219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Crow Wing Lake Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (218) 829-6468
CGID4104

Crow Wing Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   9   1   9   4   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$55
Stayed here for three nights to visit the Brainard area. Upon driving into the park I was concerned I was on the wrong road since they had attractive light posts along the side of the road. The office was clearly marked and we went in for a very quick and painless check-in. They had a guide in a golf cart lead us into the site and made certain we were squared up for the utilities. The site was very well shaded with big oak trees, level and a great view of the lake. The utilities hooked up easily and we walked around the park. They have three docks for boats as well as a launching ramp next to a sand beach. The children's playground was large with several pieces of interesting play equipment. We didn't go in the heated pool but folks seemed to be enjoying themselves in there. The pride of ownership really comes through with the constant attention to maintenance details and the cheerful staff. The staff are very welcoming and have a great attitude toward hospitality. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
This is a family park in a great lakeside location; however, if you are not into children and smoky fire pits, this is not the place for you. The weekend rates go up and personally we think this campground is far too expensive for what it is. That aside, the hosts were very helpful, friendly, and the location stunning. The showers were basic and mold growing on ceilings due to type of wood paneling used. We would stay here again, but would look for something else due to over pricing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
The new owners are awesome. We stayed here several times up until 2007 and vowed never to return due to the owners awful and rude attitude. In Feb. 2012, we found out there were new owners. We finally made it to the campground this week and, it has immediately become one of our favorites, again! These people know how to treat guests. This is a fabulous campground on a lake. Every site has some or all shade. All sites have a concrete patio with many pull-throughs.They have 10 lakeside sites, but most sites have a lake view. They pool is very nice,and the large store has much available in the line of groceries, clothing, and serves sandwiches, pizza, ice cream and more. If you have stayed here but vowed not to return for the same reasons, please, come back and check it out. You won't be sorry. Sorry to ramble, but this place deserves high marks, and all negative ratings need to be reevaluated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We thoroughly enjoyed this well maintained, lovely park. Pleasant, helpful staff, very family friendly with lots of things for kids to do. Our lakeside site was level with picnic table, fire ring, lots of shade but we were still able to get a Direct TV signal and WiFi worked. Very busy on the weekends but quiet during the week. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$53
Horrible owners/employees, nice campground property. Campers beware – we have never been treated so poorly and rudely by a campground as we experienced at this campground. This campground looks great on the surface – great pool, cement pad at each site, on the lake - but the owners and employees are incredibly rude. Not to mention, what happens if you break one of their many rules. If you do not have kids, pets that do not every bark (even when playing), and go to are as quiet as a mouse from the hours of 10pm-8am, then this is the campground for you. If you laugh loud, ask a question, or anything to break their many rules, then this is not the campground for you. When we checked in, the owner gruffly told me to “hurry up” as we walked out to have him escort me to my site – which I couldn’t have been any faster out of the office unless I sprinted back to my truck. As we were settling into our site, another employee rolled up on a golf cart to tell us we couldn’t have 2-vehicles on our campsite. As this was something we had never read before or had encounter at another campground, we asked why that was and the gentleman very rudely told us that “it’s been a rule around here for 40+ years” and that “this wasn’t a parking lot, it was a campground”. When we replied that we were just asking a why as we’d never been informed of this before coming here (even though our registration was made for TWO families in our camper…) he promptly told us that he had been dealing with “jerks like us for 40+ years”. He left and came back about an ½ hour later to check to see if the vehicle was moved, which it wasn’t since we were still getting settled. He made a comment to our friends that were on the site next to us that “we should’ve been done already” and if he came back again and the car was still on the site “that it would be removed”. Then our friends in the next site were airing out a tent that they’d used previously in the week at another campground) and he came around again to tell us that “it was against the rules to have a tent on your campsite”. When she said that she notified the owners at check-in that they were airing it out and no one was staying in it, he promptly said “well it needs to be taken down”. By the way – according to their rules, it is OK to have a tent on your campsite for kids to stay in as long as it’s only 1-family on the site; which their site only had ONE FAMILY on the site. The rest of the weekend consisted of them driving their golf cart around and monitoring everyone – especially us. I even walked to the bathroom at 10:30pm one night to find him sitting on the next road over, in his golf cart with the lights off, watching – which we were sitting around the fire (with our