206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Raton KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (575) 445-3488
CGID4266

Raton KOA

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   7   9   10   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
We have stayed here several times in our travels. The sites and aisles are roomy enough for big rigs. There is a nice fenced in dog run, and a local steakhouse within walking distance of the park. The park is clean and quiet. Not much grass, but that is the climate here. This is a good, reliable place to spend a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Nice clean and quiet overnight stop between Denver and Albuquerque. Pull-thru site was level and all utilities, including Wi-Fi, worked fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
This was a nice clean KOA that was not near the Interstate. The location was great for us. You can walk to a really nice Chinese Restaurant opposite the park as well as a nice grocery store and a gas station that has a Redbox for dvd rental. The owner was friendly as well as the rest of the staff. Bathrooms were clean, but had painted plywood between the stalls so could use an upgrade. This is pretty much a stop over park for a night or two. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Nice park. Unfortunately, it was very muddy due to recent rains. Very pricey for the location. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This a nice stopover on our drive from Albuquerque to Denver. The staff was very friendly. The pull thru sites had plenty of room. The water/electric only sites aren't as spacious and they don't have cable or Wi-Fi. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Nice campground with large gravel level sites. Utilities well placed. Hosts are very nice and helpful. No trees and no dog park. Our second stay here and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Well organized for large motor homes with pull throughs. Gravel, no shade. Dog run was outer perimeter, not fenced. Available for purchase. Was pancakes and sausage for breakfast in the club house. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This a fairly typical , small, KOA. It is an older facility that is easily accessible from the Interstate. The park looks old, with a permanent camper at the entrance with a tarp on the roof and a car next to it with the hood open. It is far enough away from the highway so traffic noise is not that apparent. The roads and sites are crushed gravel and are flat. Both are just a bit on the narrow side. Wires criss-cross the park. We had barely a foot of clearance under the wires at our site. Sites, mostly pull-through, had picnic tables on gravel, but you couldn't tell which table went with which camper as we were parked "nose to tail" with another camper and shared the open space. Tent sites have some grass. I could not examine the laundry or restrooms because they were still closed for the winter. There is a grassy dog walk area along the perimeter, but they do not have an enclosed run. However, there is one "deluxe" site enclosed by a chain link fence. They would not let us use it as a dog run, so I am not certain if someone camping there could have a loose pet in the area. There is a nice playground for children and horseshoe pits, but no swimming pool. Cable TV and free WiFi were adequate. Our satellite TV did get reception. This is not a top pick for us and we would probably try another park in the area the next time we visit. I am marking it down for closed restrooms, no dog park, low overhead wires and the run-down first impression. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Nice clean park, gravel sites, basically a large flat area with hook ups and picnic tables. Friendly staff. No designated/enclosed pet area but used an open large fence enclosed RV space at the back of the park - worked great and the owners had no issues with us using it. This park was perfect for what we needed, a nice, comfortable place to overnight on our trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Owners extremely nice and accommodating Park is very clean, nice wide and LEVEL sites. Convenient to super market and other stores. Definitely will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Clean, quiet, overnight campground. Great staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
OK for an overnight. Basically a parking lot with hookups with very little greenery. Some small trees. Some perks like ice cream in the afternoon and breakfast offered in the morning. Friendly staff with escort to site. Level gravel sites with good length. Good water pressure, and we had no problem with electric. Very close to neighbor but with picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Very nice hosts who gave us escort to our site. Sites were wide, level, and long so we didn't have to unhook. Trees, grass, and shade were sparse, but this is an arid part of the world. Ice cream offered in the evening, pancakes in the morning. Minimal road noise at night. Water pressure and quality was good, but power fell below safe levels when everyone pulled in and turned on the a/c in the 90 plus temperature. Nice nearby restaurants and refueling opportunities. We would certainly come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Sites are in a large gravel area, very spacious and mostly level, plenty long enough not to have to unhook. A few trees, but not much shade. Good hookups. Hosts were very friendly and escorted us to site. 24 Cable TV channels. They use Tengo Internet for Wi-Fi, and I was surprised, but it worked excellent. Nice restrooms, showers, laundry room. All well maintained. No complaints, easy access. Super Saver Grocery store across the street, and can walk to a few restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
