214823 User submitted reviews online!!
Ohiopyle State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (724) 329-8591
CGID4351

Ohiopyle State Park

Camp Information
Sites
226
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   3   7   7   7   9   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$21
The Ohiopyle State Park campground is one of the bigger campgrounds in the PA State Park system by number of sites. Nearly all sites are wooded. The park itself is great. This review does not factor in the park. It is a good hike from the campground to the action in the park by the river. The problem is that the sites typically are rather close together with very little buffer between you and the next site. There are also not enough shower buildings to support the number of sites. The bath house cleaning and maintenance is average. The campground map from the web site makes the campground seem larger than it is. Again, the sites are very close together. The most direct road from the center of the park and the town is very steep. RVs should heed the warnings and take the alternate route. As for non-electric sites, Aspen road loop sites are very compressed with the neighbors as are Fir loop. Birch Rd sites are nicer, but no nearby rest room. Elm Rd loop is OK and has a restroom without showers (site 65 best on this loop). Juniper Rd sites seemed pretty good with one of the better shower houses. Electric sites don't have as many choices. I wouldn't want to move a large rig through this campground without calling for site information first. Pet sites are limited to Hickory Rd and Ivy Rd and a small number of others. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This park is gorgeous...the campground is too, but...it needs work. First off, a camp host who is present and doing his job. The day we arrived, our fire pit was loaded with broken bottles and aluminum cans. It also had other plastic garbage making it quite unsightly. Our 50 amp did not work, but we can function on 30. Park has garbage strewn here and there. This would not be problem if you had a decent camp host who cared a little. Too bad. Bathrooms were not the cleanest and definitely need to be updated, but had plenty of hot water with good pressure. Sites are not level, so plan accordingly. The park itself makes up for it. Great hiking and biking. Lots of beautiful waterfalls and vistas. We would probably come back in hopes we were victims to a lazy camp host and that conditions would improve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
If you are looking for a good night's rest in a very quiet campground, this is the place for you. If you are like most campers and want to enjoy an evening by a fire with good conversation then steer clear of this place. We camped here in a 5th wheel with friends in the next site over. There are several reasons why we won't come back. First there is not one level site in the over 200 sites they have, secondly the bathrooms although are cleaned daily are in dire need of renovations. The only saving grace is the abundant hot water and excellent water pressure from the showers, other than that this is not what I consider to be decent. Lastly and most importantly the reason we won't be returning is the stalking park rangers. Yes, I said stalking. The second evening camping these rangers came walking through our site and went directly next door to our friend's campsite. We watched as they swept through their site and came over to find our friends to tell them to shut off their radio. Granted quiet hours starts at 9pm but that radio could not even be heard from the next site over (which happened to be ours). Later that evening the same rangers were hiding in the pitch dark on the service road listening to my husband's conversation with his friends. The came up and were told that they are not allowed to talk outside and that they needed to go inside. Every evening afterward, we witnessed these rangers hiding in empty sites with their lights turned off almost like they are waiting for someone to break a rule. I felt uneasy the rest of our stay, not because I was breaking any rule, but because of that creepy feeling I had that someone was watching me in the dark woods. Be forewarned! If this wasn't good enough for you, just go talk to locals because this is common knowledge in town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$22
Nice state park close to Kentuck Knob, Fallingwater and all the recreation activities of the Laurel Highlands. Bathrooms and showers clean with a tub sink available. Sites are not always level. Plan accordingly. Anyone interested in not putting extra strain on their vehicle if towing or a larger rig would be best to enter/exit from US 40 in Chalk Hill, PA. The road from PA 381, while short, is quite steep, as in first gear, foot-close-to-floor steep. Rate reflects senior, out-of-state, off-season, electric. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
