223516 User submitted reviews online!!
LeFleurs Bluff State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (601) 987-3923
CGID4162

LeFleurs Bluff State Park

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   7   8   4   6   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Long dirt road to campground that is very dusty when not raining. Many trees so no satellite. Large sites. Because of cheap rates we had a lady in a tent next to us that was not friendly to our kids. She did not have a car and would not speak when spoken to. Pretty lake. Would stay for an overnight stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is an "OK" state park, but not great. The 50 amp service at my site didn't work, so I needed to use a 30 amp adapter to get power in the rig. They do have concrete slabs, but they are seriously short, like 20' long. Unless you have a tiny rig, half will hang off. The area had received rain before we arrived, and rained during our stay so the site and all the roads were muddy. Then along with the mud and rain were the biting insects. The best part about the park was the price. I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
The entrance is nowhere near the museum. It is down a side road by the Shell station. There was some noise from the road but fairly quiet at night. Great hiking trails. This park does close due to flooding so call ahead. the woman checking us is was very uninformed about the park. You can walk the trail form the campground to the museum. It is about 2 miles round trip, not 2 1/2 miles like she said. The kids next door were having a lot of luck catching fish. This park fills up fast. It is down a long dusty road which several large class A coaches make ok. The bathhouse is up a lot of stairs or a long rickety ramp. Not one of the best I've seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
We stayed here for a graduation, just one night. We agree with other reviewers, the sites look worn, and could use fire rings, but the concrete pad was level and fit our 24' motorhome perfectly. The water pressure was great. The park ranger brought us our tag and a code for the gate, but he explained that the park was rarely locked at night as the long-term campers kept an eye out and during his tenure as a ranger, there never had been trouble. We don't fish so there really is not a lot to do, but we'd use it again when passing through that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
We stayed for 3 days while we explored Jackson. The park is older and does need some updating. The gate at the entrance is not used and the park is not paroled. We did see the ranger during the day and he was very helpful. I had no problem parking a 37' 5th wheel in the site. For a park in the middle of Jackson it was very good. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
I stayed here in Dec 2013 after visiting an outlet mall in Pearl. It's about 20 min. south. As stated before stay on Lakeland Terrace until you see the entry booth. After reading other reviews I decided that since I was arriving on Dec 27 for 1 night, I'd probably never see an attendant and I didn't. A ranger truck went by once. The campground is a bit old and unkempt. A little wooded campground in the middle of a medium size city.No playground, but a small fishing lake. My site was #1 and the back if the shore power box was almost completely off and as there was a chance of rain I duck taped it after attaching my shore power. I also saw 2 others with problems. There seemed to be 6 or 8 long term campers, one looked pretty trashy. The concrete pads are barely long enough for my 23 ft. Class C., the rest is a mix of dirt and gravel. Location of tables is decent on most sites. Most sites do not have fire rings, just look for burned wood. You can hear trains and traffic at a distance. The best sites if the lake water level is not high would be sites #2, 4, 14, and 19. More likely to get satellite and fairly level. Site #15 and 16 seem longer. The showers and toilets are located in a cabin on stilts with wc access. They were surprisingly decent. Nothing to do there at all, but then I just needed an inexpensive place to stay while I shopped til' I dropped! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$18
We stayed here in lieu of trying to overnight in a parking lot or truck stop while traveling through to Florida. It was MUCH better than a Walmart or truck stop. That said, the park is older and in need of repair. The drive is all gravel, as are the campsites save for a tiny pad of concrete that didn't really fit our 32 foot Class C. The grounds are pretty much dirt and gravel. It rained while we were there and there were large pools of muddy water all around us. We didn't leave the RV all day! And packing up to leave was a mess. The staff, although nice people, didn't really seem to know what was going on. The two people that did were out fixing the "night drop box" because it was broken into the first night we stayed. The so-called gated campground was wide open with no sign of any electronic closure, we were supplied no code. The gate stated that it was closed 8 PM to 8 AM, but this was not so, nor secured. Still this was better than overnighting in a parking lot and next time coming through Jackson, we likely would stay here again, but doubtful it would be for pleasure, just an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$13
