224206 User submitted reviews online!!
High Sierra RV & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (559) 683-7662
CGID412

High Sierra RV & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
71
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   3   9   9   7   7   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$30
We were a little apprehensive about this RV park based on some of the reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the sites are a little close together, but we had adequate room. There's no stream, but that's probably due to the severe drought. The sites were all shaded. The bathrooms were clean. The manager was delightful and very helpful. We were there for three nights while we visited Yosemite and would definitely stay there again. There aren't a lot of amenities except free wifi, but we found that all our needs were met. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
We are currently on our second night of a three night stay at High Sierra RV. Check-in yesterday was a breeze. In fact, it was probably the quickest check-in/setup we've ever had. The RV park is part permanent residents, part vacationers but the two areas are separated pretty well. The park isn't huge and there aren't a ton of sites, but honestly, it was kind of nice and it has made our stay very quiet. We are in site 42, which backs up to the river/stream and we can hear the trickle from our rig. California is in a major drought right now so there isn't much water in the stream. But, even with the drought, there is plenty of water in the swimming hole, which made my two boys happy! There is a $20 refundable key deposit for the showers, which we didn't use since we have full hookups. The laundry facility is small and there are no frills, but it's clean so there is nothing to complain about. We're rather enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back. The folks that run the place were pleasant enough and helpful when we asked for help/recommendations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Very abrupt and rude desk clerk "greeted" us upon arrival. Sites are Very cramped and you are elbow to elbow with your "neighbor". A $20.00 key deposit is required for the rest rooms and is returned when key is turned in. Office hours are 9am-5pm, so if you are breaking camp early you need to keep that in mind. Dump station also has to be unlocked to use. The stream and waterfall area are nice and the frogs singing at night was pleasant. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Signage is not very good so finding the park off SIR 41 was not easy. I just happened to see the small sign and directed my husband to make the right turn before we passed it. You then have to go down a very steep narrow road to get to it. The park looks nothing like their website. The stream is practically non-existent so swimming or fishing is impossible. The view from the full hookups is of the utility company across the Fresno River. The sites were so narrow we could barely get our slides out and have enough room to sit outside. Our neighbors hookup including their sewer outlet was right next to where we sat. The picnic table was warped and about to fall apart. This is actually an old trailer park and these residents don't do enough to keep up the appearance of their lots. Old patio furniture, tires, appliances form their landscape designs outside. There is one bathroom and shower facility that everyone shares and the tent campers don't do much to keep it clean. The trash areas were clean and trash was removed daily so that helped. Sites are all gravel and dirt. Only concrete was the little road in and out. This park has the location going for it as it's the best one to use if you are going to do South Yosemite activities and Bass Lake for boating and swimming. I liked being in the town of Oakhurst as there was a Starbuck's and a great Railey's Grocery store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
Nice clean park, with a very friendly staff. Most of the campsites are next to a stream. In town, but you do not feel like you are. The town is nice with several tourist things to do. It is the closest you can get to the south entrance of Yosemite. Drive to the park entrance is 16 miles, then the drive to the Village about an hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This is a nice park with spaces along a small "seasonal" river. The roads and sites are gravel. Pay attention to the instructions they provide for coming in as your GPS will bring you in down a very steep road, & their instructions bring you in a better way. The hookups are good, and each site has a picnic table. Many sites back up to the small river & have some shade. Be advised this campground is about 1/2 hr drive to the south gate of Yosemite, but is nearly a 2 hr drive one way to Yosemite Valley Floor & 2 hrs one way to Glacier Point, both are must sees. The road is winding, mountain cliff almost the whole way. We liked it here, but if we return to Yosemite, we will try to camp closer to the Valley. We had a AAA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
We stayed here with friends to visit Yosemite. It's a nice drive from the southern entrance. The Wi-Fi speed was slow, so I didn't use it. The Cable TV worked well. We had a site up near the entrance rather than further in. I would stay there again. We were very comfortable there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
We had a spot that backed up to stream. Site was clean with average space. Good stopping point on our way into Yosemite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
All back-in except two. Utilities worked good. Wi-Fi dropped every once in a while. Very plain park for the price (was told the weekly rate went up $100 since I made the reservation in Feb 2013), but is close to the Yosemite South gate. Would look around for another park next time due to that increased rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Super nice staff they were great. Call for directions gps will mess you up. Back in site dirt and level. Plenty of room for tow vehicle. Nice paved entrance. Quiet place would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
