206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Rocky Gap State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (888) 432-2267
CGID4267

Rocky Gap State Park

Camp Information
Sites
279
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   9   10   6   10   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Paid MD Gold Pass rate. If you are a Senior it is worth the $10 to get this pass as we saved more than $10 in one night. Nice level site. Only problem was we were not given a gate pass and no message was left at gate when they closed. Luckily another camper let us in so we could get to the site we already paid for. Would definitely stay again as very easy off-on from I68 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
Great state park. Easy access with hiking, swimming, lodge, and casino. Would definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
There was no laundry. I felt it was overpriced (especially off season) for what we received. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Stayed in Ash loop which offers electric. No water or sewer at individual sites, but several water spigots are located around the loop for filling up on your way in or periodically during your stay. Bathhouse at center of loop is updated and clean, and offers a convenient area to wash and rinse dishes. Most sites are deep (our site was a good 75 feet from the loop road to the back) and very private. Some of the activities include the lake (swimming, fishing, boating), playground, nature center, aviary, and lots of hiking trails. Overall great family campground, even if there is no water/sewer at the site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
This is a great state park. The beach was clean. The site are very big and spaced far apart. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
A reservation fee of over $4 is charged no matter how you access the park. We drove in without reservations and the fee for that 1s $4.51 + the campsite fee = $33 for 30 amp power and NOTHING else. On-line it says 30 foot length limit, but all you have to do is say that. We are 38' and got a site. The litter in site 8 was excessive. And the trimming of the bushes leaves a lot to be desired. It's a beautiful park and the sites seem quite private. The rules go on and on. For example NO adult beverages allowed except in your MOTORHOME. Not even in you TRAILER! Strange. It's quiet and there is lots of growth, but we would not return based on the price and lack of upkeep. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
We visit this State park regularly. It has always been a favorite. Bathrooms/showers have been remodeled and are always clean. There is only one electric loop so you have to reserve early to get in the electric loop. There are loops that are pet friendly. The beach area is clean with a play area for kids. Pretty much all the sites are well maintained and level. There are sites for all size rigs as well as tent sites. Lots of trails to walk. The local Cumberland area has a train ride and newly renovated downtown area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Beautiful State Park nestled in the mountains. We stayed in the Ash Loop (A) which had electric. Sites may be close together, but you never see your neighbor through the trees, etc. Very private. Well maintained bathhouse with lots of hot water and super clean. Beautiful lake is available for swimming, boating (electric only motors), and fishing. Canoe rental available. Snack bar and well stocked camp store. Firewood available at both registration office and Camp Host site. Am planning a return trip to really see the park in good weather. (It rained the entire 3 days we stayed here, but we still enjoyed it). We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
The only thing making this park less than a 10 IMO is that it is a bit expensive for just power in a state park. Everything else, for a state park, is about as good as it gets. We were very early in the season. Only one loop open and only 4 other campers in that loop. Very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Wonderful state park, with very clean facilities and gorgeous scenery. We love this campground! Plenty of shade and privacy in our site. The campground beach was very nice and the water in the lake was cool and clear. Canoes and kayaks are available for rental. There is a great little camp store stocked with just about anything you might need. There is a nice little nature center near the beach and the aviary is just a short drive from the campground in the day use area of the park. This campground is a big favorite of ours! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
The only item keeping this park from a perfect 10, IMO is the price above $20 for dry camping. As fare as facilities go, everything is perfect. I paced one back-in site nearby, at over 100' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