kids) talking quietly. Our kids witnessing them come out and yell at other campers for breaking rules weather it was at the pool, park, or just generally riding their bikes around. I always let my son buy something from where we stay to remember the place by – he’s 11 and told me that he didn’t want to buy anything from this place because he didn’t want to remember it AT ALL. With that said, I do appreciate a campground that does enforce their rules. However, this was extremely overboard. I know rules need to be enforced, but a simple reply to our question about the two-cars on the site would’ve answered our question. It was just a SIMPLE QUESTION. There was no need to be that rude with an answer. Kids get loud during the day, they don’t always obey signs even when their parents are there reminding them of the many rules there are, dogs bark, people laugh loud at times when they’re having a good time – LIFE IS LOUD if you’re having fun!! And this is not the place to be if you fit into that category. We have camped at many, many different places over the years and never once had an issue before – EVER. Customer service should be a #1 priority for businesses – we are paying for a service and can simply take our business elsewhere. Thankfully, our experience at other businesses and attractions in the Brainerd area were all above par. We will NEVER go back to this campground. I rarely write online reviews about anything, and here I am, writing a review at 9:30pm after being home only a few hours from camping. That should say how strongly I feel about the rude treatment from the owners of this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
I was a bit nervous about this campground, as I'd heard mixed reviews. We really liked it. It's very family friendly. My daughter was able to borrow movies from the store to watch, and I saw LOTS of children playing games at the tables in the store. Beautiful, warm pool and the campground is very clean! Nicely stocked store, beautiful playground, shuffle board, badminton, boat rentals - lots to do! Most all the sights are of average size, each having a concrete pad which was fantastic. Didn't think that the "rules" were anything out of the ordinary. One nice thing is that they have no yard lights in the campground. Gets PLENTY dark and no worries about having a corner campsite with a light in the yard all night! If you're looking for a party place - this wouldn't be the right campground for you. However, if you're looking for a very family friendly, dog friendly, clean campground with very nice amenities - this is it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$48
This is a typical overpriced/undervalued park in this part of the country. They call them all resorts which is a misuse of the word. Most of the people are locals that stay here. It is an old park that was developed before slide outs in RV's. The interior roads are narrow one lane small dirt/gravel and the sites are the same. They have a fenced dog park, but it is over a quarter of a mile away with no where to park. Water pressure was OK and voltage was OK, below 120, until our 50 amp plug went out the last day we were there. Their repairman was not there and they wanted us to move to another site but I said no way as we were leaving the next morning. So I just used 30 amp for the rest of the day and night. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
The greatest campground for families and those with pets. We had a site on the lake. It was narrow but beautiful. The concrete pads for the picnic tables were a nice addition. The bathrooms/showers were maintained several times a day and were spotless. The dog wash and dog park were great - we have two large dogs so it was like a vacation for them too! They have everything you would ever need and more in the store. The owners are welcoming as are the other campers. It was quiet at night. There is more than enough for kids to do and it is geared towards family activities. The pool also has water slides, which their web site does not show. Absolutely fantastic place to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Park was recommended by friends who live nearby. I didn't read reviews here before we made reservation, but in reading them now, seem accurate. Owners are a bit crabby. We arrived at 5:50pm to find the store/office locked. I called the number I had for the park and was told "we're closed until 6:30." Not "your site number is...", just, "You'll have to wait." Well, we drove into town to find dinner. Overall it's a very nice campground, has a great playground for kids, good facilities and a lot to offer. Staff could have been friendlier. Nice concrete pads for each site with picnic tables, but some of the sites face each other. Could be good for group camping or bad if you don't know your neighbors! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$49
Stayed here 2 nights with other family members. Sites are very close together. The pool was very clean and solar heated. Many activities available for both kids and adults. Dog park is a nice touch, but could not go in there due to the mosquitoes. Only negatives were some road noise from Hwy 371, campers driving in and out of their sites through out the day and night, and after 10:00 if you are still up sitting at your campfire, their "Security" will circle your site watching and listening for any rule infractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Heard some good things about the park but were disappointed in the owners. Very unfriendly. Our Montana has 3 slideouts which made it difficult to put out with large trees on both sides. The water is very hard. Our site was divided by another site that was put in at an angle. Our neighbor's RV back end was about 12 feet from our door. Park itself is nice and well kept. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
