220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Saco / Old Orchard Beach KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (207) 282-0502
CGID4334

Saco / Old Orchard Beach KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   7   7   10   8   10   5   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
As all KOAs we've stayed at this one had a super friendly staff and incredibly clean campground. The sites seemed a bit too close together and the pool was VERY small. For the area it was reasonably priced. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
We have stayed here before and were looking forward to our return this year. We were surprised to learn that the previous owners had suddenly sold the campground, but were relieved to find that the managers from last year were being kept as managers by the new owners. That gave us a good feeling of continuity, which, when we checked in at the campground was confirmed. The new owners are promising improvements to the campground which will take it to the next level, in our opinion. The minor issues that most complain of are some of those that are promised. We'll see. But for now, we're just as happy as we have been in the past with the campground, and will willingly come back to see what improvements have been made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
Sites are pretty close together and we should have requested a different site. Our 33ft 5th wheel was difficult to get on this site with many trees. Once there the campground was typical KOA. Staff was great and escorted to our site. We took day trips and the location was great. Away from the crowded cities but close to things you want to see and do. Thankfully the camper on the next row left before we did which enabled us to cut sideways from our site to leave. Don't use site 22! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Park is in town, but quite. So very close to shopping, restaurants, etc. Roads are paved with gravel sites. Some sites are close together, but long enough for our 37 foot RV. Water, power, and cell good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
We have stayed here numerous times before and keep coming back. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the facilities are always in good shape. We'll be staying again on our way home in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
KOA campground with easy access. Very clean and perfect for kids. Down the street from huge water park. Office staff was very friendly and helpful. Stayed one night and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$129
We didn't bring the motorhome this time to Maine but stayed in a KOA Deluxe Cabin. The cabin was fantastic. Beautiful interior, all the amenities, sparkling clean. Wonderful employees and got a chance to meet the owners. Great people. It's clear they love what they do. Had their blueberry pancakes for breakfast. Just 2 was more than enough they're so big. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Great staff and very helpful. There are so many trees here that it is impossible to get satellite TV. Roads(?) are so narrow and trees so close it is definitely an excellent location to ruin a roof on large RV's. Trees are only trimmed in the spring and fall as per one staff member and tree limbs will definitely drag (mine) taller RVs (12'-6") Another staff member states the owner is very "attached to her trees" Would I stay here again - not if I can find another location - the risk of damaging my RV is not worth the risk. Had to try two sites before we could set up and site 35 is definitely too narrow and tree crowded for any thing larger than a pop up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$64
Overall the stay was pleasant the sites were very nice. I was just taken back by the extra charge for the couple that was with me but, if I had a family of four with me I would of not had that extra charge which made no sense to me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Beautifully clean park. Very helpful and friendly staff. We had our grandson (3) there for Pirate Weekend and he had a blast. Great location for Funtown/Splashtown USA, Aquaboggon, and Old Orchard Beach. They do a fantastic pancake/belgian waffle breakfast EVERY day. Lots of lodging available (cabins, park models, rental trailers). We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Rate reflects KOA card discount. This is our second stay in this park this year. Quick check-in with reservation. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. Pull-through site is plenty long for motorhome and toad, but it is not level. All utilities worked well, including Wi-Fi at site and cable TV. We did not check out bathroom facilities, so can't comment on that. The laundry is great: clean and all six washers and eight dryers worked. This is a very nice campground and I would give it a ten if they would level the sites. We will always choose this park when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
This was a beautiful treed campground handy to to Old Orchard Beach and surrounding area attractions. We like to go antique hunting and this area is full of great treasures. The campground itself does have a shuttle service to Old Orchard Beach for a cost of $2 a person. We enjoyed our stay here. The only complaint we have is that the area we stayed seemed to be an addition to the original campground and going up to laundry was really annoying as it was through a gated area with keys only given to those staying in that part of the park. That being said though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a nice clean KOA with friendly staff and clean restrooms/showers. If you are staying in this park be sure and take in the pancake breakfasts. The pancakes are massive and delicious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$75
Stayed here one night and noticed on check-in the people at the front desk were not very friendly. Once in the park no one was helpful and again the workers were not friendly. I thought KOA parks were known for their happy and friendly faces. The park was not real clean looking because the roads were all dirt with no gravel to help with the dust. The sights were narrow. On the bright side the laundry facility was clean but some of the machines were out of order. I will not stay at this campground again and would not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$49
