224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Champoeg State Heritage Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (503) 678-1649
CGID4408

Champoeg State Heritage Area

Camp Information
Sites
79
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   10   10   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
This is a nice state park located not too far from Portland, and the Evergreen Aircraft and Space Museum, home of the Spruce Goose. Good AT&T wireless signal for voice and data. Electric and water only. Dump station can handle two rigs at a time. Sites were gravel and level. Not much privacy in this campground. Great bike riding on paved trails. Can’t ride bikes on unpaved hiking trails. Spaces closer together than we have experienced in state parks in other states. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
We stayed here in the "A Circle" and enjoyed our stay. Early in the morning you can hear the owls going crazy. Our site was level, clean, and semi-private. They sell Ice and Firewood in the"B Circle". There are several walking paths that do not allow bicycles and a short walk to the Willamette River. Our rate reflects that our site had water and electricity, but no sewer. Some sites do have sewer, but none were available during our short stay. There is a dump site on the property. We will return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Meadow camping. Clean bathrooms, Friendly hosts. No Verizon MiFi reception. Notes: Bike trails more often shared with roads. Great Southern Cal-style Mexican food at "Muchas Gracias" in nearby Newberg We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$34
This state park includes many actives: Frisbee golf course, fishing, hiking, boat dock and picnic areas. There are two camping sections within this park. One section is heavily wooded, and the other section in an open field. We found the section in the open field of the park to be our favorite with better views and most sites included sewer hookups. As you enter the park, a gift shop and museum are at the entrance. Our site was level. Only a few sites within the wooded area were able to a DirecTV satellite signal. Our Verizon phones got a weak 3G signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
We camped on the far end in B loop and would do it again. Weak to nonexistent Verizon cell service, which wasn't all bad. The restrooms and showers were cleaned daily. Friendly staff. Lots of Oregon history to review. Short walk to the Willamette River and a great river walk. If you want FHU reserve early or plan a week day stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This is a wonderful state park. Friendly staff, well maintained, sites level, and bathrooms clean. We had a FHU site which we prefer, but there are just a few of them. If that's what you want, use the online reservation system, but do it early. We were here two weeks and have no complaints. Grandkids visited and enjoyed Ranger talks. We will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
We stayed in the 'B' loop with our 40' motorhome which has the bigger, more open sites. The park was well kept and the bathrooms very clean. We had site B11 and there were six sites in this small loop. However, there is absolutely no sitting area privacy in the loop as they are all facing each other. We had a very noisy group next to us. We would choose one of the back in spots if we ever return. The 'A' loop has a lot of trees and the sites aren't conducive to bigger RVs. There are eight full hookup sites and many cabins and yurts to rent. There are miles of paved walking/biking trails. We were disappointed that there really is no river access. Our Verizon didn't work great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Stayed here two nights at the beginning of a three week trip. Campground is situated about 7 miles from I-5. Some low hanging trees (about 12.5 foot) in the area but nothing that we could not go around. Stayed in loop B where there is minimal shade. If you are after a shady spot loop A is the place to go. Very few spots have sewer hookups so plan to use RV dump at the entrance to the campground. Very nice bicycle path close by. Beyond that, not a lot of things to do in the immediate vicinity but plenty to do within 30 mile radius. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Great place, especially during the off-season. Would imagine it is very busy in the summer. Nice bike and walking paths. Among the cleanest state park restroom/showers we have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
This is a really great campground. It is neat and well laid out. There is not a lot of privacy since there are not a lot of trees, but the sites are well spaced. It is a very quite campground. We were concerned when we first arrived since there were "street lights" all around. Thankfully, most of them did not come on at night, so it was fairly nice and dark. Since there are not a lot of trees, satellite was easy to get. Verizon phone and data card worked well. The local town is not too far away and has all of the major stores. The park is full of history with great staff and volunteers. There literature is some of the best that we have seen at state parks. Really nice and well-done exhibits in the Visitor Center. There is a great, only 4 miles but nice, hiking/biking trail. We would definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