I have camped at this campground for the past 5 years and each year I have always wanted to stay an extra week because it was so nice. This year however I noticed deteriorating playground equipment on several of the small playgrounds throughout the park. Many of the picnic tables needed to be repaired or replaced. Also, several fire pits were broken and unusable for cooking. The men’s bathroom showers on our loop had tiles that were missing or loose. Also, there was no hot water in the woman’s restroom deep sink. During the week it was very peaceful and relaxing, with other campers adhering to park rules. However, during the weekend we had some noisy neighbors who were checking in late, well past the quiet hours that are from 9 pm to 8 am. They made unnecessary noise while setting up camp. Even though the park rangers came and spoke to them to ask them to quiet down, the rangers made it seem that the campers should be expected to make such noise while setting up, even at 11:30 pm. We will definitely camp in a different loop next time to see if that makes a difference. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
This is a very nice park. Sites are available for everything from tents to larger RVs. There are plenty of trails, including the Allegheny Passage rail trail. I would rank it higher than 7 if the sites were more level, and if they would enforce the quiet time hours. We tried to go to sleep at 11pm listening to people in party mode. Also was awakened at 6:30am by screaming children on bicycles and someone driving in tent stakes. Quite time is 9pm to 8am. We may go there again, but only on weekdays. Be prepared for a lot of going up and down hill to get to this park. If you have a larger rig, pay attention to the alternate route on the web site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Definitely a great place to camp if you like wooded and peaceful camping. Virtually each and every spot is wooded with at least some trees between neighboring lots. The restrooms and shower facilities are spaced nicely and conveniently apart/close and are maintained at least once a day during our visit. Beautiful setting with tall canopy trees and excellent shade. Sites are either paved or gravel and fairly level and easily accessed. Utility hook-ups are in nice working order. Being on top of a mountain you get nice breezes (even through the trees) and you can even hear the rapids through Ohiopyle. Train horns are fairly abundant although more distant sounding then close, as there is a mainline that runs through Ohiopyle at the foot of the mountain below the campsite. Overall, a great place for an outing for the outdoor enthusiasts, with bike trails and hiking trails adjoining the campground, with plenty of 'outdoor' things to see to while away the day (Ohiopyle, Kentuck Knob and Falling Water, Cucumber Falls, etc.,etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Great park and campground. Whitewater rafting, great bike trail, and great hiking trails a very short drive away. Staff is friendly. Campground is peaceful and very scenic. Bathrooms were a bit buggy, but overall they were average for a state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$16
Much better access signage is desperately needed. Following the GPS can take you up a mile long 10% grade. We did it, twice because of lack of signs, dragging a 15,000# 5er. The tranny was NOT happy. A tough trip even for a mountain goat. The park itself is large. Plenty of space between sites. A few sites for larger rigs if you are up to the parking challenge on narrow but good access roads. We were there on a week night. The park was virtually empty. Nothing to listen to except wildlife & occasional train in the valley below. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
We stayed here after Labor day and had the place all to ourselves and the racoons. There are a lot of things to see in the area as the last post said. Also there is Fort Nessisity and not far away is the 911 site outside Somerset. Can't wait to come back again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Great park to take the family. Although our site wasn't very big there were some larger. The bathrooms were kept clean. It is your typical state park which I am partial to because of the "plenty of trees." It was quiet and had PLENTY of hiking trails that were fun to hike. Some more hilly then others so the weak at heart beware. We went into the small town which was really neat. There were places to soak your feet or swim on a hot day in the river. We also went white water rafting which was amazing. We had such a blast. BEWARE when trying to get to this campground. Go to the web site and follow those directions. DO NOT try any other route as the road up from the other direction is extremely steep and isn't advisable if you are towing anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$19
Nice campground with limited number with electric hookups. They do have a dump station. Sites level side to side but not fore and aft. Lot to do in surronding 10 miles. Fallingwater (Frank Lloyd Wright house), white water rapids, very nice bike trails on river, hiking, etc. Very hilly area and could present a problem for large rigs. Go to web site and follow directions/warnings to get to campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com