214854 User submitted reviews online!!
Munising Tourist Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (906) 387-3145
CGID4229

Munising Tourist Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   9   7   8   8   7   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
This campground is right on Lake Superior and we had a site with full hookups, but it wasn't very level. Our end was more organized but the other end of the park had sites that were hodge podge and people were crammed in there. Some of the sites were far from the water and needed extra long hookups. We stayed one night and the sunset was spectacular but feel it was a bit over-priced. It was on the highway but the noise quieted down in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Rate listed is for 50 amp & water site. Per the staff, the Full hookup sites are reserved well ahead of time - often in October of the previous year. Location is what really makes this a great park. Not only is it on Lake Superior, but it is only a short drive to Munising and the Pictured Rocks National Park. Verizon cell service & MiFi service both worked here as did our roof mounted satellite. Park could be greatly improved if someone were to come through and re-align the utilities. We saw some folks with 3 hoses connected together to reach the water hookups! The power hookups were also out of position in most of the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Park is located in a very beautiful setting on Lake Superior, just west of Munising. Roads and sites are dirt/gravel with some sites being on grass. Our site backed to the lake and had full hookups and was level. Many sites are just water/electric, and the water connection is at the road, so it could be some distance. The views are just spectacular, especially at sunset. There is some road noise and the interior roads can kick up some dust. Many sites are shaded but it is not heavily wooded, so we were able to use our satellite dish. Wi-Fi is free and is very fast. What a great place to stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$37
The location and good restrooms/showers is about all this campground has to recommend. Office (old and junky looking) was never open and we saw attendant only once. Two pieces of playground equipment are old and worn. Sites are grass, but fairly level. The location on Lake Superior gives this park a lot of potential, but it needs updating and to be better maintained. The $37 for full hook-up is a bit over-priced compared to other places. In spite of the negatives, we would stay here again just because of the view. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
We stayed here to take the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore boat tour. The layout for the lesser priced sites is odd as others have stated. That said, they are level. Most sites have a view of the lake. The sunsets were fantastic. One can overlook a lot for the views and the water. We stayed here coming and going in our travels of the U.P. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This campground is right on the shore of Lake Superior, so what more could you want? We had a good 50amp electric hookup and water, a very large site which was grass and flat. We weren't on the water, but had a great view. The dump station was easy to get it and out and worked just fine. There is some highway noise, but it's not bad. This is a very handy location for taking the "Pictured Rocks" cruises and the "Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tours". There's also a ferry to Grand Island and an easy drive to views along the Pictured Rocks shoreline. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This is a pretty nice basic park on the lake. Level sites. Only complaint we had was the showers on the one end were real old and need to be cleaned with a bucket of soapy bleach water, a brush and water hose (and possibly a shovel). They smell bad. Not sure if because they are old or need cleaning. Otherwise, it is a nice place reasonably priced. Watch out for the mosquitoes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
The park is very different and was not laid out by an RVer. There are water hookups at the front and back of many sites with 4 on each post. The electric seemed to have 2-30 amp. There was no reason for where the connections were placed. The Wi-Fi was very marginal. I got dropped several times when someone else loged on. If you went to the bathrooms you could get a better connection. They would do better callling it a hot spot. People seemed to park anyplace and not be concerned about lots. It was very loosely run but still nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Great location close to Pictured Rocks boat cruise and Munising attractions. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms are in need of updates, but were clean. We stayed in spot 8 which was very spacious and right on the lake. Would have given it a higher rating had it not been for the road noise. We would stay here again but would sacrifice power for the seclusion of the tent sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
A nice park considering the view to the lake. Up to 4 sites per power pole and water hookup. Some sites are huge up to quarter of acre so no definite site usage from one visitor to another. Had to use 30 amp and blew breaker using just one AC and had to move to another site. Would stay here again with the availability in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Rate reflects water/electric pull-through site. Perspective: we were here Labor Day weekend, so it was very busy with LOTS of people. Great location, friendly staff. However, lots of off-leash dogs (against rules) and lots of people per site. Many have an RV, plus one to three tents, thus all the people and cars/trucks that go along with said vehicles. Dump station is not in the most convenient location. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