Typical KOA with gravel roads and site, but it is all level. Good hookups and long pull throughs so that you do not have to disconnect the toad. Owners are very friendly and take you to the site and then come back later to make sure everything is OK. Nice burger/bbq/steak restaurant a few minutes walk from the park, with a 10% discount for KOA residents. Far enough off the highway so there is no road noise. This is a regular stop off for us on our way back to Denver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Friendly staff at check in. We were led to our site and asked if they could help us with anything. Site was level and hookups were good. Not much road noise. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Okay for overnight. Gravel and dusty. Permanent RVs in not very good condition. Enough room for bigger rigs to pull in and not have to unhook towed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is a good basic KOA located about half way between Denver and Albuquerque on I-25. The facilities are clean, the Wi-Fi very good, and you're near everything in Raton. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
Restrooms and showers were clean. The site was level, gravel surface and hard. The site was long and wide with ease of access throughout with park road gravel. The internet was good. It was in town but quiet and had sufficient light. The staff was friendly and the park well maintained. We were just passing through to Eagle Nest and only stayed overnight but could leave the car hooked up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Convenient to highway - good over nighter. Nice owners who care about condition and environment of their park. They offer ice cream at night and pancakes in the morning! Sites are close to each other. I stayed two nights, but 90% were over nighters. It got full each night. Clean bathrooms and showers were convenient to sites. Not too pet friendly, but dog walk was okay. Good utilities and close to stores. Recommend visiting nearby Capulin Volcano - nice scenic road and interesting national monument. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This park is in the heart of the small city of Raton. As KOA's go, it is fine but not exceptional. All hookups work fine and our site was just a bit off level. Wifi was good and free and there is cable but we did not use it since we have our own satellite system. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
The friendly staff sold ice cream ($.50) in the evening and pancakes & coffee ($2)in the morning. Trees are still short so little shade. Wi-Fi worked. Enjoyed our stay and would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Good RV park. Nothing great, nothing bad. Convenient to I-25 and downtown Raton and local dining and shopping. Gravel roads and sites. Ours was level and others appeared to be. Very quiet. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
The gravel roads are in good shape. The sites were easy-in, easy-out. The cable quality was excellent. The site was level. The water pressure was excellent. It was a bit pricey, as all KOA's are, but if I can just pull in, set up easily, and pull out, it's worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice park, good views, great cable and level sites. We stayed here one night. The management was very accommodating and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
Can't beat this KOA for the price. Nothing fancy, but very large sites. Owners/workers very friendly. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We stay here every year first few years in our fifth wheel and the last year in our truck camper on our way south for the winter and going back to Co. in the spring. As you can see we are "snowbirds". The people here are very friendly and will do whatever they can to insure you a pleasant stay. We have been staying here since they have started and look forward to seeing them each time and their improvements. Would recommend them to anyone passing thru Raton. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a nice place and the staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Raton KOA and felt welcome right away. The hosts were kind and helpful and the campground was very clean. My daughter especially enjoyed their charming playground with wooden fort and stagecoach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Got a warm welcome when we arrived. We had called ahead to make a reservation. The office was clean, with some modest supplies for sale. We were shown to our site, which was right next to the bathhouse. Since it was so convenient, I did try out the bath house and found everything clean and comfortable. There was a very small grass spot beside the site for our dog, and a longer walk area along the back road. We saw deer in the field behind the park. Pleasant for a one-nighter. A couple of good restaurants nearby, as well as a grocery store. Wi-Fi and cable worked easily. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Good for an overnight. Friendly, helpful staff. Utilities worked well and were well located, Wi-Fi and cable were good. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