A convenient located place when you leave Yosemite via the south gate. For a family with three children, the place to be when coming back from hiking trips. A nice rocky river adjacent of the park provides opportunities for the kids to swim. The camping is mainly gravel with not really large sites to camp but this was not really disturbing. Free Wi-Fi, a beach volleyball area and a lot of other families with children made the feast complete. The camp site is a 10 minute walk from the main street of the town where you will find several different types of restaurants. The only disadvantage is that it is really overcrowded in summertime but that goes for all the camp sites in the vicinity of Yosemite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Other than dry camping in the park itself, which is hard to get, you will still have a good drive to anything you want to see in Yosemite from just about any private campground. We stayed here a month in our rig. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My biggest complaint would be the size of the sites themselves. They were very tight and you were right on top of your neighbor. Most of the time, it didn't matter too much because there are a huge amount of rental RV's that go through here. They don't tow a car, so even if they stay more than one night, their RV goes with them all day. I can't say much about the river, it's more like a creek, but if you walked down by the campsites there was a small waterfall that sounded nice. We did see several deer, including a buck, lots of birds and some resident ducks. You're close to town and could actually walk there if you don't tow a vehicle. There is plenty to offer in the town of Oakhurst, including a movie theater, a couple of large grocery stores, plenty of restaurants and just about anything else you would need. We also went to Bass Lake several times. It's about a 15 minute drive from here. The lake is very clear and the water was not real cold. We hung out by "The Falls." Didn't see any of those, but it was close and usually not too crowded. The Wi-Fi was usually pretty good, it dropped me a couple times, but that was in a month's time. We didn't use the bathrooms so can't comment on that except to say I saw them being cleaned a couple times each day. I did use the laundry, which was reasonably priced: I think $1.50 for wash & $1 for dry, which was at least 45 minutes, and dried everything, and it was clean. I'm only rating this a 7 because of the small sites and there wasn't much landscaping so you couldn't call this a pretty campground. However, I would recommend it to others. Be sure to follow their RV friendly directions from Civic & Golden Oak off Rte 41. Your GPS will bring you in another direction which is a big hill. Best sites #40, there is no one on your patio side and it seems a little wider; #39, no one on either side, however, the dump station is next to it, but I walked my dog past there plenty of times and never smelled anything, also it is next to one set of bathrooms, so there are people around. I've seen people cut the back corner to use the restroom. One person put yellow tape across to keep people from cutting through. It's under the trees and very shaded. It also got a nice breeze from across the "river" and you could hear the waterfall. #16 was great if you've got a smaller RV or trailer. It's on the end and there is a small grove of trees right next to it. It was the coolest spot in the park during the heat wave. #36 & 34 have more space, but there is a lot of traffic going past them. The river view sites were really nothing, but maybe a small view of the creek like river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
You get exactly what is advertised. The staff was helpful and friendly. The sites were large enough and clean. We came for Yosemite and the access to the park was easy plus the luxury of a full fuctioning town of Oakhurst right there. We will stay here again. The stream was nice, for our dogs the fox tails are a little brutal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Rate reflects internet special. Site level, but a bit difficult to back into. Friendly, helpful staff. Close to Yosemite and shopping. Lovely stream and beautiful trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Upon reading the various poor reviews of this park prior to arriving, we were not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. There is an amazing swimming hole adjacent to the campground, amidst beautiful pines and sequoia trees. We couldn't even see the warehouse through the trees. We had a back in site overlooking the Fresno River, which made a nice sound as we went to sleep. Some of this sites are tight, but tell them in advance what kind of rig you have and they will accommodate you. Oakhurst is within walking distance; it is a nice town. Overall, a great home base for visiting Yosemite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