The best part of this park is the location and beautiful views of Lake Superior, but the rest of the campground is definitely disappointing. The sites are mostly worn out grass and dirt, and the bathrooms are only relatively clean at best. We didn't even try the showers, as there were so many spider webs and mosquitos it wasn't worth the risk. The "playground" consists of three rusty slides and swingsets, and the dumpsters were overflowing, but at the least the staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
The lake side campsites are a 10 plus. This is a small size campground, and not much in activities, but if you want awesome views and some relaxation this is it. Our site was a very good size with full hookups and private. It was partly sand and the beach was just a few steps away to enjoy a sandy Lake Superior. Location was good for sightseeing the UP. I look forward to someday returning to the UP and this would definitely be a place I would return to again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
This campground is no frills. Sites are grass or gravel. It is located right on Lake Superior with some sites right on the lake. When we arrived, the campground was full, but they let us set up in the overflow area which had 30 amp and water which was fine for us. The WI-FI was great. The campground is within easy driving distance from Painted Rocks National Lakeshore. We have stayed in worse campgrounds for more money. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
This city park is well maintained with paved/gravel interior roads. Sites are gravel/grass, some fairly large. Some sites are FHU, others only W&E. A couple of roads have tight turns for large rigs. We didn't use the showers, but one morning there was a line of five folks waiting to use them. Good satellite connection and Verizon 4G. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
A great little nugget tucked away in the northern part of MI. Easy sites to get in and out of, plenty of view for everyone. Lake front for a stroll, BEAUTIFUL sunsets. Easy drive to town. ENJOY! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
This was our third year staying at this campground. The location is fantastic, right on Lake Superior with a very nice strip of sandy beach. The park has two sections. The older one is made up of grassy fields with power poles, water stand pipes, picnic tables and fire rings throughout. You just pull in where you like and hook up. There is a restroom and shower house serving this section. The newer part has paved or gravel back-in sites, many of which are directly on the lake, and a more modern bathroom facility. While the setting is very pleasing, the facilities continue to decline each year. The restroom/showers in the older section are nasty and grungy. They need to be pressure washed and disinfected. Large patches of loose tile, insects and spider webs were everywhere. The trash containers were often full. "Out of order" signs were displayed on several toilet stalls. Mold/scum/crud was on the shower walls and floors. The bathrooms in the new facility are better but the showers, though larger, are just as dirty. The Wi-Fi didn't work last year and didn't work this year either. The answer we were given was the same: it works if you sit on the swings in the playground or the tables outside the bathroom. Many of the RV sites as well as the paths to the beach are infested with poison ivy. This park clearly lacks maintenance. We won't be back and that's a shame because the location really is very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
One of the prettiest sites we have ever camped at! I would have given it a 10 but if you get the full hookup sites on the lake you have to back in if your in a motorhome (due to hookup location) so you can't see out the front of your vehicle. BUT you are right on the water with a camp fire ring, a beautiful beach to walk on with lots of pretty rocks and some of the most beautiful sunsets! Really enjoyed it! Be sure to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Wonderful view of Lake Superior! Overall a nice park. Would love to return. Lady at the office was friendly and helpful. Great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This park is on RT 28 the busy hwy will keep you in the park for activities like bikes and walking to town. Town is a few miles to the east and by car it is great as well as Christmas which is short on stores and long on finding something here except the Casino. There were dogs everywhere when the locals come to the office to chat and they come with many dogs. Now I am a dog owner myself but putting my dog on the ground was not a option since the dogs were loose and my little 5 pound mutt is afraid of other dogs. Make sure that you meter check the AMP's coming into your RV so that you do not burn out the appliances. Nice views of the Lake but if you want a site ON the lake call early. They are gone by January 30th of the season year We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Our first RV experience after years of tent camping. Large sites and a stone's throw from Lake Superior, with beautiful sunsets. Was not camping with kids but saw that playground and horse shoe ring needs to be replaced. Close to town. The restrooms were OK but little ventilation in showers. We needed a longer hose to attach water so office let us borrow one which was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Location location location The campground is right on a portion of Lake Superior's sandy beach.  Our view of the lake was some what obscured by the campers on the lakefront.  Sites are grass, gravel, and sand from the beach.  Parking location and direction within your site is at your discretion, so we angled our trailer to best suit our windows and the beach.  