206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Placerville KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (530) 676-2267
CGID435

Placerville KOA

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   2   9   7   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
Nice campground, very friendly hosts. Miniature golf, petting zoo and events available. My only dislikes are the sites are very close together and the dump station has an incline, so I could not fully empty my rear gray water tank. 1/3 left. Located in Shingle Springs, close to Sacramento, Placerville and Apple Hill. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
Park staff were friendly and helpful. Due to the drought, most of the grass was dry or dead except around the pool. The pool water was not clear and there was a lot of debris in the pool as if it hadn't been cleaned in a while. The dog area was small, but was ok for our small dog. She liked the goats. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
This park is actually located in Shingle Springs, just a few miles from Placerville. It is also situated right on Highway 50. However, after you are in camp, for a bit, you don't notice the traffic noise and this time of year it was minimal. We loved the grass, trees and multitude of birds. The owners are super nice and keep the park well maintained. There are not many RV parks in the area and the more popular one, about 20 miles away, is quite a bit more expensive, so this KOA is actually reasonable. We enjoyed our weekend stay very much and having the buffet next door at the casino was a nice bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
Not big rig frIendly. Stayed at this park twice, once before and once after their “big rig” area addition. Will not stay a third time. Interior roads in old section are narrow with sharp curves. Sites are narrow and difficult to get into with lots of unkempt landscaping. New Big Rig section has same narrow roads with sharp curves. Vegetation has not yet grown to full height. Big rig sites were very long but so narrow that with all slides out, I could not get to patio area without pushing trees aside or stooping under. No lights here, so needed flashlights to get from car to coach when returning after dark. Big rig area is water and electric only, no sewer. I asked about a dump station and was shown location on a map, but was told I needed to circumvent the entire old park road to get into “proper position” to use dump station. Not willing to go onto old roads again with large coach so didn’t dump. Big rig area is directly adjacent to the freeway so noise is high and constant, especially at 6 AM or later when commuters are heading for work in Sacramento. This park has an excellent location but is suited for smaller rigs and short stays. Cost for big rig site, without sewer was $55 with KOA discount, which seemed very out of line with park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
My first time to a KOA. I was impressed. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. They loved it and wanted to stay longer. Hopefully all KOAs are like this. Friendly staff. Clean laundry. Great price for overnight. fishing, mini golf, horse shoes, swimming, volleyball, play ground, 2 enclosed dog areas, farm animals for kids to see, and I am sure more. Almost all lots had some type of shade, most had full shade. Nice pull through at same price. Friendly people staying there. No junky permanents! Park clean and well run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
Nice park, pretty typical KOA. Good power, water, nice swimming pool. The only reason for the lower rating is I think it's a little overpriced. But, if you need to stay in this area, about the only game in town. Nice shady pull through sites are a plus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Good KOA ($) campground, family orientated with lots to do. The Pool was open, playground, fishing pond, miniature golf, petting animals. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked fine. Sites were gravel/grass with a picnic table and BBQ. Only fires allowed are duraflame in the area fire pit. Showers and restrooms were clean. Biggest drawback is that Hwy-50 is close so you get the noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Well-maintained park with very clean restrooms and showers. Family-friendly with a nice playground, mini-golf, pool (was closed for the season) and more. The only drawback is noise from nearby I-50, so if you're sensitive to it you should ask to get a site as far away from the highway as possible. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We arrived here after the office had closed and was using the night registration when a staff member came to assist. He was very friendly and helpful. Our site was not very level, difficult to get into because of the angle--but it was roomy. We did not use Wi-Fi, the pool, or other amenities. The showers were individual, private rooms, with good consistent water pressure and temperature. Restrooms were clean. Campground had a pleasing appearance, with fishing pond, playground, and pool. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
