214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Governor Dodge State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (608) 935-2315
CGID4111

Governor Dodge State Park

Camp Information
Sites
269
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   10   10   9   8   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This is a beautiful park. Lots of woods, valleys, meadows, lake, beach and a waterfall. Our site was wooded, very spacious with lots of shade, and level. All the sites in the Twin Valley Loop looked to be well shaded and level. The restroom/showers could be crowed as there are a lot of tent and popup campers. There was a long line waiting to use the one closest to us in the morning. There is a park permit requirement which is $10 for a day pass or $45 for a season pass, so our one nite fee was $32. We would stay here again. In the fall this park would be spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This is an absolutely beautiful park. We camped during the week and it was peaceful and quiet. The beach was clean and well maintained. The lake at Cox Hollow was clear and warm. Our campsite, site 327, was large, level and private. It had the perfect amount on sun and shade. The Twin Valley playground was huge, with plenty of things for the children to climb and swing on. The only down side was the amount of mosquitoes, gnats and flies. Overall a pleasant camping experience. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
This is a huge state park. We stayed in site 349 in the Twin Valley loop. The site was level, easy in and out, was quite large and private. We were able to kayak in one of the lakes and hiked the Lost Canyon Trail. The rest rooms were clean and conveniently located. The only reason for a 9 for this park was no 30 amp, no water and no sewer. This is about normal for Wisconsin parks however. There is a day pass fee on top of the campground fee so we bought an annual pass for $35.00 since we will visit quite a few state parks in Wisconsin. We would like to come back and spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
This is a beautiful campground. We tend to come here in the fall to see the leaves turning colors and are never disappointed. We also hike the trails, see Stephen's Falls and do a run to several wineries in the area. This is a wonderful trip at any time of the year, but I really enjoy it in the Fall. The other campers seem to be courteous and polite with noise too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
My very favorite park! this park has something for everyone and in a beautiful part of WI. Pet beaches are great for dogs. 2 lakes are spectacular for swimming and relaxing. Waterfall is very cool and easy to walk to. We stayed in Cox Hollow loop site 30 and it is great. Really nice playground and shower/bathrooms right there. Private sites are great. All of the sites in the outer loop of Cox Hollow were spacious and beautiful but no electric there which is fine for us tent campers. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We truly enjoy this campground and this state park! There are tons of walking trails, a hidden waterfall, and swimming areas designated just for dogs! There are well wooded and private, large sites. It is a must do for us every year! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
We stayed at the park for 5 nights and found it to be a very good experience. The campgrounds were well laid out and maintained. The Park Staff was helpful and friendly. We spent much time on the trails of the park which are numerous. It also has two fairly good sized lakes for boating and fishing. The time of year was not right for using the beach area but it looked inviting and well maintained. We will certainly keep this on our list of destination spots in Wisconsin. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Based on good reviews, we went to this park intending to stay for 3 days. The office had the most comprehensive guide to camp sites we have ever seen in 10 years of full-timing, including photos and written descriptions including details on whether or not it is necessary to back up or down a grade to get into the site. We did not actually stay there; we balked at their pricing policies. Base price for site with 30 amp power only was $22, plus $10 a day vehicle pass; $32 total. (For persons who are going to spend more time in Wisconsin State Parks there is an annual pass for $35, but it didn't help us.) We went to nearby Tom's Campground which turned out to be gorgeous and a much better value at $20 w water and 30 amp power and no daily entrance fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Beautiful state park! We stayed in Twin Valley 2 area of the campground and our site was large, wooded and private. Lots of great hiking trails. The beach area is very nice. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back in the fall and enjoy the beautiful fall colors and tour the House on the Rock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Excellent sites, showers and restrooms spotless and maintained frequently, beautiful areas and friendly staff. This is a fantastic campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
Overall a very nice park. We would return again. Bathroom and shower were adequate but not very clean during the busy weekend that we stayed. We stayed at Cox Hollow site #96&97. Site #96 was nice and level with gravel for a base. Site #97 was terraced with a large area to back into and steps going down to another level for a gazebo tent/etc, than another lower area with the fire pit. This was a beautiful site although it was difficult to maneuver with small children (we had two 2 year olds). The sites were surrounded by trees and vegetation and were very private. I am rating it an 8 due to the bathrooms/showers and a very slight issue with some noise. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$15
I normally don't like the big parks - pack 'em in like cordwood and treat 'em lousy! However, I had a wonderful surprise at this State Park. It is large and very spread out so each campground has spacious sites and has an isolated feeling. You don't feel like you're camping in a sardine can. Most sites had a wide level gravel pad great for a Class A. Wood is sold ($5/box and you pick the pieces). There are two main campgrounds: Twin Valley and Cox Hollow. We camped in Twin Valley (don't know about Cox Hollow). There are two areas in Twin Valley: Wooded and Open sites. The wooded are very wooded - so much so I felt a bit confined. However the open sites have lush vegitation around their perimeter (so you don't see your neighbor) and have a large sitting area (great for campfire conversations). Facilities were clean. Some "Dual Sites" which are two adjacent sites great for multi-rig gatherings. You'll need a separate vehicle to get to the swimming beaches or drive to trail-heads (so the motorhome without a Toad is at a disadvantage). Beaches looked great as did the trails. Interpretative programs on some weekends but not during the week. Few bugs, not bad. Has both Cell Phone and Blackberry coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com