217962 User submitted reviews online!!
Heartland RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 88 user reviews. Phone: (605) 255-5460
CGID4161

Heartland RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
216
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   6   9   8   7   7   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Nice campground, gravel parking with grassy area and picnic table. Our site faced a green field with horses, very pretty. We were in the back row away from the highway, so it was quieter than the front rows. About 15 miles from Mt. Rushmore, we would stay here again. Our rate was a Passport America rate, very reasonable for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
This campground appears to be an pasture that had gravel thinly spread to carve out campsites. The utilities are fine but the water pressure is severely lacking.The pool area, showers and laundry are adequate, even though the showers are the smallest I've seen. It's OK as a base while visiting the area. Forget about sitting outside. As I said, this place is a converted cow pasture. There isn't a shade tree within 5 miles. Bring extra fly swatters. You will be swarmed if you step outside your coach. Then 20 flies will follow you as you retreat indoors.The grass was over ankle high the first 5 days we were here.PA rate isn't worth it We won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This park is right off of state highway 79 so it's convenient when traveling from the south. It is close to local attractions if you don't want to wind your way into the Black Hills campgrounds. The owners are friendly and accommodating. Although it is well kept, there are no trees for shade and you hear the noise from the highway,. It quiets down somewhat at night. They also charge an extra $5 for 50-amp power, which seems a little steep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
Rate is for Passport America. This is a perfect park for visiting Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park in the Badlands National Forest. Access to the park was good as was getting around on the gravel roads. Management and staff were very helpful. Our site was gravel and very level. We had a small bit of grass, a picnic table and a fire ring. There are few trees but most sites are lined up so that you have afternoon shade in your patio area. The showers are individual and looked clean. The laundry, while more money than I am used to paying, was very nice and clean with newer machines. Wi-Fi worked very well but not too many channels on the cable. Utilities were good. There was a small playground for the children and a dog walking area. I thought this was an excellent campground and would certainly return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Easy in and out access to sites that are wide enough for slides and awnings. Each site has a table and grass area. We were there after some rains and the ground was soft. The sites are gravel but not nearly enough. Our jacks sunk about six inches. We moved the coach a bit after things dried out and it was fine. Hookups are good. Wifi is spotty with a lot of use. Cable was a bit snowy. Workers were pleasant and available. The park honors Passport for duration of stay so this is a bargain for the area. Road traffic was not a problem towards the back of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
This park is right of the highway and located in a relatively, flat area. This made it a plus for our RV. The sites and roads in the park are gravel and our rig had no problems leveling. Bathrooms and the laundry were extremely clean. It should be noted that only one of the laundry rooms was open when we were there. I have to agree with a fellow reviewer about the water pressure. It certainly made showering and washing dishes, interesting. There is a nice pool, which we took advantage of. Actually, we had planned to use the hot tub, but it was colder than the pool. As a side note, if you happen to visit Hill City, be sure to eat at the Alpine German Restaurant. Don't forget to save room for dessert, OMG, it was out of this world. Needles Scenic Road is also a must. We were glad we had our car, as the RV would not have fit through some of the tunnels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Large park with 150 pull thru sites. Currently here on the Memorial Day weekend and only 26 spaces being used. Needed to cancel our reservation for one night and they could not refund the money back! The place is empty! The pool nor hot tub is open and only one small laundry area is open. Restrooms are large and clean. Showers are tiny! Bad reception on cable but strong WiFi signal. Off of a four lane highway so you do hear traffic noise. 15 miles to the closest grocery store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
The park is within 20 miles of Mt. Rushmore and right off Rt. 79 which is the good news and the bad news. There is nothing to block the noise from the highway. At times it feels like you're actually in the median! The Wi-Fi and cable are good. The water pressure is really low so taking a shower in the rig is interesting. The spots are gravel and reasonably level. The park is a good choice if you are going to Mt. Rushmore because you don't need to deal with the steep hills near the monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
