223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Rip Van Winkle Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (888) 720-1232
CGID4101

Rip Van Winkle Campground

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   3   10   10   9   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We drive at least six hours, two times a year, to stay at Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds. This is, by far, our favorite campground. The place is very well maintained by management and staff who really make you feel at home -- they will go out of their way to make sure you are having the best camping experience possible. The property is wooded and you feel secluded with privacy on each and every site. Our favorite site is in the section they call "The Ledges" which gives us a huge site with a large cliff face in the back that is all ours. There are so many more beautiful sites, but we come back to this one every time. There is a fishing pond and a stream/river that runs through the property and the vast property offers lots of trails and forest for exploring. There is an old fashioned swimming hole on the stream with a rope swing and a small beach which seems to be a gathering place for many. For those who need bathrooms and showers, they have them and they are spotless. How can they not be when they are checked by staff on a regular basis all day long? There is so much more I could say about Rip Van Winkle, but I don't want to spoil all of the surprises for others. I will only add that there is no place like it. I know you will enjoy your stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$52
We overnighted here on our way home. It was pouring when we got there and our site flooded a bit, but it had dried up completely the next morning. A walk around the campground revealed a very nice swimming hole, a large clean pool, and some beautiful, large sites. The tent sites along the stream are particularly nice. I would make a special trip to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
The campground is heavily wooded, and the sites were large with lots of privacy. We had a lot of rain and the trees prevented the camp from drying out, but the drainage was very good. We didn’t make use of all of the facilities, but after looking around, everything seemed to be well maintained. The showers were .25 for 8 minutes, but were usually generous with the time. They were clean with plenty of hot water. We will put this place on our return list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
This place is a little pricey, but for full hook-ups and free wifi, it's probably worth it. We had a pull through site that was fairly easy to get into for our 25' RV, and fairly level. There are a large number of trailers on sites that are there for the long term. Some are starting to look worse for wear. There are several play areas and lots of scheduled activities for the kids. This is a nice park and the staff was friendly, but I think we will look for something less expensive the next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
BIG RIGS BEWARE!!!! We were really looking forward to staying here. The website makes it look great, but we were very disappointed. This campground is not big rig friendly. The roads are very treacherous to get in and out of, with sharp turns, narrow roads, and low, overhanging branches. We have a 38 ft. 5th wheel. We had a pull though site, which was nice, but I would only recommend pull throughs for big rigs. The back ins are very difficult to get into. The bathhouses charge $0.25 for 8 minutes of water, with no way to adjust the temperature. There were a huge number of seasonal sites, some very old and run down. There were also a lot of tent sites. The management didn't seem to enforce the quiet hours. The campground was very rustic and you really felt like you were camping. We can cross this one off of our list. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
We stayed here twice over a 2 week span. Fantastic stays. This place is great if you like woodsy, rustic campgrounds. This may be our favorite of all time, and the office staff was very nice and helpful also. Fantastic place to walk the dogs and really feel like you're camping in the woods. Looks like it would it would be fun with the kids, too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Absolutely love it here. Nothing bad to say about this place! Bring the family and have a great experience! Big Dan who runs the place is AWESOME! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Very wooded, which is exactly what we wanted. Some reviewers criticize the rustic nature of this CG, but we think it's just right. Sites are well separated, so we had plenty of privacy. Meandering unpaved CG roads were great for my afternoon jog; many of the larger potholes appear to have been recently filled in with crushed stone. Nice pool. Wi-Fi worked better some times than others, but not too bad. Channels on cable TV limited to 8 or 9 NYC broadcast stations. Showers are tiny, lack temperature controls, and require an annoying 25-cent feed for 8 minutes. Bottom line: We're likely to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very rustic and quiet, and on a creek. But the interior roads are very rough with many "potholes." Almost all of the gravel on the roads and on the campsites has disappeared over the years, leaving the place a muddy mess the days we were here (our stay happened to be during a wet spell). Exacerbating the problem, is the fact that the tree cover is so thick that nothing can ever dry out. It seems that this campground had been maintained well at one time, but now it is need of some serious TLC. Navigating through the trees and low-lying limbs was a bit of a chore even in our small RV. We were to spend a weekend here with my brother, but they wouldn't honor my brother's reservation, because they wanted to leave his site available in case the previous camper wanted to extend their stay (?!). My brother wound up staying at a B&B in town, but then they wouldn't let him and his wife visit us at our site unless they each paid a $10 visitor's fee! They explained that they instituted this policy because they were tired of people bringing their entire families with them to use their pool for free. I can understand their position on not wanting non-paying guests to use the pool, but I don't swim, so I shouldn't have to subsidize other campers who DO wish to use the pool. Why not institute a pool fee instead, to be fair to all? Has ridiculous rules, like the $10 per inch fine for using any standing dead wood?! Playgrounds are a joke, consisting of a few swings and some huge tires painted and sunk into the ground. Woman in office (owner?) not very pleasant. You have to pay for a shower. Internet available only near the office. In essence, this campground is only marginally better than a state park, at double the cost. I guess we've been spoiled by the many great campgrounds available in other locales in the same $50 price range. We will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