Ours was a senior's rate. One of the prettiest campgrounds we've stayed at. Site 1 is excellent with great view over the water. Large sites with water and 50-amp electric. While thereis no cable, local over-the-air antenna reception was excellent. Park gated and patrolled. Close proximity to downtown Jackson. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$13
Rate reflects senior rate. We drove in east on Lakeland Drive and turned south on Lakeland Terrace. The booth was unmanned and instructions were not very clear for the campground. We drove about 1 mile on the gravel road to the campground and found a site that was not being used. We phoned the campground phone # which we got from another camper and booked and paid over the phone. Site #17 was long enough for our 30 ft RV and truck without unhooking. We were backed up onto the lake where you could fish. It was nice and quiet during the night. We did not see a campground host. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Wonderful campground in the middle of Jackson, but you wouldn't know you were near a city! Unmanned campground so call ahead to make a reservation or phone the number on the office when you arrive. Lots of shade trees and great areas to walk dogs, plus a beautiful backdrop of the lake. Very quiet this time of year, but I'm sure it would get busy in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
What an interesting place! You are right in the middle of the city but it doesn’t feel that way. The campground is a mile down a winding gravel road from the highway. If you listen you can hear the hum of traffic out on I55 which is just 10 minutes away. But by just looking you would never guess how close it all is. Arriving at the campground is somewhat interesting. One exits the Interstate and travels east on Lakeland Drive. However, you don’t want to follow the sign to the state park. That will take you to the state Natural Science Museum which is part of the park, but isn’t where the campground is located. When you see the sign for Lakeland Terrace you’ve found the correct turn. Turn south and continue straight ahead on that street and you’ll see an unmanned entry booth. For some reason they put a traffic island there that might challenge larger rigs. If no one is coming, you’ll find it easier to enter on the exit side. From there, follow the signs to the campground down the gravel road and around the lake. Electric is 50 amps and water pressure is good. There are no sewer hookups and the dump station is out near the entrance. The campground restroom is built up on stilts, about eight feet up. The sites are level concrete slabs. My satellite reception was limited and, honestly, I was glad to get even one satellite through all the trees. I think the best chance for satellite coverage would be in the sites directly across from the restrooms. Cell reception was very good and my data was a strong 4G. The weather during our October stay was been pretty good with cool temperatures and only a little rain. I have the idea that humidity and mosquitoes would make a late summer stay here rather challenging to say the least. There are three state museums within minutes of the campground and the Mississippi State University Medical Center is right down the street. I was told that a lot of people use this campground when coming to the area hospitals. A nice place - I give it two thumbs up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Easy to find off the interstate and is well marked when you reach Lakeland Terrace at the Shell station on the right. The entry is narrow but not a problem towing or not. Not sure why an earlier rater had such an issue. The road to the campsites is gravel and dusty but is in pretty good shape. Our site was fairly level and fit our rig (38') with parking for the car in front. Electric was good and steady. The restrooms are elevated about 8 ft for flood events. I would guess and they were clean and odor free. There is a dump station just as you exit the park. The park rangers drive through frequently and are friendly and helpful. We would recommend this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This is a very shady, pretty park close to the interstate but not noisy from the traffic, in fact this is a very peaceful park. There is a boat launch by the lake and a separate launch for the Pearl River. They have several museums and restaurants in the area. Also, a golf coarse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Jackson. You can't beat the location (in the city limits, but you would not know it when in the campground). Site 16 was directly adjacent to the lake and across the loop from the restrooms/showers, which we did not use. Nice shady and level site and clean 50A power. DO follow the web site's direction and don't rely on your GPS; otherwise you will end up at a locked employee entry gate. Entry booth is not manned. If you have a reservation, just pull in, go to your site and the ranger will find you and provide you with a hang tag for your vehicle. The entry is VERY tight, with a 90 degree turn with fences/obstacles on each side. I drive a 40' motorhome with a Jeep in tow. I opted to disconnect the tow outside the gate AND entered the EXIT SIDE of the gate with the motorhome. I did not think I could negotiate the curve on the ENTRY SIDE of the gate and still have a viable paint job on the sides. Even so, on exit I came within inches of touching the steel pipe fencing. Very convenient to the state capitol (only a few exits south of the campground). I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Nice park on the lake. As the website says, DO NOT follow your GPS; it takes you to the wrong part of the park. We called and they said the address to use to get to the campground is 3320 Lakeland Terrace, Jackson MS, which took us right to the campground entrance. The gate to enter and leave the campground is a bit tight, and has metal posts on both sides. There is a long gravel road to get to the sites. It is near an airport, but we didn't hear any noise overnight. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$18