First of all, this park is in a mosquito infested field. Bring LOTS of bug spray. We could not enjoy the cool evenings because in the infestation. There were a lot of unsavory looking characters living in the permanent trailers to the point where I felt unsafe using the showers. We only had Wi-Fi for one day which was very inconvenient. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This park is ok if you just need a place to park for a couple of days. It's quiet, all the hook ups are good and Wi Fi was OK. It's also convenient to a grocery store and fuel stations. On the down side, it turns into a mud hole when it rains. The gravel has sunk into the soil in many places and you end up with mud puddles. We have a white dog and it was impossible to keep him clean and stop him from tracking dirt into the rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Conveniently located to I-25 on BL-25 just south of the city's visitor center in a commercial shopping/restaurant district. Staff is exceptionally friendly. Park is almost entirely gravel (exception: tent, play, and dog walk areas where there is grass). We were placed on the northwest corner of the park near an intersection (hog wire fence separates the park from the outside world). Teens drove up and down the road outside the park with boom speakers on so loud our camper actually trembled. Hookups were fine. We had to use the dump station, which was placed in a way where you had to loop around through other campsites to situate the camper for the drop. Poor planning. If we came to Raton again, we would choose another location for a better-than-a-camp-lot experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We spent one night in the campground while traveling. Sites were gravel and level. Site accommodated our coach and vehicle in tow. Hosts were cordial, led us to the site, and helped us park in the right spot for hookups. Electric and sewer were well placed and in good condition. Water hookup required a second hose to reach for our site and vehicle. Pet walk is ample grass area near the back fence of the park. We have stayed there twice and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This KOA is well kept. We parked in our 45 ft Motorhome, pulling pickup behind , and did not have to unhook for an overnight stop.The staff were helpful and friendly. Park is close to shopping and downtown. All roads in and out of town were easily accessible. We were here on a weekend and park was very busy but still quiet. Would stop again and recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
Easy in for an overnight. Pleasant helpful staff. Great water pressure and steady electricity. Quiet neighborhood. We will stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We stayed one night on July 3. The pull-through sites are plenty long (pickup, fifth-wheel and cargo trailer.) Some grass was green but most was brown buffalo grass which just needed water to perk up and be green. Campground is fairly quiet and seems to be safe. Ice cream social on Friday night was almost cancelled due to rain, but the owner persisted and even went to get additional flavors. Pancakes on Saturday morning were hot and delicious. Owners are courteous and work to make your stay pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This campground is older but it's really clean. The people in the office are extremely friendly and helpful. We felt safe at this campground. We stayed one night as we were passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We camped here because the weather was too bad to go to our favorite boondock site topside at Sugarite State Park. This is an older KOA. The staff was very friendly. The park and the site were very easy to get into. There was no road noise. All the hook ups worked, as did WiFi. We spent 2 nights. Dogs were all kept on leashes. Everything was clean. I would stay here again if I couldn't get in to Sugarite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
This is not your basic KOA, nothing special about it but it works for us when we travel through the area. We used it twice this trip, coming and going. Our sites where long and very wide, mostly dirt and gravel. The power lines to the site are overhead which seems odd but they work fine. Wi-Fi was good. The host/owners are very nice and helpful. One of them was out in the pouring rain helping people so they didn't have to get wet. This park seems to be mostly over nighters. We will use the park again. The price was good for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
We camped here two nights: one going to Colorado and the other coming back, about 11 days later. We find it to be reasonably sufficient for a one night stay. Staff were friendly to us and we were escorted to our site by one of the staff. Our sites were easy to pull into and get out of, as they had plenty of room. We were able to get wifi and cable tv ok at our site. If we need to stay here again as a waypoint on one of our trips, would do so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
I agree with the previous poster on the basic facilities. I wanted to add that the advertised free WiFi was essentially unusable. It was so weak in the middle of the campground I could not make an Internet connection. I called the office and they were no help and seemed not to care. If you advertise you have free WiFi it should work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
I hate to give this KOA such a low rating because the owners/staff were so nice when we checked in, but it really is not very attractive. The whole place is dusty gravel. Sites are narrow, and ours was side-by-side putting us very close to our neighbor. The restrooms were old and worn but looked clean. Cable TV had good reception and lots of channels, but the free Wi-Fi was very weak. One area (possibly for tents) did have some large trees, and there was a descent looking playground, but this did not make up for the overall look of the park. We would choose somewhere else next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