Nice, well-maintained campground with a variety of sites. We had a "premium" pull-through site with trees shading our site and decent amount of lawn around us. The "regular" pull-through and back-in sites looked very crowded. Even driving past them was iffy as many had to park their tow vehicles in the roadway since the sites are too small. Nice looking pool, kids playground, small stocked fishing pond and a petting zoo: families would enjoy this as a destination. Wi-Fi was OK from our site but I can see how trees would block some areas. Our (gravel) site was perfectly level, but I can see how not all would be. The best sites for views and privacy are back-in sites along the back overlooking a valley, unfortunately those don't have sewer, only w/e. We'd definitely go back for the "natural" feel and the very friendly and helpful staff. Don't come here if you prefer a flat, concrete pad with no trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
It is pricey. The wifi didn't work. The cable was ok, but had too few channels. There are nice grounds..all gravel. There is grass at sites with picnic tables. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$41
Good destination RV park for kids. Sites were dirt/gravel, need some leveling, picnic table. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked good. Constant highway noise, and the park is very tight to drive around. Great playground, miniature golf, swimming pool (seasonal), well stocked store. About 3-miles from Red Hawk Casino. Quite a few permanents, but entire park was clean and well managed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
This park has had mixed reviews and some of this is because its has a somewhat hilly, well treed location rather than a flat paved RV park. In addition, many of the pull through sites are close together and the back-in sites along the back, are up the side of a hill and while the driveways are level, the adjacent grass areas are not. The park is relatively long and narrow along the side of the highway so road noise affects most sites. On the other hand, the park tries hard to provide a vacation experience and some people really like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$57
This is the first KOA that we have stayed in that really wasn’t impressive. Sites are really close together although they did have 50amp service. The pool and hot tub were closed but there was no discount in rates because of it. Playground was just ok. Many of the spaces, about 30, have been turned in to RV storage which detracted from the camp esthetics. Mini golf course was clean and seemed to be kept in good condition; the turf looked to be recently replaced. However the $3.00 per person, per game seemed pricy to me. Petting barn was a couple of goats in a pen which you wouldn’t want to pet. The fishing pond was not well kept and did not encourage fishing. Also, they restricted fishing to start at 9:00 am which any fisherman knows is too late!! Camp fires were not allowed and you were restricted to using BBQ’s only. There were group fire rings but they were all located in the “RV storage” spaces too far from most of the usable sites. I can’t comment on the restrooms because I never used them although the wife said they were clean. Sewer system is on a septic tank and we were warned not to dump unless absolutely necessary because they were at the maximum capacity. Strange given we stayed during the winter season and the camp was only at 50% capacity. The price was excessive for this campground. I won't be returning to this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$47
The area this park is in is very nice. You are close to the highway and about 10 minutes from downtown Placerville. The downside is the sites are gavel/dirt so if there is rain, expect to get a little muddy. The restrooms and showers appeared to be cleaned about once every two weeks, instead of everyday. That was the worst part. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2010
$57
This is one of the KOA's that we have stayed in and did not live up to the hype. Sites are really close together. We did not mind being close to the freeway. The basketball court was just a dirt patch with a couple of baskets. Pool and hot tub were closed. Playground was ok, but a brakish, black pool of water in what I assume was a sandbox. Mini golf course was a mess, not kept in good condition, the turf was torn up so not useable in my opinion. Petting barn was a couple of goats in a pen, a disappointment. The fishing pond was disgusting black water that did not encourage fishing. For the price you can stay in much nicer campgrounds. I won't be returning to this KOA. It is just not being kept in good condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This is one of the better KOA sites we have stayed at. We stayed in a new section that had water and 50 amp service but no sewer. The roads throughout the camp are paved and most of the spaces are graveled. The staff was very friendly and informative. The site is close to several local attractions and there is a free shuttle service to the nearby Red Hawk Casino. Although the campground is right next to the freeway it is not particularly noisy. We come to this area frequently and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
We just did a reservation, because our chosen campground was full. But it came out very well. The hosts are friendly and motivated. There was a talent show, a treasure hunt, breakfast in the morning. This KOA has a nice, clean pool area and big enough sites. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