We stayed here because of the great rate (Passport America) and because the park did not have bad reviews. It was not fancy, but it was level, gravel w/little grass on sides, and Wi-Fi worked well. Easy to get in and out of sites. Office people were nice. There was a little road noise, but quieted down at night. Horses next door which were fun to watch, but I think a few more flies and wasps maybe because of that. Convenient to Custer State Park which is a super park! Must do all those scenic drives. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Stayed here because it's the only one NOT in the mountains that's PA. Lots are long and level...a bit close together but we were there off season so they put people in every other lot. Good facilities; great cable out of Rapid City. Route 79 does present with some road noise, but not bad in a fiver. Weather was chilly so our windows were closed which helped. I wouldn't really recommend this one for someone with a popup/tent trailer because of that. There is also a train track right next to the highway, but from what we saw, only one train goes through a day/night. No problem for us. Used this as a base camp for Mt. Rushmore and Custer State Park. Saw the buffalo herds. Diesel about a mile away at the Flying J on the hill. Pizza store on Route 36 about 1/2 mile away has delicious pizza!! We will stay here again on our next trip to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
If you wish to be out away from the city, this is the park for you. Convenient to Custer State Park and not a bad day trip to the Badlands and the infamous Wall Drug in Wall SD. Rate reflects Passport America for weekly rate. Hookups worked okay; however, water pressure was so low at times our pressure gauge registered below 30 psi. At least half of the campers were assigned sites in the north end even though the laundry and restrooms had been closed for the season. There were spaces available close to the main bldg which did have open restrooms and a small laundry. The pool was closed as well as the hot tub having been emptied. We feel like we paid for amenities that were not available. It would have been polite for them to tell us when booking that these things were closed for the season. I bypassed the laundry altogether and used the one at the nearby Flying J, which I found to be immaculate and available with no one using the eight washers and dryers. Price was comparable to other laundromats. We might stay here again as other parks closer to Rapid City are often over priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
PPA rate makes it worthy of a "10", but I dropped it to a"9" because pool was not heated to my expectations. Road noise was not even a factor. Campground is close to everything you would want to see and do. I would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This park has great service and friendly people. The WiFi is newly replaced and is very fast throughout the campground with multiple spots to choose from. The pads and roads are gravel but a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
The Wi-Fi is good and there are many available connections. The campground is pretty empty and mostly senior citizens. The campground has a pool, hot tub, a playground. But I do not think it is family or kid friendly, as the host appears to not like kids very much. Also, they charged additional $4 per person per night even for children, which seems excessive to me. This is a place more for couples than family in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Gravel spots, electric and water. Within feet of a very busy highway. Mostly empty, but was assigned a spot far from the bathhouse, and farther from the pool. I was tired so didn't feel like driving back to ask for a different spot, thought maybe the others were reserved... no, no one showed up at night... Did I mention the highway? The hostess was nice... OK price, but there is this highway! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
The rate cited is based on a monthly stay. The park has all pull-through gravels sites, a little close together. There is truck road noise. At the north end of the park there are sewer smells when the wind is out of the north. Otherwise it is a nice park that it is close to the Black Hills, and Custer State Park is a short 15 minute drive into the park. Verizon and Wi-Fi were good, and each site had a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$17
Nice campground. Nice laundry at office (4 washers $2 per wash, 4 dryers $1.50 per dryer). BUT, there's no shade and there's a sewer smell that comes from a ditch at the end of the campground. We stayed there a month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Park located in country setting in wide open spaces. Easy turns in and out for big rig. Roads were rutted dirt. Sites were dirt and grass--not level. Enough room to use awning. Only one dumpster near the office. Pool was small and crowded. Cable was completely unusable. We had better TV on antenna. Wi-Fi weak. Field with numerous horses at edge of campground added to fly problem. Close to attractions. The price was good, but we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Everything was ok here until I checked out. Charged a different price than I was quoted. Operators said it was for the 50 amp service an extra $5 per day. Both 50 & 30 at every site in the same box. I could have stayed in 2 other parks in the area for less than this, but I believed these people. All that I can do is write this review as there is no other recourse. I would advise others to have their reservation quotation presented to them in writing. My card was charged when I booked, when I arrived and again when I left. I guess I was vulnerable due to a hospital stay by a family member and I ended up there 11 days total. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Campground is clean along with the restrooms, but there isn't much here. It is basically a flat field right on the highway with gravel roads and sites. It is convenient to get to and also to Rushmore. For the price, I would choose a different campground next time around. There are much better choices with trees and things to do right out of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