This is our second year here as seasonal campers. We have also come a few times prior. Due to some unforeseen circumstances we had to leave due to a personal issue. We advised the owner of the situation and did not believe the level of compassion and care from him and his family. They are a wonderful family. While this is not a glamorous resort campground, it is for the rustic, wilderness camper. The new pool this year has been a welcome addition. I cannot say enough about this campground or this family for their thoughtfulness and caring. I highly recommend this campground you are into CAMPING and not staying at the fancy resort. This is the campground to stay at in the Hudson Valley. During the week it is quiet and you seem to have the whole place to yourself. Thank you for everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This is a nice park with lots of woods (almost feels like a state park). The sites are large and very private. It absolutely cannot handle anything over 40 feet. We enjoyed the park but there are a couple of drawbacks. Speeding through the park seems to be contagious. There were also several large dogs running loose on more than one occasion. Our sewer drain also needed help as we had to use rocks to hold the hose in place. There doesn't seem to be much maintenance nor anyone riding around to check on things. A little TLC would go a long way here. There are also a lot of "Seasonals" here, which may be why they don't bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Excellent campground, very wooded, lots of privacy from neighbors. Despite seeing several dogs here, they are all quiet and well behaved. The only downside is that people drive very fast through the campground, if they would only slow down I'd have given it 10 stars! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Campground was very nice. Sites were large and woodsy. Owners and staff were extremely nice and helpfull. Bathrooms and showers were clean and a good size. This campground was a great place to kick back and relax. The only draw for us was there were not many activities for kids. They did have a hay ride, a dirt race car track, pedal boats on a small pond and life size checkers, but if you have small kids, you need to bring something to keep them occupied. They did host bingo and movies at night which was cool. We had a great time and we will visit again when we need some relax time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$40
LOVE this place; beautiful wooded sites, great people, backed up against a gorgeous stream. Our daughter (5 year old) had a great time. If you like a wooded camp site (and don't need a poor man's version of Disney World) this is the place for you. We camped over the final weekend of '08; Halloween party, A LOT of fun! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$49
Very accommodating owners! Park was to have closed on Oct 15, but a glitch in the reservation system kept allowing reservations, so owners honored them. Beautifully wooded campground - difficult to see the sky from some sites, and we were there in the fall. Roads kind of narrow and some tight turns, but not a big problem if you're careful. Our site was a vary large pull-through. Located just a couple miles off the NY Thruway, and all roads to campground are good. The ONLY downside here, as with a growing number of campgrounds, was price. While $49 for a site is becoming more the norm, it was "off-season." I would have expected a slight reduction. Also, we had another couple with ud and the charge was $10 for each "extra person." per night. That was an extra $40. So, total for two nights was $138.00. A bit much considering off-season and very little use of the facilities. But would we revisit - definitely! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
I agree with the prior posts. This is a nice, quiet, peaceful campground. There are activities (we only road the hayride). This is the place to go it you want to kickback and relax. We will be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
We made last minute arrangements based on their web-site and not other's reviews. The campground is friendly, spacious, clean and in a dense forest with access to the Plattekill creek. They are upgrading the electric and cable in addition to adding new sites and entrance to park. If you like true camping then this is for you, every site had shade and plenty of space and privacy from other sites. We plan to make this an annual stop. The owners are generous, attentive and very friendly, go see for yourself! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This is a beautiful campground. The sites are well-spaced and you are not crammed into the site and looking directly onto your neighbors. The campground has many sites and it was actually nice to go someplace that is not full of seasonal campers. There were lots of families and tent campers. The campground was quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is the only campsite we have ever been to that asked us if we were Good Sam or other discount members. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Wonderful relaxed atmosphere. Very easy going as long as you are respectful and courteous to other campers and the environment. Excellent sites that are scenic and reasonably private, they are not stacked together like spots in a parking lot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
Nice park, very wooded and the owners could not have been more helpful. They made our stay very enjoyable. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$49
Great place if you don't mine listening to your neighbor’s radio (inside your RV) from 7 am to well after midnight. Along with constant VERY loud chatter and every other word being the "f word". Don't expect any resolution from the owner either. His response was "It's a holiday weekend" while shrugging his shoulders. Also, the campground is littered with broken down vehicles, old amusement park rides, electrical conduit/wires, black plastic tubing, old RV frames, etc. There are also massive piles of gravel scattered on the grounds. The bathrooms were filthy and contained no toilet paper or soap! Stay away!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
We chose this campground over others in the area based upon the amenities listed and pictured on their web site. Upon arrival though we found the web site did not reflect the actual state of the campground. For example, the advertised RC track and "life size checkers" area is overgrown and apparently abandoned some time ago; The "Hiking" trail is littered with campground junk (lots of it) and partially plowed under for a new road; The Entrance gates are non functional; The “old fashioned” swimming hole is perhaps a foot deep. Furthermore, the drainage seems poor, with the roads and campsites very muddy even after 2 days of dry weather. On a brighter note, the campground was quiet and the stream was nice for the kids to play in. The one restroom I visited was pretty clean. Campground has great potential but has fallen into a state of dis-repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2004
$40
If your looking for shade this is it! However, that's because I don't think they have trimed the trees since it began in 1969. The roads are bad after you go beyound the first several sites. It took almost 30 minutes to pull out of a pull thru site down by the stream because of the trees. Walk to your site before you drive down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com