I wish I had read the June reviewer's report before I made my reservation. I agree wholeheartedly that the owners were incredibly rude, crabby and unpleasant. I have been camping for over 40 years including the last 20 with my own family and have never been treated so poorly. The campground itself is nice but we will never return because of the poor treatment. From the moment we arrived we were basically accused of lying about our type of camping unit, to continuously being "watched," to being "scolded" in a nasty way to quiet down the first night at 10:15 as we were talking by the fire with our children: although the second night there were parties going on all around us past midnight. And with all of the add-ons, our 2 nights of camping cost $180. Campers beware! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We have been camping at this park for about 10 years, traveling from the Chicago, IL area. We've found that one week there is not enough, and now we stay for two weeks. I find the owners to be fair and reasonable and they enforce their camp rules, which is something we appreciate. They have always been very friendly and helpful and generally the only people who leave there with a bad experience are the ones we'd prefer hadn't chosen to camp at a family park in the first place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
The campground is average and has all of the normal services but the sites are smaller than average with very limited washroom facilities. We decided to stay at this campground due to finding some good reviews but when we arrived we found the owners to be quite mean and nasty which ruined the whole atmosphere for us and several other campers they went around yelling at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$47
Good camping! Nice clean and fun campground. We are going back again. Kids had fun fishing off the dock, no big fish but little ones that like to bit fast, great for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$48
Lots to do at this campground, outside games, or shoot a game of pool in the general store, rent a boat. Loved it here. They even have a dog washing station and fenced in area to cut the dogs loose for a run. The folks that run this campground are very nice and take a lot of pride in their property. Lovely lake view from any campsite too. The on site general store came in handy on our stay. Spotless laundry room, showers, bathrooms. Grounds were also very well kept, They give escort to the site too. Paved patios, so stepping out of the motorhome onto the patio instead of dirt was nice. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
This is an older campground, most of it covered with high mature trees giving good shade. There are both trailer sites and tent sites available close to and overlooking the lake. All sites have a large concrete patio pad and WiFi. There are boat docking facilities available but, there is no swimming in the lake due to weeds.The pool is a good size but 10-20 active children can make it impossible for adults to use it. The 2008 rates are quite a bit more expensive than comparable parks elsewhere but the park seemed to be almost full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
Located 10 miles south of Brainerd just off Hwy 371. Traffic noise is minimal to none. We love this place and have camped here each year for the past 5 years. Very nice store with supplies, arcade, and one of our favorites...tables and chairs in the store so you can sit around and chat with others camping while you enjoy your ice cream treat (available at store), or watch a little TV. Nice pool behind the store. Unlike many campgrounds, the owners are usually the ones in the store so you can get to know them. They have occasional help in the store, usually a few others who also have seasonals there, and we have gotten to know them. There restrooms and showers at the main building, and also at the bath house on the west side of the grounds. Always clean and hot water, and shower mats (nice touch!). The grounds are along the lake, and there is a fish cleaning building as well. All sites now have a nice concrete patio. There are several trees so there is always some shade available...I enjoyed sitting out and watching all the Blue Jays fly around of which there were several. I highly recommend Crow Wing Campground. Just be sure not to get site 60 which is off by itself (which isn't always bad) but is right next to the bankshot basketball court. All day long you will here "bonk bonk bonk" of basketballs. We stay on weekends so the price is a bit higher than during the weekdays. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$37
Probably one of the best campgrounds you can find. Located 10 minutes south of Brainerd along Hwy 371, some highway noise but really not bad. Great sites from partial to full shade. Wonderful store with supplies, arcade, inside seating to chat with other campers. Nice pool, CLEAN restrooms with plenty of sink space, stalls, and showers with rubber mats and stool to set your clothes on, a nice simple touch that other campgrounds just seem not to be able to catch on to. Only minor complaint is bathroom stall doors are to close to toilets. Overall, this is a definite top of our list of campgrounds and we have seen many return campers during our annual visits. I have also discovered many other friends who have camped here with positive remarks. You will certainly be happy with your stay here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
One of the cleanest campgrounds we stayed last year. Owners understand service and keep an eye on things. We really enjoyed our stay. Although no swimming beach, the pool seemed adequate for kids. The reason not a 10 is because it is popular with families - we tend to like a little more privacy. However we are going there again next year with friends who have children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com