223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Whitefish Hill RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (906) 474-9555
CGID4168

Whitefish Hill RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
11
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   8   10   6   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
We were going to stay for one night, but the owner made us feel so welcome that we stayed a few days. Yes the park is for sale, but it is being maintained. The living room a previous poster mentioned is actually a social room. The owner lives off-site. The utilities were good and many sites could get satellite TV. We would not hesitate to stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
High points for the owner's friendliness, easy access, and cleanliness. Her office is a combination laundry room and living room. The bathrooms were clean, but I felt like I was intruding on her house when I walked in to use them. The water from the bathroom sink was hot, but the shower could only be adjusted to cold. About 50% seasonal. Nice pull thru nightly sites. Could have more potential and the grounds were all well kept and decorated nicely. The park is for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
An okay overnight or short stop but this is a campground in decline. The owner is very friendly but her husband passed away and now she is trying to sell the campground. She keeps it well manicured with flowers throughout. They have seven 100 foot-long pull thrus with FHU and easy in/out access plus 4 short back ins. There are also 9 mobile homes on site some of which are empty and for sale. Campground has strong Wi-Fi and cable TV. Road noise is a constant issue as trucks frequently jake brake down the small hill. It's better at night but never completely gone. Add in a couple of trains a day on the track that runs beside the campground. Nothing for kids beyond a horseshoe pit, small swing set, and basketball hoop. Verizon Wi-Fi was strong but ATT signal was weak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Campground is clean and well-maintained. Has very easy access directly from US 2, which results in some road noise during the day, but it is not a problem because at night traffic on the main road is almost non-existent. Wi-Fi is strong and fast, and cable TV is strong with more than 70 channels. Pull through sites (6 or 7 of them) are level with good gravel and at least 70 ft long so they enable you to stay hooked up if towing. Certainly the best choice in the area if you are looking for a campground that has full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We Camped 2 nights at this RV park. The Restrooms and Showers were the cleanest we saw on our 12 day trip to Yellowstone and back. The WiFi was the best on our trip. We would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
Overall this is a nice park. It is For Sale and seems to be suffering from some neglect, but things are pretty good. The WiFi was some of the fastest we saw on our trip. The road noise was bad in the late afternoon, but by early evening it was very light and sleeping was good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
We stayed here twice this fall in a 45' RV on our way to and from Glacier National Park. It is a small, quaint and very well kept campground. It is family owned, and they go out of their way to greet you, make you feel comfortable, and make sure you're needs are served. We highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Nice clean park, level sites and good WI-FI signal at my site in my RV. I will stop at this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
A very nice surprise. A phone call started my great experience, and my pleasure continued through my stay. This is a small park,. Yes, I heard one train, but this place was not only just what I needed after a long drive (good site, good electricity, good Wi-Fi, etc.), but it came with a very nice and personable hostess. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Owner is very friendly, campground is lovingly cared for, bathrooms are just like home. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
A pleasant surprise. An excellent stop if you are travelling across the UP. This is a very charming small park with gravel, pull through sites. The Wi-Fi is one of the best we have seen. Hostess and her staff are working constantly to keep the park looking very nice. We would stay here again if ever in the UP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Very nice little park. It is a little hard to turn into from the east and the access roads are a little tight for big rigs. The sites are nice and spacious. We got an FMCA discount so the rate was okay. The owner was very nice and accommodating. There were also a few mobile homes here but they presented no problems. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
We chose this park because the website advertised free cable TV. The website also indicated this park had high Good Sam ratings, so we assumed we would get the Good Sam discount. When we checked-in we were told there would be a $3.00 charge for cable TV and that they did not give the Good Sam discount because they were not members. When I questioned the manager about the information for free cable TV and the information about Good Sam that was on the web site: she became argumentive. This park is located between railroad tracks and a highway and is very noisy. The restrooms and showers were clean but in run-down condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
This is a very nice little park with long pull-throughs and good utilities including 50 amp power, which is hard to find in the area. We had no trouble leaving our Jeep hooked up behind our 45’ motorhome both entering and leaving the park. The owner is very hands-on and has kept the park up well. There is a nearby train that can be quite loud, but it only comes by four times daily and not at night. Highway 2 also turned out to be quite quiet at night. While we seldom use them, we scouted out the recreation room and bathrooms and found them as well tended at the outside. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Very nice small campground. They had abut 10 sites with water, 30 AMP, and cable. They had a dump station. Showers were nice (We didn't use them, but checked.) They were located on a hill and there was some jake brake noise. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
