223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Scusset Beach State Reservation was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (508) 888-0859
CGID4065

Scusset Beach State Reservation

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   1   8   7   5   8   6   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
What a wonderful campground! This was our first trip to the area and our first stay in this campground. It is in an ideal place to explore Cape Cod. The campground is in great shape. We had site 86 and it was plenty big for our 33' trailer. I think I liked the sites closer to the water because I believe that they drained better. The beach is huge and fantastic for finding all sorts of interesting sea critters. Water was freezing in July. I do wish they had laundry facilities. Other than that, it was perfect. Make your way to the Chatham pier and see the seals feeding from the boats. Visit P-Town to see a different side! I recommend the Hyannis Whale Watcher cruises out of Barnstable Harbor for an incredible whale sightseeing experience! I also recommend the pizza place near the campground - they deliver and had great pizza and wings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
We spent 2 weeks here in 2013. The first during the last week of June and the 2nd during the last week of September. Both trips were great. Scusset is a state park so you will not find all the amenities of some private campgrounds. The sites are large and some are private with shade trees and vegetation, and some out in the open. Our Verizon cell service was excellent. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned at the posted times each day. In season, a trip to the Dune Dog cafe at the beach is fun and they often have fresh fish on the menu. The beach, breakwater and canal bike path were great activities. This trip we walked to the top of Sagamore Hill near the office and fishing pier. The trail had historical markers and markers pointing out trees and plants along the way. It is only about 1 mile round trip and worth the trip. In the fall, we did encounter a skunk in our site around 7pm when we went out to check our dinner on the grill. I guess it liked the smell, too. This is an inexpensive and pleasant base to enjoy the shore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Scusset was one of our favorite campgrounds. We have camped there many years and have had many different sites. The Friends of Scusset have made many improvements over the years and the new pathway is enjoyable to walk. This year we had 2 week of bad experiences. The Host camper next to us had a white hose attached to his sewer pipe and would dump his grey water near our picnic table. I then noticed other campers doing the same so I reported it to the camp office and the rangers. I was told by the ranger that white hoses are for water. Yes, but NOT when they are attached to a sewer outlet! I spent $160 dollars for a Tote to dump my grey water at the dump station. It is a shame that this is going on unchecked. Some campers were allowed multiple cars at their site while other were limited. It seems unfair rules for "Special " guest. Some camper were allowed to stay over the 2 week restriction. My dog was attacked by 2 unleashed dogs and almost bitten by 2 others. It is not pleasant walking the dog with all the other "Special" campers doing as they please. It is too bad a beautiful campground is being ill managed. I filled out the DCR State survey and hope to hear back from the campground. Please save Scusset! We will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This campground gets a 10 for location. There is direct access to the Canal bike trail and access to the beach! Why else would I come to Cape Cod? We loved walking the canal path at night to watch the ships large and small go by. The downside to the campground is the lack of sewer which is OK but while we were there the bathroom cleaning crew kept moving the time for restroom cleaning so it was unnerving wondering if you walked to the restroom if it would be open. They did not follow the posted times for cleaning and changed them everyday. OK for motorhomes, etc but I did feel sorry for the tent campers. We enjoyed riding our bikes the 6 miles to Bourne and rewarding ourselves with ice cream and or lunch. It was very quiet when we visited and very relaxing. The sites are huge but most are in a field so there is limited privacy. We hope to return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We have camped here twice in the last month. We love, love the location. The canal bike path and Shining Sea Bikeway are awesome. The space in between each site is great. However, the staff could do more to maintain the landscape. Instead of riding around and around in a state vehicle over and over, maybe the staff could maintain the landscape a bit more. The lawn/weeds are knee high, many of the bushes/trees could use a trim. It is too bad our state does not see the gold mine we have in our state parks, and invest a bit more in upgrades to our parks. Upgrades like full hook ups and new pavement. This would easily generate more revenue almost year round. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
We usually love this campground but the new sign at the dump station says it is open until 3PM. It was never open past 12, the 4 days we were here. On our last day the dump station was closed because it was full and the people at the desk told us they were waiting for the sewage truck to pump out the septic. This was the beginning of the season and we left on a Monday, so just beware that you may not be able to use the dump station. They have cleaned up the park and added new walk ways to the beach. Shower curtains in the showers would be nice. If you can camp and not have to dump, this is a beautiful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