We were going to stay at this park, but drove through and were so disappointed, we drove right out. It's about 90% mobile homes and permanent residents. They only have 2 rows of temporary sites right next to the stream. The sites are all very close together and run down. I don't think we will ever stay here. The pictures on the website are VERY deceiving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Bathhouse nasty dirty. One sink in male side, one sink in female side for at least 100 people. Needs updating. There is a creek however the view is of a warehouse with flood lights shining all night. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Caution on this park. The best RV entrance is not off highway 41, call to get the directions. The other reason I rated the park low: there is no turn around for anything larger than a small Class C rig. For most sites, you would have to back the length of the park to get to the sites. It is more like a one lane road with sites down one side and a hill on the other. The park was clean and the workers were nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Rate is AAA rate. This park was average. It is in a good location next to a stream. We were near the end of the campground so it was quiet. However, this is not a luxurious park by any stretch of the imagination. There is no sign off Hwy. 41 so we drove past it twice. Apparently the city made them take it down. I wouldn't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We were along the river, the sounds where great at night. The staff was outstanding. We will come back the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We stayed here as a home base for Yosemite and to visit some friends in the area. For that it served the purpose. However, we were very uncomfortable and happy we were not in camp much. The sites are so close our awning was touching our neighbors. They make you park face to face, so no privacy at all. Our tables were about an inch apart while having dinner. And forget the campfire. Our fire ring was about 18" away from neighbors. Didn't use bathrooms/shower because of the steep uphill walk. Barking dogs all night from permanent residents. This is an OLD trailer park with RV camping as an after thought. Do not judge by pictures on their website, this place is a dump. But if your not going to be there, and just want hookups, it is OK. Biggest problem is, it's the only place in Oakhurst to stay except for Elks Club, (in which you have to be a member and that's just a steep, dirty parking lot). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
The sites are so close together that we could not put out the awning and our picnic table was literally on top of our neighbors sewer hookup. Although we did not use the restrooms or showers, I observed that people had to walk up a steep hill and go over to the more permanent section to use these facilities. They are not convenient at all. All that said, this park is very close to Yosemite's South entrance. If staying in this campground is your only choice for visiting Yosemite, then go for it. Experiencing that wonderful park makes the campground issues of little consequence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
This park has very, very narrow sites; our awning practically was over the picnic table next door and there was barely enough room for our toad! Most of the sites back-up to the stream. The ground slopes back towards the stream and is rutted from previous RVs, very sandy and somewhat unstable. Consequently, we were unable to level our rig. The bathhouse and laundry were up a steep hill (probably in the permanent mobile home section). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
Very friendly and helpful staff. Campground is cramped and poorly laid out, but clean and well maintained. It is quite difficult to maneuver rigs. Most sewer connections are slightly uphill, which is a pain. Washers and dryers were excellent, but the laundry room was uphill with no parking. Cable TV was great, but WiFi didn't work. Super location near Yosemite. Nice town with ample services. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We stayed here while visiting Yosemite National Park. The campground is very old and rough around the edges. It has potential that is not being met due to non-existent maintenance. However, the biggest problem is the electricity. The power at our site (50 amps) was so spotty that our onboard management system would not activate the onboard electric grid. This is the only time in 2.5 years that power has been so poor that the RV would not operate while hooked up. We disconnected and used our inverter and generator for the several days that we were there. We only spent nights in the motorhome; days were spent in Yosemite. If we had plans to spend even one day at this campground we would have left after the first night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
This park is very different from any others we have been to. I could not help but notice how the rating have dropped this year, now I can see why. This is a very small park of about 30 spaces and not too easy to maneuver around into a spot, especially if you have a big rig. We stayed here for a week to long. The things we noticed with the park were, 1. People having problems, and one young woman from the office very helpful helped us get our trailer backed in to our spot. 2. The grounds are not kept up at all. Trash was overflowing everywhere throughout the park cans. 3. They have a propane station, but good luck on getting any. We tried getting some on a Saturday, and the young lady at the office whom was extremely helpful in trying to get us some, although, the man that finally came down had a very rude and bad attitude and yet could not help but notice how much he had the aroma of alcohol on him in the early afternoon. 4. This park also has a recreation room, but is closed at all times. You can use it for a price of $50.00, but you cannot see it. I was shocked. We have never been to a park that has a recreation room that you cannot use. 5. Let's talk about the showers, the worst we have ever seen. We only saw a woman there once cleaning them in the whole week we were there. They were pitiful. If I was management I would be embarrassed to let people in them, and the way the park over looked. 