223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Stony Fork Creek Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (570) 724-3096
CGID4441

Stony Fork Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   6   9   10   10   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Very nice park. Friendly staff, clean. Mostly seasonal/annual sites but those we met were very friendly. Road coming in to campground was a bit bumpy but we made it with no problem with our RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Camped here mid-July during heat-wave with a group of 8 coaches. Dry weather created much dust when moving about the campground in campers, cars, etc. Local utility reduced power by 10% which affected 50 amp service. Had to run 30 amp service and manage electrical use of a/c, microwave, appliances. Some in the group chose to run generators. Campground is in a valley which limited satellite TV, Wi-Fi, etc. Our site backed up to the lake. Overall campground is decent and would stay here again when "cooler" weather prevails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
We truly enjoyed our stay here. The owners were very nice and willing to answer any questions. The park was very well manicured and our site (78) was very nice. The bath house was very clean. We will definitely be staying here again. The only con I have, is with most campgrounds. There should be a dog area so those of us that do not have dogs, do not have to deal with the barking or the "mess" of those that do not clean up behind their dogs. We are not dog haters, we do however think they are quite annoying when they constantly bark. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nice owners. Pretty park. Our site #70 was in an area that they have campers on both sides of the road. Neither is very deep. Big garbage cans were in our way of positioning camper. it was difficult to back in. cars/trucks are parked along side narrow road. Makes it hard to swing vehicle to park on spot in that area. Others were more roomy but were not available. It was a hot and humid weekend and the electricity went down more times than I could count. According to others, it is an ongoing problem. We left a day early due to the heat and lack of electricity. This was like camping in the city, so close together. We prefer State Parks. A firetruck ride kept blowing loud sirens and drove us nuts. Nice campground for kids. Not my cup of tea. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Will definitely be back to this place, loved it. Very clean, well maintained, and helpful, friendly staff. Oh and I should add, very beautiful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
It was a very nice, clean campground. It was a vacation well needed. The owners were very nice and helpful, we came in with some problems and they helped us so we got home safe. We definitely plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
I love this campground. It is situated in between 2 mountains and so quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a great campground to kick back and relax, this is the one. The owners are very nice and accommodating. You will not have cell phone service but you you can get Wi-Fi. They do accept Good Sam Club discounts and for E/W/S is $35 a night and E/W is only $30 a night. They do have a fire engine ride on Friday nights and a tractor ride on Saturdays, but beside that there are not many activities. Who needs activities when you have mother nature to enjoy? The sites back up to a nice pond to fish in, and there is a stream running through the campground. The owners keep this campground very clean and do their best to make sure you enjoy your stay. I also liked that they had trash cans every 100 feet to dispose of your trash and they emptied them every night before dark so animals wouldn't get into them. The pool looks brand new and was crystal clean. The permanent site campers go out of their way to make you feel welcome and their sites are well kept. If you do want activities: the Grand Canyon is only 15 miles away and historic town of Wellsboro is 10 miles away. They also have a train ride, horseback riding, and a covered wagon ride about 20 minutes away. We look forward to returning next year again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
I was pretty disappointed with this campground. The tent sites were on top of each other. Zero privacy. We had people hike thorough our campsite to get to a "trail". The bathrooms were small and dirty. My teenaged daughter and I took showers. The cleaning lady came in to clean. She left the door open, which caused the curtain of the "changing area" of the shower to suck in, giving my daughter no privacy. The shower walls were cinder blocks. Gross. The camp store was poorly stocked. We had to drive through a stream to get to our site. No problem, until we wanted to walk somewhere. The foot bridge was 1/4 mile away in the opposite direction. Upshot? The pool looked nice if had been warm enough to swim. Staff was friendly. Lots of room for RV's. Huge campground. Pond. Wellsboro is a beautiful town with lots to offer. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Very near the Grand Canyon of PA Stoney fork is a great place to stay when exploring this very scenic area of Tioga county. This is a very well run campground with clean restrooms and showers and nice level sites. We stayed in site 105A under a big shade tree. We just unhooked our trailer and it was dead level. Good electric and water service, a spotless clean pool, and very nice seasonals make this a very good safe place for families to camp and the owners work hard to keep it that way. Also, they have one of the best tent areas I have seen with nice large sites in a pine forest right next to the creek. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The campground was very nice and green with good size sites. This is really the country there are no cell phones in this area except when you are in the town of Wellsboro. Actually, there isn't even a TV never mind cable. Don't forget your fishing pole the pond is stocked. I caught a 13" bass. Ask for a site by the lake. Oh, this is really important. Don't trust your GPS on the last 5 miles or so or you will end up on a road with your trailer that will scare you. I'm still trembling. I met the nicest campers here. The residents of Wellsboro were just OK.There is some decent hiking in the area but not much more than that. If we were to return to this area I would stay here again. This area is changing because they are finding natural gas here. So go now while the place is still pretty! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The best! This is a beautiful campground in a beautiful location and is what camping is all about. The nearby Pine Creek Trail is an amazing place to ride bikes, hike and view nature. Wellsboro for those who have never been is a piece of Hometown Americana that should not be missed. Google both! The campground itself is beautiful. The pool was perfectly clean and set with a view of the mountains that surround the area. The game room was clean and well done, the firewood was all hardwood and reasonable, and the family that owns and runs the campground made us feel like we were old friends. We felt as though we had traveled back to a better time. Everything was well done and the owners know how to "do it right". There is a country store a couple miles away, an easy bike ride or walk, that also shouldn't be missed. We will return here as often as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Very quiet park. Located about 8 miles out of town. We are right next to the pond but no pond view as there is a hill surrounding it with the campground sitting below. No cell phone signal. WiFi is iffy. Owners are not friendly. There is a 5 mph speed limit which the owner strictly enforces by monitoring comings and goings on his golf cart. We were adhering to this speed limit, however he sternly motioned for us to slow down as we were returning from going out to dinner. Unlike a previous reviewer, we are not new to camping. We have stayed in campgrounds from coast to coast and Canada. We would not come back, and if we hadn't already paid for a couple days we would leave and go elsewhere. It reminds me of boarding school. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We've been camping at Stony Fork for a week each August for the past 6 years. We love it here! We really appreciate how well maintained the grounds are and how efficiently they all run this campground. In fact, we like it so much we recently decided to invest in a permanent spot! I'm appalled by the reviewer who had the poor taste to reference the campground to "East Germany". The owners run the campground keeping in mind both respect for their property AND for ALL of the campers at the campground. I'm not sure how anyone could have an issue w/enforcing the (much) posted 5 mph speed limit. First and foremost, it helps to ensure the safety of others (particularly small children). Secondarily, the campground road is dirt/dust. Who wants to be constantly eating the dust of the speedracer who just flew by your campsite? No one. The grounds are immaculately maintained, even the pond! The mountain views are breathtaking; it's quite an ethereal setting. Keep in mind, you will be nestled in the mountains, so the ambient temperature will be about 10 degrees cooler than surrounding communities, making it a perfect hot summer camping location. The pool IS cold, making it quite refreshing on hot summer days. While we rarely use the bathhouses anymore, I've never found them to be dirty or lacking and the showers are wonderfully HOT. The WiFi IS a bit slow (it's what I'm using to post this review), but I actually appreciate that. It's here, if I need it, yet it's sluggish enough to not allow me to get sucked in to surfing the web. Because, you know, I'm CAMPING. You can have campfire wood delivered right to your site (for a small fee) and you can also have your sewer sucked before you leave (for a small fee, if you're not at a site w/sewage hook up). I know we always appreciate this convenience so we don't have to dump on the way home (though there is also a dumping station available at the campground). There are also all kinds of things to do in the area, depending on your interest. If you just want to get away and camp, there's plenty to keep you occupied at the campground (pool, game room, basketball court, volleyball courts, 2 playgrounds, fishing, paddle boats, the creek, etc). Wellsboro is a great community w/all kinds of neat shops and restaurants an easy 17 minute drive away. We only use the camp store for something we forgot or ran out of, but it seems fairly well stocked, to me. It's got everything from bacon and eggs, to S'mores stuff, to TP, to can koozies. If it's a rainy day, there are also movies you can check out and take back to your camper. All in all, a great campground! Give it a try; you won't be disappointed (um: unless you want to drive fast and make lots of loud late night noise)! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I'm new to camping in RV parks, so take this review for what it's worth. I've stayed in two other parks up to this point, and both were Beach Based (Castaways and Toms Cove). But this was by far the best I've stayed in. Our goal was simple, a camping trip with just Dads and Kids (4 years old to 12). We just wanted to enjoy their company keep it simple. We originally had grandiose plans to take advantage of all the area has to offer like hiking and biking, but the on site activities kept us planted for the duration. We stayed in tent trailers on all grass sites near the lake and fished, boated, played in the streams, game room and playground. The pool was "refreshing" (not heated) but was perfect for the ambient temperature. The store was stocked well enough for our purposes as we came well equipped. The park is extremely kid friendly. The operators strictly enforced the 5mph speed limit and will boot you if you do not comply. They will actually escort you out of the park and "let" you try it again if you don't get it right the first time. The toilets and showers near the pool are the nicest but both were very well maintained. My only complaint if you could call it one, was that the "upper bath house" near the pool did not have steps of any kind leading up to them. So the multiple trips to the bathroom with my two young ones were exhausting walking up and down an extremely large grass hill to get to the toilets. Not to mention the fact that the grass becomes very slippery with the dew of early morning or late evening. (I won't let the little one's drink as much juice next time!) That aside, we're already planning a second trip to this campground for Aug/Sept. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We stayed at Stony Fork in 2006, 2007 and returned in 2009. Each visit was for one week. It is one of our favorite campgrounds. Each time we visited, we stayed in the same site: near the lake under a big tree. The campground is quiet, peaceful and well kept. It is well off the beaten path. The owners, along with their son, are very friendly and accommodating. There may not be tons of campground activities but as a couple who just enjoy reading and relaxing by the campfire, it doesn't matter to us. True, there isn't much in the campstore, but since we know that we plan for it. (The general store in Stony Fork is run by the Mennonites and there are plenty of interesting food items there). The pool is very clean but the water was very cold. It's not heated. The internet hookup is free but very slow on the weekends when the campground has more visitors. They need to install more wireless sites and a better router. We go to Wellsboro for the biking and hiking and when we return again, we will surely go to Stony Fork. And by the way: if you stay 6 nights the 7th is free. Not many campgrounds offer that!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This used to be our absolute favorite campground for more than 20 years until it was sold a few years ago. Now the owners run it like East Germany. I have nothing good to say about it now as their current attitude and practices have ruined our past memories. What a shame. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is an incredibly scenic CG. Unfortunately, we had overcast skies and didn’t always get a good view of the mountains around us. We camped here in 1990, and we finally got back after 17 years. Many seasonals along Stony Fork Creek which is where our site was. Nice rippling of the water as we sat outside by the camper. We were way down the end of the CG. Most people camped by the lake. Probably would be better to get a site by the lake if we came again. Not much to do at the CG. We were there from Wed. – Fri. Maybe more activities on the weekend. Bathhouse by us was new but made of cinder block and not as nice as it could be. The bathhouse by the office is much nicer. Store was not stocked that well. No Verizon cell phone service at CG. Nice pool up on the hill by the office which gave great views of the surrounding mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Fairly nice campground. Nice setting in the mountains, helpful owner. Showers could be cleaner. Seems to have a goose problem, lots of droppings around the pond and adjacent field. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
Beautiful setting and friendly owners. Short-term people tend to be on the lake side of the campground, which isn't visible from the campsite because it's built up, so it's above the campground. The seasonals (and there were a lot of them) are on the creekside, across the road from the lake. Electrical service was iffy at best. On weekends (in Oct. so not so busy) our fridge was blinking "low AC," our lights were dim and our microwave couldn't get enough power to melt butter. When we complained to the owner he shrugged his shoulders and said in the summer it was difficult to run A/C, even though he'd upped the power to the campground. OH, and call the campground for directions before getting on 287 because map programs will route you onto one lane dirt roads that you really don't want to take your RV on. Don't plan on getting any cell phone service here. Need to drive to Wellsboro, about 8 miles north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com