This is a very nice state park. Location is everything here. Beachfront with water and electricity all for $22 a night. Close to Cape Cod and all the activities. Grounds are clean and beach is really nice. They do not have much for activities at the campground but who needs it. A great place to be outside. Our only complaint would be the bathrooms. Need to add another and clean them more. It really deserves a 10 but because of the bathrooms and no playground it only gets a 8. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
For a state owned and operated campground, the value and location are ideal. The sites are not the typical gravel but are all level and paved. The cleanliness of sites is superior to many privates. There is very convenient access to the bike path along the Cape Cod canal and a short walk to the beach. The campground is very popular and getting a spot during the summer months may be impossible. The only minor complaints; some sites have water hook-ups and electric far from the usual and thus require extra lengths of hose and electric cord. There is no cable so TV reception requires an antenna and the reception is tempermental at best. But if you are looking for an affordable and very clean campground with easy access to Cape Cod attractions, I highly recommend Scusset Beach campground. We plan to return, when availability gets better after the Labor Day holiday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is a favorite destination for my husband and I, who have only just begun to dip our toes in to the RV'ing pool. (We bought our first RV last August). Situated along the Cape Cod Canal, at the mouth of the canal and within walking distance to one of the nicest beaches in the area, Scusset Beach is clean, quiet and well maintained. You won't find a playground for the kiddies, there are no planned activities, and the restrooms are nothing to write home about (although they are CLEAN). It is it's proximity to the bike path, the beach, the stone jetty, and a fishing pier that make this campground the place to be during the Spring and Summer months. Our site was adjacent to the entrance to the bike path and we had a bit of a canal view off in the distance. A very pleasant Host Camper offered to come by our site with her own lawnmower to mow the tall grass for us, given the fact that Scusset Beach Campground does not officially open until next weekend and the sites are a bit overgrown right now. Many of the sites were flooded earlier in the month and the grassy sites are lush and green where the rain waters pooled. It can be a bit difficult to locate your hookups in the overgrowth but you'll find your stay to be well worth the effort. The DCR employees are pleasant and helpful and not heavy-handed, as are some employees at other campgrounds in the area. We have several more stays planned during the next several months (including next weekend!) and we've already scouted out our favorite sites! If I had any complaints at all, it would be that campfires are not allowed on the RV sites as they are on the tent sites, which is curious given the fact that the tent sites are closer to the woods and pose the bigger risk of spreading to the wooded areas. If someone can explain that to me, I'd appreciate it! Still, whether campfires are allowed or not, it's still one of the nicer campgrounds in the area. And, for the price, it's tops in my book!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Scusset is easily my favorite CG in the area. We have stayed here many times in the past 2 years and every stay has been terrific. Sites are paved and relatively level. Electric is solid (30A only) and sometimes you need to hunt through the bushes for your water hookup, but the sites are large and VERY well spaced for a state reservation. The restrooms and showers are old, but well maintained and clean. Everything works, but it could use a facelift. There is no sewer, but the dump station is open from 8-noon every day. The two main attractions are the beach and the Cape Cod Canal. Whether you like the beach, fishing, biking walking or running, Scusset is a great option. Reservations are difficult from May through September, so book early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Having camped at many State Parks and Recreation areas across the US, we were surprised to find this little "jewel" just 1/2 hour from our home. Our site was clean and ready at check-in, which BTW was easy and friendly. Sites are all back-in and ours, (#62), was shaded and private. Combination of big rigs, RV's, trailers and few tents. A large Rest Room is central to the camping area and services all with adequate parking if needed. Sites surrounding the Rest Room area tend to be exposed with little greenery or privacy. Black-top roads run throughout and most sites looked level although water and electric can be a bit of a distance from site. We found ours by accident in the bushes. As stated in other reviews, this is not a waterview campground, but Scusset Beach is a 5 minute walk across the parking lot. Bath House, snack bar, boardwalk to beach and 3 lifeguard stations make this a popular beach. Also accessible from same parking lot is a long rock jetty for fishing (striped bass are in season right now), as well as the beginning of the 7 mile Cape Cod Canal bike path which is bike friendly for all ages and abilities. Many fresh seafood markets are nearby as well as a variety of restaurants and take-out. The only disappointment was to find not only are campfires prohibited, but no charcoal grills allowed on site either. The community fire-pit was not used during our stay. All in all we were were delighted to have found this well kept, friendly campground with so much to offer, and have already made a return reservation for the early fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We try to come to this campground at least once a year. It is one of my favorite state parks in