The sites are level and huge. And there are lots of trees and shrubs between each site. I was in site 29 and felt like I was the only one in the park due the abundance of growth between each site. There was a nice gravel path to the bath house. And the bath house and showers were heated. There was lots of hot water, too. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I love state parks. They really kept it clean. Not busy at all. We are from Mo. and if it wasn't so far, we'd be back in a flash. Great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We'd give it a 10 except that quiet hours were not well enforced. We were in the Ash loop - the only electric loop - site 6. Our site was very private, but the loud partying noise from #4 was very audible in the quiet hours. We were close enough to the newly renovated bathrooms, which feature a family room (unfortunately often used by non-handicapped singles . . .) and a nice dish sink. We were within a 10 minute walk of the beach area and camp store. We could easily pull an all-terrain wagon down the paths and onto the beach. There were family activities on this holiday weekend like crafts, ice cream social, musicians performing. Cumberland was a short drive away for the fireworks and restaurants. We'll definitely return to this beautiful, relaxing, family-fun park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Great State Park sites were shaded and level. We stayed in the Ash section with electric and pets are allowed. Brand new restrooms with showers. We will definitional be back, next time in the fall of the year We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Nice state park in the woods. We enjoyed hiking around and fishing in the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We loved our stay here and look forward to returning since its relatively close (3 hours) to our home. The camp sites are nicely wooded and it was very quiet despite the freeway not being far away. We stayed at one of the rustic sites (no electric sites were available) and would try to reserve in the "A" or Ash electric loop next time. In addition to having the electric convenience, it's closer to the lake. A ranger mentioned that the electric sites might not have power from mid-October through the late Spring of 2009 because of some bathhouse renovations that are slated for that period, but said to call and check with the office to make sure. They were also considering the possibility of keeping one loop open during the winter this year (again, call the office to double check). The lake has a nice, wide beach area. Dogs are not allowed on the sand, but there are cute, shaded, 'love seat' wood swings on the lawn nearby where you can sit and take in the view with your pet (and a beloved human :) The 5 mile loop trail around the lake is lovely. The only downside was that we could not get a strong WiFi signal on our Verizon EVDO card here or at any of the nearby open areas. The town of Cumberland (about 10 minutes away by car and within biking distance for strong cyclists) offers an assortment of dining opportunities and a few art galleries and interesting shops. Lastly, I loved that this state campground doesn't charge extra fees for booking online. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Beautiful state park. We will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Park and campgrounds are beautiful. We stayed in the electric loop and had a pull-thru site which was very spacious and private. The only negative was that the bathroom and shower house in our loop was not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
This has got to be one of the best state parks that we have tried. We stayed in the Ash loop, which is the only electric service loop in the campground. Our site (#27) was a tad on the tight side for a 30 foot motor home and the fire pit was very close to our rig. That is the only reason I did not give the park a 10 rating. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed hiking the lake loop trail which is easy and scenic. Also, we noticed a fair amount of patrolling by the park staff (a good thing). We hope to return in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
We loved this park from the moment we drove in. Off season it works on the "honor system"; drive in, pick your site, and please pay for it. We did. Site was very large, surrounded by woods. If you're looking for nature, great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Sites are very clean and very private. They are surrounded by woods and woodland plants. We also enjoyed hiking around the lake and stopping at the lodge for a relaxing moment longing and overlooking the lake. Did not play golf, but it looks very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
This park has a large number of trees and heavy woods to park under. All roads were new blacktop. All sites are gravel and not a lot of sites are level. You have 30 sites in loop "Ash" that have 30 amp power and no water. All other sites are tent sites with no power or water. Ash loop sites are $30.00 with 30 amps. Sr. Citizens get it for $15.00 from Sunday-Thurs only. No discounts Friday-Sat or Holidays. No road noise here. Park is 10 miles east of Cumberland. Large 245 acre lake with a very large white sand beach. Large amount of playground equipment at beach for kids to play on. Boats for rent on lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
On Lake Habeeb reservoir, off I-68 just east of Cumberland, this large campground is divided into 9 loops, only one having electric hook-ups and two allowing pets. All the sites were nicely wooded, on stone dust pads with gravel drives and with plenty of room between them. Each site had a picnic table, fire ring and lantern post. Each loop had a bathhouse. Ours was well-used, but clean and well-supplied, as well as handicap accessible. A trail runs through the campground (open to hikers and mountain bikers) and goes completely around the lake. Beaches, fishing and boat rentals are available in this scenic park, and there is a golf course and Lodge as well. We had dinner in the restaurant there one evening; it was pricey, but the lakeside dining room had a wall of windows with a wonderful view. The staff in the campground office and our loop’s resident campground host were helpful. The place was practically deserted after Labor Day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com