206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Pacific Dunes Ranch and RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (805) 489-8100
CGID413

Pacific Dunes Ranch and RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
229
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   8   9   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
This park is on the edge of the sand dunes in Pismo beach when we looked at the web site it made it look like the beach was within walking distance. The dunes are a good 1/2 mile of huge rolling sand hills so do not plan on walking to the beach. You can rent horses and ride to the beach. It was $50 an hour. This park also does not have many amenities; it’s a bare bones park but it was pretty clean. 2 complaints, the people here drive through the park very fast. They have a speed limit of 10 but it's not enforced. Also even though there are dog baggies right before you enter the sand dunes most people either bag it and leave the bags out in the sand or they don’t bother to bag it at all. But all in all it’s a clean park and in a nice quiet location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$48
We like so many things about this park - nice staff, friendly campers, long term sites are clean/neat, great views, near to beaches/dunes, restaurants, etc. etc. etc. We just wish they would apply some basic TLC. You know - paint bath/laundry rooms, ensure washer/dryers work properly, install solid doors for shower enclosures, etc. We will probably continue to go but it would be great to see some improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$1
So we "won" a week in this campground....so I shouldn't really complain but if I had been paying full price, I'd not stay here. The use of "Resort" in the name is a stretch! Your on/near the Dunes but the CG has No pool or spa. The bathrooms/showers could use some updating, cable provides about 20 channels, if you want Internet access its via Tengo-net for 17.00 a week, the sites are extremely close together although we were fortunate to get an end site(#34) which provided a little breathing room. The CG has a number of full time occupied sites. The access to Pismo eateries/shop's was pretty good, only a few miles down the road. All the utilities were good, Verizon cell excellent and AT&T WEB access was good too, no worry about good Sat signals...no tree's to be found. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice campground, clean and well kept. The sites are a little tight on busy weekends, but the dune access is great. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Great scenic place to rest up and enjoy the scenery of the dunes. Clean and well kept place. We saw the maintenance guy throughout the day carting around. We would come back to this place. Nothing beats waking up to see the dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
We loved this camp! The camp sites were flat and level. It was just a short walk to the sand dunes and the beach was about half mile away (over sand dunes). The camp staff was nice and helpful. They offered boogie boards for just a deposit. There is a horse rental corral nearby. This camp is best if you want to be away from the city. It's about a 5 mile drive north to Pismo Beach. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$46
Nice, no frills, out in the country feel, campground. Fairly long pull-through sites, though rather tight between spaces. Wifi is available but not free. My Verizon mifi & Sprint phone worked well here. No planes, trains, or automobile noise though you can hear the waves from the ocean from a mile away over the sand dunes. The sand dunes were really cool. You have to climb over several to be able to see the ocean, but it is worth it. Staff was very nice and gave places to see in the area. The laundry facilities were a little worn, but they worked. We had problems with a barking dog a couple of days but for the most part loved our stay. It isn't well marked to get here, and I was kind of unsure of where I was going as this is down a road that dead-ends at the park. The park & the horse corral are the only things on the road. You do go over a train track to get there, but I only heard the train a couple of times, and it was only for a short time. There was wind coming off the ocean ever afternoon, but it wasn't bad, just cool. I would definitely stay here again. The dunes are very pretty and ever changing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$42
+7 Gravel pull through on the upper level; electric was good. Usual wind, but no problem. Nice walk on the dunes, which extend to the ocean. -3 Downside: needed levelers in front, the price included a $3 “resort” fee, and the laundry is unacceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
We stayed here with the Travelers from Santa Maria Elks Lodge 1538. The site was level and we had a pull though. This made it easy and saved my wife from trying to direct me backing in. The club house was nice and very clean and the staff was also helpful. If you like to walk, hike or just enjoy the watching the dunes and ocean. This is the park for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pacific Dunes. We came thinking we'd just stay a night or two and ended up staying five. We stayed using our RPI membership. The park itself is not luxurious...but the ambiance of the area is stunning. The park has the appropriate hook-ups (we found them to be in good condition) and neat level sites. We had a 50A pull-through spot...not bad at all for $18.00. I had some difficulties finding the park (I turned the wrong way...my bad) and the park manager was very friendly and helpful talking me into the park...she even stayed in the office past closing time in order to greet us. That's what I call great service. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
