206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Buffalo Bill Ranch State Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (308) 535-8035
CGID4260

Buffalo Bill Ranch State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   7   9   10   10   8   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
The sites were easy to back into. There are only two or three water spigots on the park not placed to easily fill up your water tank while on the access road. We appreciated the 50 amp service. There is no dump in the park, but you can drive about 4 miles to use the dump on the north side of Cody Park located on the east side of highway 83 north of town. Maybe Cody Park would be a better place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Campground is located down a gravel road on the back of Buffalo Bill Cody's ranch. All sites are level back ins on gravel with a picnic table and grill. Entering campground, sites on right have 30 amp and sites on left have 30/50 amp. Two sites have water, but there is no dump station. It is a very quiet park and seldom has many campers. It is good for one night to visit Buffalo Bill Cody's ranch house and museum. Price includes $5 daily park pass and $13 for campsite. You pick your site and park, then drop your cash or check in the envelope in the box. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
None of the other reviewers mention this so I will. The toilets are pit toilets, and there is nothing else as far as restrooms and showers. It was okay for a one-nighter, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that there. I was the only one camping, but quiet a few locals came through, parked down at the end and did what, I don't know. There didn't seem to be anything noteworthy to see or do there. No trails, hikes, or whatever. Maybe I missed it. If you seek peace and quiet, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
We used this as an Interstate stopover.. All sites are back-in, but plenty long and level for big rigs. It's right on the North Platte, bring your fishing rods. Minimal shade. Water is only directly available to a few sites and are really communal water stations for all. You have to pay a park fee in addition to the camping fee, which is included in the rate shown. A little hard to find, the road signs are minimal. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$13
Nice campground next to the river and Buffalo Bill's Scouts Rest Ranch. Big sites, but no pull thru's. Half the sites have 30/50 amp electric, the other half only 30 amp. There are 2 water hydrants but no rv dump. This is secluded quiet prairie place to kick back and relax. Recommend you fill and dump before arriving. Sites are gravel with a picnic table and fire ring. Like most state parks in Nebraska, it is self service on check in and a park sticker is required. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
This was really cool thinking that we were camping on part of Buffalo Bill's Scouts Rest Ranch. We were the only people there on a Wednesday in the summer. The campground sits right by the river. The sites are large and angled for easy back-in. The rate reflects the space cost plus $5.00 for Nebraska state park entrance fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
I agree with the previous reviews. We stayed two nites and loved it. It is quiet place, Two sites have water hook-ups. There is also a water hookup in the tent section. Very quiet, but one mile of gravel road. Now is season for fireflies. Check it out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
Very nice campground next to the river. Big sites, all with 30/50 amp electric, but no water or sewer. I saw one water fill, but it's at the end of one of the sites so if someone is parked there I think you're out of luck. Did not see a dump station at all. Recommend you fill and dump before arriving - we used the Flying J southeast of town. Sites are gravel with thick grass everywhere else. Very secluded, quiet and scenic at the end of a mile long good gravel road. Next door to Buffalo Bill's home and close to the Golden Spike Tower at Bailey Yards (highly recommended.) With a water hookup and a dump station this place is an easy 10. We'll return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This was our destination for a night, but it is closed due to the North Platte river flooding. Be sure to call before traveling to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$11
There is a one mile drive on a gravel road to reach this park. You also park on gravel. Sites are level, there's very little shade, and there are picnic tables on site. We did not venture into the bathrooms but they do have some. No dump is available so dump before you get there. There is a spot where you can fill-up your freshwater tank. Half the spots are 50 amp, half are 30 amp. The "park" was about 20% full when we were there on an August weekend. It is a quiet, safe place to stay for as long as it takes to fill up, and empty your waste tanks. The close by river is a nice place to sit in the afternoon and fish or read a book. You certainly can't beat the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
Pretty nice campground. Nice quiet area. Didn't use the facilities. Spent a weekend here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
We stayed for one night on our way to our destination, and found the campground to be clean and maintained. Road and sites are gravel, and sites are level. No amenities like wifi or cable but did have electricity, and water is available. Very quiet at night which was a plus. Only negative was the locals who come to fish in the river speed thru the campground. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
This was a nice little park and quiet when we were there. It is along the North Platte River. There was grass between the sites but you parked on gravel. We really liked this little park but the only concern that we had was the number of hunters that drove slowly through the park. We expected a gun to go off any time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$10
Great spot for a nice quiet overnight. It's a ways off the Interstate, and has a long gravel entry road. Other than that, I agree with the other reviews. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$10
Very nice park. Agree with previous review with the exception of train noise. Far as we can tell the trains are several miles away. We heard one very faintly during the afternoon we were there. Modern bathrooms are actually pit toilets, though clean and of the newer kind. There are two water spigots if you need water. One is behind site 5 and the other site 19. If you want the sun behind your rig in the afternoon choose the left side. The park is surrounded by a wildlife refuge and acres of corn. We were all by ourselves in blissful peace and quiet. If you've been on I80 all day this is the perfect spot to recuperate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$9
A well-maintained, well-landscaped campground along the North Platte River. Small trees will provide plenty of shade in the future. There is a short walking path on the premises, and there is the opportunity for fishing in an adjacent river channel. Amenities are limited to several water hydrants and a pit toliet, but for $9 a night you can't complain. The only drawbacks were dust from vehicles who failed to observe the 15 m.p.h. speed limit and train noise at night (the world's largest railroad classification yard is located 1 mile away). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com