214402 User submitted reviews online!!
Versailles State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (812) 689-6424
CGID4281

Versailles State Park

Camp Information
Sites
226
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   8   8   7   7   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
This is a nice park with all sites paved and all roads paved as well. Again, be aware most Indiana state parks don’t have water or sewer available at the sites, and this one was no exception. However, there are plenty of water filling stations throughout the park. Real negative about this park is the dump stations. They have only one station with two pipes. You will wait a while on a Sunday with only having one station. They really need to add more. We stayed in the B loop site 116. Nice site tucked into the woods. They are attempting to grow grass on this site, and had hay down. This is probably a hard task with all of the tree cover and constant foot traffic in and around the site. Stay away from Loop A if you have a larger rig (20+ft) as it is super tight and all the perimeter sites are best suited for pop ups. The interior sites are not quite as shady, but still have big trees. The C loop has some nice sites, but be aware that many of those perimeter sites have a large sloping driveway and would be difficult for a larger trailer to get level. I believe the tongue of the trailer would be on the ground and the back of the trailer a good 3-4 ft high in the rear. It was a holiday weekend so it was very busy, but not overwhelming. The bathhouses are older, but seem to be cleaned a few times a day. The pool is nice. They have a huge lake and multiple playgrounds in and around the park. We will stay here again I am sure, just wishing the state would pony up and install water at all of the sites. AT&T wireless has 5 bars and Verizon has 3 bars. Beware that some of the sites will not have access to the southern sky due to trees. Site 166, however, faced Southwest and made it easy to find Directv satellites. One more thing, they charge $7.00 to enter the park, not included in your paid camping fees, and the pool is $3.00 per day to use it as well. The pool is a good 5 min drive from the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This park has very shady sites as well as some that are out in a field. Unfortunately, the shady sites that we liked are very low compared to the surrounding ground and fill up with water during a heavy rain and thus stay muddy. We stayed in the B loop and enjoyed our stay minus the mud. The A campground is super tight on all the perimeter sites and are best suited for pop ups. The interior sites are not quite as shady, but still have big trees. C loop was not really that appealing to us. Too much out in the open. This place was full to the gills and had kids and adults on bikes all over the place, so much so it was hard for my four year old to even try to ride his little bike. That's not necessarily a bad thing I guess, but if you don't have kids you may not like this. No water at each site either, but random hookups throughout are conveniently located. We would return but not until the summer crowd is gone. The lake and surrounding area is beautiful We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Great park with nice campground. 3 different loops, A, B and C. A-Loop is the older and original campground with smaller sites, a little more hilly, and mostly wooded. Great for tent campers and small travel trailers or pop-ups. B&C-Loops are newer, mostly level, and not as wooded/shaded. Sites here are bigger though. Good hiking trails in the park and in the summer time there is a nice pool with water slide and high dive boards. Only thing missing here are water hook-ups at each of the sites, other than that we love this park and campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We stayed here overnight and really enjoyed this park. You need to have your own source of water as the only hookup is for electric. There are several campgrounds pretty much in "pods", so you can select a variety of sites from flat and open to hills and trees. We definitely plan on staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
It is a well maintained park in a beautiful rural setting. It features good sized, fairly level lots. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
A nice campground with spots well spaced. Great bike trails and hiking trails along with a nice lake. Would prefer water and sewer sites, but overall very nice. Only downfall is paying $7 to get into the park and then paying for your nightly camping rate also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Campground is very clean and well laid out. The draw backs to this campground are: 1) $7 entry to the park, 2) Park ranger will come around at 10:30 to 11:00 pm and tell everyone he's had complaints on you being loud and this is you're last warning. Just over managing to me: I was camping with my wife and 1 other couple, how loud can we be? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This park is 30 min from our house. We go all the time to get away from work. Everyone is nice friendly. Kids can run around freely. There are hiking trails and bike trails. Plenty of creek crossings for hikers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Overall a very nice campground for camping (versus tourist activities or boating). Even though an older campground, it was well maintained and the facilities were well kept. We did not have an opportunity to frequent the pool even though we visited in July the temperatures didn't exceed seventy-five, but it looked nice. All three sections of the campground seemed nice. Section A had some topography to its sites while Sections B and C were rather flat. We stayed in Section B. The sites were large enough to provide privacy. We explored the hiking trails which were nice for beginner hikers and not overwhelming while offering nice views of the lake and creeks. The only possible negative was that the camp store was down by the paddle boat rentals on the lake, which required getting in your vehicle to visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Another