Great benefit for us that dogs on 6 foot leashes are on the beach, we enjoyed walking in he water together.  The campground was close to our kayaking day trip along Pictured Rocks. The campground is on the highway, but noise at night was minimal, and could not be heard on the beach at all.  No campfires. Close to town for groceries and gas and yummy  Muldoon's Pasties Shop but not too close.  We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This place was awful! All three toilets in one men's room were clogged and overflowing. Men’s showers had only ice-cold water. There was a long wait for both men’s and women’s showers because there aren’t enough of them for the number of campsites. The women’s showers are old and dirty. This facility sits right next to a noisy highway with high-speed traffic. The campers 10 feet from us built a bonfire from lumber they’d brought with them and strong winds blew the nasty, choking smoke right into our rig. It felt like camping in a burn barrel. Flames were still leaping high well past 10 p.m. Other campers built huge fires too (made possible by the campsites’ extra-tall metal fire rings), and as the night went on, swirling winds brought their smoke to us as well. Lemme outta here! We left after that first awful night, even though we’d prepaid for three nights. Later, I noticed that the camp’s official name is City of Munising Tourist Park Campground. You mean to tell me the city owns this dump? Shame on them! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
We had such a good time while staying here that I hate to downgrade the CG. First, our site was spacious and clean. There is a lovely view of Lake Superior and good access to a nice beach. It is super convenient to all of the many attractions around Munising and the staff were friendly and helpful. The downside? It is mostly a grassy field with some shaded tent sites along the lake. The electric hookups are shared by several RV's and clustered together in the middle of the field. Even though we had a huge site, the MH behind us was only three feet away and two others were literally within spitting distance. There was a large group of teenagers attending a camp who were in 20 or so tents nearby. This group also had a MH, a chuck wagon, and a dining tent set up. They were super youngsters but it was just too much population for the restrooms and showers. There were lines most of time and frequent breakdowns in the facilities. Speaking of the facilities, they were very dated and "rustic." The CG needs lots of TLC but we liked the convenient location and everything quieted down at 10 p.m. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We stayed in the East, old, end of the campground. These sites are huge. All three of us needed to park way into the sites so cords and hoses could reach the utilities. Fire pits are located well and away from normal trailer parking spaces. Wood was available from the office and they loaned a wheelbarrow to guests. Management of the park were very friendly and accommodated a late cancellation due to illness of one of our party of four. The park has a nice beach, clean restrooms, but only one dump station which ends up giving a backup when leaving. We were able to watch and not get caught in the backup. Many waterfalls, Picture Rocks National Lakeshore, Grand Island, and the Lake Superior shoreline provided plenty to do in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This park is right on Lake Superior. The sites are large and the park is easy to navigate. We had site #50 which had some road noise but was huge. They allow some campers to tent on RV sites but we didn't mind because everyone was very courteous and well behaved. The dump station is easy to get to but the showers leave a lot to be desired. Overall we liked this campground and would return when in this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Nice location right on the lake. We came in with no reservations, but were able to get a site in the overflow area. There are 3 sites with 30 amp electric and water, plus a couple more with 20 amps. These sites are first come, first served, so it worked out great for us. We did have some low voltage issues as we were here during a heat wave. We ended up plugging into a 20 amp outlet at the bath house which ended the low voltage problem. The bath house was also a Wi-Fi hotspot. We were next to the newer bath house that looked very clean. Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. TV via batwing was so, so. But we did have a couple of stations most of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
This campground is in a great location on the shores of Lake Superior with a few sites backing up to the lake. It has spacious lots, but sites for tent camping and RVs are mixed together. It must be wonderful during the week, but we were here on a Saturday night and it was packed. Folks were a little noisy early in the evening, but at nightfall things quieted down. We did not use the bathrooms. The toilet block needs renovation and the showers were few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
