217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Cone Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (732) 462-2230
CGID4409

Pine Cone Resort

Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$61



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   5   3   9   6   5   1   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$61
Lovely, quiet, woodsy setting even though it's near highways and shopping. Campsites are spacious, hookups easy. Would definitely go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$56
Dirt/sand roads throughout. Mostly dirt/sand sites, heavily treed. Decent sized level sites. Lots of seasonal/long term folks. Several sites now used for overnight/short term visits are a mess since they used to be for long term use. Good Wifi and cable. Good location to visit Jersey shore, Six Flags Great Adventure, or to sight see in the area. Don't know the definition of "resort", but this is not it. Nice pool and play area for kids. Seems to be the best choice for this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$60
It’s an OK place, but calling it a resort is a stretch. Water pressure is extremely low, roads and sites are muddy and rutted, and Wi-Fi is sporadic. The many permanent construction worker residents have turned sites into eyesores. It’s a good place to be close to Philadelphia and New York City. Each is about an hour away. Malls and other stores are close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
We stayed a week. The men's restroom was cleaned once during that time. The staff was rude and unwelcoming. The setting is beautiful, but the sites are not well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
Great location. Right off 195 and route 9 but you don't hear any highway noise. Secluded, treed, a little tight in some areas for big rigs as others have noted. We had site 19. It has issues with power and sewer smell. Staff moved us, and our new site was awesome. GREAT pool, tennis courts, good camp store, and excellent shopping nearby. NJ is awful for RV parks. Just not enough choice. This is a very nice park and the staff was very friendly. We stayed here for over a week. It will be our regular NJ HQ when we travel here to visit with the kids/grandkids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$50
Nice, wooded area, surprising after weaseling the RV through lots of housing areas. We didn't have reservations, but phoned ahead to ensure campground was open. We arrived after dark. Staff checked us in. We were told that we could not have our hose hooked up due to winter temps. It happened to be warm enough that we could have left it attached all night, but we decided to obey the command to not have it attached. We used our hose until bedtime, then took it off, then re-attached it in the morning. Water spout was way in the back of the site. I thought the showers and bathrooms were ok... but my traveling companion thought the men's room could have been cleaner. Laundry was EXPENSIVE! Dryer and washer were $3.25 each! YIKES! Roadway was a bit dicey to travel through due to the woods, but it made for nice ambiance. Spacing was adequate between the sites. Each site has a nice wood built patio. If you are great at maneuvering your RV, maybe you can get it to go between the patio and the sewer spot. If you are lucky, you can get your RV to where the patio meets your doorway! Cable TV was snowy. As for the Wi-Fi, I think you need a code for it. We didn't use it. Verizon 4G Air Card, as well as wireless landline got good reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$52
We did not have the same problems that others had. The staff that checked us in was friendly and had our reservations, although the sites were not all together like we had requested. There where 3 coupes traveling together. They did try to get us as close as possible. The down side to this park is that it is heavily wooded and the roads in the park are tricky to maneuver. The park map that they give you is almost useless. It had been reproduced so many times that it was hard to read. If you camp here, you may want to find your site before moving into the park with your rig. This is especially true if arriving after dark. All of the sites are packed sand as are the roads. The Wi-Fi worked well. The park is centrally located for easy travel to New York City (via Park & Ride) and Philadelphia via car. It is also a short drive to the New Jersey coast. We would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
We found the owner rude and unprofessional. We arrived and the office was closed even though it was almost 11am. When we tried to call the number they have on the door we got an electronic message saying the user has not set up a mail box on this account. When the owner finally showed up we found out she had given our site away even though I had confirmed our reservation. She was rude and didn't even apologize for the error. Her response was what do you want me to do about it we're all booked and it's not my fault. We have stayed at this campground for years and until this year never had a problem. It did not seem to matter to her that we were long time customers. In fact she seemed equally annoyed at the other campers who were all waiting for her to open the office/store. We are done with Pinecone and would not suggest it to others looking for a campground in this area. There are many others to choose from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
We chose this park because of the previous ratings and reviews for a family reunion in Colts Neck. When we made our reservation (in March) I thought the staff on the phone were rude. This was confirmed when I re-confirmed our reservation the day prior to arrival. The person on the phone couldn't find the reservation and had the wrong departure date when we found the reservation misfiled. We reserved a 50AMP, full hook up. Upon arrival we were told that there were no sewer hook ups available and we would have to pay $10 to dump! At $52/night and have to pay to dump, and making a reservation months in advance, is outrageous. We have traveled across the country for the past 3 years, and this is one of the worst campgrounds for customer service we have been in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
The restrooms and common areas in this campground are clean but could use some maintenance. The pool is in a nice sunny area but had a lot of broken edges one of which cut one of our young children. The playground also had broken equipment and the game room that's on their website isn't opened anymore. There was a strong smell of sewerage in some areas, I'm not sure what the issue was. The owners and staff were unfriendly not customer oriented people and seemed very unorganized. The store and office never seemed to opened at the posted hours or when we needed to purchase something. On the positive side, it's 15-20 min from Great Adventure and about 30 min from the beach, which was nice. They also had Free Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$48
When we rolled in Friday eve at 5:30pm, no one was at the office, nor did they answer the phone # posted on the door. But, after hanging out for about 15 mins, a woman called me back, and she was there within 5 mins. She was polite but brusque when checking us in. Once we got to our site though, all was fine - very clean site and campground in general. Fellow campers (including seasonals) were friendly, etc. One other observation though - we camped with our 15 month old. He was very excited about the playground equipment, but it's not really appropriate for the really small fry... 5+ year olds should be fine. They have a nice pool as well, but also not little-one friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