Can be very confusing as to where to register. The main office is by the Children's Museum, you then have to leave the park and re-enter it about a mile away. I was fortunate someone escorted me to the other entrance. Facilities worked well, quiet, except for the acorns bouncing off the roof. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Second time here this year and I can't say enough about this little CG in Jackson, MS. 10 minutes from downtown and all the "urban activity" but quiet and peaceful. Ranger came by often, but we didn't even need to talk to anyone in the office. Facilities were in good working order, road in is gravel but smooth. I'll be back... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$13
Not much else to choose from in the Jackson area. It is handy to I-55. Follow the little blue camping signs and just remember to turn in at the Shell station. Very rustic. Lots of trees so satellite reception is a problem but you do get a few channels on the antenna. As others have noted, the entrance is VERY" tight and the gravel road to get back to the campground is VERY dusty. Showers and restrooms were good and they sit up on pilings about 10 ft high so I assume the campground can flood during high water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$13
This is truly a beautiful campground bordering a lake and all within the City of Jackson, MS. We were directed to a site on Mayes Lake where we could use our rooftop satellite dish (site #6) through a small opening in the trees. Water pressure was 85 psi and required a pressure regulator while power was quite good with 50 & 30 amps available. There is a sharp, narrow turn after the Ranger station with curbs and a gate so use caution! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Great park, site right on lake. Just a little confusing entering, no one at the gate, we had our reservations so went ahead and set up. Very nice ranger came later to check on us. Nice museums and attractions very close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
What a find! We had a great site on the lake. It was quiet and beautiful. It is a challenge getting in the park though. First of all-call the park so you can find the correct entrance. Then there was the actual entrance. Very tight with a sharp tight bend in the drive. We were told that many people come in the exit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
Lovely park in the heart of Jackson, close to the Interstate. Fire rings at each site and firewood is available for $7, delivered to your site by Rangers. Each site has a large fairly level parking area, as well as a tent site. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers roomy. The thing that most surprise me was the availability of a coin op washer & dryer at the bathroom area. The only negative for us, was the "no dogs on the trails" policy. We qualified for the senior discount, which was $5 off the regular price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$13
This state park is a little gem just miles from downtown Jackson. It's a typical forest setting with large sites and lots of shade beside a small lake. Despite all the trees, we were able to find a site with a gap between the trees so we could use our satellite dish. The $13 rate for seniors was pleasant surprise. Our only complaint was that you need to drive about a mile down a very dusty road to get to the campground and no matter how slowly you drive, you'll need to wash your windshield every time. Pay attention to the previous review on how to get there. Do not drive to the office. Follow the international little blue signs with the trailer to get to the gate. If there is no one there, and there usually isn't, and the gate is closed, and it usually isn't, just phone the office and you can get the gate code and register with a credit card. We'd definitely will stay here again. By the way, if you plan to golf at the course in the state park, forget it. The place is a dump and is unplayable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
Forestry site with plenty of shade. The State Forest Rangers were the best. They were always available to help or provide information. The campground has no pool or boat rental. It is very well maintained and a location I would be willing to enjoy again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This is a typical state park that needed some tending. The location was convenient for us so we made do. There is a beautiful fishing hole as you enter the campground and we were able to take some gorgeous pictures. Beware there are two alligators living in the little lake in the campground but they didn't seem to be a bother. We would use the park again for the convenience of conducting business in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$13