6. We also noticed that there was a fence that just had been laying around waiting for an injury to happen. This fence looks like it has been untouched since they have done their pictures on their website. I wonder how long that has been? 7. The topper, not only were there a few sheriffs coming through the park to go in the swimming area with problems, but across from the dirty laundry room, there was quite a bit of trafficking going on (drug trafficking). This was extremely obvious when there was so much going in and out, and by the looks of these people, anyone could easily see this was a problem. This is not a safe place to stay with children. We would definitely never return to this park, unless they have a new management who cared enough to clean the place up. If this place was cleaner it would be a nice park. When we arrived, the managers were very rude and unpleasant and in talking with our neighbors, they felt the same way, and they as well will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The campground is a little scary when you first pull in as another reviewer stated, however, does improve. Most sites are along the river/stream which is actually low right now, however, there is a swimming hole withing the campground. Due to the accessibility of this park to Yosemite's south entrance, they get a lot of short term campers, including foreigners so people are in and out quite frequently. While I wouldn't describe it as a "plush" campground -- it was adequate and the lady who runs the place was great and very accommodating. I did not use the showers or laundry rooms and cannot comment on that, however, I did attempt to connect to the internet through their Wi-Fi server to no avail. They did say it was being worked on though. The town of Oakhurst is very quaint and offers many services, including day spas, plenty of restaurants, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
There is no woodsy site here, just a few trees. The campground is next to a stream which is nice. The sites are really narrow. If you want to reach out and touch somebody this is the campground for you. Walked by the bathrooms for which you need a key and they did not look inviting. They only have two washing machines and dryers. When the campsite was full the electricity dropped and our air conditioner turned off. Police was driving by here looking for somebody. This is right next to a mobile home park. There is no place to walk your dogs except up the street. We were asked to park our truck where everybody drives by because the sites are so narrow. The Wifi was terrible. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We booked this in the morning and took the last site. Luckily we looked onto the stream and it was a corner plot which gave us more room than most. This site is like a large car park and all the RVs are lined up, you are extremely close to each other. The space between was tiny, we met some people who's neighbors had taken over the small area so there was no room for them to sit out in the evening. Luckily for us we had only booked one night as we were on our way to Yosemite National Park and as far as I know its the closest RV park to it. From here to the Village in Yosemite it took us a couple of hours, in a 32ft RV. It easy to walk into Oakhurst from the RV Park though if you need to stock up on supplies or grab a bite to eat. Oakhurst is a cute place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
We had a "deluxe back-in site." There is nothing deluxe about this campground. It is part of a mobile home park, so you have to travel through "Dog Patch" to get to the camping area. They say they have 53 sites, but I don't know how they came up with that number. It looks to be only about 30, counting the tent sites. The sites are narrow and some units have to nose in for the hook ups as there is electricity, water and sewer at one spot and it serves two sites. Not enough room for big units to maneuver easily. Takes a lot of back and forth maneuvering. Sharp turn getting from the main road to get to your site. Be sure to ask for the "easier" way out. Watch for speed bumps on the way in on a very steep hill. I wouldn't camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
This rv park is in a woodsy setting along a nice little stream running through the property in the small town of Oakhurst on the southern entrance to Yosemite. They have some basic amenities and the bathrooms and showers were clean. Managers were friendly and helpful. This is a convenient park if you are coming from Southern California. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
We were looking for a place close to Yosemite National Park where we could have full hookups and be close to "civilization", while still having more of a "camping experience." (We hate RV parks that are giant asphalt lots.) High Sierra fit the bill perfectly. The park is very nice, with some shaded, some sun sites. The Fresno River runs right through the park, so you even have your choice of "riverside" sites where you can nose into the site and have a view out your windshield of the river. We liked how close the park is to Yosemite. We could easily do day trips into the park. Oakhurst is a good size town, with lots of services, restaurants, shops, and other amenities to choose from, without being too big. All of the staff went out of their way to be friendly and courteous and were very knowledgeable about the area, things to do, etc. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who's looking to experience Yosemite National Park without all the hassles. (You don't need to reserve five months in advance to have a shot at a site that will fit anything bigger than a tent!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
We feel this park was overpriced. The spots are too small for a large motorhome. There is no place to turn around and the pull through sites really aren't pull throughs. When we checked in (Monday) the power was going to be off all night on Wednesday. I said I didn't want to be here with no power, and the lady said, "No problem, you're leaving Wednesday." The power went off Tuesday night at 10:45 and was still off when we left at 8:00am. I told him how unhappy I was and he said it wasn't there fault. I feel for the price I should have been offered some kind of satisfaction for no power. I would check other campgrounds before I stayed here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