nice Indiana State Park Campground. Hosts were very nice and facilities, although older, were very nice. Pool area was also very nice and clean. If you have a larger trailer/5th wheel, be careful if you make a reservation in campground A. It is very tight with a lot of trees. Although we reserved through the on line system and designated a 35' trailer, it gave us site 69 which was very difficult to enter/leave. Campground B is much more open and easier to navigate for a larger unit. We would definitely camp here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Overall a very nice campground. The place is divided into three sections. Section A has the most trees and the least amount of grass. Section B is mainly shaded around the perimeter with smaller trees in the center, and seemed to be the most popular place to be on the weekend we were there. Section C may have a better mix of sun and shade but I noticed a lot of sites that were flooded or extremely muddy and so that section was nearly empty. There had been several days of heavy rain prior to our arrival and I noticed a lot of standing water in general. Sites are well spaced with paved parking pads and electric hookup only. There are a few pull thru sites, but the majority are back-in spaces and some have a considerable slope. There are several playground areas, one near each sub-camp. When I checked the restrooms for this review they were clean, though I thought the open locker room style shower should be reworked into something more private. There is a camp store, though it is a several mile drive from the actual campground. Roads within the camping areas are mostly single lane, yet allow two-way traffic. The angle of parking areas for campsites in relation to the road seems to be a bit random, so a first time visitor might have to pass up their site, find a place to turn around, and come back from the opposite direction in order to back in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
We have camped at this campground many times and this is a great campground, it would get a 10 if it had water hookups. They have 3 different campgrounds and most all sites are paved pads. Great bike riding campground. Lots of big shade trees in campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Very nice park with sites that give you plenty of room. We camp here several times per year. Wish they would install water hookups at sites. Only drawback is that after paying $25/night to camp, you still have to pay $7 to get into the campground/park on the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
The nicest state park campground we have visited in six years. We stayed during the week, so crowds were not a problem. The grounds were spotless, we saw employees out cleaning and mowing often. The restrooms and showers were clean. The swimming pool is large and there were five lifeguards on duty at all times we were there. The majority of the sites are large and most were fairly level. Loops A & C have lots of established trees that give good shade. Loop B had younger trees and not as much shade. We enjoyed the hiking and mountain bike trails. Indiana seems to be a "Pay to Play" state as we had to pay a $7 vehicle entry fee (one time) and $2 per person pool entry (each day). When you consider the site fee, it is still very reasonable. For a family camping trip, this is a nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
The Park was beautiful and clean. Our site (49) was, for the most part, in the shade, which we really enjoyed. The biggest issue we have with the park was that nothing was very convenient except for bath and shower rooms. For instance we have small children. The playgraound from our camping spot was a very good walk if not a very short (2-3 minutes) car ride. Would make better sense to have this in the middle of our camping area not all the way up to the front towards the entrance. Also the camping store is for sure a car ride as it is over by the lake and pool. With young children the only thing we could do was hike or let the kids ride their bikes or play with their toys. Pretty much had to hop in the car to take them anywhere. All in all though it was a very nice camping area and we would return. DNR staff were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$22
Very nice campground. The sites are pretty large and spread out. Great pool for summer. This is a nice campground to ride bikes also. If there were water hookups, I would give it a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We spent the weekend here in a tent trailer. The sites are nice and roomy. The bathrooms and showers were pretty clean most of the time, but needed some touch ups. There are boat rentals, bank fishing, horseback riding and hayrides on Saturday nights. Our family enjoyed our time there and will go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
We enjoyed this park a lot. The sites are very large and well maintained. We stayed in loop A. The only downside to this area is that the road in is very narrow. There are some good hiking trails available and a very nice lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
We stayed in Electric B. Very spacious sites, very clean. Bathrooms are OK with shower shoes on, could use some paint and cleaning a little more often. We use the toilet in our camper. Attendants are very helpful and nice. We stay here quite often, just can't give a 10 because of the showers. This is a VERY BIG pet peeve of mine; bathrooms. Bring firewood, no place local to get a good quantity. Gas stations have those little bundles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
Very nice state park. We camped in Loop B which have the largest sites I have ever seen. Lots of shade. Park has lots to offer: Pool (in season) with slide, boat rental (canoes & paddle boats), Saddle Barn with Hayrides on Friday & Saturday nights, camp store, nice playground. It is a very family oriented park. The only reason I did not give it a 10 was due to the bathrooms. My husband said we would not like them, so therefore we used the shower and toilet in our camper. I trust his opinion :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com