206626 User submitted reviews online!!
Sherando Lake Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (540) 291-2188
CGID4085

Sherando Lake Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   9   9   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Sherando Lake is a family favorite. The sites are wide and most are shaded. The sites are well kept, and the camp hosts are always friendly and helpful. Make sure you check out both lakes! The facility is well maintained and has many family-friendly things to do. The hiking in the area is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
We got the last available site on Loop B, which was good because the only other available sites for non-reservation holders were on Loop A. Those would have been too tight for us to get even our 25' trailer into. The ranger said it would require some "strategic driving". Our site was large and level. The faucet to fill up the water tank is located between two parking lots and not very clearly marked. The faucets in the campground don't have threads so you can't hook up a hose. The park is up in the mountains and the roads in the area are a challenge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Really nice area and campground. Nice spacing between sites, and decent privacy. The camp hosts were delightful people and everyone we encountered in loop C was friendly. As noted already, there is no cell phone service, Wi-Fi, or OTA television. One really feels cut off from the rest of the world, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. There are only 4 sites in this campground that are rated to handle 40 ft rigs. These sites are in probably the only area in the entire campground that trees don't interfere with satellite reception. It seemed that all of the other sites were heavily treed. The lower lake, beach, and day use areas were very crowded on the weekend. The C loop, next to the upper lake, was a very peaceful place, away from the crowded day-use areas. This was our first visit to this CG and as soon as we returned home we made reservations to return in the fall. We are fans. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
A favorite camping spot that honors the U.S. Government senior citizen passport (half price). Area clean, beautiful, well-kept. It is IMPORTANT to follow rules concerning food storage. Careless people risk night visitors! I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
It's a beautiful wooded CG. Loop B has electricity and some sites have water too. Bathrooms are OK, but no heat so cold on chilly days (it was in the 40's when we were there, which is very cold for 2 Florida types). Showers have hot water. We saw a bear when leaving. Our rate reflects the National Park Senior Pass discount. There is absolutely no cell service at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Absolutely breath takingly beautiful park in between the mountains, with stream and lake. Tight for a larger MH but will handle 40ft. The place to go if you want to get away from it all. And I do mean all. NO phone or Internet. I mean none. We had to have phone service so we had to leave. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Me and my family stayed at Sherando Lake over the holiday weekend. We enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in a tent but noticed how wonderful the Motorhome sites were. There were many family things to do here. There is hiking, swimming, fishing. The views are beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. A short drive will take you to gas stations and country stores. We will stay here again for sure, next time in our Motorhome. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
A Blue Ridge jewel. Water and electric with a dump station. Sites are pretty level and well cared for. Bathrooms are clean with plenty of hot water. This has become one of our favorites and it's a great base camp from which to tour the Blue Ridge Parkway. Two beautiful little lakes to swim & fish in and some great hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
This is our third trip to this gorgeous little gem; they just keep getting better. This was during the week, so it was very quiet. There are two great little hikes around the lakes, one not so easy, up to Overlook Rock The sign says .5 mi., but seems like 3 mi. going up. As always, the park is in great shape, with clean, functional bathrooms and showers. The grass was mowed while we were there. Very friendly staff. Rained for 1 1/2 days, but that's not the fault of the camp ground, & still better than being at home watching it rain. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
After reading many of the great reviews we decided to make a reservation (recreation.gov) and stay here while visiting our Nephew that lives 30 miles away in Charlottesville, VA. WOW, we can't say enough great things about this park. Super clean.. There is not much information on the website regarding some important park information. There are several "loops", All of the loops have their own bathhouse and water spigots located throughout. White Oak Loop is mainly for tent camping, there were some pop-up campers but not all the sites could accommodate since some of the sites you can not back in. River Bend loop, this looks like a first come first serve sites, all of them have electric. Meadow Loop (where we stayed) all the sites can be reserved and have electric (50 Amp). Group Camping loop is for tent campers that prefer to be together. We have a 33' class A motorhome that had no problems getting from the interstate to the park / camping area. More then enough room for a 40' with a toad. There are two (small) lakes where fishing, kayaking and swimming are allowed. A bathhouse is located at one of the lakes. There is hiking available from the park via the Torry Ridge Trail, Blue Loop Trail, White Rock Gap Trial, White Rocks Falls Trail, Cliff Trail, Lakeside Trail and Slacks Trail. You could hike 2.5 miles from the park to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Mountain biking is possible on most trails. We also brought along our road bicycles and enjoyed the area. While in the area we visited Hump Back Rocks, a 45 min hike off of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Great panorama views of the blue Ridge Mountains. Blue Mountain Brewery, we stopped there for lunch and a beer, both were great. Starr Hill Brewery, free tastings on Saturdays along with brewery tours. The town of Charlottesville, VA. If you like music make sure to see who is playing downtown. Also lots of shops and eateries. Like others have stated there is not any cell phone reception here. A short 5 mile drive you will find two gas / convenience stores that will have anything you forgot. Oh along with cell phone reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Located at the bottom a ravine from the BRP (the drive down was steep, but nothing out of the normal for the BRP or mountain roads). The campsite was well laid out and the self-checkin provided a detailed map to our site, which was marked with our name (we had reserved the site online). The other campers were friendly but not overly so. The campsite was situated in a wooded area with a river running by. We barely noticed the rain. We truly enjoyed the nature surrounding the site. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