The park itself is nice. We were right by the "stream." We were told we could only stay 2 weeks, however they did allow us 3 weeks. I wonder why there was one 5th wheel and one motorhome by us that were there when we arrived and were still there when we left. I think the price of $200.00 a week was a lot of money. The Wi-Fi was alot of trouble to use. I kept losing the connection or it was real slow. We were not allowed a restroom key in order to use the showers. We had to call the office (or go there) and ask to be let into the showers. Office is only open from 09:00 am to 11:30 am & 01:30 pm to 05:00 pm (but usually not past 04:00 pm). They always acted like we were bothering them when we wanted to shower. The managers of the park are very rude and not at all friendly. You would think that since all but a couple of RV spaces were empty and this being the "quiet" time of year, they would be glad for the income. However, we were told that we had too much "traffic." For a business that depends on travelers and that provides a service to people, you would think they would be a lot nicer and more accommodating. I wonder how they get anyone to stay here. But I would bet that anyone wouldn't stay a second time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$29
High Sierra RV Park in Oakhurst is located in a charming little town near the entrance to Yosemite National Park. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the staff friendly. The park doesn't have a lot of amenities but did offer free Wi-Fi and the location is excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This park is great for access into the south entrance of Yosemite National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
We liked this park. It was quiet and we had a full view of the creek with the ducks landing all of the time. The owners were friendly and ready to help when we had a sewer hook up problem. It is an older park and the sewer hook up is near the road and several inches higher than the dirt. I noticed several motor homes had to pull in & not back in so they could hook up to the sewer. We ended up purchasing a longer sewer hose to solve the problem. If you go be sure to walk to the end of the road to see the beautiful water falls that they show on line. The spaces are close. The park was only half full so this wasn't a problem. We plan to return in the fall when they have cool weather. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
I liked this campground. I chose it because of a 1-night-free special they had running in the off season on their website, hence the $16 average price. Oakhurst is a good base to explore the region since it has lots of restaurants and shopping. It is not High Sierra as the name indicates, but “Low Sierra,” about 2,800 ft elevation, so it can be hot in the summer. The drive to Yosemite Valley is a long hour on a good but very curvy road, which is similar to the other Yosemite portals. The park entrance and Mariposa Grove (open summer only), is only 20 minutes away, but it’s much further to the main attraction. If you plan on several days in Yosemite Valley, it’s much more enjoyable to actually stay in the Valley if you can put up with the curvy drive in your RV and can get reservations at the primitive camps. We planned only one day in the park this time, so staying in Oakhurst was perfect for us. The High Sierra staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us alternate instructions compared to our GPS which saved us from a steep hill and speed bumps that you encounter if you take the signed entrance from Hwy 41. We were put in a row of overnighter sites next to the office that looked out over the tent sites (vacant at the time) that are lower and next to the Fresno River. The river runs next to the campground, more like a large stream actually, but others have written that they have enjoyed dipping in the swimming holes. Unfortunately, across the river at the same level as the campground is not pristine mountain scenery, but a large municipal warehouse. Our view was the narrow river below, the warehouse, and some small mountains beyond, which was perfectly fine. The sites are back-in so motorhomes face away from the view. For only two nights we opted to pull in forward and not connect the sewer so we could have more of a vista, which the staff allowed. The sites are average width with no privacy between them, and have a picnic table and fire ring. There is a full-timer section higher up on the property, but from what I could see it seemed perfectly fine and separate from the overnight section. They may have more overnight sites up there, but I believe they fill up the sites near the office first with the overnighters. The campground was very peaceful and quiet, with only the sound of the river and the starry sky above, and no freeway, train, airplane or industrial noise that you are exposed to at most campgrounds. There are trees around the camp but most sites should have no problem getting satellite. Best of all for me since I needed to do some research while here, the free wifi worked great. I didn't use the facilities, so can't comment on that. All in all, a big thumbs up. If it weren’t for the warehouse facility across the river, the view situation for motorhomes, and the smallish sites with no privacy (typical for RV park), I would have given this camp a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Great location at the south entrance to Yosemite and 2 miles from Bass Lake. We have stayed here two years in a row as a home base for Yosemite trips. A fun stream runs through the bottom of the park and I highly recommend camping