South Dakota winds can be unforgiving and putting out an awning is risky at best. Given that, one would think a park would have trees. This one did not. The sites are long enough for your camper, but not to have a vehicle parked there too. The space you are given is small and there is little room between campers. The staff was rude and we witnessed them beating one of their (not for public use) horses for more than 15 minutes. As a former rancher, I disapprove of these people and their methods with animals completely. Pricing offered to us varied between phone calls and two of our friends were given two different monthly rates for the exact same MH for full hook up. The rate varied by more than $200! I would recommend staying FAR away from this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Rate reflects Passport America rate. We found this park to suit our needs well. When we arrived after a heavy rain, we found that the site assigned to us was full of water, so the office staff gave us another site to try, and it worked out fine. The campground is fairly central to many attractions in the area. There is a great pizza place right around the corner (Lintz Bros.), and a drive-in movie theater within a couple of miles.....we enjoyed them both! We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Good location for visiting Rushmore and Custer. Office staff is helpful and friendly and cheap ice. Weak Internet, but good cell service , so we used our hotspot. No problem with getting satellite. Sites we level and pretty close together. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
The people who care for the park do a nice job. Everything was neat, clean, and the lawn was mowed. It sits at the highway between Rapid City and Mt. Rushmore. However, I think I would look elsewhere the next time. The park sits in the sun. I could not use the WiFi for several days until the park emptied out. The free cable consists of 14 channels. Sewer smells greet you when you step outside your RV. The spots were just adequate with 12' to 15' between sites. We passed other parks while touring attractions here that we would have preferred because they offered shade and privacy. This isn't a bad park, it's just not what we enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
The staff was friendly and the park was clean. It was $16/night with Passport America with no limit on the amount nights. We would definitely go back if we are in the area. It is in a good location for Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Very nice park. We had a site near the highway, so we had some road noise all night, but overall a very pleasant stay. There's a brand new drive-in theater about 2 miles away (http://roysbhtwindrivein.webs.com/ or https://www.facebook.com/roysblackhillstwindrivein). Restrooms and shower facilities very nice. Close to many Black Hills attractions. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Great place, friendly staff, well maintained. Pool was clean though we didn't use it. Individual showers were modern and clean, but tight on space. Rate shown is for Passport America. This was our second visit; will return when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Have faith, Hermosa seems a long way South of Rapid City, but they are on the right just after SD 40 & 36. The campground is official South Dakota; a rolling hillside with 20-mile views and a big sky, trees are just shrubs. Very easy access and pull through sites, all very level within the campground. Wi-Fi reliable. Nice and dark at night, but proximity to SD 79 allowed for noise from occasional semi climbing the grade in front of campground. We asked for directions to Mt. Rushmore, and they routed us up SD 36, the wrong choice for a Class A (low clearances), and we had to backtrack all the way back and then take the correct SD 40! They ought to have known better about their own local roads! Still, a nice park and I would use them again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Very nice park right of the road, but didn't get any noise. Convenient to Custer state park, and Mt. Rushmore. Sites are all pull through and long. Fairly level, but no shade. Passport America park, with reasonable rates, but close enough to the "attractions". Very Big Rig friendly. Cable is only a few channels, Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
A nice flat gravel campground located in the rolling hills of truck route 79. Close to road but noise doesn't seem to be an issue. This park is at the edge of the Black Hills, no trees, but only 30 minutes from the center of Custer State Park. Gravel all looked well compacted referring to earlier comment. Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely away from the hassle of Rapid City and out in the country. Gas/diesel available right next door. Six rows; first has back to Rt.79, sixth faces hillside with horses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This is a very barren, open campground with absolutely no shade but it is centrally located and convenient to all of the area attractions in Hill City, Rapid City, Rushmore area, and even Hot Springs. We had a level, pull-through site with ample room and the utilities were good. We did not find the office/store hours convenient as they opened at 8AM, which we felt was late, and they closed at 6:30PM, which is early if you have been out sight-seeing. The store was very sparse, but there is a fuel and convenience store right up the road. The pool, which was small for the number of sites, could have been cleaner and better maintained. There were two laundry/shower/restroom areas. The one in the office building was preferable, having been recently upgraded. The other, toward the rear of the campground, appeared to be under renovation and needed better maintenance during our stay. Cell phone and WI-Fi service are spotty which is typical of the Black Hills area. Because of the convenience to the attractions, we would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
