223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Haven State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (616) 847-1309
CGID4238

Grand Haven State Park

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   6   7   9   5   8   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Love this state park! Right on the beach (Lake Michigan), within walking distance of downtown Grand Haven! Highly recommend but hard to get in to. A very popular place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
We stayed 4 nights on a lakefront site and would have liked to have stayed 14. Sure, the sites are tight, but we're in a pop-up, so no problem. The lakefront sites offer a fantastic view. Very large beach area. Not overly crowded in front of the campers. There are a dozen or so family shower/bathrooms that are quite new, very nice for us with our two pre-schoolers. The city of Grand Haven is a nice walk or bike ride down the boardwalk. Beautiful town. There was music in the park and a farmer's market once a week. Just the vacation I'm looking for. No wonder you need to book 6 months out for summertime. Weather was perfect, high of 80 each day. It can get windy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Beware, reserving on their web site for the appropriate size site does not guarantee that your rig will fit (our did not) and the fine for "over the line" is $75. We did get to change sites as it was before their season, but if they were full, you would have a problem. Also know that a permit is required for both vehicles in Michigan (we had to tell the clerk about the $6 toad permit), rate listed reflects the cost of the permits. Nice beach park once you get past all the potential hassle. The new shower house is very nice and is kept clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
The park is in a pretty area. There are some nice restaurants close by and good fishing on the pier. Registration was a cluster. Be prepared for a long process. We made reservations online, but were only given a "type" of site , not an actual one. Once we arrived, we were told to drive around and then let them know which site number we picked. There was an additional $8 charge for our tow car as we were non-residents. There is a small, sandy area designated as a "dog walk", but pets are not allowed on the beach and there were very few places to walk them except for the pavement. We had a few neighbors across from us staying in tents. That would have been alright, but they placed multiple tents on their site and were not polite campers. Although their behavior was not the fault of the campground, they should have been asked to move to the section exclusively for tent camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Beautiful sandy beach. Sites right on lake or channel. Beautiful shower houses. The only con is that the sites are very tight. No room to park your vehicle in front of your unit. Very relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
The scenery was simply gorgeous. The weather was great. We were on site 65. Right near the walkway that went between two streets. I loved the place, however, we had 3 campsites, 6 adults and 12 teenagers. That was our children, cousins and friends included. Lights out is at 11pm and, precisely at 11pm, it seemed like every single light in the campground went out. No fires lit, no one walking around nothing. It was dead here. Other than that, a very nice place to camp. I would recommend for families with young children, and senior citizens (no beer or wine allowed at the park). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
We stayed here for only 2 days because the State Park was fully booked. At the Grand Haven State Park you will love being right next to Lake Michigan and watching the sunset on the pier just a few hundred yards away. The staff was very friendly and there is so much for kids and adults of all ages. Though next time, I would visit with a trailer rather than a tent since the sand seems to get into everything. But that is just the tradeoff of having a lake front view all day. We had a great time! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
It is one big parking lot but with the pier on one side and the Lake MI in front and being able to see the light house, well it just makes the stay excellent. My only complaint is that it is really hard to get a reservation. They are snapped up immediately. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
We did not camp here but drove through while staying at Hoffmaster SP in nearby Muskegon. Great place if you want to camp on the beach. Each site has both sand and pavement with only a few trees. Tight spaces. It appeared some RV's could not deploy both awning and slide outs simultaneously. Web site doesn't give an accurate picture of how crowded the sites are. This is one of the state's most popular campgrounds, so book early! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2004
$28
Like most state parks, they give you a lot f room between sites. My gripe with all of the Michigan state parks is the fee they charge for each motor vehicle. We have a motorhome so therefore we needed to pay for a pass for each vehicle which is stupid. All you do is drive the motorhome to your site and then again when you leave. People with a trailer or fifth wheel do not have to pay for their camper unit since it is not a motor vehicle. I'll never stay in a Michigan state park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com