218177 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Oaks RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (518) 562-0561
CGID4256

Shady Oaks RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   9   2   9   1   7   9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Park is close to freeway, but no road or R/R noise. Roads are gravel and dirt, sites are a big grass parking lot with some shade at the front of the campground. Permanents in the treed area in back. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
I gave it a "7" for convenience to the area. Also, it's an easy off, easy on to I-87. They were not pleasant in the office. Almost as though we were a bother. There was no shade and we were in a grassy area. You should visit the Ausable Chasm. Very interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
Easy access off of I-87. Older park in very good condition. Not sure if 50 amp service is available in the park. We only had 30 amp at our site. Very nice people running the park. We arrived the day before hurricane Irene arrived. The people gave us a site that was sheltered by a nice, tall hedge. Rode out the storm in comfort. Clean laundry facilities. Wi-Fi worked well at our site. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
My wife and I stay there whenever we go to Plattsburgh,NY. We travel from Canada, travel to Lake George for a day then take the ferry to Vermont for the day. The Owner of the campground called us very upset about the previous comment posted, know that we had stayed there the same time that the Motor Home stayed at the 50AMP site, knowing we had been privileged to the incident that had occurred. We were walking as we always do and saw their very large dog lunge at referred to as "Mrs.Owner" which nearly caused her to fall. The owner of the dog immediately restrained him. We being very concerned went to the office to make sure she was OK. She told us she asked them to restrain the dog to their campsite and not walk him anywhere in the campground. Maybe this was the cause for the bad review. As for the sewer smell we certainly did not smell anything fowl while we walked the campground every evening. And the old machinery that was mention is what I believe is a 1940 something Cub Tractor that received a trophy at the Antique Classic Car Show at the Fairground. The trophy can be seen in the office that I asked about a couple years ago. With only the 2 of them maintain the campground I don't thing they can force seasonal campers to clean up their sites let along do it themselves. We have noticed that "Mr.Owner" does seem to have a breathing problem of some sort. As for selling the campground, I don't know about that,.. but then every business is for sale at a price, that's an investment. It is a beautiful piece of property. As for rudeness goes, we have never seen them be rude to anyone. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. You can be sure we will be keeping an eye on this camping website. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
I wish there was an ability to post photos with reviews. We were here for two weeks, mostly to our own circumstance. When we pulled into the campground and turned off the coach as I went to check in the coach refused to start again! Beginning of a nightmare as we ended up being towed to a repair facility where we stayed for two nights (while paying $45. night at Shady Oaks) and as the locals mentioned to us, the campground is appropriately named. The day after the coach was repaired and we returned to the campground our sewer backed up, SERIOUSLY backed up, so the owners solution was to provide us with a 6" diameter piece of corrugated "hose" to run under our coach and TWO sites down for our entire stay. Needless to say, there was no outside activity for us with a sewer hose (a leaking hose at that, which was partially repaired with duct tape!!) running through our site. We ended up having to leave our coach to return to MA for medical reasons and the owners consented to allow us to leave it there unplugged, disconnected for 1/2 price, $22.50 a night to park!!! As previous posts mentioned the owners have issues with customer service and are clearly just not cut out for the business they are. The campground is in disrepair throughout and Mrs. owner works 12 to 15 hour days trying to keep up with it all. There is old rusted machinery throughout as well as "seasonals" with dilapidated outbuildings that someone has spray painted with the comment "paint or dismantle". While we were there the owner (Mr.) was discussing accepting an offer with someone making an offer on the property, so clearly he just wants to be done with it and it certainly shows. A truck stop would be better, a Wal-Mart would be better. Never again would we stay here, mostly because of the customer service/p.r. issues and the owners just don't care - it is obvious throughout the campground. With all that said, this is a lovely piece of land and I'm certain at one point it was a great campground, but the owners clearly just can't "do it" anymore. It has easy, very easy, on off access to interstate 87 with minimal highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
My wife and I are camping for the season on a very large private site. It has been a very rainy every since May 1. Rain, rain and more rain every day,.. very few sunny days. This is of no fault of the campground itself. But I have to say we were not flooding out like our friend was who camps at the other local campground in the area. It is a very quite place and the 2 owners have been nice to deal with. I do need to comment on the previous review written however. Yes, there is some tall grass out in the back part of the campground but we were told that those sites are not available for camping due to the settlement of run-off rain water. We, as other seasonal campers, are camped in another location of the campground. The 2 owners are the only ones that maintain the campground, and we can see that with all the rain it can stress them out trying to keep with the outdoor chores in between raindrops. We like the fact that there is Free Wi-Fi and we use our satellite dish but we did sign up for cable TV also. As far as the pool goes there has been so much rain in June that sometimes the pool had to been chemically shocked to bring it back up to swimming conditions, closing the pool for at least an hour before it can be re-opened; anyone who has a pool knows this. Our friend that visits plans to become a seasonal camper next season and camp next to us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June 2009. It was not worth it and I would not reccomend this park to anyone. It was not maintained well, long grass and old, deserted trailers here and there. The childrens park was a dissapointment although the website appears to be kid friendly. The grass was too long, the swings were old, rusted and uneven. The pool was closed for some strange reason, when we asked about it they said someone put too much chlorine in the pool so they don't seem to really know what they are doing. We were quite literally the only ones here. I did not see a beach within walking distance. Initially the owner was rude and short with us. Very impatient and thought our reservation was for the next day. They did not leave us with a good impression and we even discussed leaving a day early. We did stay the 2 full nights afterall and my husband & I agree the only reason why we had a nice stay was because our trailer is awesome. There were nicer, more poplulated resorts in the area that we saw driving in town - would suggest checking out them first. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$31