Monthly rate is $15 per night but with taxes it is closer to $16. The staff was friendly and helpful. Water pressure could have been better; we would fill our tank and use the pump. Highway noise is minimal during the night. We were in a site facing the pasture with horses and cows. It was easy to level. The state parks offer recycling. Occasionally when we were walking in the lower section of the park we could smell sewer. The roads could be tight if the park is busy and they can be dusty. When the site next to us was empty, they said we could park our tow vehicle there and that was nice. When we had a neighbor, our site seemed small. Plus our neighbor’s sewer connection was in the middle so it was very close to us. Verizon and Sprint worked well. You can wash the rig if you use a bucket. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Very nice park, south of Rapid City. With this big rig I chose to park outside the Black Hills and take easy day trips to the interior. Easy access to main roads leading in. Good interior gravel roads and sites with grass between each site. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Overall a nice, friendly park. All the sites are pull-through, but only about 60', so they gave us an extra site to park our tow vehicle. Good points - easy access, 2 modern laundry facilities, plenty of room between sites, helpful friendly staff, and great view of surrounding countryside. Not so good - narrow access roads, gravel sites are not well packed, so heavy rigs sink in even when it's dry, and poor water pressure - only about 30# at the spigot. We stayed here for 7 days using the Passport America discount, and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Nice park with nice facilities. Friendly folks running the place and very helpful. A bit windy on this hillside but good sites with full hookups and near all the Black Hills venues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Next to highway 79 so somewhat noisy. Gravel and pull through sites. Friendly managers. Close to everything in the Black Hills and Badlands. Great park for base camp. Clean and great for the value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
We had a good rate because it was off season. The park had good gravel roads, a little tight, but you can do it in most sites. They were not long enough to be hook-up, but that was not an issue for us as we did stay a few days. The rest rooms and showers were very clean. The owner was very helpful with information. It is close to the State park as well as the Black Hills. The only issue we had was the sewer was uphill making it difficult to drain. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Excellent campground, excellent service, excellent employees. Large level pull through sites. Would recommend this campground to everyone. Close to Rt. 36 to Custer State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
Very thin layer of gravel over dirt. Tires sink into mud after rain. Weeds and sand burrs between sites. Not worth the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
We were not able to rate the bathrooms next to our space because they had closed signs on them. When it rains the roads are very muddy and soft. This is definitely not a pet friendly park. We didn't feel welcome at this park. Large billboard sign said full hookup 18 dollars a night but were charged 28 dollars. We would never stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Not a bad RV park. The sites and roads are gravel with grass in between. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit. All the facilities were closed for the season. Lots of wind as there is nothing to block it. Would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
Well we stayed here because it seemed close to Mount Rushmore and because our rate was a Passport America savings. Granted it was late in the season BUT, the lower shower building was closed, the pool was closed( didn't care about this), the lower part of the CG was soft ground with many bumps. I actually ruined my cheap, plastic Jack pads on this soil! The odor from sewer gases while others dumped was evident. The Wi-Fi didn't work at our site. We had to drive the toad up to the main building to use it. With all this being said: all connections worked well, Verizon Cell worked, and satellite was no problem (no tree's to interfere). Not sure I would return: maybe??? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The campground is very new and clean. It is located right off a nice four lane highway and backs up to a field with friendly horses. Free Wi-Fi and cable, that has been a rarity. For me, the fact that there were no trees was the one negative. I will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This is our 2nd trip "out west" so we've been here before. This is a great campground with plenty of room for rigs and tows. I can't attest to the shower facilities, but I can say that the laundry(s) are immaculate and all have been in working order when I used them. The folks that run the place are great. Very friendly and willing to assist you any time you need them. The sites are nice and wide w/gravel. It's very convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer, and other hot spots you want to hit on vacation. The price is right with the PPA card. Full hook ups, cable and Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi works as I'm on it now! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$19