This is a terrific state park just south of Portland. If you are visiting in Portland, it would take you about 30 minutes to get to most of the city from here. The sites are very nicely spaced, tons of trees and a nice group area which we have used many times. Loop A is older, closer together but great trees. Loop B is newer, farther apart sites, but fewer trees. Both are great. We love camping here every year with our Airstream rally group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
What a refreshing little place. We spent just over a week here after leaving a "private" "parking lot". We participated in a number of the offered activities during the weekend, and learned a lot. It was very pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely a must stop if you are in the area. Rangers were friendly and helpful. The camp hosts seemed to truly enjoy doing what they are there to do. Sites were clean and very well maintained. Honestly I must say even with all of the so-called budget cuts - State Parks by far have been a pleasure to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$2
Rate reflects Disabled Veteran Pass. We stayed in site B-18, handicapped, back in, water/electric. No sewer. Nice park in a beautiful and historic part of Oregon. Very close to Newburg. Fred Myers has cheapest fuel in town. Toured the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum which we highly recommend. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We've stayed at this park several times when traveling up or down the I-5 corridor and it's always a pleasant experience. This time we camped in the A loop where we had water and electricity, but no sewer connection. Like others have commented, the A loop can be a little more noisy, but the sites have more privacy. On this occasion, the campground was perfectly quiet and peaceful. The showers are clean and free with plenty of hot water - a real treat for those of us who travel in small trailers. An added bonus for us was picking up fresh organic produce at a farm stand just across the road from the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
A GEM and a new favor for us! The bike/hike trails are awesome. A 9 rating only because we'd appreciate more full hook-up sites. We stayed here end of season so we missed the 'living history interpretations' and kayak rentals. Somehow touring the back roads, we had to 'ferry' the Willamette -- fun! Quiet, warm, restful. $ is estimate, I can't remember exact $. Cabins & Yurts here too. Internet is sketchy with my Verizon air card, but useable from the 'right spot'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This goes down as one of our favorite campgrounds and areas ever! We stayed in Loop A, Site 30. Plenty of room overlooking a large meadow and woods surrounding us. They have an amazing bike trail with wild berries ripe for the picking. The surrounding area offered fresh produce (including "pick your own" on the honor system), wine tasting, a candy factory and beautiful green hills. We wish we were able to stay longer than 2 nights. The campground was clean, beautiful and very peaceful. Water & electric hookups worked great. A wonderful getaway for us Los Angeles vacationers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Very nice state park. We stayed in B loop which was near the amphitheater for the ranger talks. Our grandkids enjoyed that. We were in a water and electric only site, but FHU is available. The rate was $24, but making a reservation online charged an $8 fee. Lots of trees in the park but mostly small ones on B loop. As they grow and get more shady it will get better and better. Site was fairly level once we backed far enough in, and there was lots of room between sites. Park staff were friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
A beautiful, quiet State Park with comfortable RV sites. This is a gem of a place. I stayed in the “B” loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
We stayed in Loop B, which has the full hookup spots. The camp seems to be very popular on weekends with families with small children, lots of bikes, dogs, etc. We do travel with dogs, so we are very dog friendly. There is an off leash dog area quite a bit away from Loop B. When we stayed, there was a male pheasant walking around the campground! We got some good pictures of him, and it appears he is not so shy around humans, although he doesn't come close. We would camp here again, but I do wish that Loop B could be planted with some trees or bushes so that the spots would be somewhat private. I would have given the park a higher rating if the sites were more private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
A wonderful campground. We stayed in the B loop where the larger motorhomes parked. The water and electric hookups were good and electric voltage was spot on. The pads are paved with asphalt and pretty level and large. There is a well appointed dump station located in a good spot. There is a recycling station in B loop too. We would stay here again but you must have reservations if you wish to stay during a weekend or holiday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Very nice campground. Sites are wide and well maintained. Activities include disc golf, bike paths, and nature. Be aware that when you make your reservation, not all sites have sewer hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