Massachusetts. The only draw back is that there are no fires allowed on the camper sites, only the tent sites. This year they added a "community" fire pit and I was told that you could bring your own wood and have a fire as long as you extinguished it with water after you are done. The sites are a little unpredictable from year to year. Since this is a beach campground, they allow the "brush" to grow so a site that may have been spacious one year may not be so spacious the next year. Overall they are all pretty nice sites though. They are all level, but you do need an extra long water hose to hookup to the water spigot. There is also a lot of poison ivy, so if you are allergic you need to be careful. The thing that draws us back every year is the location. We like being right on the Canal. If you enjoy fishing, walking, biking, bird watching and sitting on the beach, this is a wonderful place. It is very peaceful, since most campers retire early due to the lack of fire. The water at the beach is ALWAYS very cold, but it is a beautiful beach and very clean. It is very easy to get on the Cape via the Sagamore Bridge, which is right outside the campground and it is also accessible to downtown Plymouth. The staff have always been very friendly. It is very difficult to get reservations here and they are required. There are several campers that do not abide by the 2 week camping limit and if you're on a site that they are trying to move to, you may be "pushed" a little by them when it gets close to checkout time. I avoid this by booking an extra night so we don't have to leave right at 11 am. The dump station is open during limited hours and on a busy weekend you can expect a long wait. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
My family loved it and would liked to have stayed longer. Instead of having our usual campfire we went to the canal and watched the boats go by. My wife has never found a sand dollar in her life and she and my daughter found four. If your into collecting shells, star fish, or little crabs this is the place to go. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
We like to bike the canal and do some fishing. This is a nice campground for short weekend stay overs and is close to home for us. The beach is nice, water is colder on this side of cape though. There is an area for a group camp fire, but we wish that they would allow fire rings at each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This state park is on the west end of the Cape Cod Canal near the Sagamore Bridge which crosses over to the Cape. There are close to 100 sites here with big sites for all sized rigs and some nice private tent sites. There is electricity and water at each site but not the tent sites. On weekends you would need reservations and during the summer even during the week. No campfires except for the tent sites but there is a big community campfire spot for anyone. This campground is on the canal with biking, fishing (3000 breakwater and 1.5 miles of frontage along the canal), hiking and it also has a beach facing the bay side of the Cape. The canal is lit up at night and at all times you can watch boats crossing the canal – very peaceful. The Lions have a supper on Saturday nights here and a breakfast Sunday morning that one can buy tickets for. Make sure you check closing dates for any campgrounds in New England because most close at the end of Columbus Day weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Due to its location and low cost, this is one of our favorite campgrounds. Reservations are made through ReserveAmerica. This campground has had significant improvements made to it during the winter. The road into the campground has been resurfaced. There is a new group campfire area and new horse shoe pits. There is a 7 mile bicycle/walking path along the Cape Cod Canal. It has a great beach, but the water is very cold. The jetty is great to walk on and watch the sunset from. The fishing for striper bass was great during our stay. Being a state campground, no alcoholic beverages are allowed. On the negative side, even though they have made a huge effort at controlling the poison ivy, there is still plenty of it in a lot of the sites. The distance to water hookups can be significant in some sites. The dump station is only open from 8:00am until noontime. They had just started making improvements to the dump station, but I don't know what they were doing. There is no security after 12:00 pm. I would recommend this campground, keeping in mind the poison ivy problem issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
We stayed here for 3 nights and wanted to stay more. However, they were totally sold out for the weekend. This is, by far, one of my favorite campgrounds. Easy access in and out of the campground, and we used it as a base to check out the area. Took an afternoon trip to Plymouth and a day trip to Provincetown. Also found plenty to time to relax. Canal has a wide cement sidewalk for easy walking. Campground and surround area is flat for easy walking or biking. Beach walking was great, and we found plenty seashells. Great atmosphere with all the boating, fog horns, and boat horns. Loved the smell of the early morning ocean air. Restrooms were clean and showers were good size with plenty of hot water. Sites were good size with good distance between them. Verizon air card worked OK for internet. We definitely plan to come back and hope to spend much more time here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Great state park. We usually do not use state parks, however this one was recommended and we did find it to be very nice. Although we did not use the bathhouse, we did check them out and they were very clean. Some sites are wide open with very little privacy. Others have trees, bushes that affords some privacy. The site we had, #66, was private and I felt one of the best sites in the park. Our 38ft MH fit nicely on the pad but we did have to park the toad sideways, so this site might not work for larger RVs. The campground is on the beach and also has the canal that boats go through. Apparently great fishing (we do not fish) since we watch many rvers catching large fish. Close to most things on the Cape. Only negative was staff didn't seem to be very knowledgeable about the area. We asked questions and basically given the usual brochures but no info. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