I'm not sure the previous poster stayed in this campground. We have been here numerous times, and will continue to come back while the current owners are here, even though we could stay elsewhere for less money. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Yes, roads are dirt and big gravel, and, yes, it has been dry here and that usually leads to some dust, but they add more gravel to the roads to cut down on the dust, and they have no control over the rainfall which adds to the dust problem. We have only experienced a "problem" with a narrow site one time, and that was when they accommodated us when they were otherwise full. We have brought family here with us, and rented a small lodge for their grand-kid and nanny, and now they plan on coming back to the lodge for rustic weekends. I only wish that all KOA campgrounds were as nice and predictable as this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We stayed here while visiting the Maine beaches. The campground itself is located within a fairly large town, but you feel like you're in your own little wilderness. It's very clean and well-maintained and the sites are quite large and shaded. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and took the time to chat with us and our kids. They had a small outdoor cafe which served pancakes in the morning, our kids really loved that feature. The biggest hit were the s'mores pancakes! This is a great campground, we plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
We have camped here many times and campground has always exceeded our camping expectations. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners upon each arrival. Sites are always clean, bathrooms extremely clean, pool clean with tables and umbrellas, fun activities for both kids and adults. Campground store is well stocked. Family friendly and quiet. Close to many attractions like ocean, parks, and shopping. Have recommended it to family and friends who have enjoyed the same experience. This is our family's favorite campground. Highly recommend this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Great place in which to visit Old Orchard, Freeport, and Booth Bay. The hosts were friendly and escorted you to your site. The sites were easy to enter and exit. There are many trees for shade but does not cause concern for parking your rig. The internet is only for an hour but you just click back on. It wasn't a problem We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
Very friendly staff. Escort service was great, wide spaces. Nice shady campground in good location for sightseeing. Will return next time we're in Maine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
We have traveled throughout New England for 6 weeks and stayed at a number of KOA's. This was by far the worst. A very crowded campground. Has very narrow sites and little to no gravel on the sites. Thankfully it did not rain. Would not stay here again! I am also complaining to KOA that many of their campgrounds do not have enough GRAVEL. And they are overpriced for what you get. I could handle the over crowded campground, but not the dirty sites with little gravel or pavement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$65
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The amenities were okay. Free Wi-Fi for 1 hour at a time and you had to log back in. Our campsite was narrow and our fire pit ended up under our canopy. So we had to roll it in to have a campfire. I found they were very strict with the quiet hours. So much so that our deaf neighbor was told they would have to leave if he didn't keep the noise down. Yet there was a wild party raging in one of the rental units and the patrol did not stop once to tell them to quiet down. That party went well past 2:00 AM. They don't enforce the early morning quiet times before 8 AM. Also they would not allow a 2 man tent on our site for my son in law who has severe allergies to dogs and he could not sleep in the trailer with us. We had to rent an additional site for him. So if you don't have hearing or health disabilities you will be fine here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$79
Stayed in a beautiful new rental. They call it a studio lodge. Wonderful campground with excellent staff. Met the owners and they are great people. Sat around the campfire and had breakfast at their cafe. WiFi was very good. Nice and quiet, but very close to civilization. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
Campsites were relatively level but with the mature trees overhead, there is no grass. This makes for a very dirty campsite and a lot of dirt tracked into the trailer. The campsites are also very narrow. We didn't experience the electrical problems but would agree that the campsites were rustic. The staff were very helpful and actually escorted us to our site and made sure that we were set up and didn't need anything. There is a trolley service to the area and some activities for the kids. The playground was great for both toddlers and kids. We camped next to the playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Just a fine park. Rate was for a 30amp pull through site without sewer or cable TV. Reflects 10% off for KOA Value Card. Was $7 higher during weekend. Also got a $35 discount for using points from previous KOA visits. A little tight for big rigs (40') but doable. Staff was terrific!!! Only negative: our site somewhat off level, needed blocks under the rear wheels when using auto jacks, to avoid tires in air. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
A difficult dilemma rating this KOA. Yes: the store, pool, snack bar and playground were really nice. The staff was warm and friendly. However, they really only had one modern bathroom and ONE modern shower stall; in the office building near the larger sites. The balance of the showers and toilets were older and farther away. As well, most of the sites were "rough surface" and pretty rustic. The picnic tables were older and a number wobbly. Yes, there is plenty of shade, but many sites were very narrow, with fire pits that ended up under one's awnings. And these were called the premium sites. One fire pit next door was made out of crumbling cement block above ground, the next was completely below ground with a tire ring, easy to step into. Additionally, they were having constant problems handling the electrical load on a mid 80's day; with the power going off (along with the internet access) in different sections, several times in one day. Internet service was flukey as well. Yes: they have a nice shuttle service into town, but they need to do some improvements to the electrical grid and freshen up the sites a bit. Yes: this is a decent campground, close to everything. But, a 9 or a 10? No. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$57
