214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Bruin State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (318) 766-3530
CGID4145

Lake Bruin State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   8   9   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$11
Rate reflects senior LA resident discount. Been a couple of years since we stayed here and only change appears to be loss of staffing. Very small park. Park stayed fairly quiet even during the weekend. The spaces nearest to the water are very close together. The spaces farther away are much better spaced out and you feel you can stretch without touching your neighbor. We never saw a ranger and only saw maintenance personnel out in the park. The parish sheriff drove thru a couple of times during our week there. Office staff is very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean as was the laundry room, but one of the two washers was out of order. There are a couple of fishing piers and a boat launch. Bring what you need with you, nearest WalMart is 40 miles. Natchez MS is a nice day trip from here as is Vicksburg MS. There is a small grocery store in St Joseph, has all the basics. On the weekend, the day use, splash park, and picnic areas are heavily used by the local residents. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$8
Rate reflects America the Beautiful senior pass for LA resident. This is a small but very pretty state park. Staff was very friendly, though personnel is short so not a lot of presence. Gates are locked at night, there was not a lot of traffic through the park. The spaces on the water are a little closer together, but the ones in the “back” area are very spacious. Sites are level, 30/50A electric, water, but no sewer sites. Sites and park grounds are kept clean, trash cans emptied regularly. Water pressure is good, no problem with electric. If they had sewer, it could have earned a 10. Park was quiet while we were here. There is a lake, boat launch and numerous areas to fish from the docks and banks. Cypress tress and other hardwoods provide ample shade. Wi-fi is provided and works very well. There is a playground, swim beach and water park. Laundry room was clean and operational. The only deterrent to us was the number of loose dogs we saw running around, we think as much from surrounding neighborhood as other campers. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a neat little park. It is very clean with a very friendly staff. Well, the young park ranger was a little gruff when he came by to remind us that we were 10 minutes past the check out time and still in our spot. Yes, we were running behind, and were almost ready to pull out, he was just doing his job, but...really. ASIDE from that, the park is located along Lake Bruin, a beautiful and clear and clean lake. I would only recommend coming here if you had a boat since there is very little else to do away from the lake, no trails or woods to explore. There is NO POOL, but a small splash park and a nice swimming area along the lake. There are plenty of areas to fish around the park even if you don't have a boat. The water front lots in the front loop are really close together. We camped on the back loop and enjoyed wide shaded lots, so consider that area if you want to stay out of "camper-suburbia." All in all a great little park; beautiful grounds, great play areas for the kids, clean bathhouses. Only thing that would nice is a small camp store on-site for basic supplies since the park is pretty isolated from the nearest town (St. Joseph is about 10 miles away). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$9
Great park. Deducted a point for the narrow road and all the obstacles along the road, such as garbage cans, posts, etc., and no hiking trails. The obstacles are mainly a problem for waterfront sites. Our 5'ver is 35' long and we would have had trouble backing in to these sites. Excellent drivers would not find them a problem, but these were the smaller sites. Only about 3 pull throughs. Otherwise, this was a great park: the restrooms look new, the roads have just been re-paved, the sites are mostly level, and it is well kept. Back loop has very large spacious sites. Fishing piers along the lake to fish from or dock your boat. Gas/Diesel fuel is about 2 miles outside park. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Nice park but be forewarned!!! They will NOT accept a Golden Age Pass or any discount from another state except Maryland! They say they will give the discount when you arrive. Very disappointed as this place is not worth $26 for out of staters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
A beautiful campground on the lake. Shady paved sites with lots of grass. Boat launch. Two playgrounds. Peaceful. Clean. Liked it so much I stayed an extra day, even though I was on a schedule. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Beautiful campground. The sites away from the Lake are very large and have beautiful, large trees through out the campground. The sites right on the lake are a bit small and close together. The campground has level sites, garbage containers, a grill and fire rings at each site. There is also a swimming area and a sprinkler play area for the kids. ((not open when we were there). We stayed here during Easter break in March with 8 kids (2 families). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Beautiful park on Lake Bruin. We camped at a waterfront site and could fish from our campsite. You can beach your boat right at your campsite too. Great playground and water activities (water cannons,etc.) for kids. Very clean with excellent public facilities and a large pavilion. Great fishing piers and a very friendly staff. An excellent place to get away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Lake Bruin State Park recently went through renovations which added 25 additional sites (including pull-through sites), a water park for the kids and a new comfort station. The park is very clean and quiet. There is a swimming beach, playground and several fishing piers as well as boat rentals. The park is on a very beautiful oxbow lake that is gorgeous at sunset. The beauty of the lake alone is worth visit. The lake front sites are right on the water. Our site was less than 15 feet from the water's edge. Overall a very nice state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$17
This is really a nice park. They have a really nice playground for kids and lots of piers to fish from. They are opening a lot more sites and they are really nice and can't wait until they are complete. It also has a boat ramp and pavilion. We felt very safe and secure here and the grounds were kept very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$12
Nice campground. Very quiet. The roads are mostly one way and pretty narrow but we didn't have any problems maneuvering around. The lake is a very nice ox bow lake with a small swimming area, fishing piers and boat rentals. There was a nice play ground for the kids in the day use area. At some of the sites the picnic table is on the wrong side of the pad, ours was behind our trailer. We didn't have room to open our awning because the site was paralell to the street. Most other sites were laid out much better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com