This is the first time we have stayed here during “season.” It was full most week-ends with busy families. There is lots of room on the dunes for both people and dogs. The sites vary as to width and level. Bathroom, showers and laundry facilities are available at strategic spots in the park. The laundry rooms are small only 2 units (washers/dryers). In the upper facility, both dryers were out of order and it took weeks for them to fix them. Things are clean but the park really needs some loving attention to upgrading/painting/repairing items: dryers, landscaping, club house area, etc., etc., etc. The toilet/shower stalls do not always have solid lockable doors. The office hours for summertime are limited to 9 am – 5pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
A nice CG. Many sites were not level due to being on the slope of the hill. Sites were good sized, we have a 45' 5er and there are plenty of pull throughs. Right on the dunes but a couple of miles to the ocean and Pismo. Not a lot here except the Dunes. Some permanents but they were tidy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Friendly staff, tight spaces. Internet was slow. No pool, no activities offered, but a great location for the sand dunes, Pismo area and good weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$48
This is our 3rd visit here in the past 3 years. Sites are just dirt and the park is pretty run down. Lots of people living in their RV's here. In fact, this year they converted our favorite end site into a long term site. We come back because it is on our way home each year. We like the dunes and you can at least walk without too much traffic hassles on the farm road leading to the property, as well as the dunes. The restrooms don't look inviting and we don't use them. Each year we come, we comment amongst ourselves about the bitter, unfriendly attitude of the woman at the front desk. She clearly is not a people person, but she is here year after year. Just don't ask her any questions and you should be okay. Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Clean and orderly park in the sand dunes with little or no noise. Short drive to many restaurants and groceries. Was there a week and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$54
I was surprised to find they took reservations on Reserve America. When I got there though they told me RA hadn't charged me correctly and I needed to pay more money. The park was very quiet and fairly clean. There are probably about 2 dozen permanent or semi permanent sites. The office and store are only open 9 to 5. The sites are a little close and are dirt and gravel. Not good for tents and are a little uneven. The dunes are right behind the campground. The office will lend you saucers for sliding down dunes. Fires are allowed but you need to bring your own pit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
There are multiple laundry rooms (2 washers and 2 dryers) throughout the park but they are small and do not have rods for hanging clothes and small space for folding. The sites on the top of the hill have a bit of a upward slant that challenges the leveling process. The sunset views across the dunes is really beautiful from the comfort of the rig (i.e., no winds whipping you back and forth). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Price reflects CTC + $3.00 park fee. Full H/U includes cable TV. Wi-Fi is available through Tengo (extra charge). This was our second visit. We stayed for 5 nights. Right next to the preserve area of the dunes: beautiful. ATV restricted. About half mile hike to the beach over the dunes. Large and level sites. Not far out of town, very quiet. Close, short drive to Pismo Beach. Love this park and will most definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$37
If you like sand and wind and desire no trees, this is the place for you! We found this park had minimal maintenance as the trash was not picked up for several days and accumulated outside the receptacle areas. We will not return to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
A very nice campground adjacent to the Ocean Dunes State Recreation Area. About a half mile hike to the beach over the dunes, but much easier to drive through town and then drive on the beach. Much to do in the area in nearby Pismo Beach and Grover Beach. The sites are level and large enough for my 40' motorhome with many pull through sites and back-ins available. Not such a good place to stay if you are just passing though for one night since it is some distance off highway 101. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$50
We stayed at this park over 1 1/2 years ago, and it was exactly as we remembered. The entrance is odd as you feel like you are driving into a farm field, but as soon as you drive up to the place it comes to life. The ranch also has a riding stable, but the biggest draw is you are literally 20 feet from the dunes (not the ATV dunes, the preserve area) and there is a path to go out and explore. We took our 2 dogs and went out for a long walk. The views were incredible, and the sunset was to be remembered. The sites are mostly level gravel/dirt pads with sand drifting over them, but they are very clean and well kept. There are some seasonal sites; RV resorts but without the cost. We love this place and will continue to come back whenever we pass the way of the central coast. This place is far better than those south in Buellton or North in San Luis. Worth the extra 20 mins on the road to enjoy the peace, quiet, and extraordinary views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