We've stayed here before and it's OK for an overnighter. Nice management. Lots of road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Camp ground was clean. Bath house and laundry room was clean. Friendly staff. Plenty of room for big rigs. Nice little town to visit. Would stay again but not eat at K Bob's again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Very basic campground. Ok for overnight stay. Staff friendly but not very helpful. Our truck broke down and we needed a dealership for parts and repairs. Staff couldn't even tell us if a dealership was in town nor did they offer any assistance to us during our 3 day stranded/stuck here stay. Office closes for hours during the day. Cable connection didn't work at our site. (800) 562-9033 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Nice older park. Family owned and very friendly and helpful. Escort to our site stayed to make sure hook up went smoothly. No real amenities, but excellent park for "passing through" overnight. Easy to maneuver our 40 foot motorhome with toad into pull through site. At one dollar to wash and fifty cents to dry, this is the least expensive laundry we've ever seen in an RV park. Our rate was with the KOA "Value Card". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The park is an older park but has taken out every other site so that there is plenty of room between sites. We had a wonderful experience here and would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Neat and clean RV park with gravel roads and driveways; some grass between the water and electric sites. All sites are quite narrow and would feel cramped when they are all in use. WiFi at the edge of the park was weak and intermittent. Stores are near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Nice,Clean,Quiet,Far enough off interstate to be quiet,Close enough to be quick in and out.Close,Walking distance to restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Perfect for a overnight stay. This clean park is right off 1-25, near restaurants and shopping. All gravel sites with pull thrus. Very welcoming staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
This park was clean and had a great staff. I will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
The staff was extremely friendly. Not much grass. It rained and was muddy. I was in a back space and didn't get Wi-Fi. Nice quiet park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The park is good for a overnight site. It rained very hard most the day & night, so we didn't wander around the park to check it out. We were parked near some long term sites and there was a lot of noise with them coming and going. The WiFi didn't work in the park, they told us it only works in the laundry room. The staff wished a happy trip on our way out, nice staff. We would stay here again if we need too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
The campground manager was exceptionally helpful in assuring that our hookup went smoothly as well as suggesting sites of local interest. This park is in town and convenient to stores and restaurants. The sites are gravel, somewhat close together but far enough from the highway to be quiet. Raton has a small but very interesting store-front museum across from the Amtrak station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Dismal. Just an overnight site. Good 50amp and good wi-fi. Dirt, dirt, dust. And Raton has very little going to it. If only there were a nicer park nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
Excellent service, friendly staff. The hookups in the area we stayed were side-by-side, which I don't like, but these were staggered and had a wide space between curbside of RVs. WiFi had the speed of dialup but did work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This campground had the nicest people running it I have come across in a while. However, as are most KOA"s, this one is simply worn out. The showers were clean, but it took 20 minutes to get any hot water, and when it came it was a mist instead of a spray, due to the worn out shower heads. The whole place was clean, but no pool, no pavement, worn out electrical boxes. The poor old campground is just plain worn out. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
The park is not much to look at, but it is a really nice place to stay. The husband & wife team, are a lot of fun and very knowledgable about the area. There are a lot of things to see in the Raton area and the owners can point you in any direction you want for sightseeing. The sites are VERY easy to get into and level. The park pretty much fills up every night so during the season if you want a spot, either get there early or have a reservation. When they install their swimming pool &/or hot tub, things will be very nice. The voltage was very good and the only argument we have at all is that we could never get the WiFi to work. My computer could see it, but was never able to hook up to it. That is something that needs to be addressed since they advertise "free WiFi"! We will stay here anytime we are passing through the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
Owners were the friendliest and most helpful I have ever seen. Within walking distance to restaurants. I would have given it a 10 if the wifi had not been so bad. Had to sit outside of the rig to be able to stay connected. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Spacious campground. Friendly staff. RV park offers basketball court, playground, arcade game room with pool table & horseshoes. Pancake breakfasts & ice cream socials are available in season & on holiday weekends. Also, cabins are available as is a laundry room & gift shop. We were passing thru Raton & the campground provided a quiet & satisfactory place to stop & spend the evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2005
$26
This is a very nice, quiet place to stay. It is far enough from the Interstate that there is minimal traffic noice. The owners are a husband and wife team that go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com