206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Plains State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (580) 569-2032
CGID4220

Great Plains State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2009
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   10   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$19
The state of Oklahoma not very RV friendly. The rates are relatively high and rising, they have phased out discounts for longer stays and they do not take reservations so you have to call ahead if you want to be fairly sure to have a space. The main comfort station even charges for showers! Smaller free showers are available if you look. The park offers great hiking trails but rough for bikes. Biking on the roads is great though. The Wichita Mountains is a must if you are going to stay for awhile. There is a nice winery open on Sat afternoon only near Roosevelt. Meers Store is fun but burgers are overrated. There’s a reason we stopped eating Longhorn beef. If you search flickr dot com you can see photos of the park. Spots were close to level, easy to access, great views. No Wi-Fi at the sites but available at the HQ. Good cell phone. Seriously creepy bugs in some of the restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
This park had no demerits; therefore, a 10. I usually count down from 10 and there were no negatives. Our site was as level as they come; long enough to hold a large rig plus pickup; right on the lake; sites far enough apart for privacy even though there weren't many trees to separate you (it is the Great Plains.) The hike was just mountainous and rocky enough to be fun. We should have taken a compass, water and map, but you could always see the lake because you could get really high. The park ranger was nice and gave us an interesting short cut to the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge - a must see. Then you need to eat at the Meers Store for an interesting experience. The 7" burgers are big enough to halve between 2 people - no kidding. And their peach cobbler with homemade ice cream is supreme. The nearest grocery store for supplies is Hobart, about 20 miles away. We were traveling with another couple in their travel trailer and were the only 2 sites taken in the park. Great if you're in your 60s and don't want to mess with entertaining kids. They do have a playground that looked pretty presentable. The bathrooms were so clean there should be an 11 rating just to accommodate them. And I would have paid $4.00 for the showers they were so clean and set up well. You didn't have to mess with a shower curtain because you had your own private door that you could lock. To each his own. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
This is an update to a review I posted in Nov 2007. The park is close to the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, lots of historical sites in Ft Sill (near Lawton), Altus and other relatively close communities. The park is clean and well maintained, back-in gravel sites (some concrete) are pretty deep with good space between them, W/E on side, near rear with easy access. There were many more campers using the park this time than our prior visits but there were still lots of open sites. Over the air TV reception has worsened but Wi-Fi and cell reception is great. There have been a few changes at the park since our last visit which I don't like. First, the overnight rate has bumped up to $18 (W/E) from $15 last year (no weekly discounts). Second, the park has installed pay showers - $.50 for 3 minutes. I asked why they did this. The park personnel replied some of the locals would come in at night, use the showers and leave a royal mess. I don't think campers should be penalized for what the locals do but. This park is a popular fishing destination so there are lots of boats and fishermen. Unfortunately, some of the RV sites were occupied by families with tents and smokey fires. 10+ miles of biking/hiking trails lead into the hills and are mostly maintained but the trail map leaves much to be desired. I have a mountain bike but consider the majority of these trails fit for hiking only, not biking. Be advised you should come stocked with provisions as the closest large food store is about 20 miles away in Hobart; fuel/propane and sundry food items are about 8 miles away near Snyder. I enjoy staying at this park, even with the rate increase and the shower issue. Will I return in the future? - yes. Nonetheless, I have lowered my prior rating from 10 to 8. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
Typical state park with lots of hiking and quiet. This is a great little area to get away and enjoy the weekend. 3 separate areas to camp, even has a point that can be rented for large groups. Seasonal bait shop has small snacks, nearest town is around 8 miles. Sites are spread out so you don't have that on top of each other feeling. Some paved sites with sewer, most are gravel with electric and water only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
Excellent park, stayed in early November and all was PERFECT! Very few people, no noise, clean, lots of hiking in park, also near Wichita Mtn Nat'l Wildlife Preserve. Have your own groceries before arriving otherwise a bit of a drive to a decent food store. Fuel and propane in town (about 8 miles away at most). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
We have been camping with our trailer for 17 years and have stayed in all kinds of RV resorts. Great Plains compared favorably with many of the private resorts we've stayed at. Full hookups with 30 amp and 20 amp outlets, water, and sewer are available, but only in one area. As you enter the park, turn left into the first camping area where the camp host resident's trailer is. These are the only full hookup sites in the park. The park was extremely well maintained, the bathrooms and showers clean, and the scenery was very nice. A paved walking trail features informative displays of information about the park and the flora and fauna. We will definitely return to Great Plains State Park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Nice place. Bugs were a killer. The sites have no sewer but a dump site is close by. Not many people around and the view of the water is great. Good value. Nice auto tour of wildlife area very close. Lots of deer, cranes, etc. Would definitely recommend. Hope they upgrade to sewer someday We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$19
Nice quite place on Lake Tom Sneed. A little hard to find on account of the sign on the highway that directs you to the park. Very difficult to see. The park is quiet and the hostess was a very nice person wanting to please the campers. Good fishing in the lake. A dump is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com