There are no signs on I-55 indicating where to get off for the park (Exit 98B), and once you do get off, the signs direct you to an entrance that is not where the campground is. Hint: turn right one stop light PAST where the signs say the state park is. The navigation at the entrance booth is unnecessarily tight and the 1.5 mile long dirt road to the camp sites is tedious and unattractive. On the other hand, the sites along the Pearl River are nice concrete pads for your RV. There were a number of workers camped at the park. Sites are back-in and somewhat short although we did fit a 30 foot MH plus the car on our site. The price shown reflects a senior discount. The park is in Jackson, so would be a good base for people wanting to visit the city. We'd stay again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
This was just a small stop on our way to New Orleans but a pleasant surprise. We got a waterfront site with a fantastic view. Very quiet surroundings. What we didn't like was the long dusty road into the camp ground area. The motorhome and car was covered in dust after just one trip into our site. The entrance is too narrow and the exit is just slightly better. Take your time getting lined up and send our your co-pilot to help navigating when going in and out with your rig. This is a "will return" site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$13
We camped here over fourth of July weekend in a motor home. We have a 41 foot RV with slides. Overall, the park is fairly nice. It's small, 30 sites total all back in. They have electric and water only, no sewer. There is a dump station on the way out. The downfall to this park is the entrance gate is extremely narrow and I was definitely nervous getting into the park. The road from the gate to the park is about 1.5 miles and all gravel. It's the biggest mess. We had our bikes on a rack on the back and they were completely white with dust. Even the trees and bushes had a layer of white dust on them. We had an issue with a dumpster right next to our campsite that smelled terrible. However, we called the park and they actually had it moved for us. So, I was impressed with the service. The campground is on a small lake. There is no playground equipment within walking distance. Overall, a primitive campground. We would not likely stay here again but mainly because of the gravel road issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$13
This park is a very nice park. It was very neat and clean. You feel like you are in the middle of deep woods even though you are in the middle of the city. I would have rated this park a ten if the road going to the campground would not have been gravel because the dust was terrible and no sewer hookups. If you want to use you satellite dish get site 6 as most of the sites have too many trees. The park personnel were friendly and helpful. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Overall this is a nice park that gives your great access to metro Jackson. The entrance is a narrow locked gate that you must get out and use a flashlight to open the lock after 8:00pm. The road to the park was a white gravel and at the time that we camped it was VERY dusty. Needed to wash the toad several times. While I was there I talked to one of the state officials that said they were trying to upgrade the park with paved roads and full hookups by next year. If this happens this will be a gem in the middle of the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$13
Price paid reflects senior/disable discount of $3 per night. Site #14 is one of the nice ones as far as that goes. Campground is in rough shape with hardly any grass. Long, dusty, gravel road to campground. Showers/baths/laundry are in a building that is elevated in case of flood, but are clean. Many dead leaves on the ground. Sites are level. Water and electric. Biggest problem is the access after 8 pm. The lock on the gate is hard to see at night - the finger wheel is like one of those on a suitcase lock. While husband was behind the wheel, I had to attempt to deny access to a pickup truck that came in behind us - the driver did have the security code so I let him in and had him help me re-lock the gate. I shouldn't be put in a position to have to control the access and the control should not be so mickey mouse as this. Do not look forward to doing this again the next two nights. Next time we visit family in this area, we will park in their driveway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$16
Easy access from Interstate 55. Nice location, close to many restaurants. I will camp here again. There is some traffic noise, but it is very minimal considering that it is only minutes from two major roadways. We camped here during the Dixie National Rodeo weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
The campsite was very shady and on the lake. Fishing was allowed with a license. The rangers were very nice. The road to the campsites was white gravel but was in great shape. The bathrooms were clean but there were only two showers. It was very peaceful. It was amazing to have such a place right in the middle of downtown Jackson, Mississippi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
The park is in the flood plain of the Pearl river which means commercial development is a mile away. It has easy access from I-55. A new office is being built and hopefully a new gate will be wider than the present one which requires some skill to miss with a big rig. We always enjoy camping here in the swamp within the city. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2004
$14
Very tight entrance to this campground. Good quiet atmosphere though. Did a little fishing while we were here and actually caught a few. Very shaded campground so don't bet on the satellite working. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com