along the stream when it has water in it. Two years ago we floated down on inner tubes but last year during the same month it was dry. If you stay here, you have to spend at least one day at Bass lake. It is minutes away and is a hidden jewel at the south base of Yosemite. Also, if you like horseback riding, there is a great family run riding stables at Fish camp. Reasonable rates to introduce city kids to horses. The roads are tight and I do not recommend driving your RV into Yosemite unless you have ice water in your veins ( as I found out the hard way). It is about a 45 minute drive to the middle of Yosemite Village from the campgrounds, but only about 20 minutes to the South entrance and the giant Sequoia groves. Bees can be a problem from time to time at this campground, but the front office does everything they can to control this issue. I recommend this campground for your next Yosemite adventure as long as you have a tow vehicle to drive after camp is set up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
When you first pull in, past the M/H park, you begin to think you might have made a mistake. But after we drove around and looked at the other parks in the area, you change your mind and think you are at the Ritz. Nice, clean park very close to the southern end of Yosemite. No real amenities, but it's close, safe and clean. The other parks in the area are very scary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Great park right along the Fresno River. Excellent swimming holes for the hot days!!! Full hookups about an hour from Yosemite Valley. Excellent staff, check in was painless, they even try to give you AAA or Good Sam discounts without you having to ask. Upon check in I was issued a $3 refund for showing my Good Sam card. Will return without hesitation!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
Campground owners were very nice. We also had problems with overflowing sewer hookup. We tried moving to another site but the park was booked so owners cleaned up site by adding layer of gravel to cover overflow. Owners mentioned that this site 34 was a problem and would eventually need fixing. We ended up not hooking up sewer and used the dump station to avoid the spill area. We tried testing WiFi from this site but could not detect a signal. Users may have to select a campsite close to office to get a strong enough signal to connect to the hub, and I didn't check to see if office was encrypting and had turned hub name broadcast. High Sierra RV and Mobile Park is average facility. Not a lot to do in the park. We spent most of our time at Bass Lake and Yosemite and used the facilities to sleep. Summer temperature can get pretty hot. Our thermometer measured 108 degrees in mid-day sun. We would recommend sites along the river and avoid the pull-through sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
This is a pretty decent place to stay when visting Yosemite. The owners are friendly and accommodating. We had a sewer connect that backflowed when I opened the cap and even though they got someone to fix it right away, they let us move as we didn't want to deal with the smell that was lingering. One drawback is the small "opposing" sites. Every other rig has to pull in forward because hook ups are shared by every two sites. What this means is that you have to face your neighbor's door and patio area, thus limiting privacy. There is a new toilet building that is kept very clean. In fact all their facilities are very clean. The shower building is a bit outdated and could use an overhual. A new feature is free Wi-Fi. The laundry facilities left something to be desired and the ones in town are not much better. Also, many of the businesses in town couldn't care less if you are here putting money into the local economy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
If you do not need hookups and want to stay in Yosemite, check "Yosemitesites" for space availability. Unfortunately, the summer months are usually booked. If you are coming from the south entrance try High Sierra RV Park. High Sierra is located in the heart of Oakhurst and is walking distance to shops and restaurants. It has a great location and is a quaint little RV park and campground situated on the banks of the Fresno River. If you are driving from the Bay Area or Sacramento I would recommend Yosemite Pines RV Resort and Campground in Groveland. There are new owners and managers of Yosemite Pines and they have put a lot of money into the park and campgrounds, bought a number of new cabins, tents, etc. and renovated the clubhouse and store. Bathrooms are clean and the place now looks great. Lots of great amenities including pool, petting zoo, gold mine tour, clubhouse, etc. In addition, campground has hookups. If you want to stay in a little more luxury than an RV or tent, they have cabins for rent as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
High Sierra has a great location if your are coming from Southern California. It is 17 miles from the southern Gate to Yosemite National Park, and it is only 8 miles to Bass Lake. It is in walking distance to the downtown Oakhurst which is a quaint little town. Last year we attended the Peddlers Fair which is held every year on Memorial Day and Labor Day. This is a quiet country RV park which is very relaxing at night with sounds of the small river that runs next to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
RV sites located in mobile home park about 1 block from downtown Oakhurst. Some sites right on the Fresno River. Staff let us checkout 2 hrs late but we were there in March which is not peak time. They said it books up in the summer. Good for base camp to explore Bass Lake (10 miles) and Yosemite Valley (40 miles) but not much to do around the camp. If you go out to dinner try Crab Cakes Restaurant for great seafood (yeah in the mountains). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com