214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Skowhegan / Canaan KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (207) 474-2858
CGID4333

Skowhegan / Canaan KOA

Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   6   8   9   3   7   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Very friendly staff, nice park layout, with lots of grassy areas for walking four legged friends. Wi-Fi actually worked, not the greatest but it did work. Interior roads a little rough, but we did have 8-9 inches of rain in 3 weeks. Would highly recommend the park. Breakfasts on the weekends were outstanding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
The staff is really friendly and we stayed during the Halloween weekend so there were events like trick or treating and a haunted hayride. Those were well done and well attended. Downside, the sites stink. My site was on a 45 degree slope. We had 3 other family's camping with us and all were on a hill. One of the fire rings were on such a hill that we couldn't keep wood on the fire. The sites are so small that you can't help but intrude on your neighbors. I couldn't set up an easy up canopy without putting half of it on my camper, and the picnic tables are tiny. While I think that the owners do a good job, I don't intend to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a fine campground. Please don't let my low score put you off. I downgraded the campground for two reasons: 1. The public announcements over the outdoor speakers are an unnecessary annoyance. It is nice that they have so many activities for children but announcing each activity when other campers are just trying to relax is not pleasant. 2. The trees drop large amounts of sap on the vehicles. I found over 100 spots on my car and it took me hours to remove them. The office should forewarn the campers about this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Very fast Wi-Fi! Everything else OK. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
We stayed here over Labor Day Weekend. It was chock full of families with kids and pets. It seemed that everyone had a great time. It wasn't a quiet time during the day, but it was at night. We stayed for a couple of days after everybody left, and it was absolutely terrific. Quiet, and lovely. The owners and camp workers were terrific, and we would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
One night stay only - passing through to Canada. I must have caught the staff on an off day as they were not very friendly and very "stand offish" - Nothing special - bathrooms were passable but could use a clean up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This was a nice campground though the loud pager system disturbs the peace and quiet. The fire truck rides blaring their horn for a half hour was also frustrating to some campers. There is plenty for the kids to do with an arcade, slightly heated pool, planned activities, and mini golf. The sites in K section were adequate and had a large spacious area behind them. This is a dog friendly park with lots of dogs around. The hot tub is small, only fitting 3 comfortably. The park rules are quite strict and enforced. The park was clean but wet and muddy mostly due to the New England weather: they could use paving in the park. The wood was not over priced at $4.00 a bundle. I would suggest a visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a nice quiet campground. We would stay here again. There is friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
Showers not clean, lots of hair everywhere. Bathrooms very clean. Trim up the shower curtain, and the water wasn't hot at all. WIFI was excellent, as was the cable tv. Owner very nice, I would suggest that they use walkie talkies instead of a PA system. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Nice staff, who gave a 10% discount to Canadians. Even though it was raining the pool was open, but the pool pavement and stairs was in need of repair. The owner would NOT open the hot tub for the campers on the night we stayed, and NO kids were allowed in it - even with their parents present. The camp store close quite early, but the game room stayed open to 10pm. We might stay here again?? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This is a wonderful RV Park - I wish it were closer to our home because our grandkids would have so much fun here! They offer a cute little mini-golf course, plus badminton, horseshoes, volleyball, etc The owners are terrific, the facilities are spotless - and we really appreciated the dog-friendly hiking trails. We will go out of our way to stay here again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
We passed through here mid week 2 years ago, Loved it so much we wanted to stay for a "Theme" weekend. We picked the Dino weekend for our 7 & 8 year olds, my 16 year old was just happy with the free WiiFi! Has two of the hardest working KOA owners I've met. Always keeping the kids busy and the grounds clean. Well stocked store that doesn't rob you, and they bring the wood to your site. Not far off of route 95 and just a positive feel to the whole place. Want to go back in the Fall! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Great park with extra helpful staff that have a friendly attitude. We reported that the cable was not up to scratch and they bought over a TV to test it (which showed the problem was on our side) then lent us a cable to fix it). There was a theme weekend scheduled for when we were here and they went the extra mile to make sure that it was successful. Not a traditional RV Park layout which adds a bit of interest. Lots of space. Pool and amenities all in good order. Well stocked shop. Only minus is the entry road, which is dirt and lumpy. Would definitely stay again. Wifi excellent and free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
I am not a big KOA fan, but I must say that this KOA is one of the best we've ever stayed in: all up-and-down the Eastern seaboard. The park is spotless, both in terms of sites and restrooms. The staff is friendly and helpful and the free morning paper was really nice. The entrance road is a little tricky and confusing as we had to back out of a neighbor's driveway, but the sites are large and easy to access. Canaan is sort of in the middle of the state, so we spent a day exploring the western mountains in Kingfield and Carrabassett Valley. Very pretty and remote! And about 45 minutes from the park. You are about 1 hour from the coast here, which is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Clean and convenient: nice for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$50
I enjoyed this campground. The owners work around the clock to make sure people are having a good time. The weekend we went, the had a mother's day activity that was really fun. My kids had fun all weekend. I was impressed with the effort the staff during activities. I also loved the cabin, it was very cute. I will go back in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$38
A clean campground. The owners are very helpful and hospitable. We stayed three nights here and is on busy Route 2, but road noise is not noticeable. The only reason a higher rating was not given, is the condition of the entrance driveway, should be paved. Would use again, enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
This is a quiet campground at nite. Sites a liitle close. Owners very helpful and friendly. Free morning newspaper delivered to our site. Wifi is free, and upper front sites have little to no shade; back sites are more quiet and have shade. None are level, as sites are dirt or grass. Back sites also have no cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
We stayed here during a trip across New England. Had I Known how nice this place would be, I would of spent less time in NH & VT. The owners worked so hard I felt tired watching them. The grass was as thick as a rug! Bought wood, the owners son placed it on the quad & brought it to the site. I've stayed at many KOAs up & down the East Coast never felt a warmer welcome & stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
Sparkling clean restrooms. Lots of activties for kids. Friendly, helpful owners. Free newspaper delivered to site. Delivered wood and ice also. Many ongoing improvements since we started camping here 3 years ago. We now have a travel trailer and expect to do more camping here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com