A great state park. We camped there to explore Cape Cod. Had paved roads and parking spaces which is unusual in New England. Overall appearance was great. Obviously many people consider this a good camping site as, even after Labor Day, it is not easy to find spaces to reserve. Even though there no sewer hookups, we would strongly recommend this campground to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Excellent location for beach & Canal. Would highly recommend for biking, roller blading, walking, fishing, boating! The BEST! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
This is a great family campground. Located right on the Cape Cod Canal. Sites are easily accessible. Plenty of sight seeing lot of local (0-1hr) attractions will keep you busy for a long stretch. Fishing in the canal is some of the best on the east coast. This campground is a very well run state campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$21
We Love this park because it is a quick get away for us. Bike, fish, rollerblade, and go to Beach. You can't beat the price or location. Reserve ahead of time because it books up quickly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
Great park for a state park. Easy beach access and driving to all Cape Cod attractions is easy, plus a nice drive to Boston as well. Staff is not friendly nor helpful, but the other campers were extremely friendly. Would definitely go there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
We love this campground. It is on the Cape Cod Canal and a beautiful (in the summer time) beach. Most of the wide open sites are in the front two streets closest to the beach and the separate safari area. We were in a site on the third road , number 61, which is a very nice site. It is well separated with trees and shrubs, twenty-five feet to the water tap and 15 feet to the 30 Amp electrical service. We utilized Reserve America to make our reservation, they charge $9.50 for the service. The site's cost is $20 for the night with water and 30 amp electric. We travel with two teenage sons, who went fishing, walked the beach and in general had a great time. It rained very very hard on Saturday night and we walked thru much of the campground and only a couple of low sites had standing water. Ours, and all the sites near us, were high and dry. The entry road is a bit rough but after some thought, we decided that we liked it because it slows traffic down. The road was not rough enough to do any damage. The dump station is only open in the morning but there was no line and plenty of room , no tight turns involved. All in all a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Not a bad park, we were very glad for the level, paved sites after the area had gotten quite a bit of rain for the last eight days. Park road leading to the campground is very rough. The Cape Cod Canal visitor center was really informative with interesting displays. There were good places to view the canal boat traffic. We had site #63. It was just big enough for our 30 ft class A and toad and it was open to the wind and sun but had some plants to shield some of the other sites from view. Bathhouses were fair, showers not spotless and no shower curtain to keep your stuff out of the water spray but decent water pressure and warm enough. We did have to use to hoses to get to the water hook-up but had no problem reaching the electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$17
Our 4th trip to Scussett this time we noticed a terrible odor from the water. Almost like a bad rubber hose was used throughout the park. Scussett is a wonderful state park. Good, wide, spacious spacious sites with a measure of privacy rarely found. They claim a 40 ft. limit but we were easily accommodated in our 43 foot motorhome. Electric can be spotty so on the hot days you might be, well, hot. All in all a great stay with family. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
I have to agree with the above review. This is the place to go if you love lots of sunshine, as most of the sites are exposed from dusk to dawn. Just a short walk to the beach, and you are right on the Cape Cod Canal too. Bring a lengthy water hose and electric cable, because on some sites it could be up to 50' for the water spout, electric is not that far, but I would bring an extra 25' extension cord just in case. Also the safari field is not an overflow area, it is used for rally's/group gatherings and you must have reservations for that too. If you plan to go to Scusset Beach, book online as early as possible because they fill up fast. All sites are now reservable with Reserveamerica. Also note, it can be very windy here at times! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$23
Scusset Beach is a favorite of my family. While somewhat primitive the sites are very large and private. The bath houses are older but not as bad as they could be . The staff is virtually non-existent but is that bad? Nice beach and great access to Cape Cod Canal. Plenty of walking, biking and boat watching (my favorite). No sewer and only 30 amp electric but the dump station is open daily and the weather not terrible even in August. There is also a Safari area, no reservations, and 100% boondocking. Seems to be used for overflow and special groups. We are returning this year (05) with our Motorhome (43') We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com