This campground has a lot of potential, but is sadly lacking in some areas. There were only two usable showers (long lines were common). One of which was for handicap and the stool was plugged on every morning we were there. There are two other doors marked shower, but found out that one is storage and the other was broken. The pool closed at 8pm, after a day of sightseeing would have liked to take a dip and relax. The lower part of the park had a constant sewer smell. The Wi-Fi was so slow that we gave up trying to use it. The price was right and they were helpful with delivering ice to our camp site. The laundry area was clean and all machines and dryers were working. Will definitely look for another park when in the area again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This campground is located off the highway but the horses in the pasture give you the feeling your in the country. Very quite and close to everything in the Black Hills. The campground has a store but it is not well stocked. There is a store around the corner if you need it. The staff is very friendly and they also helped us out with some propane (after hours) when we needed it. On a side note, the people in this area are outgoing and friendly. It is so nice to visit an area that appreciates your tourist dollars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
Rate reflects PPA nightly rate. Park is VERY close to the highway with lots of traffic noise. The only "amenity" near the park is a Flying-J truck stop. Park was muddy after rain. Parking with rig is impossible as we had to park in an adjacent site after getting permission from the office. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Convenient to all the local attractions and Rapid City. Clean restrooms and showers. All pull through sites. They have three different length sites. It amazed me that the office ALWAYS put class A motorhomes and 5ers in sites that were too short. Nearly everyone had to park their vehicles in adjacent sites. All sites had traces of rock and lots of dirt. I saw many sites, ours included, that had standing water and mud on the door side. Everyone seemed to sink two to six inches as they drove into their site. One day they used a blade to smooth out the ruts in the empty sites. Of course they didn't add any rock. Because of all the dirt and lack of gravel it will be bad there when the place finally dries out and the wind starts blowing all the dirt around. Wi-Fi was adequate. Even with all the cons, I would still stay here again because it is so convenient to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, and Rapid City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Looks like a relatively new park set up for bigger rigs as long as you are less than 60'. Unfortunately, they scraped out the parking spaces and filled them with too little gravel. Granted, it has been a wet spring, but to have the wheels sink into the gravel 2 inches as you enter is unacceptable. The rain goes to the site rather than absorbed by the grass. I have 15 inch planks under the jacks and they kept settling such that I could not level correctly. Some sites are level but some are not. Looks like no effort was made to make the sites level. All sites are pull through. Don't ever expect shade here. The trees they planted look like they are never watered. Some of them are dead or dying. We had good Verizon signal as well as Verizon 3G service. Cable is clear with 13 channels. Rate shown is Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Rate is based on the "winter" rate. A convenient place to stay for exploring the Black Hills and Rapid City. This is a large, open park with small trees, mostly level gravel sites, and grass between average-sized pull-through sites. Very good free WiFi and limited, but clear cable TV. Verizon cell and AirCard worked well. Friendly staff and nice office area. Close to the road, but noise was largely limited to the daylight hours. One apparently permanent resident had two dogs tied outside, that occasionally barked to distraction, but otherwise quiet and dark this time of year. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This park is very clean and well maintained. Management is friendly and helpful. There were three items that were disappointing: 1. Many amenities were closed in preparation for winter. (Pool, one laundry room, the hot tub.) But we were still charged for "Summer Rates." (Read higher priced) 2. Advertised Wi-Fi did not work. 3. Our first assigned site was so short that we could not unhook our truck. With the trailer in place, the tow vehicle was across the road and within two feet of the camper there. Management did assign a new site without a problem. The campground is well located for visiting the surrounding attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Very clean showers and restrooms though showers are small with only a chair on which to place clothes. Clean park. WiFi did not work for us and office staff was no help with this issue. Near Custer State Park and Mt. Rushmore. Highway noise was noticeable. The pool and hot tub close after Labor Day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
We stayed here for one night the Thursday before Labor Day. Rate shown is PPA for FHU site with cable TV (minimal with <20 channels). WiFi was free and we got strong reception in the RV. That, however, may be a function of there only being 30 other RVs in this 140 site park. It is sometimes hard to comment on a parks facilities when the park is only 1/4 full. Others have mentioned that the park is virtually treeless (good for satellite reception) but close to a busy 4 lane road (possible noise problems), etc. There is a small pool and a small playground. Personally, I couldn't see staying here for more than a night during the summer when the temps are normally 90F+. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