We are here for a month long stay working the outage at Diablo Canyon. This park has been very helpful, they welcomed workers for the Nuclear outage. I am across from the restroom, laundry and have seen other comments about not seeing anyone cleaning. Every morning they clean their facilities. We are staying on top layer of campground, it is clean, surprisingly not that windy, just a cool breeze. Our dealings with the office were great and very accommodating. They are very flexible, and not controlling and obnoxious about their rules. Will definitely recommend them in the future to any Nuclear workers looking for a place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
This park is not for everybody. Not much in amenities. All sites are dirt and dusty. They do monthly stays at $700.00. Lots of weekend beach bums and kids. WiFi at extra cost. Staff is friendly. It looks like it was a nice park at one time but is pretty run down. We might stay here again if all the other parks are full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
Spaces are dirt, narrow, un-level; cigarette butts, litter and remnants from campfires in every site. No one cleans the sites after people leave. Dog excrement is everywhere, no one seems to care about picking up after their dogs. Quiet hours and the one car per space rules aren't enforced. The people who work here, and I assume live here, don't seem to care. We never saw anyone cleaning up the entire 4 days we were here. If you have kids and like to let them run wild until midnight, this is the place for you. If you want a quiet get away, this isn't it. Next time I'll stay down the road at Pismo Sands.‎ We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Good Sam rate for 50 amp full hookups. Silver Spur Riding Stables are next door. Robust well water but use a filter. Not a fussy park, a little rough and rundown around the edges. It backs up to the Oceano State Dunes protected areas. Divided into two levels. The lower is wind protected with easy access to the office, meeting areas and the better facilities. The upper area has better views and access for walking those magnificent dunes. Large enough pull through sites for the most extravagantly long rigs and trailers. Back-in sites are just too narrow: they'll situate you every other site when possible. No dune buggy, ATV or off-road vehicles allowed to run in this park as there is no direct access to the beach. Must be trailered to beach access areas just down highway. Generally not as packed over the high summer season, as there are no pools, playgrounds or the direct beach access folks generally seek out when traveling with children. Laundry, restrooms, showers can be marginal. There are long term seasonals who (with the exception of one) keep their sites nice with gardens and bird feeding stations. We extended into monthly increments, cutting the nightly price nearly in half. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$59
We stayed over the 4th of July weekend. The rates go up on the holidays and was more than I stated. We were on the upper level, with a little more wind. We could see all of the fireworks from the valley. This place is sand and gravel with no trees. I didn't see them clean the sites after someone left, but most picked up after themselves. The staff was very nice. Since it is back in the dunes, there is no freeway traffic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This park has long pull-through sites available that are of dirt/gravel composition. The park was very quiet on the two nights of our stay. I would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
Sites were short, narrow and not very level. Luckily it wasn't busy while we were there because it would have been close quarters had our neighboring slots been filled. Very windy up on the hillside. The path to the dunes was mid-park and about 1 1/2 mile walk to shore line. Not too noisy with dune buggies but then it wasn't very busy at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
We came here as our second choice, the first choice wouldn't provide a long term site. This park sits at the edge of the Pismo Dunes Nature Reserve. The surroundings are beautiful. The walk through the dunes to the beach is fabulous. It's a quiet park. The managers are friendly, eager to work with us. They provided us a nice spot for our three month stay. Our second choice soon became our better choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$52
Overall, a very nice RV park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$52
Stayed here previously and noted that this was not my first choice in the area. Stayed here in order to visit family for Thanksgiving. Not as windy on this visit, but was pretty chilly. Plenty of room for the MH, but not much room between you and the next site. Verizon cell and aircard strength is very good. If you get a chance, go to Jocko's Steak House in Nipomo: it's not too far away and worth a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$38
This park is located on a bluff right next to the sand dunes. Most sites are on the upper level, which can get exposed to wind and blowing sand. Most of the 30/50 amp, full-service sites will accommodate big rigs and are satellite-friendly. There is a separate section for long-term (monthly+) stays, and there are a number of permanent rigs in this area. The sites are a mix of back-in and pull-through. Many of the short-term sites on the upper level are sloped in a way that makes leveling difficult without boards or pads. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Secluded RV park, with asphalt roads and dirt sites, that were not very level. Very quiet at night. Wi-Fi available for $5 per day or $15 per week. Twelve channel cable TV worked fine. Restrooms and showers on upper-level were old and rusty, but those on lower-level were in good shape, probably because they were not used as much. Sand dunes were beautiful, but the beach is a long way away, find a shorter route. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
This park was very clean. All the other campers were quiet and respectful. The restrooms were clean. We had a wonderful time and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
