220376 User submitted reviews online!!
Needles KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (760) 326-4207
CGID406

Needles KOA

Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   10   8   8   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$32
Very nice KOA. Very friendly staff. I love the hedges between the spots. It gives one privacy. We got lost coming to the park off of I 40 going west. Apparently there's a signage dispute and their sign was down. The secret is to go left off of the freeway when traveling west! My only complaint is that they seriously need cable TV. No cable is the only reason I gave them an 8 instead of a 10. However, the wide open sky was good for satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This is a spacious campground with large pull-thru full-hookup sites. Campground personnel are friendly and helpful. It is wide open for satellite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Nice, friendly KOA just outside Needles CA in the desert. No grass, but they did conveniently plant tall shrubs between sites to add the feeling of privacy. Very easy in/out with wide gravel roads. They have a pool, laundry, store, pet walk, and playground as most KOAs do. Only 11 of their sites are 50A so call ahead if that's important, e.g. running 2 air conditioners in summer! Both ATT & Verizon had strong signals. The only grocery store in Needles closes this week so plan to drive 20 miles to the closest major Walmart/Safeway if needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Good overnight spot. Some of the sites have shade, but most do not. Hookups are well-placed and reliable. Staff is friendly. No cable TV if that's important, but there are a number of over the air stations from both Nevada and Arizona cities. Sites are pull-through and spacious, and the streets are wide. Have stayed here before and will again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
It is a desert KOA. The sites are gravel and nicely open and level. The staff is friendly, the store is well stocked. Lovely view of desert, sky, and distant mountain . Nice pool and well maintained community room. A good overnight stop, and many guests were using this as a base for Laughlin. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
This was a decent KOA. The full hookup sites were a good size for us. The sites are all gravel as well as the interior roads, so a little dusty. The hookups we're conveniently located. The staff we're great and friendly. The park had a nice feel and atmosphere to it. The pool was closed due to the winter season. There is a lot of open desert right by the park to take your dog for a walk or just go for a decent hike. You're right on old route 66. There's lots to see and do in this area. So we really enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
We couldn't drive any longer. Got what we paid for. Nice spot to RON (remain over night). Bathrooms were super clean! Sites were large and level, staff put us in a site where we didn't have to drop the toad. Nice folks, we'll be back--for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Nice spot! Helpful staff and even let us into the closed pool (pretty cold! But great!). Laundry facilities were large enough to handle a couple weeks of craziness. Friendly folks wandering around, excellent landscaping. Well-stocked camp store. Overall, a very nice overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Very pet friendly park with full hookups. Can be miserably hot in summer, but the manager always tries to find you a site with some shade. There's no cable, but stations from both Phoenix and Las Vegas come in over-the-air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$40
Decent KOA, fairly easy access. We had a quick overnight stop and it was sufficient for that purpose. The host (??) was friendly and very nice. She was younger and seemed like a manager. I'm not sure what her role was, but she was friendly. There is a lot of noise from the highway, this is not a vacation-type spot. The store was pretty bare, but had some decent route 66 souvenirs. There was a woman working in the store who was less than friendly, and I remember feeling a bit uncomfortable while looking around. Water pressure was good, power good. The pull-through sites don't have any privacy and I felt very much "on-display" when I stepped out in the morning. Not sure if there are long term people here, but there was an older man who sat outside his RV from sunrise til we left, who just glared at us. It was a well maintained KOA and we would stay again if we were driving through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$32
We stayed here for a week visiting with friends. The staff is friendly, has a well stocked store, and nice level, private sites. Most of the monthly sites were filled with snowbirds except the sites without sewer. Very well kept park, quiet, and good views from our site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$56
The friendly staff made this quick stop very nice. The park is in the desert, so there is lots of rock and few trees, and it is a clean and well kept park with a small store at the office. We did not have or need a reservation. Pool was closed for the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
It was not so busy during the first hot days of October. The place is absolutely clean and very friendly staff. Free Wi-Fi with quite good reception at our site. Especially the nice, large, clean pool made us stay one night longer than we originally planned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