The large park is easy to locate and easy to maneuver around the campground. The attendant was friendly and readily answered questions about the area. The camp sites are gravel and some are grass. We had a level gravel site with sewer, water and 50 amp electric. The internet access was good not great but readily functional. There are shady sites and the view of Lake Superior was good. I would stay there again when in the that area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We had a great time at this campground. Our tent site was near the Lake. The restrooms were clean. It was quiet at night and the owners were friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This park has two distinct sections which are roughly divided by the main access road. To the left are the sites preferred by big rigs and to the right you'll find smaller units and tents. This appears to be the older section of the park. The bath house and showers in this older portion are nasty and could do with a serious pressure washing and renovation. The bath house in the newer section is more modern and acceptably clean. Wi-Fi is free and reliable. We camped in the older part which is made up of large grassy areas with standpipes and electrical hookups. It doesn't have specific sites, you just pull up to the utilities and connect. Each utility island serves four units. The campground has a nice beach for walking. It's a pet friendly place and also host to numerous geese. Overall, it was pretty clean and we'll stay there again. It's a good base camp for exploring the many sights that part of the UP has to offer. Grocery stores and laundromats are in nearby Munising and be sure to check out the Falling Rock Cafe. Once the older shower facilities are updated this CG would qualify for a rating of 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Great park. Not all sites have sewer or are on the water, but all the sites are great with a great view of Lake Superior. There is a lot of things to do in the area, biking, hiking, kayaking, boating. We had planned to just stay there a couple weeks and ended up staying for 5 weeks. However, there are no weekly or monthly rates. The staff is very nice. Very beautiful sunsets, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
I think your opinion of this campground would depend on which site you are assigned. We were fortunate to be in a full hook-up site, overlooking the lake. This site would be pictured on RV sales brochures. Sites level. Interior roads good. No laundry facility. Decent Wi-Fi. No cable. Local TV two stations. Satellite coverage dependent on site location due to trees. Men's bathroom had motion sensor lights which was a slight issue if you took a few minutes to complete your transaction as they could not be activated while sitting in a stall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Our site, and those around it, was huge but the utility layout still had me parked way to one side so my power could reach. I didn't care, as the view out my front window was great. All sites seemed level. I will plan a longer stay next time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
This was a very busy park, we stayed in an electric and water only the first two nights at $23 night and then full hookups with 50amp the last two nights. Neither site we had was on the lake but we still had nice views. Park staff was nice and it was very campground like which we enjoy. We don't use the restrooms so no comment on that. If we had any complaint it would be the campfires. The smoke is always drifting in to the motorhome but then again those who have fires have a right to them so no complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This is a typical MI city municipal campground: basic amenities situated in a great place at an incredible price! I will forgo the pool and Wi-Fi and other items to be able to camp in an RV park on Lake Superior for $23/night! WOW, what a deal! The sites are fairly level; most are widely spaced. There is little shade available. The few non-tent sites on the lake go fast...reserve early or hope for a cancellation. Even if you are not camped on the lake, you will probably be able to see it. The campground is pretty close to town. The smoked whitefish is very good! I would stay away from Sydney's restaurant...the food is "OK" and the prices fairly high. I couldn't believe they were out of perch and were substituting haddock! So, I got the whitefish instead; wish I would have just stuck with soup and salad bar. A visit to Seney National Wildlife Refuge is a must. As is a trip to Whitefish Point and the Shipwreck Museum. I had previously done the Pictured Rocks Boat tour, so I opted for seeing the National Park via trails instead of via boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
Rate is daily rate for 30 amp electric and water, back-in site. 20 and 30 amp electric outlets, water pressure was high, dump station in the park. As others have mentioned there is an odd layout to the park utilities, and depending on the site, it may require an extra electric cord and water hose. We saw a number of people who had to park in a certain spot on their site so their cord and hose would reach, if you carry an extension cord and extra water hose it shouldn't be a problem. Trees along the lakefront sites, but sites to the rear are open. Good satellite reception as well as a strong Verizon signal with 3G. A great park to use as a base when seeing the area. Good value for the money and would definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
This is a great park as you are near Lake Superior. Although only a hand full of full hookups the view is worth camping. We have 3 dogs who just love walking on the beach. You are near the town of Munising and a Casino. We stay every year with about 8 other fifth wheels and have a great time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
A little too pet friendly, leash rule was not enforced nor were any other rules. Never saw anyone patrolling the park. If we hadn't had decent neighbors this could have been a problem. Sites vary in size from huge to crowded. No marked boundaries. Always full while we were there. Water and elec were about 75 feet apart on our site and on wrong side of trailer. 20 amp and 50 amp only, no 30 amp so bring an adapter if you need one. Area is nice. Saw everything we needed to see probably wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