A big park with large spaces. Utilities work good. But everything is sandy and in a very short period of time the salty breezes will start corroding the metal parts on your RV. The park is easy to get in and out of, but it's a LONG way from shopping or restaurants. NOTE!-- beware the weekends- this place is "party central" especially in summer when the rowdy dunebuggy people come in. While we were there,a huge group was drunk, playing music and whooping it up until well after 1 a.m. Even after I told them to be quiet, they kept at it. The next morning when I complained to management, I was told "next time call the sheriff because we don't have security on duty." Sorry, that doesn't cut it. A campground with 215 spaces and they have no security guard?? We will NOT be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Stayed here for three nights. Not too windy this time but on a previous visit it was very windy. Had a pull through site which was not very level but we managed fairly well. Nice views over the dunes. Did not check out the facilities. This is an Encore/ELS park and of course there was the added $3 "activity fee" which I have heard referred to as a utility charge. Why can they not include it in their rate? Not many activities here but a lot to do in the area. Would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Avoid at all costs. They do not do repairs. The laundry is old and always broken. The sites are small, have no grass and needed new gravel a few years ago. About 10 fire pits for the whole park. We stayed for two months and it was hard to get something repaired. Yet the prices kept going up? I called the headquarters of Encore and they tell me to tell the manager at the campground about repairs. You might as well talk to the wall. I had a camper with 3 little dogs loose, doing their business all over and they were lax on the leash rule. Not kid/dog friendly. Open/broken drain pipes by the restrooms that were not covered up. Little legs could have easily fit, just don't take a late night trip to the bathrooms because the bulbs were all out on the bath houses. I also had a problem with multiple raccoons in the left open dumpsters. What the office told me: here is the number to the trapper, the manager won't call. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$39
This was our first stay along this particular coastal area. We prefer the "quieter" type of parks and not the wall to wall howdy neighbor style often found in high use areas. We were given an end site with a nice view of the dunes. The pad was not too level and I had to use my jack blocks but the end result was fine. Took a look at the restrooms and laundry and decided to use my own rig. We were there midweek and it was very quiet. The walk on the dunes is terrific but don't expect to get to the beach easily as the walk is probably 30 minutes. Don't expect to stay very long this winter as the park is filled up with construction workers for the nuclear plant repair. Diesel trucks and 3 shifts?? No thanks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
As mentioned in earlier reviews, very windy in the afternoon. Very quiet. Does not allow ATV's in the campground. Very dusty, as all sites are gravel and dirt. Some train noise, but not too much. Bunches of raccoons, so don't leave anything outside. Would stay here again, but not first choice, because of dirt and dust, Mama's words. Stayed in the upper campground. The lower campground would not see the dunes, sunset, but would avoid the winds (I think). Fairly level sites, but saw some with extra blocks for leveling. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
This is our "backup" RV park when we are going to Pismo Beach. We just traded in our 26' travel trailer for our 36' fifth wheel and I needed a site with pull-through and plenty of room to maneuver, and I knew this would be a good park for that. The views from the top of the hill are very nice of the dunes and the surrounding area. Bathrooms are convenient, though only average in cleanliness and comfort. The family of raccoons (at least 5 of them) wandering through the park and scavenging was a bit of a turn-off, and I viewed them once chewing on a sewer line. It does get very windy, so do not plan on using your awning much. Also, can be 5 to 10 degrees cooler than surrounding parks, for better or worse. Very family-friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Nice park. Be advised that is it generally very windy in Pismo-hence the dunes-and the upper spots in this park have high winds every afternoon. Not a lot to do at the park but it's not a far drive to lots of activities. Staff was very nice and helpful. Didn't use the showers-but they didn't look very clean. Recommend Tanner Jacks for good food and a great happy hour. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
My favorite park, not a resort nor is it trying to be. A spotless, well groomed park with dune views for some but somewhat breezy to wind blocked lower area still having dune access. No ATVs allowed to drive in park. Great riding stables within walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Name is now Pacific Dunes Ranch RV and the Resort is off the name. Should make some happy. The park is still neat, clean, friendly and a great place to stay. Rest rooms/showers spotless, small fairly well stocked store, video arcade for kids and community room for clubs. Very good riding stables for beach rides within walking distance. We'll definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$48