The availability of printed info on local activities is the most complete and well-organized we've ever seen. Staff members abound and are very helpful. We stayed in the front section and in that area, at least, evening lighting was absent. Pricey if not a KOA "member," especially if just parking and not making use of all the many offerings within the campground. We'd stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very nice CG. Helpful, friendly staff and a pleasent location. The CG is sort of tight for us (41') but do-able. The grounds were very well maintained. They have breakfast and dinner at the Merry Moose Cafe. I couldn't leave my site with the truck attached but without it we did fine. We would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Nice park, lots of activities for the kids. Breakfast at the Merry Moose is a must do: wonderful food for very little $$$. Trolly is available to take you to the beach: cost $2.00 roundtrip. Can't beat it, since it's $10 to park at the Old Orchard Beach. Sites are close, but level. Sites are dirt, but kept clean. Roads are well marked, and nicely kept. Laundry is nice, clean and works well. Employees are awesome, very helpful and knowledgable of the area. We would recommend this park and would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
This park is very clean, excellent personnel, very helpful. There seemed to be plenty of activities. A major drawback - the site we were in which was in the back row was very tight. Our awning went over our neighbor's water tap. This wasn't a problem for us since we did not spend any time outside due to several rainy days. WI-FI was low and seemed to disconnect every once in awhile. The site also included cable TV which we enjoyed having. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
We camped here for one night. Price payed included 4 adults and 2 dogs and KOA member discount. We had 5 guests join us for dinner and were not charged extra since it was still off season. Staff was exceptional and very friendly. Roads and some sites have been recently graded and very smooth. Restroom, showers were spotless. Saw many workers around the grounds preparing the campground for the up coming season. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$51
We just left after an extended period of time in this campground. We keep going back because they do everything right. This year was unusually wet and rainy which resulted in puddles in the roads and some of the campsites, but they were filled in as soon as possible. The trees can make it difficult for a large motorhome to maneuver while towing a car, but only in a few spots. The only reason for not rating them as a 10 is that there is always room for improvement. We are already looking forward to our next trip up here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$57
Nice campground in southern Maine with friendly staff, efficient and knowlegable registration staff, shaded sites, free newspaper, plenty of activities for children. Plus the Merry Moose, from where pizzas, breakfast waffles, pancakes, and desserts can be ordered and either eaten at the canopied area or delivered to your site. Location of campground is convenient to all the places one would like to see in and about the area. Quiet in the back area, front area gets traffic noise, but nights are quiet and peaceful. Will definitely stay here if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
This campground is a waste of money and time. Staff is very unfriendly and does not know much about camping. It's located next to an industrial park and a used-car dealer. The camping sites are very poorly maintained. The owner is not interested in fixing problems for campers but is interested in collecting your money. Good luck, I wish you the best. Don't expect much and you will be happy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Stayed here for one night following several in Bar Harbor area. Rain had created puddles, many large, and the site we had was dirt with many large puddles. It was narrow and trees precluded it being a "pull through" as we had to unhook the car. Won't stay here again unless they fill in the depressions that fill with water! Work campers were very nice and helpful. Staff provided great a recommendation for seafood in nearby Orchard Beach: Huot's. Worth going to this area just for that restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This campground was nice, the store was well stocked, the staff were fine. BUT we did have one issue - we booked a year ago our site water and electric - when we arrived we had to pay an additional 3.00 and they would only give us a site with Water electric and sewer. The pool was fine, the campground was clean, washroom were clean. We will stay here again, when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We stayed here one night. It is very Friendly. A nice quiet campground with the standard things to do. All sites very shaded. The only problem is the Mosquitoes which is more of a problem with the state than the campground. It is a 5 minute drive to the ocean. We would stop there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We stayed here 3 nights while visiting Southern Maine. The campground was very nice. The people in the front desk couldn't have been nicer. Every day you get a free newspaper. There is lots of entertainment without leaving the campground including outdoor movies, bingo, crafts for the kids, and they even deliver pizza, ice, wood, and desserts to your door if you wish. It is very well maintained and friendly KOA conveniently just minutes away from the Portland sights, Kennebunk, and the Orchard Beach area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$57