I stayed here as a one-night stopover. Park was easy to access. My site was wide, level and allowed for easy satellite reception from my dome. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a well-stocked store. I would definitely consider staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Very clean and nice. All gravel. Desert view and desert heat at 107 degrees. Some shade trees, some 50 Amp and all pull-through. It is a very nice peaceful park in the desert. The dog walk is desert gravel. They provide nice shrubbery in between sites for privacy. The pool was nice and private. Overall a good park in the desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
A great spot for a one nighter this time of year. The park is located just outside of town with easy access from I-40. It has lots of privacy, spacious sites, and friendly staff. Our only complaint is that they use a private company for their on-site Internet service that charges $2.95 per 24 hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This was our second visit to this park. The sites are large and private with flowering hedges between each one. The staff was very friendly, and wi-fi worked well. They have a cute, little store. Everything was clean and neat. We'll be going back when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Friendly front desk, immaculate park, all gravel. Remember, this is the desert, so don't expect grass. Shade provided by walls of oleander between sites. Because Needles is so hot, I can't imagine staying here for any length of time. Rather, this is mostly a one-night stop-over on the way to somewhere else, and an excellent one at that. I'll definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
A beautiful oasis in the desert for overnight or long term. Friendly, helpful staff, delicious on-site food concession. The most reasonable rates of any KOA we've ever stayed in; great value for the dollar. Definitely would stay here again any time passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Rate reflects 30 amp, sewer site. Typical KOA, "keep on adding". Very friendly staff. Huge pull-through sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Stayed here on my way to Phoenix, and on the way back. Both times the staff was great. They were helpful and just couldn't do enough for you. The campground was neat and tidy, just as I remembered it a few years ago. Clean restrooms. I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked inviting. When in Needles this KOA is the place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Very clean, well kept, pleasant, and quiet campground. High bushes for privacy between sites. Large sites. We have overnighted here 2 times during our travels and enjoy this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 568 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites and patio are gravel. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome with room on site for tow. My site 33 was a pull through site offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi costs $3 per day and cable is not available. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless 3G Internet and AT&T Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart is 21 miles away and Basha’s is 4 miles away. The laundry is decent. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. This is my fourth time staying here over the last 4 years. I was booked to stay here 7 days but a mistake was made concerning the site I had confirmation for. I will probably will not return because of this, but this is a nice KOA and reasonable priced except for the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this park as it is a very convenient stopping place. The park is easy to find, and offers nice big sites. The employees are friendly and glad to see you, and guide you to your site. Which is helpful since both time we have arrived after dark. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
A welcome respite from the desert heat. Asked for a little shade and was assigned a site with full shade. Much appreciated in the heat that day. Sites are gravel with full hookups on the east side and partial hookups on the west side of the park. Friendly staff, good Wi-Fi and OTA TV signals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This campground was a nice place to stop before heading across the Mojave Desert. The staff was very friendly and made a point of giving us a site with some shade in the late afternoon. For being in the desert, it had attractive landscaping. Everything was very neat and clean. Given the time of year, it was very quiet at the campground. We would happily return to this campground, but NOT in the SUMMER! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This park needs a lot of help. It's all gravel with dying trees and oleanders. It need an overhaul. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Very nice KOA. Clean and well kept. Very friendly and accommodating park staff. The pull through site was long enough for our 37' motorhome and jeep and we did not have to unhook. The grandkids used the pool. I would have rated a little higher if WiFi were free. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is not your usual KOA. Has no crowded sites; all gravel sites are private with oleander bushes between them. Nice pool; did not use the laundry or restrooms. WiFi costs $2.95 a day from a private vendor; no cable TV but there are lots of stations from an antenna. Desert for walking your pets. Lots of quail and their babies running around. Although about 1/4 mile from I-10, you don't get any highway noise and just barely hear the rumble of trains in the distance. We will stay here again on our way west, and would recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site a gravel pull through, with trees and shrubs between sites for privacy. Wi-Fi was an option which I did not use. No cable TV, but plenty of channels off the antenna. Park borders desert with nice views of the valley and mountains in Arizona. Freeway nearby, but noise not a problem from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$32