There was not a blade of grass in sight. Trees were mostly non existent, with the exception of a king palm tree here and there. The list of amenities leads you to believe there are fire rings available, which is not the case. The campsites are so small I don't know how you would even be able to have a fire. I am still trying to figure out what qualifies this as a resort. There is no pool, spa, or even beach access that I could see which could suggest this is a resort or even justify a $3.00 a day resort fee. I will not stay at this campground again, it just did not live up to my expectations. If you don't want to pay to rent horses, or bring your own, and if you don't ride ATVs this is not the park for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Nice Park in a country setting. Don't expect to "walk to the beach" from this park unless you are up for about a 1.5 mile one way hike in the dunes. If the wind blows while you are at this park, prepare to clean sand out of every part of your rig! Quiet setting, clean facilities and nice views. We will not return in favor of other parks in the Pismo area that are closer to town and to the beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
Like all RV parks, this one had good things and bad things about it. On the good side it is relatively new and modern and some of the sites have nice views of the dunes. There were several things we didn't like however. The laundry room was small and the machines needed maintenance. There was a sign that warned that if you were going to use both washers at once you needed to start them 5 minutes apart or the drains would overflow. I think that when they are charging you $35 a night they should be able to figure out how to get two washing machines to work at the same time. We were here right after President's Day and they must have been busy that weekend because the garbage dumpsters were overflowing. I feel that a facility should be able to handle the garbage even when it is filled to capacity. Perhaps they just want to save money by having the trash collected as infrequently as possible? We also had to pay an extra $4 to get WiFi so that brought the cost up to $39 for one night's stay. We probably won't be back - it was too expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
We were part of a rally but have used the stables for beach rides(Great) and have wanted to stay there. We were not disappointed. The park has no trees, it's in the middle of sand dunes! Restrooms and showers were immaculate,club house large and very clean. All employees were helpful and informative on local area. Will stay here again for SURE! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
This was the third time we've stayed at Pacific Dunes Ranch. It is not a bad place overall. My biggest complaint goes for the incredibly narrow spaces. We had a "regular" site as opposed to a "premium" - maybe the premiums are wider? Don't know, but we were right on top of our neighbor. He literally had to go under our awning to dump his tanks, which of course meant that his sewer connection was just outside our window. There are literally no trees or grass. All the sites are a combination of sand and gravel. Our site was so unlevel, we had to lower the trailer's tongue almost to its limit of travel in order to get the trailer level. Which meant the rear end was sticking way up. The inner sites (as opposed to the outer perimeter where we were) are level though. It was very quiet at night. The fog rolls in and everybody heads inside their rig. Overall, if you don't mind the close quarters, it's a good alternative to your "typical" Pismo area parks which tend to be booked solid during the summer - just try to get a premium site toward the back, away from the outer perimeter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
This is an expensive park; weekend rates are $40 per night. The sites are narrow and there is NO grass anywhere. The ocean is not close, even though the parks ads indicates a short walk to the beach. For anyone wanting to ride ATV's this would be great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
Awsome spot. Great alternative to the Pismo and Grover beach area. Only four miles from Pismo. This site sits in an incredible spot. It sits right at the end of some huge and great sand dunes that separate the park form the beach. Long but amazing walk to the beach. Very friendly staff. Very clean. This are has one of the most beautiful scenery. Highly recomend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$45
Stayed here over the busy Memorial Day weekend. The park is at the edge of the dunes, not close to the beach. There is horseback riding, and you can borrower saucers to slide down the sand dunes. The beach is about a 1-2 mile drive. Did notice a few permanents, but well kept for the most part. They did not charge me extra for 3 kids, but then again the rate was quite high already. Small store and arcade for the kids, and OHV area close as well. Did not use the bath house. Overall a pretty good park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We've stayed at this park before and enjoyed it more. This time we were with a fairly large group. The group area is not as nice as the other part of the park dedicated to individual campers. Spaces were very tight and the sites seemed more dirt than gravel as opposed to the other areas where they were larger and had more surface gravel. All in all a nice park that could be a great park, especially considering the location. Hookups are well placed & worked well. Sites are fairly level We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$38
Park is close to cities of Pismo and Shell Beach. There were several residents at this park - sites not very well kept. Sites are too close together, all dirt, no grass, no shade, but relatively level. Firepits advertised but didn't see any. Walking distance to the sand dunes, but quite a hike to the beach. There is a horse stable on site where you can rent horses and ride to the beach. Park is clean, but expensive for what you get. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com