This park provided a reasonably good base for us to access Rapid City (driver's license renewal) and the Black Hills tourist areas. There are 140 mostly pull-through sites and a dozen or so cabins plus a tenting area. As others have noted, there is some road noise (SD-79 is a pretty good road but they have cut lateral grooves in the concrete that "sing") and the park is very open with few trees. We had a good satellite signal for both TV and Internet, and a reasonable Verizon signal. The interior roads and sites are all gravel, with reasonable site separation done in grass (mostly brown in the late summer). WiFi was passable, with a couple of dropouts during our two-week stay. Staff was generally friendly and helpful, and facilities (washrooms, laundry, pool) all seemed in working order and properly cleaned. The park was 1/3 to 1/2 full during our stay, and there were several perma-rigs in the northern (downhill) section of the park, in varying states of repair and neatness. There was some dust from the fast traffic (neither long-term residents nor staff in golf carts seem to observe the speed limit) and many sites were quite soft with jacks making 4-6" deep impressions (our air-leveled coach settled some each day, requiring satellite realignment every few days). The rate noted reflects an Escapees 50% discount. As others have noted, rates seem to vary with site size; we were in a shorter pull-through (about 48' with a 45' coach) based on the discount rate, but they didn't put anyone next to us so the toad had a space to itself. Overall, this was a good value Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Clean park with all the desired amenities - Wi-Fi, cable TV, pool, laundry, showers etc. Long pull thrus, easy access for any size rig. Close to Hwy 79 so road noise may be an issue for some people. We stayed here for 4 nights. Daily rate reflects Passport price for 50 AMP, a good price for this park. Would rate higher but road noise, no trees, no shade, out in open prairie, not a problem if you using this as a base to visit the sights. It's close to all the important things to do and see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
Rate quoted was with Passport America discount and includes taxes. Large park with lots of cabins. Gravel roads and sites, level but short enough that you couldn't leave the tow car on. Low-level lighting so you can see the stars. Trees are too small to give shade. Has a pool and hot tub but we didn't use them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
We chose this campground because of its central location to many attractions in this part of South Dakota and its $147 cost for a week stay. Has very friendly personnel. The campground store had a very limited selection of items and groceries. Nearest Wal-Mart is in Rapid City, about 30 miles north. Laundry, bathrooms and showers were spacious and very clean every day. The only drawback was a lack of shade trees. We plan to stay here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Great place! Would go back any time. Very close to everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$19
The rate shown is the Passport America rate. Sites are gravel pads that can be soft for jacks, I would advise the use of boards under jacks to spread the weight, ours are 14"x14" and still sank some. Good access to Custer State Park and the Black Hills. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. No "grouches" here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Pros: Nice, neat campground with friendly, courteous staff. Clean laundry facilities. Ice available at a very reasonable price. Easily accommodates the big rigs. In a good location for touring Rapid City to the north, Custer State Park and Black Hills to the west, and Hot Springs to the south. Offers a weekly rate, which for full hookups and a pull-through site, is very good at little more than $22 a night. Cons: No shade. Nearly every site has a fire ring (which is important to us), but the sites are so close together, the fire rings can't be used for fear of damage to our fifth wheel or the neighbor's RV. The pads are a somewhat soft dirt and gravel mix that we felt might become a problem if it rained -- thankfully, it did not during our stay. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this campground, but we would probably not stay here again, primarily because we prefer the open areas of the state park campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
Sites were gravel, fairly level and easy to get into. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi and cable TV did not work very well at all. Fine base for seeing the area. Traffic from the road died down at night and was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
The park had an unprotected, somewhat desolate feeling. The trees were small and didn't provide much shade or coziness. This park was definitely more for RV's rather than tents or popups. The water, electric and tv were fine. The camp store had minimal items. The bathrooms were clean but did not supply hand soap. The staff could have been friendlier. Upon check-in we received a rather strict "rules" handout that did not make us feel welcome. We were planning on spending multiple nights here but checked out after one. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Nice park for a base station to explore Custer State Park, Wind Cave National Park, and the Black Hills of South Dakota. The rates are reasonable. They do have a small playground, a pool and a hot tub, nothing spectacular but they do offer them for your use. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The only suggestion I have is to use jack pads or ask the office for some wood blocks for your jacks. The ground is soft in some areas on the sites and the jacks have a tendency to sink. Other than that it was a pleasant stay and a great location to explore the area attractions. Great place to stay if you can't get a site in the parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