Our first impression of this campground was that it could use a little TLC. A coat of paint here and there would do wonders for this place. The abandoned motorhome next to the entrance gate should be moved elsewhere. It seems the owners just don't care. The campground is very close to the Interstate with the resulting traffic noise. We will be passing by this one next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
The campground is very clean and quiet. Host was pleasant and curious. Had some sunny and shady sites available. Well kept and neat. The beach was within walking distance. The pool was very clean. Nice weather. That's what so great about NY state. Had no problems. Would recommend to friends and family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Rating of 1 is too high. We attempted to stay here as Passport America guests and were so rudely treated by the owner at the check-in office that we were forced to leave. The "gentleman" expressed the view that Passport America guests were nothing but trouble and didn't want to have anything to do with them. He resented our presence, treated us badly and we left without checking in. I hope no other travellers experience this terrible attitude and customer treatment. I would never go there or recommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Have finally taken a break from the fishing tournaments to post this review. Camping there is great. I go there every summer because it is a quiet place and the host treat me like gold. I usually fish the tournaments on the lake but have decided to bring my family there for our vacation every fall. It's beautiful. They have all the amenities one would need. The host strictly enforces quiet time which I like. I plan to bring others with me this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Good campground to stay at when exploring the Adirondacks. Stayed for 5 days and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We camped there with our friends who had a pop-up. They gave us premium sites close to each other. We got to talking with the owners and were told they bought the campground in the early part of 2004. This means the bad review posted was in regard to the old owners. The campground is beautiful and clean. Very quiet and peaceful. We found the new owners to be very pleasant and helpful. Our children really enjoyed the pool, large playground and huge club house with a big screen TV. Our children also enjoyed their mini pool table for children. They told us they will have a Mascot in 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We camped at this park and enjoyed our stay very much. Seasonal campers are kept in the back part of the campground. The owners were very nice. The campground is beautiful and clean. It is surrounded by farmland, convenience to interstate highway. They have activities for kids and adults. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
My family and I camped at this park while we were visiting with our families in the area. It is a very quiet, clean and fun campground. We were treated very well by the owners and maded us feel welcome. They told where the area attractions were and even invited us to join in their thanksgiving day dinner in the club house. Met alot of the seasonal campers who like camping there. We enjoyed camping here so much that we signed up to stay another 2 weeks. Will certainly go back next year. We rented one of their camper units in 2005. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
My family and I camp at this park while they were having their Christmas in July. Our children thought it was great. I was a fisherman in BASS Tournament being held on Lake Champlain. The owners went out of their way to make us comfortable during the rainy days that we tented. The park is very peaceful, well kept grounds and ultra-clean bathrooms and showers. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2004
$50
I beg of you!!! If you are a friendly happy going camper then do not go to Shady Oaks Rv Park in Plattsburgh. The staff are rude.. and very controlling. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2004
$50
I was a camper there for 6 years. From 1998 to 2004 New owners took over in 2004 and that is when 70% of the seasonals left. What they had done to me was done by listening to hearsay. The owners kicked me out along with other campers who have been there for many years, saying that we were trouble makers. The sad thing is they took my money 1 week before they evicted me. I took them to court and the Judge was given false and altered documents about me. I didn't have a chance to recover my money and the other campers either. These new owners have abused the park by not cleaning it and treating the campers with rudeness, vulgar language and whatever he says goes. This camp is not family oriented as he screams and yells at the children and they are scared of him. He has creeped around at night listening to fireside conversations and if he doesn't like what he hears he will not let you in the following week. This Park "was" a very friendly park with tons of activities for the kids and adults. Loaded with beautiful trees and people, we all have great memories of being there. Since the new owners took over they have made peoples lives miserable and have lost many of the seasonal camper and they have no more weekend campers. This is not the place to be if your traveling to UpState NY. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2003
$50
The rating just before mine is the owner of Shady Oaks rv Park. This is not the first time she has done this making people believe she is someone else. I just wanted to clarify that. I have seen this many times with her. I have visited this campground and found it to be dirty , not well kept, pool was not even opened in July, the owners were rude and things had to go his way or NO way. I have spoken to people since I was there and have found out that the park is now empty with maybe a handful of people who can't get out. As for the atmoshpere in there it is not good for your health. Most of the regular people want out but have no way of doing so. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I would not ever even mention the name to anyone it is so bad. I can't believe the owners ruined such a nice park in such a short period of time. This park is not family oriented, the owners hate the kids and will not let them play in the park. The rules are outrageous. NOT a good park to be... Please take your camping else where!!!! not to this ghost camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com