A beautiful National Forest campground just off the Blue Ride Parkway. Two loops have electric hookups but no water or sewer. White Oak loop is for tents & RV's under 28' & no hookups. There is a water fill station & spigots spread through-out & a dump station. There are 2 lakes, upper & lower. The bathroom/showers are clean & well maintained, but unheated, which is only a slight concern in mid October; makes you dress faster. No WI-FI, no c ell phone, no TV, (without satellite)& only a few open sites for that, but we didn't go there for those things anyways. Very secluded & quiet, (during the week). Sherando has become very popular over the last few years, & getting a site on a weekend has become difficult. Only C loop takes reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
We were lucky. We pulled into this park on a rainy day when 3 sites were open. For the rest of our 4 day stay, nothing was available, and people were literally waiting in line for our site when we left. It's a beautiful park in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Parkway. It was established by the CCC and the quality remains. Large, wooded, sites, some fronting a stream. Sandy swimming beach. Beautiful grounds. Walking trails everywhere. A friendly camp host and staff. And electricity! A rarity for a national park. Make reservations way in advance for this place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
This was our first camping trip here and we were very pleased. The campsites were clean and a good size for a family of four. The bathrooms were pretty clean for the a busy summer weekend. My only complaint was the stocked lake for fishing, there was nothing to be caught but sun fish. We would go back for the hikes and the nice campsites. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
This campground is situated on the west side of the Blue Ridge and one can find it by taking a mile post 16 route 814 much easier drive than the 664 off the mountain. This is known as the jewel of the Blue Ridge because of its beauty, with the mountains around it, and located on the shores of a 25 acre spring fed lake. It was built by the CCC, and so some of the buildings are of the typical logs and natural stone. There are four loops two for tents and two for RV’s and bigger rigs. In all there are 65 sites and 30 with electricity. All sites are first come first serve so even during midweek of May there were only about 3 sites left after we got there. It is one of the most popular campgrounds of the forest service. The upper lake is good for fishing and hikes around and the lower lake has a nice swimming area, fishing pier, park benches and a few hiking trails that go around it. They had a water shortage when we were there so the showers were not working. Very peaceful campground and so much beauty! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Wonderful campground. I only wish they took reservations. We have gone there several times and not been able to stay because they were full. One of my favorite places to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Very clean and well laid out CG. All sites are very level w/water and elec hookups. Some sites are on the creek but they are hard to get on a Friday night. The CP does usually fill up on most weekends, so make sure you get there by 5 or so to get a spot. The lake is very pretty and it has a beach swimming area for kids. Plenty of hiking trails nearby as well as the blue ridge parkway. We have added this CG to one our favorites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Nice park but it felt rather congested when our loop got fairly full. No water at the sites but freshwater spigots available to fill your tanks. All sites level, fairly deep and nicely configured. We have a 30 ft class A. Road from lake to camping loops is narrow. Bathhouses are not heated and showers were tepid at best. Very pretty lake and campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
This is a beautiful campground in autumn with the colorful leaves reflecting on the lake. There are about 20 sites in B and C loop with electric that are sized for RV's. It looked like all of the sites would be large enough for our 30 ft class A and many would accommodate much larger rigs. Bathrooms were very clean. The showers did not have temp control on the push button nozzles, we did not use them so we don't know how warm they were. The sites were very level with hard packed sand and lots of trees and space between them. The road in the park leading to the campground loops seemed narrow; it's probably wide enough for two large rigs to pass but I was very glad that we didn't have to. The whole campground was in great condition and we would love to get back there to spend more time some day. The CG can be reached from the Blue Ridge Parkway from MM 13. 5 and the junction with route 664 or MM 16 and the junction with route 814. Route 814 off the parkway is much less steep than route 664 but both are fine. We believe that the campground closes the end of Oct. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$20
Sherando Lake is located in the George Washington and Jefferson National Forest (not too far from Waynesboro). Beautiful lake surrounded by hills. Camping is first come first served, so don't go on a Friday afternoon unless you have a backup plan. Down by the lake are warm showers and toilets. These bathrooms are nicer than the ones closer to the campsites. They are also used by people who come to the lake for day use. The lake is 24 acres fed by springs with a nice sandy beach for kids. No lifeguards. Hiking trails. Campsites are clean, but no rangers in the evenings to ensure quiet hours. The sites are level but the road is hilly. Larger vehicles need to be in the bottom loop further from the lake. We camped here in a Tent.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com