We stayed in a Park Model and were extremely happy with the unit and the campground. The owner and staff were very nice and even gave us ideas for sightseeing and area activities. Each site is spacious and easy for large motor homes and trailers to pull through. Each one had a large planter of flowers and trees. The grounds have lots of flowers and is very pretty. Rapid River is an easy drive to various locations. We made day trips to Escanaba and Marquette and came back to our home base at the campground every evening. We cooked dinner, watched cable TV and used our laptops on the wireless internet. My husband is self employed and this was great. Internet is everything to a teenager so our son did not miss a beat. I liked cooking breakfast and dinner: something I do not get to do very often. We had a great time and highly recommend Whitefish. Even if you do not own a trailer or motor home: stay in the park model. It is exactly as it appears in the website. Thanks for a great vacation! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Well kept small campground. The rec building/laundry is open 24 hours. Nice level full service sites, some shaded, some open allowing for the use of satellite antennas. Manager lives on site, owner visits daily. Good central location for visiting Escanaba and the Garden Peninsula. LP fills are available and they have a well stocked book exchange. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We had sewer hookup and full 50 amp service, so not sure what happened with previous poster's site hookups. We had very good Wi-Fi signal. The bathroom was clean, though there is only one each available as the others were locked the entire night and next morning: perhaps to save on cleaning them?? Definitely jack-brake noise on the hill, and more awakening was the train plus whistle that ran right behind the park: only a hundred feet from our site. Very limited overnight sites: as most of this park is a mobile home park. Good place to stay as an overnight, but not a destination by any means. Owner/manager was very friendly and welcoming, plus appears to work hard to keep the place up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Pleasant, small, well-kept, beautifully landscaped, quiet campground. Manager or owner on site at all times-very nice and helpful. Convenient to Escanaba, Big and Little Bays De Noc, Marquette, Iron Mining Museum and lots of other attractions. Wi-Fi available and works well. Railroad tracks very close--but trains are only occasional. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Nice park. Long level pull through sites. Excellent tv and wifi reception. Some road noise but that's to be expected. Easy to maneuver around. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
This is a really nice, big-rig friendly park and, although it is small, it is landscaped beautifully with long level sites and all hookups. More importantly, it has some of the friendliest and most conscientous managers I have encountered. We had a problem with getting their Wi-Fi and, rather than shrug their shoulders, they were all over it, coming over to our coach twice to make sure everything was working properly, resetting their Wi-Fi, etc. Very, very accommodating people who care. Yes, the park is near a railroad and near a major highway but, unless you are sleeping in a tent or popup, your coach or trailer walls will do a good job of keeping out the sound. Only one train came through when we were here and that was at 8:30 in the morning. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Beautiful campground with lovely landscaping. Stayed here for the night and wished we could have stayed longer. Gave discount for AARP, and rates were very reasonable for what was offered. Would go there again. If you love trains, the campground is located close to the RR tracks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This is a very nice clean well maintained cmpground with very helpful and nice managers. Had 50amp service with full hookups. Very nice gravel and level pads. Shade trees with excellent grass and no bare spots. It rained overnight and campsite never got muddy. The noise from highway did not bother me in the least. Stayed two nights and would stay again if in the area. Summary-park has all the necessary full hookups including excellent cable and wi-fi. Clean grass and shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Park was not full. Very friendly for big rigs...nice wide and long sites. Everything was very clean. Neat 100 year-old barn for office. The owners could not have been nicer people. Really nice flower gardens and bird feeders. Was just an overnight stop, but we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
This was a nice overnight stop for us on our way to Mackinaw City. We stayed in site number 14. A large part of this campground consists of permanent park model units - a majority of them seemed fairly new nice with nicely kept lawn areas surrounding them. There is a lot of traffic noise during the day and early evening, however at night it was not that bad. A train went by twice. Once around 10 p.m. and again in the morning before noon. Neither the traffic or train noise prevented a good night sleep. We used their WiFi and it worked great. We could not get our satellite connection to work, so we paid for cable access which cost an extra $3. Beautiful flowers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Looks nice from the website and the free wi-fi is awesome. However, what the website doesn't tell you is that it's right on US-2 (big loud trucks all day) and a train almost literally runs through the campground (VERY loud). Owners are very friendly and helpful, but it's just LOUD. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com