Easy to access from I-40, nice park to overnight or for extended stay. Helpful courteous staff, wonderful BBQ in the evening. Stayed in 30A FHU pull through with motorhome and tow vehicle. All hook-ups connections convenient to orientation of motorhome, sites were level, separated by oleander bushes for privacy. Large pet areas. Will definitely stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
The park offers nice spaces separated by oleander hedges. This made for a pleasant overnight stay. There laundry facilities were good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
This KOA park features rows of pull-through spaces separated by oleander hedges which afford a measure of privacy from one's neighbor. There is also a limited hook-ups area (water and 30 amp only) which is $3 less per night but lacks the privacy hedges. There is a short order restaurant on site which offers a limited dinner and breakfast menu and the night I stayed, a Monday, they had Bingo in the clubhouse. The roads and spaces are all gravel and it could use a refreshing, as it is worn thin throughout the park and ruts have developed in some places. It is quiet at night and overall a pleasant spot when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
Total rip off. Stayed here about 12 hours, maybe. The bathrooms are typical KOA bathrooms: dismal and in need of much updating, they were relatively debris-free though. The front desk lady was very rude and seemed really put out at the audacity of people actually trying to stay at her park. For the princely sum of $38 you get water and electricity. Wi-Fi: only if you go to a website with credit card in hand to pay extra. TV: only if you have a satellite dish mounted on your roof. Sewer: not at this site. Would not stay here again and only stay at KOA's when we're dead tired and there's nothing else available. Hate these places and this place lived down to all the other KOA's we've stayed at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
Hadn't been here in years. The trees and bushes have been trimmed so that although there is still shade available, it is more limited than before. Sites are fairly level with some shade. Pets are very welcome, and there's a nice, though limited selection of groceries and RV accessories in the store. WiFi is available for a fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
For a KOA that advertises itself as a "lush oasis in the desert" this was a let-down! While the staff was very friendly, they seem to let the place rundown. No cable TV, no Wi-Fi ,but still a premium price for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Stayed here one night when travelling along I-40. Park almost empty as most people probably don't stay in Needles area when July temps get to 107 as it was when we stopped. Had 50amp so had AC running all the time. Good roof-mounted satellite reception from site #41. Staff very friendly. Would stay here again. WiFi is not free as in other KOA's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Park has all pull through sites, some with shade and very well kept. Management very friendly and definitely customer service oriented. Close to the freeway and close to Laughlin Casinos if interested. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We stayed one night and found it to be a good spot for an overnight stay. There is no pavement so it is dusty if the wind is blowing and the Wi-Fi is $2.95/night. No cable TV but all other facilities are typical of a KOA park. There are lots of choices of RV parks in the area. Desert View is next door and offers the same $30/night but still has no cable. The site we were in was very long so you don't have to disconnect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$31
We stayed here 1 month. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Sites are level and all have an effective privacy hedge of oleander. Bingo in the hall every Wednesday. There is a convenient and affordable patio breakfast and dinner facility. Unfortunately the pool is not heated in winter. There is no spa. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$29
This park was perfect for the stop on our way to Grand Canyon from California. The park was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a little cafe on site that serves dinner and breakfast. We didn't try the dinner, but the breakfast was a great bargain. We ordered one plate and split it between the two of us. We stayed here in December, so there weren't many from the lake going crowd. However, this would be a great place to stop if wanting to hit the river in the warmer months. The Wi-Fi was $2.99, but we didn't try it out. They did have about 5 TV stations accessible via antenna. They didn't have a ton of amenities, but the place is what it advertises, and the price wasn't bad. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
A typical KOA, right off the highway, so there is highway noise. All gravel, but with huge flowering Oleander bushes separating the sites, so you have privacy between sites. Quail in the campground, fun to watch the families scatter around. No designated pet walk area, you have to use the desert behind it or next door. Level sites and plenty of room in the site to stay hooked up or park next to your trailer. Right down the road about 200 yards is a fancier looking RV park, with lots of big Class A's in it. It looked nicer, but this one was fine for us passing through. I think we were one of only 8 units in the whole campground that night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
