the driveway, but the owner wouldn't listen to us that the camper in front of us had a flat and couldn't move up. He made us back out and wait 45 minutes. We then were advised that he gave our sites to someone else he knew, and he placed us in a field which had no electric, water or sewer. He ran an extension cord and water hose from the closest site for us to share. It was a Hawaiian theme that weekend, and we again got yelled at for having too much fun at 11:00 pm on the same night we arrived. We were told be quiet or leave. The next morning the owner had a backhoe digging right next to our campers at 6:30 am, building what is now his playground. The pool was gross as well as the bathrooms and his staff was the most rude bunch I've ever run into. I left the campground that day and will never return. I grade this campground minus 10. Don't ever go there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
Very small sites, the staff was very rude! The pool was filthy and small, we will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
What a great family experience we had! We enjoyed Christmas in July and our kids really enjoyed the activities. From the moment we arrived, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. It was a great help to be guided into our site. The owners do all that is possible to make it an enjoyable weekend. We are really looking forward to our next excursion there! Thank you and we will see you very soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
The workers and owners are not friendly at all. They cater to the seasonal sites which are mostly retired like people. It feels people with children, are a bother to them. The pool is small and dirty. The only thing that is good about this place is the location. They need new owners! Then maybe they could have a chance. Expensive for nothing. I would rather stay home. If you are out that way you might as well stay at Wild wood State park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
We weren't impressed with this campground at all. There isn't much for the kids to do and scenically wasn't very pretty at all. The pool is very small and the rates are very high for what you get. The staff isn't very friendly either. The east end of Long Island is a wonderful place to visit, but I would suggest camping in Connecticut and taking the ferry over for a day trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is a very efficiently run campground, located on the North Fork, very east end of Long Island. The staff is friendly and very diligent about making sure everyone follows the rules. We were there over Father's Day and there were a myriad of great activities for children. There was DJ music by the main office in the late afternoon on Sat. night, fire engine rides around the CG on Sat. AM, a pancake breakfast on Sun. AM. There were grass sites, many filled with those staying for an extended period of time. Those sites on the back perimeter, which were tent sites with 20 AMP electric, were beautifully shaded. Great campground in an area with lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
This campground is very efficiently run. The check-in was easy, we were escorted to our site. The only disappointment was to hear upon check in that there would be an additional $5 fee for using the dump station. Other than that, the CG is located within five minutes from the town of Greenport, from the ferry to Shelter Island and is very close to the beautiful North Fork of LI. We will definitely return there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
Small sites. Rude staff. Many seasonal campers. Seasonals were extremely rude. I don't see where they pamper any campers. Adults and kids cutting through sites. Small pool. Not very clean. VERY POOR ELECTRIC service here. We'd camped here once before and thought we'd give it a second try. NEVER AGAIN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$55
I found this campground to be one of the best family oriented parks on the island. Having two small children, it is very well kept and protected. I do not have to worry about speeding cars and people coming and going in the middle of the night. This has become our favorite get away park. It is close to many activities, yet there is so much to do here that you don't even need to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$55
What a great spot to stop at on the north fork! The staff is friendly and they all made my kids feel special. My daughter can't stop talking about the fun she had. In this day and age it's nice to know there is still safe place to bring my family. We have been to many other places on Long Island and this is the only one that makes you feel at home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$33
The motto of this campground is "we pamper the camper" and I must say the friendly staff do their best to pamper you when you are there. With two old fire trucks and a wagon for hay rides, a playground, pool and scheduled activities, this is a great place for kids. In addition there are lots of local attractions such as the beach, wineries and a carousel in Greenport, just to mention a few. However, reserve early, particularly on holidays as this campground is full most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
A campsite we will not return to. The pool was very small, not clean and open only from 10:00 am to 6:00 p m. When making reservations, we were told they have a great site for us. The site turned out to be extremely small and just about on the parking lot. The staff was not courteous and wouldn't accommodate us at all. All the sites were generally small. The laundry facilities were limited; four washers and only two dryers. The majority of sites were seasonals whom the staff catered to these individuals. The location was ideal to visit Greenport; other than that this campground is not worth checking out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
We were very dissapointed with this campground. The staff were extremely rude and appeared to be happy with their negative attitudes. The sites were inadequate to hold a trailer and tow vehichle. The pool was very dirty and the lounge area around the pool was unkept. The pool had short hours and was not always open when they said it would be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2004
$55
This campground was a big disappointment. They have nerve to charge this much money. There is really nothing to do and visually it isn't very appealing either. There are many state and county park in the area that are much nicer, even if they do not have hook-ups, but are more affordable. I guess since they are the only private campground in the area they feel they can charge these rates. It's a rip-off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com