This is the cleanest park I’ve seen in New Jersey. There is plenty of space in its wide roads (sand) to move around big rigs. Most every site is large and easy to get into. They were reasonably level with the tree branches trimmed up high. The pool area looked very nice even though it was closed for the season. The playground and activity fields were nicely kept and very roomy. WiFi was perfect everywhere in the park (trust me I took the laptop to every corner). Downsides were the game room (a bit dated) and the showers (you have to pass thru one stall to get to the next). The store is nice but not much selection, (don’t worry there are grocery stores nearby). There was a sign at the dump station ($10) per dump but I was never charged that fee (I guess it’s there to keep from overuse). My “go to” quick weekend campground is about 40 minutes from my house. Pine Cone is about an hour away and will be my new “go to” spot. Its worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$53
To our surprise, this was a very nice Campground. The Website is very simple and could probably do a little better job at promoting this campground. We had to travel up North on business in NYC and since there was no availability at one of the closer NY Campgrounds, Pine Cone was our next best option, with the convenience and amenities we look for. Internet was perfect to work from our Motorhome when needed. The lots were very spacious and clean. The whole park was very clean. It was a distance away and quite a commute into NYC. There is a bus park & ride less than 2 miles away from the park, with a regular express bus into the city. I had to do the research prior, which is something the website should advertise. It takes about an hour and 20 min's into NY Port Authority. If I had to pick on anything about this campground, besides the site, I would say that our lot was probably a little close to the dump station, so every so often we would get a quick unpleasant smell. My husband said the staff was welcoming upon check-in. When I went to the office/store, I didn't get a welcoming feeling or that I was even noticed, but then again sometimes that's pretty common in NJ. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Very nice park and feels more spacious. Wooded grounds are well kept, has a nice pool, volleyball court, activity building, a few cabins, large tent field and RV storage. The office was not open from time to time during our stay but was early in the season so that may have been why. Friendly staff and well run. Would recommend for any RV/Motorhome traveler. Will keep coming back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We pulled into this campground on Saturday night around 8:30 after we found out that Turkey Swamp was full for the night. The owner gave me a pull thru site to make it easy for me to get into in the dark. Overall this seamed like a very nice campground. There was a well stocked camp store and the pool looked very clean. There were a decent amount of campers here when we were but it was still very quiet. It was nice being able to have a campfire as late as you wanted compared to the eleven o-clock curfew at Turkey Swamp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
Always read reviews, but this is the first that I am leaving for fellow campers. Would not recommend this campground. The camp store is never open, so make sure you are fully stocked or have a vehicle to make runs to local store. Did not get the sites we were promised. All dirt roads and owner has non-caring attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$52
This is camping in a dust bowl, except when it rains it becomes a mud bowl. The owner is rude and the garbage is inconvenient and overflowing. The laundry room, bathroom, and showers were filthy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
Pine Cone has ample space for all RVs and is family orientated. The pool was clean, the laundry clean and the grounds mowed. There was ample space for children to play and people to walk their dogs. The park is heavily treed and not all sites allow for satellite access. You need to specify need for satellite TV access. Also the cell signal is weak as well as their WIFI signal. We found communication difficult from this park. Given other area choices, we would not return to Pine Cone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
We really didn't spend a lot of time in the campground - we mainly used it as a "home base" to go to 6 Flags Great Adventure. However, the time we spent there was nice. The site we had used to be a seasonal site. It was shaded, and we had lots of room to spread out. The only problem we had were the hook ups. The sewage hook up was at one end, and the electric and water was at the other. That and the trees made it difficult to get the camper just right so our hook ups could reach plus be able to open our awning. Other than that, the CG was quiet, the bathrooms were older but clean, and the pool was nice. It was a great "home base." And oh yeah, the guy who runs everything was a bit cranky, but he is running everything alone, so I guess I would be cranky too! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Park charges monthly rate by every 4 weeks...so they collect 13 months of rent in a 12 month period. We were PROMISED free WIFI at our site...not so. No signal available except at the office. Owner is rude and does not like women. As a rule, it seems most campers here are also unfriendly...very strange. We have been here 2 months and are hoping to move to a different campground this weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Park seems to be over priced. It is large and extremely wooded with dirt roads. I do not think that I would stay here again, mainly because of price. It would be a nice over night stop over at about 1/2 the price. They take no discount cards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Since it's situated pretty close to where we live, I love this campground for its accessibility and the fact it's open year-round. It's great for a one or two day getaway, and just enough off the beaten track to make you feel secluded. Pretty close to Six Flags Great Adventure and the central Jersey shore, however. We've stayed there three or four times, both in summer and winter, and have enjoyed it. Nothing terribly fancy, but well-kept and well-managed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Paid to camp, asked for a full hook up, they didn't have one available. So, off to a water/electric site. Site was a good sized, one no real problems. It was time to dump the tanks, low and behold they charge $10 per dump, can you believe it! They charge $35 a night for full hookup, 30 for electric (30AMP)/ water and $10 for each time you have to use the dump station; unbelievable. Stay way from this dump, will never return again money hungry isn't strong enough to describe this place. Go up the street to Turkey Swamp $26 a night and you can dump until the cows come home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com