220832 User submitted reviews online!!
Gold Brook Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (802) 253-7683
CGID4205

Gold Brook Campground

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   2   7   3   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
This campground is in a large grassy area. Sites are grassy with some having a bit of gravel. Roads are gravel. Water/sewer/electric & cable worked very well. We could not get WIFI at the site at all and our Verizon Mobile Hotspot did not work very well. The location is perfect for touring Stowe and Waterbury. The sites seem to be close together, but the owner places you so that you have excellent space between units. There is plenty of room for maneuvering. The restrooms and showers need some serious attention, updating and deep cleaning. We liked it here and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We were here after the summer time rush and found the owner very helpful and friendly. It is located behind a big red barn and the Nichols Lodge. We did not have any trouble with the power. Great location for seeing the fall colors and area. Most sites are on grass with some gravel. We did not use the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
Camp Ground is OK. One water tap shared for two sites. WiFi is at lodge next door. Owner is an awful drunk who is rude and seems to like giving wrong directions and then turns the sign (which faces the wrong direction anyway) off when you are coming in the dark. Told us to go up highway 10 and turn at the big red barn. It's on highway 100 and there are at least 5 big red barns -- it's Vermont after all -- and its not a barn, it's the Nichols Lodge. Lodges are for people, barns are for animals. There is a big Nichols Lodge sign - so he could have said, turn in at Nichols Lodge and we are behind it. We saw Nichols Lodge every time we drove by, but again ITS NOT A BARN. So, I have to assume he does it on purpose. And he seemed to lose phone connection whenever we asked for pricing -- and never would even give it to us in the office. So, we don't know what our options might have been. But it was then 10 PM, after we looked for it for over an hour, then unhooked the car and spent another 45 minutes looking for it in the car. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Lousy restrooms, would not use; in bad need of update or at least cleaning daily, not monthly. Power suspect; AC wouldn't fully power up, but did on our generator, however. Not worth half the price charged. Close to Stowe and Waterbury only pluses here. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
This is a great campground. Please don't let my low score scare you away. I only downgraded it because the staff is not exactly warm. Maybe this is a tough time to make a buck in the campground business, but it sure would be nice to feel more welcome when you do come. Don't take it personally if you encounter what I did. Enjoy the beautiful scenery and the Ben and Jerry's Factory down the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Beautiful but very old with minimal repairs being done. Grass sites which are very muddy in the rain although probably good in dry weather. Hookups are awful, need extensions for everything if it will work at all. No Wi-Fi, bathrooms are old and not maintained. This place is a disaster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
The is a wonderful spot for visiting Stowe and the surrounding area, very close to town and many attractions and restaurants. Would have given it a 10 but the bathrooms are quite dated and while clean, it's not a facility that matches the delightful setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Nice small simple campground for the purpose of seeing the sites around Stowe, VT. Had the nicest mowed grass of any campground I ever stayed at. The bathhouse was very dated, but clean. Pool was very clean. The small river at the back of the property was fun to wade through. Other reviewers said something about the owners not being too friendly. I would agree. I tried talking to the owner on why his website was hard to find. He said because it was a "private" website for people who paid to view on a regional Intranet site. I tried to explain that if I Googled "Stowe Vermont Campground" his site would not come up in the search results. They had 20, 30 and 50 amp service. I thought the over night fee for 30 amp service was a little high at $40, but the Stowe area is pricey to start with. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Beautiful, grassy campground with huge sites, many on the river. Extremely clean. Very close to Stowe, but no activities for children or families. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Nice well kept park in a beautiful area. Will stay here again when we return to Stowe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
I like this park. It is small but the sites are large and spacious. The site hookups are side to side where one unit backs in and one unit drives in. This works well but you are very close on the hookup sides. The playground is old but looks well kept. The grass is meticulously kept. The owners are on site and are typical Vermonters, very, very nice but of few words. Don't take it as being mean, its just the way the oldtimers are. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Good location to explore the area around Stowe. Side by side hook ups with adequate room. Not much in the way of trees for shade but sites are generally grass and reasonably level. Well cared for but not fancy. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
Open sites, great for Fall but not much shade for summer. Easy in and out. Great base for touring Stowe area. 50 amp sites filled up but plenty of room other-wise. Well cared for but not fancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
Nice open campground. Central to Stowe area. No store, but plenty within a couple miles. Not much activities for kids. Playground is old school, my 5 year old loved it. I will camp here again because the sites are large and flat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
This is the perfect place to stay if you want to explore the area around Stowe. Beautifully maintained. Central hook ups for two sites means you have some one right beside you with their slides almost touching yours. The sites are big though. The sites numbers are not marked well so finding your site is difficult. The play ground is OK but could stand to be updated. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We stayed for a week at Gold Brook Campground in a 25 foot travel trailer. The site was large and spacious. The staff was pleasant and the grounds were meticulous. The bathrooms were clean and well kept. We will definitely be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
This campground is only 2 miles from Stowe and about 5 miles from Waterbury, Ben & Jerrys, etc. It is a good base to explore all of northern and central Vermont. We found the staff brief and to the point, making for a speedy check-in. The cg is on an old farm making for a rather rustic but scenic setting. It is a very large and open area. The entire area is well maintained, grass neatly mowed with large green spaces and a large area for a kids playground. Roads and sites are gravel. The roads had a few potholes with standing water due to the recent heavy rains in the area. The sites have "back to back" utility hook ups, meaning that there is a pull-in/back-in side by side. The spaces are large so you don't feel crowded. We had a pull in site which gave us a beautiful view out our front window across a large meadow with the VT mountains in the distance. We did use the laundry room which is rather small with one washer and one dryer. Our experience here was a positive one and we would definitely stay here again if Stowe is our destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Cranky owner- seems to know that they are the only game in town and you have to "deal with it". We spent 2 nights here and hated it. Will never go back. Laundry facilities were out of order for three days, sites have staggered utilties, so half the campers park head-in in to access utilities with long hoses and electric cords. Water pressure was very, very poor, had to fill tank at night so that we had pressure-assist during the day. Voltage was also low- 90-95 volts in evenings. Not enough to run A/C units or water heater. Rules, rules, rules posted everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
Nice area of state, spent 2 days here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com