No shade in park. Trees are planted, but not big enough for shade yet. Roads are gravel and some run off from pool kept road in front of our RV wet. Office personnel very nice. We toured the Black Hills area attractions including the Badlands from here. About 16 miles to major grocery stores. Beautiful drive down highways 36 and 40 to Mt. Rushmore. We would stay here again if ever in the area. We had a weekly rate of $119.00 plus tax. Very reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
Pull Thru sites were not very long. We were towing our boat and wanted to take our camper off of our truck to tour the area. So we had to park the truck in the site next to us as did large motorhomes with a car in tow and fifth wheels. showers, while clean were not as functional as one might like, no bench or chair in the indivisual showers which were between the bathrooms. Road noise from SR 79 could be a problem for light sleepers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
We stayed a month in September. We didn't realize at first that they charge by the length of the rig. There can be a lot of highway noise which is annoying. The WIFI was good. Cable channels were limited and not all of them worked. It was windy at times and we did get tired of the long drives to see the area attractions. The sky on some nights was wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Rate is for Passport America. Cable TV is limited and lower channels do not come in well. No trees allow for wind to come through easily. Location is very convenient for visiting Southern Black Hills although most of the attractions are on 16 rather than 79. It is necessary to make the 20 mile trip into Rapid City for real groceries; Walmart, Safeway, and Thrift Store are all in town. We stayed almost two weeks and saw practically everything,but we did fill the toad gas tank several times; the area has much to offer. We would stay here again whether passing through or for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
They accepted Passport America for the entire stay (5 days). Sites are large and they do not crowd campers together if space exists. Very helpful front desk and other employees. Convenient to all east side tourist attractions and to Rapid City. It was well worth the price and we would return. (866) 445-5778 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
We like this place. You do need to be aware of the high winds coming off the prairie, they caught us off guard and we lost a TV dish we had on a tripod. No place to ride our bikes. All roads and pads were gravel. We did have one of our level pads sink down about six inches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Clean park with all the desired amenities - WiFi,cable tv, pool, luandry, showers etc. Long pull thrus, easy access for any size rig. Close to Hwy 79 so road noise is a problem if you camped on east side of park. Daily rate reflects Passport price - a bargain for this park. Would rate higher but not a great location, no trees, no shade, out in open prairie - not a problem if you using this as a base to visit the sights and like the isolation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We stayed for a month. Monthly rate works out to $12 per night. Excellent office & maintenance staff. Pool & hot tub worked fine. WI-FI was excellent. 50% rate for PA & Escapees. Highly recommended for seeing all the Black Hills sights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This was a very clean park. We stayed for a month so I am not sure of the nightly rate. It was about $340 for the month of June & July. The laundry room was very clean and the bathrooms are unisex complete bathrooms for showering, and they also have regular bathrooms that clean and roomy. The Office has only a few things in the way of camping needs and even less in the way of food. But coffee is available for free and the help is very friendly. The hot tub was not available in by early July, but the pool was very refreshing. Small cabins are available for rent. Not bathroom facilities in the cabins, but they are close to the bath houses. Overall it is nice RV Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
We camped there after they went on winter hours and never saw anyone at the office even though we were there five days. We are Passport America and couldn't find a person to check if the winter rates were to be discounted or not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
This park is located 15 miles south of Rapid City, and is centrally located to Custer State Park, Hot Springs, and Rapid City. We used it as our base of exploration for two weeks, and were well pleased. Extended drives to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Sturgis, Spearfish and Hot Springs were easy from this park. The owner has the very best wi-fi system we have seen, with lightening fast speed, and four separate wi-fi networks on air! The owners live on site, but the office is not always open during posted hours (the park's only drawback to us). The sites are pull-through, and are gravel, as are the interior roads. The laundry has four washers and four dryers, and is kept clean. The fire rings are located at the rear of the pull-through sites, due to local regulations. The park is quiet except for the frequent and fast traffic on Highway 79 alongside the park. For some reason the sound of the vehicles seemed magnified. The park had all of the desired amenities, was centrally located, and was value priced. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Pool was emptied due to dirt from wind. The trees were small and did not block the winds. Roads are gravel and sites are pretty level. Office staff is helpful and nice. Campground is outside all area attractions. Next time we will probably stay closer in. Rate reflects a weekly rate with Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
