221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Top Bluegrass Festival & Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (724) 224-1511
CGID4153

Mountain Top Bluegrass Festival & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
158
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   8   8   4   8   7   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Very quiet, all grass and a great view. Incoming road is steep and has curves. Sixty/night. Thirty for Passport America. Owner and workers are very friendly. We picked our own site. Must be self-contained as there is no sewer or restrooms / showers. Needs an influx of money to upgrade in order to support the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This park consists of a level open grassy area at the top of a steep hill accessed by rough road. Interior roads are gravel. Sites are grass. Water pressure is low, but the 50 amp electric is good. There are no sewer hookups, Wi-Fi or cable. AT&T phone service is from an affiliate, but is very good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rate shown reflects the Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
We stay here every trip to my home town near Pittsburgh; 5 times in 2011. Owner- hosts live onsite. It is safe and quiet and heavily inhabited with trailers and rigs of construction, gas, and pipeline workers and their families. There are really no amenities in the big field, other than basic hook ups, but still, they are the only game it the area. No rest rooms, no showers nor laundry services. The drive to the place makes you think you are landing back up a mountain to who knows where, but once at the top of the windy hill, it is all open. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
We stayed here for one week in a 40' 4-slide motorhome. The main road is paved, but it is a curvy hill. The campground entry road is gravel, also up a hill. However, we had no problems, not even trees to worry about. The campground is wide open on the top of a hill, with beautiful green grass (parked on gravel). The owners were very nice. Apparently shower, bathroom, and laundry were available in the basement of their log home (didn't use). We really enjoyed the open feeling of the campground, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, gentle breeze. It is mainly a great place to park to enjoy peace and quiet which is what we like. No pool, no activities, no playground. My Verizon & AT&T worked fine. We had shade at the rear of our site - trees are around the edge of the campground. We used Passport America and paid $25 a day for 50 amp, water, and the owner dumps the tanks. We would stay here again - I would give the rating a 10 for what we needed (convenience to other towns, peace and quiet, good management). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
I would love to give this place a higher rating, because there is so much about it that is great: spacious sites, wonderful owners, fabulous views, lightening fast Verizon phone and aircard service. The downside? We are here in mid-June, with temperatures in the upper 80's and the park WAY less than 1/3 full. We have a 50 amp utility box, but the voltage is so low (with those of us who are here trying to use our A/C) that our electrical management system keeps shutting down our electricity as the voltage falls below 104. Of course, we could bypass the EMS box, but voltage that low is damaging to all appliances. We'd return in cooler weather, but can't recommend this park when it is hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The views are spectacular. Broadband, satellite, & cellular telephone reception was excellent. We have a 40' Class A with a tow car and did not find the access at all a problem (we rate it 6 on a scale of 1-10 for difficulty [10 most difficult]). The recommended exit #14 was closed so we had to access it from exit #16 on secondary road with a few narrow bridges. It was no big problem. It is very quiet and friendly. We'll stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Exactly what we needed. A reasonably priced place close to family in Pittsburgh. Quiet with a great view. Yes, a bit of a hill coming in, but nothing unusual for the Pittsburgh area. Easy access to Rt. 28 and the PA Turnpike. Close shopping. Excellent TV antenna reception. Nice folks. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
There are no campgrounds in the Pittsburgh, PA area so we thought we had hit a jackpot when we found the Mt. Top RV campground on Sun Mine Road in Tarentum PA. Well it's through Passport America, so we thought give it a try. The owners (Fran and Ed) are very nice and accommodating. There are hook ups for electricity and water. The place is primitive--up narrow lanes. They host an annual Blue grass festival to which, I understand, over July 4th they will pack in over 100 campers. Some people are rather permanently hooked up there while working in the area. Next to us were full time RV'ers with a big 5th wheel. There is no sewer hook up--the owner pumps the RV out when needed. It rained nearly every night while we were there and we worried about sinking. We could not level in the first spot he suggested, so fortunately he moved us to the next spot which had gravel. There was some gravel on our spot because, we learned later, the last motor home had sunk in the soggy ground. Ed, the handy owner, pulled it out with his tractor. There is no wi-fi. This is a big concern for us--we try to keep in touch on the RV road. We ended up frequenting the local library. Pittsburgh Valley Mills mall is about 7 miles away. I wouldn't be so brave in winter--the muddy roads would be too much! Some RV travelers pulled in and stayed overnight while we were there. It is very quiet and peaceful. It is a step up from parking lots with no cost. Access is not for the faint hearted. There are no shower houses nor public restrooms, so completing this survey was not applicable. The electric and water are the amenities. No store, no ice, no wi-fi. This is our first post to this forum although we have RV'd for many years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$14
We have camped here many times. The RV park is on a flattened hill and has beautiful views out the back, if you're on the outer edge of the park. It is quiet and dark. There is a "french drain" to empty gray water and the owner will come 'round and empty your black water at your request. We camp for a month at a time and have Passport America. The road up to the park is narrow and rough, but that's par for the course in Pennsylvania. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Passport America campground. Good price for the area but the only restrooms were 2 portapotties - no shower. Convenient to Pittsburgh and for the area, the view was good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Up on a mountain top literally and the last 1/4 mile is one lane loose gravel twisting and turning. Flat open campground. I think they do bluegrass festivals at times. No easy way to determine where to park. All grass and very low hookups. No trees and the restrooms were way over to the side. An odd place. The road is enough to cause major heart failure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com