The best sites, on the shore of Superior, need to be reserved in advance. Some of the other sites are not clearly marked and making the hookups reach is a challenge. The view makes it worth the inconvenience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This city run campground is on the shore of Lake Superior. Our back-in full hook up site put the tail of the trailer over the dunes on the lake shore. The view out the big rear window was spectacular. Staff was friendly and we enjoyed two nights here. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This Munising city campground overlooks Lake Superior and Grand Island. The sites are gravel with grass between and includes good Wi-Fi, fire pits, views, dog walking areas and picnic tables. It is one mile past the Holiday Inn Express on M28 outside of Munising heading west toward Marquette. The Holiday Inn Express showed up as a destination on our Garmin GPS: the campground doesn’t. We encountered some bad (40 mph winds and rain) weather the night before our scheduled departure and the park manager allowed us to extend another day rather than push through this “stuff” on the highway. This enabled us to enjoy the Pictured Rocks boat tour and a round of golf at the Pictured Rocks golf course. This is not a destination park (no in park activities) but Munising offers a few restaurants such as Muldoon’s: a roadside Pasty shop that was voted #1 in the UP and the Golden Heart (Chinese) in town plus the boat tours and golf. Our Verizon cell was very strong and if the park could afford it, cable TV connections might be helpful. We have a roof top satellite dish and our site allowed us a HD connection. Some sites might not work for someone with our setup. The campground, especially on weekends, is quite popular so call ahead or risk being told we’re full. We would definitely return if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Friendly staff, but I was a little disappointed based on other reviewer's comments. We changed to a pull through due to the weather. The site we were assigned was the only one available and we had to disconnect our auto to get level. This part of the park is new and has 50 amps. But they should have graded the area better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this park. It is right on Lake Superior which affords fantastic views and a great place to walk. The staff was awesome. Gave us good pointers for sightseeing and also went out of his way to contact a garage where we could have our oil changed. This is a great campground to use as a base for Pictured Rocks National Seashore. The streets in the park were concrete or gravel. The sites were gravel, fairly level and were of a comfortable size. The Wi-Fi was the best I have seen in quite awhile. There is no cable TV and we could not get any local TV stations. However, our satellite worked fine. We had superb cell phone service with Verizon. Since it is close to the highway there is a bit of road noise, but not enough to be a problem. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
This is very convenient and pretty campground located just west of the town of Munising. Our site was only 50' from Lake Superior. Sites can accommodate a large rig. We would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We were just going to stay here two nights but the park was so nice we stayed three. We were lucky enough to get a waterfront site #72 in the full hookup section. The 50 amp on the pedestal was not grounded which forced us to use 30 amp, which wasn't a problem. This park is absolutely GREAT! Walks on the beach which was right out our door and the area is beautiful. I highly recommend this park as a stop on your way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We were in site #5 right on the water. Hookups are situated for backing into site, but we pulled in forward because of the beautiful view. This required electrical extension cord, and dogbone to convert from 50 amp plug to 30 amp plug. No sewer at this price level, but there is a dump station. Long water hose was also needed. Sites are very big compared to full hookup sites, most being quite level and within range of jacks on our motorhome. Office staff very friendly. Over the air TV reception almost non existent. Only PBS came in. A lot of the sites are grassy. Swings and slide for children. Some road noise but not a problem. Perhaps in the summer there would be more. We used this as a place to stay to take the Pictured Rocks scenic cruise which was definitely worth it. We certainly would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Nice clean park with great view of lake. Bring extra long water hose for some campsites.The new restroom is very clean. The older one needs to be remodeled, cleaned and upgraded. We stayed here on our way up to Copper Harbor. Would stay again for overnight stays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
A beautiful spot on Lake Superior. We had a site in the newer section with sewer and 50 amp service. The site we had, #76, was right on the beach with a great view of the lake and Grand Island. It might be a little crowded in the summer, but this time of year it is outstanding. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We expected to stay here a couple of days and then move on. But we were lucky enough to get a lakefront site just 20 steps from the water. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the amenities here are few but the experience of camping on Lake Superior more than makes up for what is lacking. We were told when checking in that they do not take reservations after Labor Day and to choose whatever was available. A worker would show up at 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. more or less. An older restroom by the lake needed cleaning/updating. A newer one with a pavilion was clean. We ended up staying seven nights and plan to return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