This was a virtually new campground. The park staff members were friendly, and the sites were gravel and level. In the office, there was also a computer available for internet use. There are 16 air-conditioned camping cabins. The only negative is the total absence of shade. It will take 15 years for the small trees to achieve any real size. We paid the Passport America rate, which included local taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
The park offered full service, was fairly handy to all that the area offered, but was dusty and windy. The highway was very near and had a noisy surface. The reason we stayed there was that it was a Passport America park and we were staying for three weeks. If we had to do it again, we would probably opt to stay at a nicer park. Although the WiFi guru said the WiFi was good, I had unreliable service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
Stayed here for 1 month at $300. per month rate. Nice and clean camp with pull through sites. Great for big rigs with dish, wide open only little trees. Nice people run the camp. Close to Black Hills and Mt.Rushmore. So much to do here we needed more time. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Pull through sites are 46 feet long with room for big rigs but not room for tow vehicle and must be parked along road. Gravel road is dusty and you must watch for rattlesnakes on outside perimeter. However, great 50 amp service with satellite & cell signals a bargain at $18. Hint: buy groceries before you arrive as there is nothing nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Sites had cable but not too many channels, the wireless internet was not working properly at the time but worked in the office. The restrooms were clean in my opinion and the showers were unisex and clean and best of all there was a wheelchair accessible shower. All sites were flat which is also great for wheelchairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
We full time and this park works for us. The monthly rate is 300.00. Free WIFI that works great, pool, hot tub, playground area for kids. It will get more expensive and noisy when the motorcycle rally arrives in Aug. Close to Black Hills attractions & Mt. Rushmore. Also close to Rapid City for shopping. We have stayed here numerous times and plan to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
Open park. Closer to Custer State Park and the Wildlife Loop than Rushmore Shadows. Stayed a week on Passport Rates. Our rig is almost 40'. The site they put us in was supposed to be 55 but we had to park our car in the next site. Friendly people not a bad location. Just outside the Black Hills. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
This park is well located to tour the Black Hills. The employees are very friendly and helpful. There seems to be a lack of on site management. The office is closed from 12 noon to 4PM which was a surprise. The sites are pull-thru and mostly level. The park needs some repairs and general upkeep which maybe due to the lack of on-site management. The park is on the highway ( State 79 ) but is quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
We stayed at this park last week and enjoyed the location for four nights. They were just completing their wireless system and it was nice to have free wireless internet in the camper. The sites were all level with crushed rock and nice grass areas between the sites. We especially enjoyed the pool, despite the fact that it was not very large. The bathrooms and laundry room were also nice. A nice Passport America campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
Very nice park, wifi needs work. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$14
The park is easy to find right off the highway. The sites are all in the open and all appear to be pull-thru and full hookup. Some sites are for big rigs only. While we were there the pool was not open due to repairs. The office folk were very helpful and pleasant. The store had very limited supplies but town was only about 15-20 min away. The washrooms were very clean and large. Cable was very limited. This is a Passport America Park. It was a great home base for sight-seeing in the area (Mt Rushmore, Badlands etc). We definitely reccommend this park to anyone going to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
The owner does not care as much about the park as their workamper did. The ground is soft and our leveler sank into the mud and the grass is nothing but weeds. There was a dog running around loose and in the store and must have belonged to the one living in the store. I wouldn't recommend this park to anyone for more then 1 night as they do have PPA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
Easy access from Hwy. 79 and fairly close to major attractions. No shade, so it can get hot and the wind blew everyday. Laundry adequate but some washers/dryers always out of order. No gameroom available when we were there and the campstore was not fully stocked as it was early in the season. Good overnight stop due to Passport America discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com