We had a very nice stay. Be warn though IT IS HOT. Furthermore, your GPS won't work properly so call for directions. A nice campground. Carla, the owner is very sweet. We loved our site it was completely private, bushes on both sides. It definitely did not feel like a KOA. There is not much going on in the campground but definitely in a great location for visiting the Mojave desert, Havasu Lake, Las Vegas, the Alamos. The sites are not really level but the air card worked perfectly however there was NO CELL phone Reception. Even with all the shade the satellite worked great. We would stay here again, just not in the summer, it is to hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Very easy on and off I-10. Super nice people and park is well maintained. Gravel sites, but nice and wide with good, wide roads. There are bushes between sites for added shade and privacy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Very nice clean park with ample space. Friendly staff, clean showers, made us feel welcome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
Nice KOA right off the 40 Interstate. Gravel not paved. Friendly check in. This park is right on Route 66. Lots of Rt 66 stuff in gift shop. Nice pool and laundry. Pay WiFi, but not expensive. Some sites with nice view of lights of Laughlin. Close to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Needles is Needles, but at least this was a pretty decent park. It had just rained heavily that day so it was extremely humid and warm. The sites are all gravel, some have decent shade trees and some have oleander bushes for shade, and shade is critical in Needles. Park is well maintained; staff is very friendly and accommodating. It's good for a couple nights but not longer. We would stay overnight here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We only stayed one nite here while on the road. It was clean and lots of room to walk dogs. Some shaded sites with easy acesss in and out. We used the pool with the temps being 114 the day we were there. Would stay here again if only for a few nites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
We have stayed here many times on the way to and from Arizona and points east. It is a very nice, well-maintained KOA and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. The pull-through sites are long enough for my 41 foot MH plus towed vehicle and all the utilities work as advertised. The park is quiet and peaceful. A pleasant place to stay. Everyone is right about the price of fuel. Needles may have the highest prices in the country. What ever you do, don't plan on filling up here. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
Very nice people. The sites are mostly level and of a decent size. The sites are also flanked by trees and shrubs on both sides for privacy. No cable but there is good WiFi($). The road into the park (public road, not owned by the park) is very rough. We would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$30
Very friendly and helpful staff. The campground is well maintained and would return for a stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
We stopped here overnight on trip from Morro Bay to Monument Valley. Nice welcome, I think from owner. Pleasant washrooms included showers and were clean. Looks like the owners are making an effort, successfully. Ideal stopover for trips from San Francisco/ L A to Las Vegas, Grand Canyon or Monument Valley. Would use again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
The park was clean sandy gravel in the desert. It is not near town, nor is it near the river. It was a clean stop for the night with easy access to the freeway. I would rate it as a place to stop for the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
This place was great for a quick stop-over on my way home from Grand Canyon. The staff was very friendly and the lot was well designed for pull-through. Water pressure was great and the dump station was easy to use. The park was quiet from people though there was a lot of road noise from the nearby interstate. The showers only have curtains for privacy so I decided to use my own. Note that most GPS systems do not lead you here correctly for some reason even with a full address, so call for directions instead. Luckily for me the host warned me about that when I asked for an address. Sure enough, the GPS was off by several miles. I'm rating 9 due to showers, as I prefer locking private rooms but otherwise the site was exceptionally clean - not even a tumbleweed was blowing around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a very clean and comfortable park, with friendly management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Very nice place to stay. The staff was helpful and polite. Well kept park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2005
$27
Overnight stop, 2nd visit in two years. Easy to find and plenty of room for slide on TT. Gravel roads and sites with tall bushes between sites. Would stay again. Filled up at Westside Shell in Needles, and paid highest price for entire trip, $3.099/gal (and I needed 48 gallons for my F150)!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$27
Clean RV Park, but needles is not exactly scenic. Wonderful management staff, large, clean pool (go in summer and you'll REALLY appreciate it), and a playground. There are no spots that are truly shaded, but the management has planted barrier bushes between the sites that block most of the late afternoon sun. Brutally hot, but that is just Needles. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com