I don't understand some of the other reviews of this campground. It is excellent. We've seen KOA's in 12 other states, and this is among the nicest we've seen. Restrooms, showers, pool, and jacuzzi are spotless. It has all of the typical KOA amenities (mini-golf, playground, basketball court, fishing pond, etc.) and they are all nice facilities. They are constantly improving the campground - every time I go there (at least twice a year over the past 5 years) they have a major improvement project under way. Yes, there are some long term residents there but none of them looked shady to me (actually, they were mostly older couples), their RV's were newer, and their sites were clean. The only downsides are that many of the sites are very close together (not at all unusual if you've been to other KOA's), a some sites lack shade, and it is right next to the freeway so you definitely hear freeway noise. We get used to it after a few hours there. The place is family owned and operated, and they seem strive to make it family oriented. I wouldn't hesitate to go back there, as we have for several years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
I would not stay here again, the campground is very dusty and, the "long term residents" seem like they are on parole, my daughter and, I where very umcomfortable walking here at night. It had the Worst Cable channels I have ever seen, only 6 working stations. The low hanging branches are destructive to your roof A/C. Next time we will take the time to drive to Plymouth. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$50
We spent 3 days here during what is typically one of the busy times of year. It was apple season, and being a 15 minute drive from Apple Hill, the campground was pretty full. The site layout, customer service, activities for the kids (petting zoo, mini-golf, pool, play yard), and cleanliness were all above average. There are some full-timers, but they keep their lots very tidy. My only complaint is the fact that Highway 50 runs right behind the campground, and you hear the cars from 6 a.m. to around 10:00 p.m.. In fact, I would have given this place a 7, if it weren't for the noise. The sites towards the top of the campground seemed to be a bit quieter. Being that it's probably one of the nicest sites next to Apple Hill, we'll probably be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Not worth the $. Park maintenance acceptable. Not much staff around. Cute karaoke night. Very noisy freeway. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$36
Easy to get in an out, except for the awful speed bumps. Instead of telling you that the limbs could be a problem, why don't they just trim them. There isn't much we can do about the height of the motorhome. For a one-night stop to visit family, this was an ok place. A LOT of noise from the freeway behind - luckily it did die down at night, though it was going FULL bore at 6:00 am. I think they are trying to improve - noticed a lot of cleaning going on, but they do have to do something about trimming the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
A park that is only if you are passing through. A lot of full timers that look like they are on parole. VERY DUSTY when cars go by, we had reserved early for a shady spot, but when we checked in we where told that a "long term camper" would be there instead. We were put into a spot that barely fit our rig and, had to park the truck elsewhere. Noise from the Freeway was annoying. The Cable TV was the WORST I have ever seen: 7 channels. Would only stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2005
$36
If you have to stop for the night. It's a place to be off the freeway. No charm. Over priced. Too many full time residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
Nice park in the Sierra Nevada foothills. Everything clean and well maintained. Nice area to explore. Not all sites have sewer. Dump site did not have a regular water faucet to work with, instead had a hose (looked like an air hose) with a sprayer nozzle on it. Would not work with my Sewer Solution unit. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$38
If I could sum up our visit to this park in a single phrase, it would be RUDE and overpriced. We were charged $38 for a pull through with only water and 50 amps, only because we called ahead. The clerk at the desk wanted $42 at first. A fairly nice setting, but close to US 101 (= freeway noise). Most roads and sites are gravel, and not much gravel. Not impossible to maneuver our 38 footer, but we had to make several three point turns. The drip irrigators were on the whole time making a nice swamp next to our site. We had some local friends visit and the staff was rude to them too. Even the signs are rude. One no-parking sign stated, "What part of NO don't you understand?" The pool area and club house looked nice (see the photo on their web site), but we didn't want to get close to the staff to use it. Next time we visit our friends, we'll stay in Plymouth. My advice if you need an overnight place to stay, is the Walmart. I asked the manager and he said overnight parking was OK. Guess what I've heard about KOA has some truth. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com