220808 User submitted reviews online!!
Countryside RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (860) 376-0029
CGID4421

Countryside RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   9   9   9   8   2   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
We enjoyed many aspects of Countryside RV Park. The owners are extraordinarily friendly and helpful as are many of the seasonals. The sites are some of the largest we've seen in over 10 years of camping - some are just enormous. When we asked the owner about this, he said they closed the place down a few years back and redesigned many of the sites, enlarging them. They also made the decision not to allow tenting, as they had had some out of control people. In any case the place is now spacious, very quiet and geared for the older set. Kids and young families will be comfortable here but be aware there is not a lot to do on property. There is a small playground, a swimming area in one of the ponds that no one would use (very mucky) and lots of room for bikes and games on the grass. There is no large social room (the one they have is pretty small and not used for much). They do have a lovely veranda with rockers, and a nice outdoor seating area near a fire pit. Scheduled activities are pretty random/scarce. We were there over Labor Day and the only thing going on was a cute little concert by some of the seasonals. Relaxing and fun. The bathrooms are a bit basic, but clean. Sites are mostly level and a mix of open and wooded. Honestly, if you want a quiet laid back atmosphere, this rates a 9 or 10. But I love to swim and we have family who like to join us (who have a tent) so for me I have to knock my rating down a bit. But we'd go back on our own in the spring or fall in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$55
The hosts were the greatest we have encountered! The head furry greeter "Macie" a little Shiz Shu, was the belle of the park. The park was well maintained, quiet and secluded. Laundry facilities very clean. Restrooms were extremely clean but rustic. Good hookups for our 38 rig, friendly seasonal RVers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We stayed at this excellent RV park for 6 weeks, our monthly rate was $945. We have nothing but the highest regard for this excellent RV park. The grounds are in excellent shape, the owners were very accommodating. We met some wonderful fellow campers during our stay. The park is located close to all major CT E Coast attractions. Walmart is about 7 miles away. Don't miss Buttonwood Farms ice cream about 4 miles from the RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
After not being able to book a site at Odetah and Strawberry Park, we stumbled upon this gem in Griswold. It wasn't much more of a ride from Long Island and we decided to check it out. We camped in a 35' motorhome and had more than ample room at a site adjacent to the fishing pond. The camps rates are much less than other busier RV Parks we visited. I'm guessing that this is due to the fact that there is no swimming pool / game room / or store on site. That suited us just fine. We rarely use these amenities anyway. The result of not having the aforementioned was a quiet, relaxing trip with hardly any children, or noisy neighbors. This park is truly a best kept secret if you want a nice relaxing environment. The seasonals, which numbered quite a few, were very friendly and actually welcomed us and told us to ask if we needed anything. The sites were large and most were level. We stayed at a full hook-up site. No cable is available; however, I was able to get nice reception utilizing my satellite receiver. I cannot tell you how clean the restrooms or showers were as I did not use them. The sites were well maintained which should give you a good clue as to the condition of the restrooms. The only negative was that no one came by to pick-up trash. At least I did not see anyone doing so. There was a dumpster located by the main entrance. You also had to leave a $ 10 deposit for the electronic gate pass and were advised that if you lost it, or it became decoded you would be charged $ 75. Don't place it by anything electronic (cell phone, etc.) and you shouldn't have a problem. I highly recommend this RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
On a whim we tried this park over Memorial Day weekend and enjoyed it so much we went back for the Fourth of July. Both times the owners and other campers were extremely friendly. The kids all played together at the pond and on the wiffle ball field. Very quiet, clean and "old school" fun. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This was our maiden journey and we had a lot to learn. Taking the Cross Sound Ferry from Long Island we wanted it to be as simple as possible. Starting with finding a place, calling Countryside and getting the manager on the phone, I knew I had find our place. He was helpful and friendly. We arrived and he showed us to our site #58. Plenty of room, shade, full hook up. Neighbors willing to help us naive newcomers. Many nice people with great dogs. I did check out the baths and it was very clean. And it was so quiet, we needed that. Glad we found it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This was our third time here, and it has yet to disappoint. Quiet and friendly are the two best words I would use to describe Countryside. No organized activities, and no camp store (they do sell firewood). Great fishing pond each of my four kids caught 10 or more fish. Nice swimming pond and nice playground with life size doll house and jail. Most of the sites are packed gravel and level, with a variety of campers (Class A, B, TT, and pop-ups). Seasonals are well maintained and very nice. If you like a quiet relaxed atmosphere for camping you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We stayed here over Columbus Day weekend. The campground was very clean and very quiet. We stayed in site #88 which was very spacious. Site was gravel and fairly level. There is a swimming pond, a fishing pond and a small playground. The kids kept busy riding bikes, fishing (plenty of sunfish) and playing in the woods and on the rocks in our site. The sites by the fishing pond are more open, while the area where we were is wooded. Bathrooms are dated but clean. Showers were free. Staff was friendly and helpful. Staff patrols at night. There is no camp store to speak of. No out-of-state firewood allowed. The website lists a game room, but I didn't see one. I didn't ask about it either, the kids were having plenty of fun without it. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Although this campground was clean and quiet, the obscure policies and unorganized reservation system ruined our Labor Day weekend. We traveled with eight other couples and when we arrived our sites were all changed from what we originally put deposits on. Everyone was moved around and members of our group were separated. People we did not know were placed amongst our group. We had camped here before but the owner was more concerned about putting new campers on the better sites rather than honoring the reservations of returning campers. Visitors are only allowed to stay until 9pm, so having your children visit for a evening campfire is a short visit. Different visitors are charged different rates for some unknown reason. Our daughter arrived at 8pm and they still charged her full day rate for the visit although she was only allowed in for one hour. Then at 9pm the owner came to our site to make sure all our visitors had left. This was rude and intrusive. This was the same owner who followed us to our site and inspected all our gear, apparently looking for outside firewood. There are no activities at all and no entertainment. This could be a very nice campground if the owners treated the weekend campers with respect and trust. We do not think we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Our first time here. Great campground, very quiet and relaxing. Close to a lot of attractions (Casinos, Essex railroad, Mystic Village). Owners live on site and are eager to help. You can't bring your own firewood because of insect problems (state rule) but they have dry hardwood firewood sold by the cart full for $6.00 which will last you a few days. We will come back here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This park is beautiful, spacious and extremely quiet. The owners were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. There isn't much shopping or entertainment in the immediate area if that's your focus. However, there is a shopping mall in Jewitt City which is within ten miles of the park. If you're looking for a quiet place to rest and do some reading, it will be hard to find one better than Countryside. Top notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Clean, quiet, and well maintained. The owners are extremely nice and clearly take great pride in their facilities. Restrooms were immaculate, as was the rest of the campground. Plenty to do especially if you have kids (swim, fish, playground, activity room, great roads for biking). The seasonals were all well maintained and the campground was amazingly quiet starting at 9pm and running through 8am. Sites are level and fairly spacious. Worth a visit, you won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We have camped here for years, it is our "opening up for the season" campground. There is a playground for children, a small lake for swimming and a separate lake for fishing. Sometimes there are activities but this is a quiet, relaxing campground. Pets are welcome and there are trails you can walk that go far back into the woods behind the campground. We love it here. The only thing missing is CABLE, however the antenna works fine to get in the basic channels. The sites in the rear of the campground are the best - large, shaded and mostly level. The sites in the 'field' near the fishing pond are very sunny and can get hot in the late afternoon. We asked the owner about this and he said that there were trees there, but they died. He has planted new ones but they are still small. I truly recommend this for anyone wanting a clean, quiet campground stay. For those who need to use the restrooms/showers - I always check and they are always extremely clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
We chose this place because of its cleanliness and layout. There are two ponds, one has a small beach with a swimming area while the other is for fishing. Our site overlooked the fishing pond, from which the kids caught many sunfish and several bass, some very large. (Catch and release required.) The swimming area was also a big hit with the kids, especially when the fish surrounded them. There is a nice fenced playground behind the office, with numerous toys and playground fixtures in place. There is no campground store, but there are gas stations and a supermarket within a few miles, including a Super Walmart about 6 miles away. The owners are very friendly and pride themselves on keeping a clean and quiet campground. Even the seasonals, which have made for some unpleasant stays in other campgrounds, were very friendly and nice to talk to. This is a great place if your looking for peace and quiet. We stayed for 5 nights and never heard any loud noises or rowdy crowds. We would gladly visit this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2004
$35
Great playground, swimming pond not pool, fishing pond full of sunfish, clean restrooms, quiet campground, great ice cream place right up the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com