The lack of amenities at this park, is overcome by the magnificent views of the lake. Wi-Fi is erratic, and only worked 50% of the time. There is a newer shower building, but we were closer to the older one, that was in need of upgrades. Sites were ok size, but the larger ones with sewer were full, but we dumped on the way out, and the dump station was fairly convenient. Good location for Munising, and Pictured Rocks. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We were here for four nights. The first two nights were near the very busy highway and cost $20. The next two nights were at a lakeside site and cost $25 per night. The lakeside location was much quieter. This is a beautifully situation park however lacks sewer connections and some sites are without any utilities. There are lots of tent sites both with and without utilities. There is a very long albeit narrow sandy beach you can walk upon at any time of day. There is a pump station. The restrooms were relatively clean given that sand was being tracked in constantly by heavy traffic. The older restroom/shower facility was closest to the beach and had very heavy use. It did however have four locked door unisex shower rooms which seemed to be in use constantly by the teenagers camping in tents. There is a newer facility by the highway that has fewer number of toilets and showers and uses only shower curtains. The staff cleans and mops daily but can't make headway. Its best to come here in a self contained unit if that type thing is important to you. There are lots of fire rings in use here. The Wi-Fi signal is excellent if you are fairly near to the office area because they were having technical difficulties while we were there. Just ask the manager. That said, we'd definitely come back here as its very scenic, has great sunsets over the lake and is a great base to tour this section of Michigan. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Rate is for overflow 30amps and water. Full hookup sites are taken by seasonal campers. Power voltage was low, had our power management system kick out once due to low voltage. Regular sites were available, but in trees for $25 night. Opted for same connections w/o trees for less $, so all satellite systems would work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Playground bored the kids. Weather was uncooperateive during our stay but they let us leave early with refund. Access to ORV trails but they hadn't been used in awhile and very narrow. Large sites, great view if it weren't for the fog. Lots of traffic --would have kept us up all night if we weren't already used to it. Construction did wake us up, however. An OK stay but better for those just passing through and need to be put up for a night. Clean, hot showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We had a w/e hookup which was a pullthrough. No problem getting the satellite service. The angle seemed to be lower then DirctTV said, but got a 90 percent signal. Unable to get any local TV. Not a bad view of the lake. We were in a center site, the ones backing to the lake were good views and higher cost. Whoever set up the water and electric never owned or stayed in an RV. Need at least 35' of hose and an extension for the electric. Very poor planning. Free WiFi but no cable TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
The views, site size, and managers were all great. Be wary of "satellite friendly" sites - very questionable if that's important to you. The hook-up was strange with water and electric far apart. Wouldn't have worked for us if we didn't have an extension cord. But the site was beautiful and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
I have NEVER been to a CG with a cleaner, nicer bathroom, and probably will never find one. Everything was/looked brand new and was immaculate! Owners couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Very convenient to shopping, RV store, movie theater, bank, fast food. Layout was spacious, landscaping, while new, was nice. If every CG was this nice and this reasonably priced, why own a home. Live in a CG! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This is a nice city park with adequate facilities except for having no sewers but that seems pretty common in this area. We were fortunate and were placed on a newly renovated site with full paving that would normally be saved for handicapped folks. The views out over the lake were great and we saw some neat sunsets. We would definitely visit this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Nice park that accommodated our needs for 3 days. It was very convenient to town and shopping and, access to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Most of the sites are grass with 30 amp electric and water hookups. Recent improvements however added 50 amp service; and our site did have a level asphalt drive. Also Wi-Fi is up and running. Beautiful view of Lake Superior and Grand Island for those close to the water. Good sand beach to walk on but it's narrow, and the swimming area has small pebbles. We did not use or rate bathrooms/showers. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We live in the UP, but this is one of our favorite parks in the US! The park is right on the lake, so bring a sweater because the evenings can be chilly. The sites are level, the showers and bathrooms are nice, and it's close to town (and the best Pasties in the UP - Muldoons! -sorry grandma!) There are some great ATV trails just across the highway that you can spend hours and hours on. This will continue to be a summer destination for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Our site backed up right to the beach. The view of Lake Superior was incredible. The sites were wide. The bathroom closest to our site was clean, but showing its age. The other bathroom, located across the campground, was new. Pictures Rocks was also beautiful. The water reminded me of the Caribbean without the heat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Nice place for a short stay. Manager says they are getting Wi-Fi by the end of Jul 2009. Wonderful view of Lake Superior. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We just stayed for an overnight, but really enjoyed this City Park gem at only $20. It was much quieter than most other campgrounds despite its proximity to M28. We were in Site 25 with a view past a vacant lake front site to lovely Lake Superior. We had to do a little moving around to get our fixed roof Dish to work , but the trees are sparse here so we were able to get it. The 50 amp worked fine, but utilities are shared so if the other rig is using the 50 you'll be stuck with the 30 which others have reported can be iffy. The water hookup required an extension. Hosts were friendly and helpful. It's about a 10 minute drive into Munising for the famous boat tours and restaurants. The Dogpatch was a fun place to eat. Negatives include the unpaved grassy or gravel sites can get muddy and/or wet; no sewer hookup (but there is a dump); 30 amp problems & hookup placements as mentioned by others; no Wi-Fi; and judging by the crowds after Labor Day, it probably fills much of the time in peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We agree with the other comments, but were close to the road and did find the road noise objectionable. DirecTV reception is good. Verizon is extended service and National Access for data card. The local Telco is Alltel which I understand was just bought by Verizon, so service may improve. We had 30amp service and found the voltage was low, 108vac with 1200w load around supper time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Electric and water hookups are not in the normal placement on many sites; bring long hoses and cords. The showers were very nice. The park is close to M-28, but the road noise was not too bad. The park is right on Lake Superior, and offers beautiful views and is very close to Munising and the Pictured Rocks area. We stayed overnight and would stay here again for longer than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Perhaps the nicest campground have stayed in. Sites are roomy and most have shade. Views of Munsing Bay and Grand Island are awesome. Miles of sandy beach in which to explore. Small campstore did not have many supplies needed for extended stay camping so be prepared to go into Munsing to shop, or bring all that you need for your stay with you. Centrally located to the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore as well as other central UP attractions. Very clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
I give this campground a 7 which may be generous, but the location and view of the lake is quite lovely. The hookups are definitely a problem, but knowing this from reading other reviews helped us. Definitely go to the site before setting up. The staff gave us a site that we would not have been able to get all of our hookups. Also make sure the ground is firm. Our RV is big and heavy and we would have had problems in some of the sites. We would stop here again knowing the perimeters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Staff was friendly, sites are large and roomy but the electric and water hookups may be far from your utility connections. Good view of the lake and Grand Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Campground is located right on Lake Superior with some beautiful views. Sites are large and either gravel or grass. Most appeared to be fairly level. Water and electric located at opposite ends of site requiring extension cord and hose? If not for the view this would be considered an overnight park only. Staff was friendly and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
We were very satisfied with our accommodation here. We found the washroom facilities were clean and adequate. The showers were pricey at $1 but lots of hot water. A beautiful sand beach with a great view towards Grand Island. The sites were relatively level and spacious with many shaded sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
We had weak electric 108 volts on 30 amp without a load on the service. We stayed here for two nights, but doubt if we would stay here again unless it was an emergency stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
We (two adults) spent month in UP and liked this campground a lot except for the restroom & shower facilities. They were awful. Need a bunch of work. Otherwise nice big sites, pretty beach, close to attractions, we would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
We had site #3, a really nice, lumpy but good sized lakefront site with 50 amp service and water (we did need extra hose to reach the water even though we pulled in forward ). Beautiful sunsets and sunrises over the lake at this park with a nice beach. There was some road noise from M-28 but we didn't notice it much with the doors and windows shut (and when the wind was howling). Bathhouses were not very close to us so we did not use them. They were older but had private, individual showers that we like. Good base camp for seeing Pictured Rocks Natl Lakeshore. We're new to pasties so we don't have anything to compare with but we really liked the pasties at Muldoon's down the road from the CG. Very nice city park with great lake access and views that's a real value at $20 a night for 50 amp electric and water at the site with no expensive reservation and motor vehicle permit fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
Nice view of Lake Superior, but closer to the highway and louder than I would have liked. Was good for 1 night stay. Shared the campground with 3 large Prevost/Bluebird buses, so they can definitely handle the big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com