The past reviews obviously were done before this campground fell into disrepair. We made reservations several weeks in advance and were given a site which could not possibly begin to accommodate a 40 foot motorhome. It was full of potholes, large rocks and extremely uneven. They said "Sorry, but that's all we have." Apparently, if you are a seasonal camper, you are given preference. Just getting through the park was a challenge. They evidently do not enforce any rules whatsoever, as there were wash lines everywhere, junk everywhere, outside kitchens with junk piled everywhere. The grass, what there was of it, was a mess. Basically, it was a trashy trailer park. We left, very disappointed and found accommodations elsewhere. I don't know about others, but KOA seems, for the most part to be going down the tubes. I doubt, with the exception of one or two KOA's across the nation, we will not be using them again. AND they were charging an outrageous rate per nite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$39
A very pretty park and very friendly staff. Pull-through sites were a tad bit wider than most KOAs and beneath lots of beautiful trees. Super clean restrooms, but showers were in their own "rooms" that were unheated--fine for most of the year, but a bit cold in October mornings. A great daily breakfast offered at a reasonable price with fantastic pancakes and waffles. Cable TV worked great, and wi-fi was good initially, but then broke down during the weekend I was there and park staff were never able to fix it in the remaining 2 days I was there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$63
This campground was very nice for a KOA however way over priced. The first thing to turn us off was the charge per kid. Price only includes 2 adults as a family. No kids. I was disappointed in that. Should include at least 2 adults / 2 kids. Other than that everything was good. Drive thru sites outback are huge. Plenty of room for camper and 2 cars. Campground staff were very friendly and plentiful. Nice snack bar and store. Didn't use pool although it looked a bit small however clean. Water park outside gate in Saco. Easy and close to beach. Nice campground. We would return and can only hope they change their family policy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$52
My husband and I absolutely loved this campground. Relatively small, extremely well cared for, bathrooms spotless, and staff were exceptional. They offer blueberry pancakes or waffles every morning (additional charge) that were outrageous. The only complaint we had was that the space they assigned us for our fifth wheel was too tight and we could not open up our awning completely. Other than that, we can't wait to return to spend another week there. Great location! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
This is the only park I have rated a ’10.’ From the moment we arrived, the staff treated us as family. The office has a room full of brochures for sightseeing as well as hand-typed directions to the most popular places. The park is a typical KOA with lots of trees, but I have never seen one so well-maintained. There were pots of flowers and blooming beds scattered throughout the park, and everything was clean and orderly. The wi-fi worked well and is free to boot. The tall trees prevented us from getting a TV satellite signal, but they do have cable. The laundry was clean and reasonably priced. Normally I feel KOAs are overpriced, but our rate reflects one of their “hot deals,” which covered almost the entire month of June. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
We camped here with a NAFCA group. The staff was great. Very clean grounds. Some of the sites are tight for big rigs but will fit. The pool was sparkling clean. Pool rules are enforced. Great pancake breakfast. Prices are cheap for the amount of food you get. The sites in the front of the campground are close to the main st. We stayed to the rear of the property and it was pretty quiet at night. Sites have fire ring and picnic table. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$53
Great campground. We had been here before, and will continue to return as long as the current owners are there. The only reason for not giving them higher rating is that it can be a little tight from a few sites for a big rig, although you can make it, and those same trees make satellites a challenge. We're already planning next year's trips around a return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$53
Overall this was a nice campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. Too many running around fast on golf carts, saw several near misses. Good base camp for beach activities. Good pull thru sites. Electric was good and WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
This is an average CG, it's clean and water pressure is very good, the Wi-Fi is free, it disconnected from time to time, when trying to connect first time, it says you have 1 hour and you can click the bottom again to access another hour again, but it since disconnect sooner then that. A lot worker riding the golf car around all the time, it create some noise when they drive by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Good location on the main strip in Saco, clean washrooms and showers. Sites have no grass, and it rained (heavy) as we packed up. Lots of dirt. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
The place was just all right. It was clean but the roads were in poor condition. The staff were mainly work-campers who were not familar with the area and were of little help regarding directions or sight seeing. And they were all over. Too many busy-bees in KOA shirts flocking all over the campground. Felt like I was under surveillance. I am sure that there are nicer places to stay and we will try one of those next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Located on/near a busy road, so noise levels can be high, but the numerous trees help to muffle some of the noise. The park is clean and well laid out, with lots of amenities and activities for families. The staff are friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (7 nights) and would recommend the park without hesitation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
This campground is right on Route 1. It is noisy during the day, and sites are close together and have no grass. Fire ring and table at site. Everything was clean bathrooms, showers, and laundry room. OK for overnight, but I wouldn't stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com