This is a wonderful park. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that on the weekends you can hardly get a site in the B loop as they are all reserved far in advance. And B is the loop for almost all of the bigger rigs. It is the loop out in a beautiful meadow where you can get satellite, whereas A is in the trees, with shorter spaces. There is a walking path along the Willamette River, which runs along the edge of the B loop, and you can walk quite a long way on it. The gift shop is great, and has a museum. This time of the year, the park also sells their own veggies they raise on the property. One of our favorite Oregon State Parks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
We only stayed two nights but would come back here any time we are in the area. We stayed in the B loop, the sites are large, and there are no obstructions for the satellite dish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
This park is in a beautiful setting. It offers clean restrooms and showers. We stayed there 1 night on the the way to Vancouver Canada and 2 nights on the way back to California. There's not too much shade around the RV sites, but we went in April so it wasn't too hot. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is indeed an extremely nice state park right next to the river. We only stayed 1 night but could easily stay for several days in the future. Just to emphasize that it is the "B" loop that is more open and spread out (but really no shade) and the "A" loop that is wooded but a little closer together. Also, as a previous poster noted, while all the RV sites have electrical and water, only a few have sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This is one of the nicest state parks that we've camped in. Most cannot accommodate a 40' motorhome. I would have rated this a "10" had there been full hookups. Each site is blacktop & has a fire pit & picnic table, with enough room to park your vehicle. Lots of bike & hiking trails. We only stayed 3 nights, but plan on spending 2 weeks next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
The park is great, lots for the kids to do and plenty of room. There are two loops, A and B. A is the older loop and is wooded with lots of shade, its also the loop most used by tenters, so it can be noisy. B Loop has less shade, but the site are farther apart, less tents, and quieter. Nothing against tents, but in this park they can be 4-5 tents in a site, so its usually groups accompanied by noise. Bike trails, hiking trails, frisbee golf course, boat dock on the river, 4 mile bike/hike to the country store, as I said, lots for the kids to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
Excellent State campground, close to Portland, Woodburn and surrounding towns. I have camped in both 'A' loop and 'B' loop previously but this past time in 'B' loop I rated less than 10 because of several noisy tent campers. 'A' loop is more open and spread out and tends to be quieter. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We love this park. It is very scenic with wonderful big sites. Unfortunately it is so popular the full hookup sites are usually booked 9 months out. We had a water/electric site this time. The B loop is best for bigger motorhomes and satellite TV reception is good. Don't miss the Spruce Goose in nearby McMinnville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$10
This is a great campground. We fulltime and try to stay at State & National parks as often as possible. We have been repeatedly impressed with the Oregon State Park System. During the off season only the 'B' loop of this campground is open. About 1/2 of the 34 site are available by reservation. The hookup sites are all paved w/full hookups (50 amp). The 'B' loop does not have any large trees which worked out well for Satellite TV. We also were pleasantly surprised that our cellphones & Verizon internet service worked well here. A big plus to us is that all the Oregon State Parks recycle cans, bottles and paper. This park is close to the towns of Newburg & Woodburn ( which has a large outlet mall ). There are several good golf courses close by ( a plus for the husband ). Portland is also within a short drive The park itself has miles of hiking & biking trails as well as a very nice visitor center. 16.00 is the off-season rate, in season the park charge 20.00 for hookup sites. We can not recommend this park highly enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is an excellent park for families with children. It is located on the Willamette river. We only rated this park an 8 due to the restoration work that is going on at the present time taking away from the other wise beauty this park has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Excellent state park campground. There is an "A" loop and "B" loop. The "B" loop had larger sites and some had full hook-ups, but seemed like the "newer" section with small trees and not much shade. The "A" loops had sites that were pretty close together, but tons of big trees. Nice bike trails, and frisbee golf course. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
Super clean washroom & showers. Heritage site with lots of historic attractions. Very good bike facilities. Large day use park area with Disk Golf facilities. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com